Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne 5 stars

33 Spencer Street, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

#44 of 169 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1180 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The regular cleaning was fine but it could have done with a more thorough bathroom clean. At reception, the some staff preferred to just look at their computer screens rather than greet guests.

    A grand old building. Close to tram, train and hire car options. It is on the edge of the CBD so you can walk (maybe half hour or so ) to most city locations. The indoor pool is small but clean, and with spa gym and sauna.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet and peaceful - even though my room had a veiw of the train lines, you heard nothing more than a soft rumble as the trains went by. Staff are friendly and welcoming, housekeeping did a wonderful job of straightening up the room during my stay. It's always a pleasure to stay at Quest Grand Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking charge ($35) is absolutely ridiculous. Should not be more than $20. Have stayed many and this is a low point of the visit.

    Spacious and comfortable rooms plus friendly, helpful staff,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsure why, but the heater vents had visible rust in the slots (ie where air comes through) Carpeting on stairs, leading to bedroom area, were loose...which I could move with my fingers

    Small kitchenette, location of bathroom, cupboard space, poll/spa/sauna Able to have a sticky break at the other floor levels (shhh!) Liked the red hallway carpet, on all floor levels Fridge was good size and had a stay-cation in our own city.... but wasn't able to make good use of storage in fridge, due to 2 nights stay. Close to aquarium, local train station and tram stops. Found front reception staff member Kristina was lovely and very helpful when checking us in, and helping bring trolley, for us to transport our luggage and assist with further enquiries. Thankyou very much Kristina😎

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t understand the 5star rating the room was very old and smelt foosty cracked tiles in the bathroom dirty scuffed walls ,I was cold at night the cieling was painted corrugated sheeting.The staff were helpful ,but not that welcoming ,restruant closed at 10am until the evening,hardly a 5star hotel ,

    The location was very good ,walking distance to southern cross station and Docklands and south wharf.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our apartment overlooked the train line so this was a little untasteful but we did however really enjoy the night view of the lit up skyline/buildings.

    Our apartment gave us a really special feeling. Very close walking distance to Southern Cross Station, Regent Theatre and DFO so we were able to walk back and forth to all visited places...IDEAL POSITIONING.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weekend getaway booked at the last minute - wow 😄 Breakfast was amazing - couldn't believe what we got and all included in the price Restaurant staff were friendly and professional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed. Dirty and mouldy bathroom. Uncomfortable couch with dips and rips. The room was tired and in need of refurbishment. For the amount we paid for the room we expected a lot more. We were upgraded at no request of ours and while we appreciated the gesture when we got to our room we found a lot of stairs in the room which our poor knees didn,t like. There was 3 levels. The heating was hard to regulate.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usual the Grand is just lovely. Large, clean rooms, comfy bed, brilliant location, great food, helpful staff. It's always my choice when staying in the CBD.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More tea bags and a TV that worked properly. Would like signs indicating the way to the lifts through the long corridors.

    The room was very comfortable - the TV had no signal, that was rectified promptly, however the remote control needs replacing as I could not regulate the volume, difficult to change the stations, and the TV was slow to respond.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative comment we have is about the hot water! The hot water in our room was not sufficient for a family, by the time the forth person got to the shower it was a very quick cold shower! Not what your after this time of year!

    The customer service was fantastic and the room was great, thankyou!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Southern Cross Train Station and public transport is literally 100m away from you to travel to all popular travel spots in Melbourne. Room was clean and very spacious. Also had a full kitchen to allow you to cook if you want to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was very old and short. Also the ceiling in the bathroom was painted with 2 different coloured paints

    The staff were very friendly and the location was perfect for what we needed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view was of the train tracks and due to being so close to the train tracks trains could be heard from my room throughout the day. If there is an option to get a room on the opposite side of the building this may be better.

    Clean Cheap room in an ideal location near the Wharf DFO, Southern Cross train station and close to the free tram service within the CBD.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a little cramped, only one bedside lamp working and not very bright, nice selection of teas but only Nescafe instant coffee - not the best.

    Spacious room, comfy couch, nice desk and chair, bathrobe provided, good free internet. Love the old building, wide corridors and high ceilings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overheated, tired looking rooms, grout missing from tiles in bathroom, shower difficult to adjust.

    Staff were very helpful, and the breakfast was yummy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi show free during reserving on booking.com , but Quest Grand Hotel Melbourne provides only 400MB free per night stay.

    The boss of the property is a nice guy and very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were too many hidden fees - ie: $35 extra for parking, surcharge on credit card payment - I’m sure these fees were in the fine print but seriously, I have never had to pay for parking at a hotel before. Further, the credit card surcharge was annoying - we booked online- credit card required.

    The room was very large with high ceilings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower kept flooding bathroom floor due to design fault. Spent two days with wet towels on the floor. Really needs to be fixed. Steep stairs to access bedroom/bathroom mezzanine level had sensor light at top that would activate even when walking from bed to toilet in night, disrupting sleep of partner. No full length mirror in unit, only one mirror above vanity in bathroom. Access to hotel is only at Eastern end of building, even through our Deluxe Studio room (445) was probably 400metres away at other end of building, as was our usual approach from trams. Frustrating to have to keep walking past room to come back again. Pool small and gym was tiny.

    The bed was very comfortable. Staff were friendly. Location close to airport transfers and trams to go uptown, though not much by way of bars/restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the Grand was excellent! We parked our car when we got there and didn't touch it again until we left! Spencer St Station was less than a block away as was the DFO's and Woolworths! The casino was just over the bridge and the free tram was across the road so perfectly placed for myself and my partner!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room could use a little maintenance and was looking a little shabby. Lighting was poor and tap handles were loose.

    Location was good and room was spacious and well equipped. Grand old building made it feel like we were in Europe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet remained unflushed from either a previous guest or cleaner-most disatisfactory & one of our towels had a mark of fresh blood on the edge of the towel, again very unhygienic.

    The building was fantastic, rooms a bit dated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a few paintings on the empty walls wld HVE been pleasant.

    Loved the old world charm of the grand our apartment was lovely with an extra Toilet downstairs. our views were very good as well. we had a wonderful birthday Weekend. thanks again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't a problem for us but you do need to be aware the rooms are like a loft apartment with high ceilings and your bedroom and bathroom are upstairs above the lounge and kitchen area. The guest rooms are modern however the actual hotel building and lifts have an old world look that some might considered dated.

    Very spacious hotel with high ceilings and very wide hallways. The Grand Breakfast (Hot English breakfast) was excellent and freshly cooked to order. Staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Property of this size needs many hands to keep it clean. Most of the surfaces were in need of attention, from door handles to lift buttons to light switches. Dust and fingermarks everywhere.

    The location, and a very good swimming pool, make up for many shortcomings. Very comfortable bed, nice clean bedlinen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long way to get to room with only 1 lift. Fridge had been turned off at wall so no cold drink available on hot day.

    Great location close to station/Etihad Stadium Comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable and bathroom was extremely dangerous and resulted in an injury to which I am still waiting on a response from the Manager and still in pain from

    Leaving was the best

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a little bit of train noise even through the double glazed windows.

    The room was massive - we had a 2 bed deluxe apartment. We went to a concert at Etihad so the location was brilliant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need an update, bathroom, carpets and curtains are old and look dirty, restaurant not open Sundays although there are near by options.

    Location is great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Perfect Location! Walking distance to pretty much everything you would need for a great city stay. Lovely staff and the upgrade was a bonus. Thank you Quest!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very tired, needs update. Staff need customer service lessons. We walk past desk and cannot even smile or say anything, barely lifted head from screen, and not with anyone at the time. This happened on multiple occasions. No information given upon arrival about hotel etc. 2nd day key cards did not work to enter room, no apology.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Double glazed windows. Spacious grand hotel with character. Extremely handy location to Southern Cross Station. Held our bags happily after checkout until we boarded out train in the afternoon. Nice relaxing, quiet bar and restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Positioning of furniture was a little odd, with a table and chairs positioned between the bed and the bathroom. Very tricky in the middle of the night! Check out staff member was indifferent and not terribly friendly.

    Studio apartments are spacious and the king size bed very comfortable. Did hear some train noise from nearby Southern Cross Station, but not enough to disturb my sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is the old railway offices therefore close to rail overhead. The rail noise was loud at my room despite double glazed windows. Tolerable if you are able to sleep through anything as I do. My friend had a room where no noise could be heard, so ask about this

    The super king bed was heavenly and comfortable The room was large, spacious, bright with old fashioned tall ceilings Kitchenette and bathroom clean Polite and hospitable reception management who seemed happy in their job Manager was a delight 5min walk to Central line tram stop 10-15min walk to exhibition & convention centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was hit and miss Ordered toast and two sides One piece of toast and they forgot the bacon Really if ordering toast you’d think you’d get two pieces Also forgot our juices until I asked Not busy at the time and two staff out front Could have been much better

    Beds really comfortable Great location Very roomy apartment Great for multiple nights

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is some train noise in morning despite double windows would avoid if you are a light sleeper - didnt worry me too much

    Bar area was really good to sit have a drink and do some work Room was fine - having kitchen facilities and full size fridge a bonus

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a little tight and had no ventilation as mould was growing on ceiling

    Located close to all public transport within CBD and main transport hub to and from the Airport, local amenities and restaurants abound with Crown Casino and other entertainment very close, can miss this for and easy and entertaining stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit dated, and one lift to exit the building.

    Location Location, next to the railway station walking distance to all the good stuff around the city. Staff were really nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I were very happy with everything.

    The room was spacious, with a VERY comfortable King size bed. Double glazing that allowed you to open the windows during the day and at night close up tight to reduce the city traffic noise to a whisper. Good views of the city. Adjustable aircon that easily dealt with 32 degrees. Brilliant restaurant with friendly and cheerful staff, excellent food. In fact all the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the fridge not working in our room. Within 30 minutes of reporting it we had a replacement fridge delivered by housekeeping.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The "Grand" of the hotel is long gone and I would say it needs some major renovation (in-and outside). Some staff weren't very friendly, barely said 'Good Morning'. Reception area is pretty basic, other feature old and run down.

    Room was very spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom didn’t have an exhaust fan to get rid of steam from the shower. & the shower screen only enclosed half the shower. Some of the floor got wet

    Everything went well,it was a beautiful room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear some trains going past but they stop during the night

    Close to public transport CBD. Lovely old Railway Heritage building . Rooms were small Apartments with kitchen facilities. Bed was super comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second stay here. First time perfect room but this time was on train side and it’s just too noisy to sleep.

    Super comfy bed, pool and spa, restaurant meal was yum

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, very happy

    I cannot reply to the WIFI question as we did not use it. The service was fantastic, location perfect for the needs of our stay and the room was amazing. Our breakfast was the best I have had for a long time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sensor on the gates for exiting the parking lot does not pick up motorbikes. Luckily another guest was leaving as we were so we were able to get out. No dramas. :D

    What a great place to stay. Right in the middle of Melbourne. Old world charm. We loved our room. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Eveything. It was the best Hotel I have stayed at in Melbourne for location, room, price and service I will definitely be recommending and staying again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a bar where you can sit & have a drink when you arrive etc, & the restaurant open for lunch. We were going to have lunch & a drink before we headed off to a show, but had to go elsewhere.

    The bed & pillows were amazing. Everything was presented nicely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mini bar price list was not in the room. I thought the water in the refrigerator were free, but the hotel charged 5 AUD per bottle of water.

    Very clean room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a bad property, the pool roof was being serviced on this stay, so it was a pain, as I was reluctant to go into the pool with tradesmen above. the room is aged, with old carpet and becoming very stale - the room quality was less than average. the TV was small and there is no cable TV the shower was a bit dirty, and the room just seemed to be old.

    Not a bad property, the location is great, but the place is old. nice and quiet, even though the railway line is right next to the property. parking on site is good and the pool and sauna - ok, expect the pool roof was being serviced

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maintenance on the room was needed to get it back up to the standard of the room cost. The furnishings needed either cleaning or replacing as they were a bit dirty around the armrests on the chairs and the couch had started to fray. The bathroom was very, very small, surprising given the size of the room.

    The size of the room and in-room facilities were good. The location was very handy for travel, leisure activities and work.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    They Couldn't have been more accommodating, from changing bookings so we could check in early (we had just flown in from LA,) to the bottle of Bubbles brought to our room to wish us happy Anniversary. We have stayed at this Hotel on a number of occasions and it always delivers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a few interruptions regarding a leak in the room below us. However we were moved to another room, which we absolutely loved.

    Location was excellent, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay with you again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is very drab/unattractive in attempt to create a faux Federation style and not at all the standard I would have expected from a Quest property. The majority of the photos on the website show the renovated rooms and to say this one needed an update was an understatement.

    The bed was very comfy and the apartment was very spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we couldn't get out or in the building on the other side of the building. There was an elevator but not allowed acces to the street on that side.

    Centrally located. Tram in front of the hotel. Didn't hear the trains in the room. Big spacious rooms with comfortalbe beds and nice bathroom. Everything for a city trip. The handle on the door was 30cm from the floor that was very funny and very victorian. Beautifull old building with long hallways.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The train line too close

    Absolutely loved the building and room was great and staff helpful and friendly. Perfect location to get public transport and walk to casino.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were too many stairs and it was difficult to carry a large suitcase upstairs. Some of our group did not like accessing the shower in the bath. One of our ladies had a very bad fall because of the step inside the door as the carpet is the same colour and she didn't see the step. Quite dangerous!

    Property suited our needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the start we had asked for 8 single beds & we where told we would get that but they hadn’t set up for that despite emails to say do & also phone conversations However they did correct the situation but the staff person by the name of Oscar was quite rude about it All others where excellent especially Denis

    Brekkie was excellent All my party of 8 enjoyed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the spaciousness, tele in lounge and bedroom so no fighting over cricket or tennis. Pod coffee machine. Bathroom lovely, bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment tired, and needs an update. Dusty and dirty in places ie light fittings, furniture and ceiling. Not enough pans to prepare a meal

    Quirky place, welcoming staff. Good for getting around. Near Southern station. Easy to find . Supermarket and Bottle shop near by . Apartment style pleasant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room ventilation outlets are floor mounted and blew cool air behind the curtains when the curtains were shut which made the room a little warm on a very hot Melbourne night. The shower is mounted over the bath which is not my favorite arrangement.

    Spectacular location - especially easy access to the Skybus terminal just up Spencer Street. The hallway is especially grand! Watch out for the step just inside the door (it is sign posted). Beds are super comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The serviced apartment was roomy very comfortable with all the mod cons you would expect. Even thou the hotel is next door to the rail line the rooms where very quiet, combine this with the history of the building it made for an excellent place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one lift but it didn’t inconvenience us.

    Lovely old Grand Hotel, right next to stations, waterfront & casino. Very well located. Staff lovely. Large rooms, comfortable beds. Recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroomdoor was a sliding one that didn't close properly. A minor issue.

    Beautiful heritage building, restored to former glory. 12 foot wide hallways, and high ceilings. The rooms are loft style apartments, and very comfortable. Spencer Street room was very quiet. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was very convenient for trams to Flinder Street Station, or a one block walk to Southern Cross Station. A 5 minute walk to Southbank as well, and the St Kilda tram is one block away. The beauty of the building and history is why I chose The Grand. I was not dissapointed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dated decor, quite basic feel to it.

    Great location in town, near all transport links and the river. Heritage property with loads of character. Each apartment was very spacious, and the beds were divinely comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was just something lacking it wasn't as Grand as the reviews stated ,There was just something missing

    We stayed in a loft appartment and facing the railway line . The loft bedroom got very hot as the air conditioning didn't seem to cool the room down. The room could do with a paint as there was lots of marks on the walls. There was lots of good reviews about the hotel butwe could have just had a ok room . Would have been nice to been told the bar would be closed on NYE !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank goodness for the air con as the loft bedrooms really heat up. The bed is best for those who like super soft, although the comforter could potentially be removed if you were staying for longer. We could smell cigarette smoke in the bathroom on a few occasions... coming through the vent in the wall maybe??? Thought non smoking venue?

    Charming accommodation, good facilities, easy location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking offered by the hotel is extremely expensive, up to 35$ the night

    Perfect location in downtown. Really comfy apartment style room with commodities for cooking and keeping things in the fridge

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, service and location were all fantastic. Had troublenwith accessing wifi which was quickly sorted out. Location was perfect for NYE celebrations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked for breakfast to be included in the price ;)

    I loved the heritage style of the building but the rooms were modern, clean and up to date. Recently renovated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 618 had very little room when sitting on the toilet, it was suitable only for pygmies.

    We were given unsuitable room with stairs but this was quickly changed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could be replaced - too soft. Bathroom dated.

    Excellent location, room very quiet, clean, spacious, water hot, dark block out curtains, good kitchen facilities and TV & Wifi. Staff friendly and helpful. Free laundry very useful and safe - entry by room key only.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Excellent location, accessible by car,train, or tram. Lovely old world charm of the building makes it very inviting. The staff were a pleasure to deal with and were professional and friendly, The room I had was very spacious, quiet, and comfortable, I could not fault the room :).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a big laundry but it is only accessible to one guest at a time. the room had MANY stairs - into the room up to the living room area where the desk and TV are - further up to the bedroom and bathroom - not good - also there was no TV in the bedroom so you had to go downstairs to watch the news - upstairs to use the bathroom - etc

    There was a full kitchen...historic building -

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotel experiences we have had in a long time. The enjoyment begins the moment you enter through the glass doors and look across to the waiting room/reading room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a bit tired, some rooms with lots of stairs unsuitable for elderly and awkward for luggage, room configuration often made TV hidden from bed

    friendly staff, convenient location, very spacious rooms, courtyard and pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: