Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The North Shore Hotel 3 stars

310 Miller Street, North Sydney, North Sydney, 2060 Sydney, Australia

#215 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 720 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Paid WiFi

    3.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult during the day...but good between 7.30am & 8pm, I could park out the front, which was when I was coming & going to the hospital.

    Bed very comfortable, bathroom clean & fresh. Staff very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a three-year-old who is big and needs a bed. The booking system defaulted us to a room with no extra single bed - or even a sofa. This meant on arrival we had to upgrade at an extra $25 per night. Lucky there was a spare room or we would have had to find some other place in Sydney. Talk directly with them about parking. Parking is available but is very limited. The information on the booking form lacks essential details.

    The staff members were lovely and helpful and honest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say there was anything I didn't like.

    The staff were wonderful, it's clean and tidy and comfortable for the price you pay. It's in a great location and has good coffee! 😍😍 stayed here before, will stay again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two chocolates on the pillows!

    Lovely old home, clean & freshly painted with ensuite off the bedroom. Great value for money- good location. Staff helpful. They left out my key when I was in late.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service. I booked a room for 4 people and there were beds only for 3. They charged $25 for the extra bed per night. Room was old and smelly. They didn't clean the room because they said there was only one person working this day and she didn't have time. There is no parking, only street parking and parking conditions change everyday. Internet is $15 per day I wouldn't recommend this place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for the property was too tight (back of a unit block) so couldnt access it. Street parking was extrenely expensive

    Central to everything, clean, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small Breakfast ceral was stale and bread was old , the staff did get a fresh bowl for us but left the stale ceral there for others .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm at 10pm and sitting out on the front lawn until about 11pm. Than told we could go back inside but to explanation

    It was convenient to Mater Hospital

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cracked tiles in bathroom. 1970's kitchen benchtop. Overpriced. Boarding house breakfast with only access through back of property. Rooms look good in photos, but are very old in appearance and feel, even for a modified old boarding house. Felt that for the price, I could have had a much better room in a better location for myself and my daughter. Specially for the cash only added cost to park the car down the road at the local slumlord apartments.

    It was close to North Sydney business district.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem we had was we ordered 3 single beds and we got 2 beds and a divan which was not appropriate for 3 old ladies as we all have bad backs, and found the divan to hard.Otherwise we had a great time.

    We loved the whole experience and the position of the hotel except for the beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of consideration for guest that pay money to then be woken by power tools and hammering, if they had of advertised and or told us we would be woken early by construction work we would of booked somewhere else !

    An absolute joke! The place was under some sort of construction, which we were not notified about ! We were woken at 7:50am with hammering right outside our window then with power tools right outside our door ! We paid good money to stay at this place and to be woken so dam early was ridiculous, have some bloody consideration for your guests that obvioulsy pay for a dam hotel tp SLEEP ! NOT HAPPY!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rm was small and the bathrm tap wobbled badly & only just fit the kettle under it. Every time another rm door was open/closed or I opened/closed my be then door - My room door banged loudly even when locked from inside. The carpets needed to be more thoroughly or steamed cleaned, build up of dust around permanently standing furniture. Unfortunately could order breakfast as kitchen under renovations, only wish they'd informed me prior to check in so I could have made arrangements instead of being greatful for my leftover fruit from my lunch , not wanting to go back out once settled in!!

    The towels were BIG & beautifully fluffy and plush. The beds linens were crisp and spotlessly clean & the bed was sooo comfy I wished there late checkout fee was an astronomical $30 extra. Hmmmm snuggly. TV was excellent nice and big and air-con cooled rm down quickly due to its small size. Overall the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, they we're unquestionably FANTASTIC & VERY ACCOMMODATING!! THANKUOU LADIES XXX.!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I booked this hotel because it advertised breakfast available. When I arrived, 'due to renovations NO BREAKFAST' no alternatives, just that. The room was tiny. I would not describe this as a hotel, but more as rooms to rent.

    The staff were friendly and the rooms clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was super comfy, room was clean. Staff were neutral, not big on customer service but not rude. No information was provided on checkin or out. The place is having a upgrade and needs it. Room was noisy during the day. I heard the person in the room next to me storing. No breakfast even though they advertised a continental breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin and sounds are easily heard.. like a couple having a big fight and waking people up in the early hours 🙁

    It is central and in a nice area of Sydney.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could do with an update, some fixtures were old

    great bed, great period architecture features incl. high ceilings and marble fireplace. Friendly and helpful staff. The 'paid' parking is two doors down under a block of not so good looking flats, as we have a large van we paid for this but were unable to use it. So we just went with on street parking which was free from 10pm-8:30am anyway.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't have a car but advice needs to be available on where to park. The bathroom tiling could be improved .

    Staff were warm and welcoming. Accomodation was cosy, unpretentious and clean. Poisition good-away from the noise but close enough to the busier parts foe easy access. Good value for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking.com had auto cancelled my booking so it was lucky that when we got there they still had the room available for us at an even cheaper rate

    Very helpful, kind staff. 10 min walk from train station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tired bathroom needed repairs but clean.

    good towels air con ok but noisy. mattress reasonable and bed sheets clean excellent location walking 16 mins from station and further 15 ins to McMahons ferry

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we stayed in had the most uncomfortable bed I have ever not slept in, however staff were most accommodating in moving us to better room.

    The staff were extremely helpful, and most pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Karreen at the rezeption was very friendly and helpful, she gave us a lot of good recommendations. It's a quiet place to stay with a little garden in front of the hotel. The family room was spacious. The breakfast was simple but ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had everything you could need but couldn't sleep. Room too lit. Noise from other people at all stages of the night - Voices, doors closing, TV noise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff, poor services and terrible parking. We stayed there 4 nights, the hotel was no hot water for a whole night until the next morning. The staff was rude when we informed them. A lady staff told us that the whole street was no gas supply, hence they can’t do anything with that, so we should blame the government not the hotel. We were shocked when a service line person answered that way. They didn’t updates us about the hot water supply until I asked them when I checked out the room. They just said sorry about that. Through out the period of stay, one day no coffee refill and one day no toilet paper. The parking was bad too. It was a narrow lane in a apartment, once we parked in there, we hardly move our car out, as some car was park in front of ours car.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi worked very badly. Washing machine not included in room rate (although it said so on reservation). No drying rack, only tumble dryer. Birds came into the breakfast room; not very hygienic.

    Easy to get to the center of Sydney via the bus just opposite the hotel; it takes only 15 min.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room : Once we got into our room we noticed the carpets felt a little damped and dirty. Was possibly due to the cleaning from previous guest. On the first night we complained that the air-condition was not working properly and it was too hot. The female staff was very rude and sarcastic and suggested us to turn up the temperature to 23 degree instead of 16 degree, which could possibly help -.- (would not recommend anyone to speak to her as she is overall not nice).. we then decided to move our beds right in front of the AC to avoid sweat puddles. Location : It was a ghost town when we got there. Not many shops were open. Was possibly because it was Christmas/ New Year holidays. But we had to take the bus into the city as there was no train stations nearby. Google Maps would be your best friend if you ever decide to stay here.

    Upon arrival, we were greeted with a male employee whom was friendly. Best to speak to him rather then the indian lady who works at reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tired and mouldy. Vertical blinds mouldy. Hallway Lights shining through the door of a night kept us awake. Should be dimmed. Parking dodgy. Old and needing updating is fine but no excuse for blinds being so unclean!

    Location. Very reasonably priced accommodation for New Years Eve. Close to great pub with lovely meals. Bus close by to travel into city. Good shower head. Easy check in and check out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically a window/cup board leading from main bedroom to the lounge room where the kids beds were so no privacy. Parking was down the street in a very tight car park and we had to call someone to move their car so we could get out. Not worth the money. Loungeroom was also next to dining area so my kids were woken by breakfast goers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pretty dirty and stinky and the bed was very hard, but the hotel staff was happy to try to make the bed more comfortable by adding another cushy layer. The Wi-Fi was an additional cost and was so weak that my phone couldn't pick up a signal at all in our room or in the hallway. It was more trouble than it was worth. The parking on the street seemed safer than the "secure parking" around back but had limited hours. I would not recommend this hotel or stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. It was a bloody hot day and the air-conditioner was knackered. It was set at 16C, yet was not blowing cold air. When complained to the staff, the lady at the reception argued that it didn't blow cold air because it was set at 16C and if I wanted the room cooler, I had to set it at 21c and not 16C. At which point I realised I might as well talk to the cat. 2. There was no provision for drinking water in the room. Was told by the same lady to drink water from the bathroom. Appalling 🤤🤤

    The size of the room was bigger than we expected.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff had misread our request for an extra bed, were argumentative but did easily resolve the problem but put on an extra charge. However this still made it cheaper than most accommodation in the area and we are willing to try them again. However, when it came to pay the extra fee, their eftpos machine was not working, the ATM at the pub next door was not accessible because it was too early for them to open. Fortunately we scraped together some cash but staff had no change. Willing to consider these events as a one off unfortunate experience and positives far out weigh negatives

    Large room spacious, public transport outside, beautiful park opposite Walk 200m through the park and there are elevated views looking down on Sydney opera house and bridge. There are table and chairs in the front garden over looking the park which was really relaxing particularly Sunday morning (no traffic on the road)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking is very limited to 3 or 4 spaces, was not undercover and located below a home unit block 50 metres away. Nevertheless, our car was not marked or otherwise interfered with for the three days of our stay. The room was badly overdue for an upgrade. It was called a superior room, but was in reality quite small. The shower cubicle is very small, but the water was hot and plenty of it. The "queen" bed (made with two singles pushed together) was a disaster with a bottomless pit in the middle ready to consume unwary sleepers. The outer edges proved OK for sleeping, provided one didn't roll out of bed. The base was a king-size which protruded out on each side and was a toe-stubbing exercise for middle-of-the-night wanderers.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Didn't try the continental breakfast, although the menu seemed fair.(not inclusive of the daily rate), but the position is quite convenient with a bus service almost at the front door. Most rooms are quiet. Value for money is good for Sydney, so the negatives mentioned below must be balanced against this. As the wise man said, "You get what you paid for."

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refer above. The $10 parking offered next door is unworkable for anything other than a tiny sedan - on weekends, there is usually very much more convenient and free street parking after 12.30pm Saturday.

    This is a very outdated, old property whose owners almost aggressively seek to extract every dollar for this 2 star property. It has a sign which states it to be a 4 star property - false advertising of considerable magnitude. Happily, all equipment is functioning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar fridge was very noisy and had to turn it off each night to get to sleep.

    The room and bathroom are clean and generally all is OK. It is just looking tired and in need of a make over. Still one of the cheapest options in North Sydney though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom window would not close at all and due to air cons location the cold air appeared to eacape through the window all the time

    Location to my event

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room old and dirty. The bathroom smelled... The wifi is charged at an expensive rate (3 AUD/ h) however the signal is not available in the room. No phonic isolation with the outside or the next rooms. Towels dirty. I will never come back to this place.

    Walking distance from North Sydney business district. The hotel as a small terrace and outside chairs and table. The hotel looks appealing from the outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lock on the door was sometimes difficult to open. Also the coffee jug in the room needs replacing. It kept turning off before the water had boiled. I was in room 12.

    The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. I was upstairs, down the back and it was also quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of a refurbishment . Had a family room with window and sliding door opening onto the breakfast area . Smell in the room coming from the bathroom.

    Liked the location and staff very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no parking, unless you paid an extra $10, staff at reception were not overly friendly - were more interested in getting a payment then welcoming. Walking into the very basic room was like walking into a step up from a homeless shelter, smelt of damp, with mould on the ceiling, worn furniture, cupboard doors that did not close properly, cracked tile in the bathroom (the list goes on). No blinds over the bathroom window, and being on the ground floor when the light was on people passing could see in. The bed was on wheels and moved when you got in and out. Definitely not value for money and very poor standard

    not a lot

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were paper thin and I could hear conversations in room next door. The staff were able to move me to a quieter room.

    Good location for my purposes. The park opposite was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are pretty small and stuffy. Breakfast has limited options and is quite average...just about ok. Wifi is not great. Too many rules and instructions posted all over the facility.

    The location is fantastic. Very close to the business business areas in North Sydney. The hotel is clean and tidy. Rooms are cleaned everyday with clean linen. Staff is friendly at the front office.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lady manageress a bit grumpy, both parking and wifi were undisclosed extras. Parking non-secure and hard to access.

    Reasonably well situated, an easy bus ride from North Sydney station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid $10 for parking. Didn't get to use it, the parking was locked when we got back to the hotel. The bins had rubbish in them. The mircrowave had been used and not cleaned and there were chunks of hair in the shower. The towels were also used and wet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing is I would like blockout curtains, I’m a light sleeper and the outside lights came through the blinds.

    So close to North Sydney station, lovely park across the road. Loved the Art Deco home just so quaint!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bowls and cutlery in our room would have been great.

    The bed was really comfortable. We did not pre-book parking, but getting a parking space was no trouble. As we enjoy walking, we found the location good - a couple of kilometres from Luna Park area and a medium walk to the nearest train. The food at the hotel restaurant nearby was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    I didnt have breakfast nor use WiFi The room was very clean however very small. Other than that I will be happy to stay there every trip to Sydney. cheers

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The refurbishment is getting a little old and some amenities were missing eg no rail in the kitchen for a tea towel.

    Very convenient location, nice large rooms, pleasant breakfast room. The bus service to the city is very frequent and the bus stop is virtually opposite. The pub on the corner has quite decent meals at a moderate price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning staff was not attentive rubbish bin was not emptied found bugs under the sheets and told the morning receptionst for cleaners come back in the evening nothing was done about it

    Quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Comfortable & reasonable cost. Close to the hospital to be able to visit mum regularly & there was a hotel close for meals. Booked it on line as we are from country NSW, so was unsure it would be acceptable, but was very pleased it was.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some very noisy male guests partied until late, parking is in a very weird location you won't find unless you talk to staff first.

    Charming building, lovely big garden table in the front yard overlooking the park. Pub and bottle shop very close by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our standard room was very small - may be worth paying a bit more for a larger room.

    This motel is very close to North Sydney station (10-15min walk) plus buses over the road but within a residential area. We enjoyed having breakfast with the locals in nearby cafes and eating dinner at the local pub. There are 3 car spaces two doors up for $10 per day - excellent value in Sydney.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THIS PROPOERTY IS RATED AS A 4 STAR. 9I ASSUME IT IS SELE RATED!) THERE IS NO WAY THIS PROPERTY COMES ANYWHERE CLOSE TO A 4 STAR RATING. THE ROOM I HAD WAS POORLY DECORATED, OLD, TIGHT FOR SPACE, THE SHOWER SCREEN DOOR FELL ONTO ME WHEN I WAS SHOWERING, THE TILES ON THE BATHROOM FLOOR WERE BROKEN, THE TOILET SEAT WAS HELD UP WITH MASKING TAPE, THE WOODWORK ALL NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED/REPAINTED. IT IS A DISGRACE AND I FELT LIKE I PAID WELL OVER THE PRICE FOR A 4 STAR ROOM, IT FELT ALMOST LIKE A HOSTEL. LOCATION ASIDE, I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE. ALLAN

    LOCATION ONLY.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car parking. Paid extra $10 a night and only got to use the car park for the first night! Another car parked in our paid spot that wasn't staying at motel. Was not happy thinking my car was going to get towed.

    Nice and clean. Comfy beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are a lot of schools in close proximity but this didn't cause any issues. We were on the ground floor and there was one incident with a rowdy mob in the walk way but they were just in high spirits and passed along quickly enough. Plumbing smelt a little stale but again, old building and the bathroom, though quite small, was very clean.

    We stayed here because of the location to the Mater Private Hospital. The building is an older style building and done up nicely. It's not top shelf but good value for the money and the location sealed it. Car parking is $10 per day and you need to book a place (it's located 4 doors down and was a little snug but do-able in an SUV). We could walk to the hospital in 10 minutes so the car stayed parked until our trip was over. Couldn't hear street noise and the room was big enough and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window was on street side so kept blinds closed also bathroom window.

    Good hot showers, ground floor, warm enough but could have done with an extra blanket besides the spare in the cupboard. Didn't bother to ask for one though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was very old and in urgent need of an updating, the bathroom was very small and I had to turn sideways to get into the shower cubicle, even thought there were bars on the windows the window in the kids room did not lock, it was accessible from the front of the building. When I booked it was for payment on arrival but when I got there they had already taken money out the day before. I wanted to use a different card to pay with but no that did not happen. the parking arrangements were ridiculous, you had to park down the street in the car park of the block of units which where so tight and looked very unsafe, my car did not fit in the car space and I ended parking out on the street, I was charged for one day parking and they were going to charge me for 2 until I complained.

    the only good thing was its location near a pub

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV didn't work very well Some little things needed a fix up - door handles on bathroom.

    Convenience to the city Price Comfortable bed Water Pressure

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disappointed that we were not advised there was no guest parking available (apparently only 4 spaces at any time for all guests staying at the hotel. I have a new car and would not have booked if I had known no parking was available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some cutlery in addition to tea spoons and some crockery. There was a microwave. We arrived during the evening and had to go to the airport to pick up a relative. We bought some food at the local shop but there was no cutlery or crockery except for tea and coffee .

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Lots of space in the room. Old world "charm" Very quiet. No traffic noise whatsoever.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they hadn't properly organise parking for our friends stating with us - they had been reminded at least 3 times before our arrival to Sydney

    Very tidy and the price was really good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was not the best in the room as it was very cool on a cold night

    It was a great room the only thing i could say is the heating was no to good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access from the street by steps a bit awkward, for baggage.

    Great staff and friendly, great location for transport and coffee and drinks nearby. Room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    fridge was too noisy and bathroom tap dripped all the time toilet space too small kept hitting my elbows on shower screen

    location mainly short walk to where I had to be

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well there were people running up & Down the stairs for the most part of the night. Out side door kept getting slammed shut. Not much sleep for us for 2 nights.

    Sorry but the bed was very hard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is area is very small. I have been asked more than once to change my car position to let the other person to park .

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to a school so it gets very noisy. Got quite cold at night and the heat pump did not heat well. Wouldn't stay there again just because of this.

    Good location in terms of public transport

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy smell, all the cupboards stuck, mouldy chopping boards, frosted up fridge, only one channel on the tv worked. Poor soundproof- could hear people walking on next level. Taps in shower fell off, half light bulbs were blown.

    Hot shower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con decided to stop so couldn't warm up the room. The television wouldn't work with remote even when I changed the batteries. The staff believed it was my fault . I found that very rude.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a few things that would have made the stay better. 1. Pre warning that you can't park at the property or even access it from the road during certain hours. We had to go around the block a few times, park in a side street, and walk to the property to check in. Parking was in a private building a few doors down, but was a very tight to squeeze to get out of the lot. 2. The breakfast room shares a wall with out room meaning that it's very loud from 7am. 3. The shower head was one of those that you can pick up and move, but that meant that it wouldn't stay in one place if you didn't want to hold it. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would like to stay there again.

    The room was fantastic, very large and comfortable. The staff were absolutely brilliant. Very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Outdoor table settings on the front lawn overlooking the park were lovely and a great place to do some work on my computer with a coffee. TV and free dvd player were very nicely positioned so that you could lie in bed and watch... you'd be surprised how many don't do that!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's an older building, so don't expect complete sound insulation from one room to another, but outside traffic noise is practically nil. The very friendly and helpful staff make up for any minor inconvenience.

    A very reasonable $7 breakfast was laid out in the best way; I had cereal, yoghurt and fruit. More people should have taken advantage of this. The breakfast area is very attractive. My room was at the back of the house and quiet, although being on a main road. The hotel is really boutique; caters very well indeed for a budget traveller. It is a really great price for being in such a handy location to Sydney's CBD. North Sydney, where the local train station is, is a lovely area for shopping away from the frantic business of downtown Sydney.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its wasnt what i was expecting for the money paid. Also we were put in a room with the people who work there always sitting at our window at our bathroom so while on toliet u have people walking past every 5 mins no privacy at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the fact that parking was in a dodgy looking block of flats six doors up the road. I wouldn't have liked to drag my luggage up there in the rain.

    The property is old but excellent value in a great location. The room was clean and had the usual requirements of a motel room, I would definitely stay there again as it was good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old building without renovation inside, inconvenient parking, some mold in the bathroom, cockroaches :(

    Friendly staff, not bad location close to public transport

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls were paper thin and you could hear people talking though the walls and in the corridor and also every toilet sound and flush. My room didn't smell very fresh kind of like a combination of mildew and cigarette smoke. There was air freshener around the room to try to disguise the smell which made for an interesting mingling of scents. My travel companion didn't have the same issue with unpleasant smells in his room (I must have just been unlucky) but he was also troubled by the noise.

    Good price and pretty good location for North Sydney. All three staff I dealt with were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fridge thermostat was set too warm and ice kept forming and freezing over all our food. There was no cutlery or plates even though they provided a microwave. And no tea towels to wipe the plates after washing them, that we, fortunately, had with us.

    The bed was very comfortable and the air-con very effective. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly noisy from the room next door. Sound proofing someone's toilet usage from 3.am in the morning is of serious concern. Putting up a thin piece of timber board in an old doorway is not the answer.

    Location is good for where I work

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The North Shore Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: