Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast 5 stars

Broadbeach Island, Broadbeach, 4218 Gold Coast, Australia

#24 of 128 hotels in Gold Coast

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2548 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. The food the drinks. That vivo restaurants best food ever. Behind the bar a guy name Joshua most talent bar man ever. Rooms were so clean beds were so comfy. Bathrooms were nice. Booking in was easy. Heaps of car parks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zilch Zero

    Amazing clean and comfortable room. The beds and pillows are soft and cosy. Everything is at your fingertips you don’t even have to leave the complex!! Great food options, gym, pool, and entertainment. I could live there .. and not return to the real world lol!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Loved the location, cleanliness and beds and pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 4pm with check in as the standard after 2pm. The room was not ready as supervisor had not checked it however the reception staff indicated it was our fault as the policy means room can be ready whenever after 2pm. She then tried to advise that this policy was like that in any hotel in Australia. We were not offered an upgrade or complimentary breakfast for the inconvienence. I won’t stay here again based on that service. If a hotel displays after 2pm then you can check in anytime after that. Understand things happen however don’t blame the customer for your mistake.

    Loved the location, cleanliness and beds and pillows.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely cracking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Balcony Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, the staff were great. The Room was great, also the breakfast. It was my wife's birthday and the chef made her a small cake, and also the check in was great with room service too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Midweek girls night out.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the restaurants weren't open the night we were there, but otherwise we had a great time.

    The pool. The room was great. Amazing room service for breakfast in the morning. Great location. Short walk to beach or shopping. Good view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    The work in the cocktail bar in the morning jack hammering...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The work in the cocktail bar in the morning jack hammering going into the room went to reception offered a breakfast which I already had with my accommodation spent around 8k on the tables and found no to little compensation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location and casino and bar are awesome but rooms are average and over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room wasnt good. Fingerprints on mirrors, very dusty in bar area of room, only one champagne glass in room.

    Good location, bars were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.0
    Rooms very comfortable, probably overpriced though. J
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meet and greet at front door very casual. One other couple in a vehicle on concourse and several staff there but I was largely ignored. Directions for parking options very cursory, even offhand when I indicated I didn’t need valet parking. First impressions count!!

    Beds very comfortable. Reception staff efficient but not overly friendly. Concierge very good after I found my way there from the car park Purpose of my visit was for a show which was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place to be!
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too thick for me..but soft & comfy

    Almost everything.. location, restaurants, entertainments etc. and gave us a bottle of wine for my husband's birthday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and clean accomodation, great way to have a relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are super comfy with great pillows, very clean rooms with nice décor. Good choice of restaurants so no need to leave the building, good car-parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Over all a great 6 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Friday & Saturday nights the music from downstairs can be heard from the 15th floor which is not good if you are not a "night owl" and are trying to sleep.

    The room was great, beds comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Newly renovated nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much bad to say about it rooms are very modern..expensive for what you get but nice

    The rooms are modern and have been recently renovated so it's all new very hard to fault ..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, reasonably priced for a stay on the Gold Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was on the other side of the highway so quite a hike to the shops and beach. Rooms were not particularly large, but adequite

    The hotel was modern, appears to have just had a make over. Easy free parking, had an adjoining room with grand children which worked well, staff were all excellent, kids enjoyed the pools. pity it was raining and middle of winter as the area around the pool looked very inviting, plus a full gym. Light rail stops out the front and across the road to Pacific Fair.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Buffet restaurant was horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food fantasy restaurant

    Buffet restaurant was horrible. Was appalled at the quality for a 5 star property. We purchased breakfast for each morning and didn’t eat there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    The bed was incredibly comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was less than average. The buffet was way too busy and very disappointing at the number of people and it was quite disorganised. The price was good, however that just reflected the average quality of the buffet breakfast. It was mothers day so very busy, however just disappointing to end a wonderful evening.

    The bed was incredibly comfortable. Really impressed with the room. It was a short stay so we only stayed in the room and went to a show however we were very happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfect place to celebrate with friends - great weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the associated cafes and casino facade a little bit dated now in comparison to room and casino overhaul (the bars are absolutely first class decor)

    I hadn’t been to casino for quite a while - the room refurbs are well done and bar decor in casino just beautiful. Rooms were very comfortable , beds luxurious, and lighting cleverly done.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    The bed was incredibly comfortable and felt like a cloud.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there isn’t a separate car park for guests. At night time it was a struggle getting a park, we drove around for at least 20 mins before we found someone leaving. Also, that there wasn’t better access from the car park, to reception, to your room. There is a lot of walking.

    The bed was incredibly comfortable and felt like a cloud. I could had slept forever. We ended up looking at what brand the Manchester was.... it was “The Cloud” which says it all. The room had high tech features and very modern. I highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent facilities apart from the food buffet experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet food was very average prawns were tasteless and most of the meats were very tough and was not value fkr the money we paid

    The room was very well laid out and yes the bed was very comfortable and the decor very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient location to convention centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that the security in the lift didn't limit the floor guests could access.

    Corridors were noisy, but did settle later in the evening. Parking was ample, but not secured

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband & I had a night away here and were pleasantly surprised. It had been 20 years since our previous visit to the old jupiters! Whilst the facilities and rooms have all been made over, we were a little disappointed with some of the rest rooms in the restaurant areas and inside the casino. Overall though we felt the refurb was well done and it was nice to see a tired old girl given a new lease of life!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Gorgeous room and exclusive lounge access, but horrible breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area need to be renovated. Breakfast selection was poor and a restaurant itself looks horrible. Very unpleasant to eat there. It’s very old and creepy. I would recommend getting room without breakfast included. Would rather have breakfast somewhere In Broadbeach (which is walking distance via new part of the hotel “the darling”

    I stayed in Exclusive King room and it was amazing! Rooms are fully renovated, very cozy and comfortable, great views facing the canals. Exclusive rooms have an access to the exclusive lounge, where you can have free drinks, coffee, canapés, sweets and alcoholic beverages. Really nice touch. Pool was really warm! Restaurant selection at the hotel is ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Probably good for gamblers and conference attendees - but that is about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Balcony Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants (2 odour of the 4) were closed. So we decided to stay in and watch a movie and order room service. Movies didn’t work, food was just “ok”.

    It was our anniversary - they gave us a gift - which was not expected and kind of them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Had an ecellant time enjoyed all the facilities the Star has to offer and near by ammenities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot food at the breakfast was ok! The executive lounge could have been more relaxing!

    Bed was soft and comfortable, location is excellent not far from the beach and Pacific Fair shopping center, executive happy hour was an additional bonus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Great experience, I mentioned at check in that it was for my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great experience, I mentioned at check in that it was for my birthday weekend and they brought up a complimentary bottle of sparkling for me, which was really lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    We were travelling with friends to celebrate 2 50th...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were travelling with friends to celebrate 2 50th birthdays. We requested if possible could we be on same floor. They were very happy to accommodate our request as well as leaving a card and bottle of wine wishing them a happy birthday. Ate at the Vivo restaurant. Food was amazing and very reasonably priced

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was great and had room service for breakfast which was also great. We requested early check in and this wasn't a problem and received a bottle of wine as it was my birthday nice little touches:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.0
    A relaxing break in a hotel with quality restaurants, co-operative staff and the best bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That the monorail between Broadbeach and the casino is no longer operating.

    The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, staff eager to assist, and overall the hotel was exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and very helpful and even surprised us with a room upgrade and complimentary bottle of wine. The room and facilities were modern and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Amazing all round.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing all round. Great location, stunning rooms, wonderful staff and amazing food choices. The beds were so comfy! Pure luxury, can’t wait to come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    Pretty disappointed but happy the location was close to Dracula’s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Jupiter used to be the place to go, now it’s all slot machines and an older crowd. They still make you pay top dollar for something you can go to a pub for.

    Breakfast buffet had a lot of options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    We have stayed over 20 times since their opening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Balcony Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed over 20 times since their opening. It was getting a bit dated and run down. However our latest stay we could not complain with the new renovations. The roof top bar was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    I would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are paper thin. We heard the people next door all night. Kids were loud. Could hear people closing doors. Did not get a good nights sleep. When we told the reception down stairs, she wasn't that apologetic. We had $10 out of the mini bar, she could have said so sorry, please let me give you that complimentary. nothing.

    Clean, tidy, refurbished. Nice view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Noisy and disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really wanted to give this hotel full marks but unfortunately our stay was completely ruined by a horrible, noisy air conditioner. Our room looked great, the beds were comfy but we barely slept due to the noise the air conditioner made. It was too warm and too humid in the room without it on, but the noise coming from the air conditioner was horrendous and kept us awake all night. We were so tired the next day we couldn’t wait to leave. I mentioned the noise to the staff member at checkout who apologised but then said ‘you’re free to go now’. She couldn’t care less about our situation and has no desire to discuss the matter further.

    Beds were very comfortable, room looked great. Staff at check in were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Nice comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a rumbling noise every minute that yiu could here.and kept me awake. Room could be more sound proof from hall ways . When people are coming and going from room.

    Nice comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    So much to like about our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Balcony Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were really happy with our stay - very little to fault at all!

    So much to like about our stay. The first thing is the bed and pillows are the most comfortable we have ever experienced in a hotel. Just amazing!! The mini bar was reasonably priced, the bathroom toiletries were beautiful L’Occitane items, the check in and check out were easy, and out room view was just lovely. A HUGE bonus was the free wifi and car parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful exciting hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ringing me to see how my birthday was might have been nice and exceeded my expectations A kid free pool would be nice Pool staff nice but not exciting me offering tips on menu items and other things . I want to be sold to and excited by my experience the pool is a big area so turn it on

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Really like the new look.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really like the new look. New sports bar nice now rather then being tucked in a dark corner. Hotel rooms are very comfortable with nice views over hinterland.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Great, but we would have preferred some air-conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airconditioning was noisy

    The air-conditioning was so noisy we turned it off. The reception person said she would tell maintenance. The staff were otherwise very helpful and friendly and the bed was comfie.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Ok not the staffs problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the reception where we were told that the accommodation wasn’t paid for. It was paid with an extra charge because it happened outside of australia

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent customer service. Great facilities. Casino :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sheets weren't the comfiest, and didn't seem to fit the mattress. Food and drinks were pricey, but good quality and what we expected to pay at the Casino.

    Excellent customer service. Great facilities. The pool and restaurants all provided good service. Enjoyed being at the Casino and being able to go back to our room or the pool when we wanted to. Really enjoyed having breakfast at the cafe downstairs, I recommend the sausage and maple bun :D

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    Dosappointed with service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service delu5cry fee of $5. Also when the cleaners serviced our room they only made the beds. No clean towels no clean cups or glasses and they didnt remove the food tray from previous night.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Fun & relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Suitcase scales would be great somewhere in the property.

    Beds were so comfortable. Rooms clean, great house keeping service. So much to do on site. Pool great, lots of space around the pool area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.0
    staff very helpful. holiday was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no information in the room. blood on the sheet.a big hole in the towel. quite noisy. no information about use of room card. room was to be a superier king deluxe,definately not to that standard,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    loved everything except the design of the hairdryers and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hairdryer idea is absolutely ridiculous. It is impossible to dry long hair when holding the button the whole time. I stay in properties all the time all over the globe and have never come across this in a 5 star venue

    loved everything except the design of the hairdryers and having to share a sink

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent! Staff were wonderful and looked after us very well.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very impressed with the new decor and comfortable beds. Staff were also very accommodating as we had a dress malfunction and housekeeping brought us a sewing kit. Fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    My own piece of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corner Balcony Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike really. It was clean and the beds were beautiful and comfy. Just beautiful.

    Close to everything, tram, walking distance to a lot etc., etc., staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Expensive but a wonderful view of the Hinterland from the 18th floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a luxurious expensive hotel. Also good food venues very average within the complex.

    Close to the theatre we were going to. FREE parking and lots available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall it met my expectations and was the perfect choice after being in the star for a function.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not as good as I've had there in the past.

    The room was lovely, and the bed very comfortable. Staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    The staff were so lovely - from check in to check out, they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so lovely - from check in to check out, they exceeded expectations to make our anniversary stay amazing. Even sending up a complementary bottle of champas and personalised note! The room we stayed in wasnt a suite, but they had so many little features like electronic blinds, usb charge at the power points, dim lights that came on during the night based on sensor if you got up to use the bathroom... the list goes on! And that bed, sooo comfy! Having recently been renovated the rooms were immaculate and very tasteful. I would highly recommend staying as a couple!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    4.6
    I questioned the staff at check in when I realized I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I questioned the staff at check in when I realized I was paying the top daily room rate against all my friends who were paying considerably less (by over $100 per night). I booked this deal over 6 months ago. I asked the staff the throw in breakfast and they refused. Disappointing seeing as I have stayed at your hotel for the last 5 years for our yearly golf tour - which would be on file if your staff bothered to look

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    We loved our stay and will now use the star as our go to stay in the Gold Coast !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower head was poor pressure hard to wash thick hair out lol , and the cleaner forgot to put towels in our room, that's about it

    The bed was really comfy, the restaurants were lovely, the room service was great, free parking is a big bonus!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    1. The bed is super comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff is not helpful and friendly enough if compare to other 5 star hotel. Housekeeping didn’t clean the floor properly, even leave the message, the same problem still remain the following day..seem like never take guest comment seriously.

    1. The bed is super comfortable. 2. Casino member is given promotion price for dining, which is very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Kyomi Restaurant is outstanding.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Corner Balcony Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Kyomi Restaurant is outstanding. Bed are some of the most comfortable I have experienced. I stay at the Star on a regular basis and it is always great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Las Vegas vibes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was super noisy. The hotel did offer to move us though.

    Felt like a Vegas casino hotel which is fantastic. Rooms are good and big. Food good. Can’t really fault it .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    I was questioned about my booking and said it had been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was questioned about my booking and said it had been cancelled and then they tried to charge me more for the price quoted when I booked it. It felt very dodgy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.2
    Great but no wow factor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Balcony Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great but no wow factor. It had the things you would expect but nothing more. Our view was of a building site and Pacific Fair car park. Perfect for a night in the casino though.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    The pool was different to what was advertised in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was different to what was advertised in the pictures and the pool bar closed very early every day. Buffet was a bit overpriced for the quality. Italian restaurant was excellent food wise but the service was extremely slow. We had to keep getting up out of our chairs and asking for drinks and food etc... The bars were great. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Value for money at the time we booked and we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would love to see the hotel replace those tiny milk capsules to a small milk carton like the motels have. The bed wasn't comfortable,it was too soft just like the pillows; Not a well made bed. We did request for firmer pillows but it didn't work out. The toilet is too low almost kids size :( average size adults and the toilet was below the knee!

    close to Pacific Fair shopping center and the beaches. love the shower . The blinds are great! We had a view through the other buildings of the ocean. The Mei Wei Dumpling had better choices for balanced tasty meals, including cost effective delicious entrees and mains than the Imperial at the Star.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, will be back to sample some package deals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only hiccup was wrong instruction book for coffee machine

    The bed was very comfy, the decor was very nice, breakfast is always a delight, the electronics( like the blinds) up to date.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Great stay for the price, feels a bit like a resort not a casino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom sink was full of water and spit-out toothpaste, which room service must have missed, which was pretty disgusting.

    Bathroom and bedroom were very attractive, especially the feature wall behind the bed! Bed was EXTREMELY comfortable. Everything was easy to find, well laid out, beautifully decorated and the inside/outside bar and dining was itself something you could 'go out' to. Buffet breakfast just for fun was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.8
    At the moment location is the only good point. The room was clean but not what we booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service at pool bar & Cherry Bar in Casino was very poor. No care factor at all. We were next in line after waiting approx 10 min but the staff member just shut down his section & walked away so we had to go & join another line. People reserve chairs at the pool with towels etc but aren't always there.

    Location. Pool was great but had to go early as got very crowded in the afternoon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Friendly staff with great customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed here a few times now and every time we are met with great staff, clean facilities and a perfectly maintained room. I couldn't have had a better stay! thanks!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.8
    The bed was very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my room was terrible also the cleaning was a little underdone there were some sort of rappers left on the bathroom floors

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location, dumpling restaurant has good food, clean and nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at front desk are very slow and not very friendly. The computer system is slow.

    Convenient to convention centre. Easy walk across connecting walkway.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Since staying last time, the rooms have had an upgrade and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have a win at the casino which was a bit of a bummer!

    Since staying last time, the rooms have had an upgrade and are looking very classy now.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Dumpling place was fantastic so was the garden bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was excellent , I guess we didn’t realise how family friend it was not that that’s an issue. We went for a girls weekend and left ours behind . So was shocked to see the kids take over the pool area . Wish there was an adults only pool

    Bed was comfortable , room very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    Was a enjoyable stay but would try elsewhere slightly cheaper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Balcony Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise next door to our room. Kids playing till early hours of morning. Casino a massive letdown.

    The restaurants were definatley value for money. Plus close to other dining facilities in Broadbeach and short walk to Pacific Fair. Light rail a good 10min walk and go about every 10mins.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful holiday. Brilliant Hotel to stay at. Can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food prices at the hotel were UNBELIEVABLE. A family on a budget could easily eat here without concern. The staff were out of this world. The room upgrades were just beautiful and check in a breeze. We will be back very soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Great location, excellent facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Overall it was a really pleasant experience. Facilities, staff members all worth the price. The water dragons near the pool were cute and friendly, my daughter loved them. But on the second day of our stay, the room service was only half done, glasses left uncleaned, didn't refill coffee or tea, maybe the housekeepers are short staffed during the new year busy period.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.2
    Going downhill since the Jupiters days. 2 out of 10......tops. Stay across the road at Peppers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pre-booked Champers, Card and Cheese Platter (for my wife, as it was a Xmas present) and they were not there on arrival as requested (turned up a couple of hours later).....and we had issues with Star at breakfast when they were not going to honor their booking deal with breakfast included. They did at the end but it is pretty poor waiting at a counter when they "sort" it. Pretty embarrassing for us too. Mentioned the above mentioned to the staff at checkout but she couldn't give a crap. Just wanted my card details and payment.

    Cucina Vivo was wonderful as usual. Great veal !!! Great service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed our stay, but will not choose to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 502 looks out over adjacent building roof and all of its industrial features, so has no view to speak of. For over $435 a night, I expected a view that was more interesting than rooftop vents.

    Room 502 was very comfortable, clean and had excellent amenities. The food was reasonably priced in both the room and in the restaurants and we enjoyed our meals in both the noodle restaurant and M&G café. Staff in the theatre and gift shop were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Liked the free parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    We very relaxing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary news paper at the cafe for breakfast. Not a great hairdryer.

    Lovely pool great cocktails lots of restaurants to choose from. Great bed!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    Accommodation was fabulous and if booked at the right time can get a reasonable bargain.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service in the restaurants were slow. We had a work function that we were hosting. My work colleague needed to follow the staff up constantly. Considering how much we spent I was expecting more.

    The StarGrand has everything you need, restaurants, entertainment and fabulous accommodation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Room and staff great,but dress code for shoppers supermarkets is better the Restaurants here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dress code in the restaurant is not very satisfactory,dress code is better in a pub or Rsl club. Quiet bad for a 5 star Hotel.

    The room was expensive ,but well worth it,we would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    4.6
    The rooms are very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction noise everywhere. - casino - breakfast - lobby On every station has been an trainee We had to wait so much When we booked there was the information that the hotel is under construction- but this was not acceptable for a hotel! The casino interiors was too old- the variety of slot machines much less. We had stayed in a lot of 4-5 star hotels- this was unfortunately disappointing.

    The rooms are very nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Star Grand at The Star Gold Coast traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: