Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Victoria Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

215 Little Collins Street, 3000 Melbourne, Australia

#64 of 169 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4458 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.2
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    House keeping was a little erratic - replaced towels everyday but didn’t take old ones, not given more toilet paper but had two boxes of tissues left for us, two dirty cups and only one cleaned/replaced. Not bad - just not consistent.

    Great hotel. Best location in Melbourne cbd. Good value for money. Loved that the bathroom had a fan.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    7.5
    Really enjoyed and will stay there in future.
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was extra roomy which was good, the bed very good, we thought the vic lounge area for happy hour was just perfect. The assistant in the carpark area was such a happy nice guy. No complaints.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    9.6
    This property is in an excellent location in Melbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to call down as only one hanger in closet but they were happy to oblige and quick to deliver.

    This property is in an excellent location in Melbourne

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.3
    Clean bathroom, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Renovations occurring that we weren’t told about until AFTER we had confirmed payment. The renovations meant we had to take two lifts to level 5 and meander through the building to find our room.

    Clean bathroom, excellent location. One street back from Bourke Street tram stop which is very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    I went for a special weekend with two of my grown children - and the Victoria was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We usually sleep with window open, so our ONLY issue was with the heat in the room (in retrospect we probably should have asked at the desk if they could unlock our window)

    The location was excellent, the service wonderful from front desk to car park attendants - ever-ready and smiling, the beds were super comfy and the room quiet and super clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    9.6
    Staff were lovely including the car park Management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were slight mould build up in the bathroom and the ducted air/heating was noisy. There were some electrical maintenance needed doing as well with dust build up and dislodged down lights. Whoever thought to put a great fish tank behind a high desk that was not visible by anyone shorter than the desk is beyond me. These were minor issues

    Staff were lovely including the car park Management. Assisted with with every query I had and even showed my daughter the fish behind the reception. Excellent location and great recommendations. Will be back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.9
    Netflix is a bonus for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The space is rather small and difficult to walk if you have 2 big luggage’s. Toilet is also very small. Not sound proof as you can hear people opening and closing doors.

    This hotel has Netflix channels which is a bonus. Very close to Bourke St Mall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, ok value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was hard to get to and the approach and Lifts shabby. The bed was comfortable but I was cold. Good that there is aircon in the room I could adjust but would have liked a blanket or winter duvet so I didn’t have to have the air hot to stay warm.

    The location is excellent and the room comfy and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    8.8
    Overall suited our needs largely due to location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room Carpet had huge lumps in it, stains on carport and couches air cond was very noisy couldn't have on while watching tv

    Location friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Will stay here again. Can't say better than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - front counter girls (two) were a little offhand. There is no excuse to be snappy if the customer is not sure what to do. - fine print should be clearer because no one minds as long as they know what to expect. All hotels fudge these details which is very annoying. - bed was too short for my son and he said it wasn't very comfortable either. Mine was okay.

    clean, convenient, loved the gym, breakfast was good Joe in parking was friendly and helpful and quickly solved a problem without any fuss. he is a real asset to your hotel. $20 per day for parking was reasonable. He explained fine print well. taxi rank outside was handy too Manager was very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    From check in to check out our experience was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From check in to check out our experience was fantastic. Joe at reception was beyond helpful, even assisting us to heat our sons dinner! Our room was huge and location fabulous. Will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful break right in the heart of Melbourne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant's skirting boards were dirty and the walls needed to be repainted.

    The location eas fantastic - so close to Bourke St Mall. The room was nice & big - plenty of room for 2 suitcases. The beds were fantastic - seemed like new and so comfortable with good quality bedding. The breakfast had a good range of food but the restaurant could do with redecorating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    Good location and value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant is a Thai restaurant sort of attached to the hotel but in the next building. You have to walk through a small alley to get to it. Sorry, but can't recommend the Thai food or the breakfast. There are plenty of nearby restaurants which serve a much better dinner and breakfast and it is worth the effort to walk down the street.

    Room was quite good - bathroom had a longer bench and a shelf underneath to hold cosmetic bags etc. Shower was very dark, but water was hot. Bed was comfortable. Location was good, parking next door, close to shops, restaurants and Flinders St station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Over all great place to stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location for shops , restaurants and China town . Great value for money , Staff very polite and helpful . Accommodation was clean and comfortable , will be back .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely staff, location was fantastic, would have preferred a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar had no wine list and only one choice of very poor red wine that I couldn't finish. I was offered a small chocolate in compensation. Beer choices were poor. Even though it was happy hour, the drinks were overpriced and there was no ambience. Such a shame when the glorious foyer, chandelier and staircase offer so much promise.

    Lovely staff, location was fantastic, would have preferred a larger room for a Queen heritage room but in all it was great and we would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyed Melbourne and convenience of the Victoria Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Comfortable and clean. No fuss whatsoever. So close to all cbd facilities and shops and a small walk to the Art Gallery. Room small but comfy and very quiet. Easy walk to Degraves street and all that it offers!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.9
    A clean and comfortable hotel located in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited staff in dining area for b'fast & were run off their feet. After waiting for a little while needed to ask for popular b'fast items (bircher museli & hash browns) to be refilled on buffet.Our used bowls/plates piling up on our table as staff too busy to remove them.

    The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom nice and clean. Breakfast good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    Central location, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is limited and the Victoria have no affiliation with another car park which means expensive parking off site.

    Central location, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    4.2
    Grimy, dirty broom closet being sold as “Queen Heritage Room”
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From check/in to check/out it was really unimpressive. When I arrived I was waiting and told by one of the Receptionist to wait whilst holding his hand in the air as he needed to finish what he was doing . Error with the booking apparently booking.com didn’t send them the modified booking changes I made. That took 3 people to sort. 20 minutes later I’m given a key to a room that was supposedly a “queen heritage” yet was more like a broom cupboard located on the top floor. The bathroom was dirty and mouldy. Carpet dirty, chipped and damaged furniture. The room was just grimy and not properly cleaned. Woken in the mornings by housekeeping whom loved yelling and gossiping to see each other early in the mornings whilst clearly wanting to push you out of your room to clean and who thinks it’s ok for the cleaners to throw your PJs on the floor in the corner?! The bathroom shower recess renewed with new conditioner etc left on the floor!? Go to Vic’s Bar for a few drinks - ask the absolutely miserable bar man who clearly doesn’t want to be there was asked if we could borrow a lighter to be told “NO NO... NO!!l Go to the 7 eleven... just gobsmacking! Checking out the receptionist was a nightmare - we were a party of 3 different rooms yet whilst trying to explain that 2 were checking out and 1 party would be doing so in an hour was far too difficult for her to conceive I eventually left my room key and walked away. It was all too difficult - lesson - how about just listening to what the guest is trying to say without taking over them?! I would NEVER stay here again.

    The location is fantastic! I would honestly say that is the only positive of the property.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommend, will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very warm - too warm - even with heater switched off. Slept with window open despite it being mid-winter, otherwise too hot. Perhaps it just needs a tweak 'centrally'?

    Very friendly, helpful staff; ease of booking; comfortable beds; extremely central!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.6
    Happy with the services
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel doesn't have a shuttle to and from the airport.

    Room cleaners did a good job! I always found my room cleaned, and organised. Room big size as expected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfy. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the room and bathroom were on the smaller size but certainly fine.

    Our beds were surprisingly comfortable and the location was perfect. Really good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.6
    Great value, location, staff and shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were fantastic and location really convenient. Rooms were perfectly fine except that the windows were small and ugly view outside but for the price we didn’t expect anything else. We spent very little time in the room and we had exactly what we needed at a great rate. Last but not least the shower was amazing! Just what we needed after a long Melbourne Winter’s day outside exploring.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    6.7
    BEWARE OF PARKING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After driving 4 hours to get to the hotel arriving at 1am, we checked in and asked about the private parking that they offer for $20. They processed to tell us that their car park is full and we will have to go to a wilson car park. (My partner and I always make a point to ensure that the hotels we stay at always have parking so we don't run into these problems.) After checking out the wilson parking we found we would have to pay $70+ for anything over 3 hours, and we were going to be leaving it there over night. After checking all the parking around the area we found this price was the base line for over night parking. A whole extra $50 we would have to spend, which we were not happy about at all. So after an hour of looking for cheap parking we decided to go to another hotel which actually had parking. We called the hotel and explain all this, told them the parking was $70+, which they told us they didn't believe, so we asked for a refund so we could go to a different hotel, they asked for us to come back to reception to get a refund. When I got there I told the man I was getting a refund that my partner just called about, while waiting for him to process that, he then told me that he could fit my car into their parking lot, which I found very funny has an hour ago they told me they didn't have room. We decided just to take the parking as it was past 2am and we were both exhausted. The next morning when we went to get our car, we had to wait another 20 minutes, as they only have 1 enter for the car park, which is also the exit. There was only 1 couple in front of us when we got there, and when they tried to leave, someone else had come to get, so then they had to wait for them to back out, which was difficult as it was a busy street on rush hour, and then we had to wait for the parking attendant to park their car, and in the meantime 2 more cars had pulled up, so we would then also wait for them to get parked, so finally we got our car and left.

    Once we finally got to our room, it was quite nice, on the small size, but perfect if you are just using it as a bed to sleep in for the night. The bed was super comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.3
    Mixed feelings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist during checkin was disinterested and never gave us any info regarding how to access breakfast etc. Waited approximately 5-10 minutes for someone to 'serve' us to park our car, eventually we had to reverse back out and park elsewhere. Was quite disappointed with the 'service' side of our stay.

    Our room and bed was comfortable and clean, the hotel is in a great location and close to everything you need for a city break.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed a relaxing and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air-conditioning was noisy. Some steps between lift to room(on first floor). Going down was no problem, but coming up with heavy luggage could be an issue for some.

    Location is ideal, Close to shops & public transport. Room was clean and well serviced each day. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    my stay was vey enjoyable --loved the convenience --walking distance to everywhere. Room was comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    heating was way too warm in the room

    location location location!!! Bed was extremely comfortable Beautiful and stunning Chandelier in Foyer ---worth a look!! Staff were obliging

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.1
    Location is great and the beds were quite comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park staff unbelievably rude. Bathroom could do with a bit of an upgrade and be better stocked.

    Location is great and the beds were quite comfortable. Front desk staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    5.0
    Good location. Bad Staff and Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff not attentive and professional, not smilling and all seems frustrated. In the morning around 9-10, there will be loud banging and rubbish dumping sound from the window, cannot have a good sleep at all. Requested to change room on the second day. Went to see night shift GSA, he told me to come down again tomorrow morning and he does not even bother to know what was the reason. Really disappointed. Was staying at room 186.

    Room was spacious and clean. Convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.5
    Great location, very reasonably priced and will stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When checking out in the morning it was very busy and only 1 staff member at the desk to deal with everyone.

    Great location, very reasonably priced and will stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    6.7
    Paper thin walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy! The walls were so thin. We could hear everything going on outside. We were very closed to a set of small stairs between the rooms and people pulled their bags down and it was quite noisy. Pigeons had a nest outside our window and we heard it constantly. It was also quite dark.

    Clean, comfy bed, nice bathroom and great facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Desk chair in need of repair.

    Very friendly staff. Able to have early check in and late check out. Lovely street view from room. Very central location. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is not particularly good but there are plenty of other options a short walk away.

    We have been staying at the Victoria for about 50 years - location excellent. Our room this time was spotless, freshly painted and the bathroom had only recently been re-tiled etc to a very high standard

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.3
    The beds were extremely comfortable and the location was so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was mould in the shower, the paint fumes in the hall made my friend nauseous, and the doona’s on the beds were stained.

    The beds were extremely comfortable and the location was so central it made getting around town easy. The staff were also really lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, affordable accommodation with comfy beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa had dirt scum all around the top edges and was not the cleanest!?! The check in staff had said that we were able to have a later check out but didn't inform the morning staff and therefore we were unexpectedly called and questioned as to why we hadn't left yet.

    The beds were comfortable, in an EXCELLENT location, close to every Melbourne has to offer. The breakfast was generous, varied and good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic rooms sizes for 3 adults, including a spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Heritage Queen Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic rooms sizes for 3 adults, including a spacious bathroom. Rooms were clean, modern with comfortable beds and excellent climate control. We would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent position, comfort and price
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No place in the shower to place my toiletries. Shampoo, Conditioner, Body soap, etc

    Position, comfort, good shower pressure and price. A good place for dinner next door

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Great place in the middle of the CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Queen Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    We loved it here! The location was exceptional (which is the main thing), you're right in the middle of the CBD with plenty of attractions and great food nearby. We got a really good deal in the off-season and thought the room was simple but nice, and very comfortable. Staff were helpful and it was quiet. The upstairs pool and spa area was pleasant with a nice view!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.2
    Memorable stay at the hotel. It had what we needed and I'm contented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No view from room, but that's not the problem.

    Ideal location. Near Chinatown, heaps of cafes and restaurants. Walking distance to Federal square. Room is sufficient for both of us. Thank you Victoria Hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.2
    If you dont stay at Victoria hotel, you are wasting your money
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather. Not hotels fault

    The best priced clean hotel in Melbourne. Central location. I would like to see mini bar and room food service in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    6.3
    A great place to stay if CBD location is important
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows were uncomfortable and the site's cleanliness (particularly in the bathroom) was poor.

    Staff were very friendly. The bar was great and the location was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    5.0
    smelly and disappointing and some stains on chairs disgusting. Cleaner can not fix it, change it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as soon as i entered the room i smelled swerage. I went to front desk and the girl already knew of the issues the hotel is having. So, dry and without apologies, she told me she would send a plomer, which she did. The gentleman was very nice but the smell was there all day. So, i was disappointed about the service and the terrible smell i had to encounter.

    cleaners did their best but even their best is not satisfactory when sewerage is a problem

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    In the heart of the city walking distance to everthing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smell of paint at times was strong , but to keep it looking tidy they have to paint sometime but in no way is this a reason we wouldn't stay again

    Location was fantastic , very clean rooms everything you need and a great price , no worries here would stay again, freshly painted rooms and hallways and new carpet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Great room in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient location in CBD, close to restaurants and shopping. Close to tram and rail services. Comfortable room, comfortable bed. Small gym, pool, spa and sauna very convenient,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay but a big dawnting to get to the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small hallways and small rooms and i had to go from one lift on one side and then go to the other side to catch another lift just to vet to my room and i felt unsafe getting their and i didn't want to go to the top for a swim as i didn't feel roaming the building.

    It felt abit costaphobic in tbe building and not a great view also no much air coming through. Cheap anyway ifor a quick stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    8.8
    Great in every way that I needed and perfect for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a part of Melbourne history over 150 years old it was perfect. Bar, lounge lobby all reaked in by gone days to their credit. Carpark is problematic but understandable as is vehicle drop off and pick up.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    8.8
    Good quiet room, no street noise, location fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People slamming their doors closed. Noticed the inner duvet was stained. Revolting. Bit of a rabbit warren to find room. Lifts seemed a bit dirty. Door in restaurant that staff used behind food counters was filthy, not a good look in a food prep area. Quite off putting.

    Great comfortable bed, clean room, good powerful hot shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great hotel. I'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The receptionists spent a long time trying to find our bags when we went back to get them. That was the ONLY negative in an otherwise great experience.

    Superb central location and, whilst the rooms are a little dated, all of the things that matter were great; great bed, great pillows (and plenty of them), hot, strong shower and the room and bathroom were quite large.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Convenient stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The outlook from our room could be improved with some greenery and a good clean up.

    Great location Comfortable Nice to be able to open a window in your room Good atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location - close to business meeting locations, public transport and of course shopping, coffee and bars! Would definitely stay again - and for longer. next time I'd bring the family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just a small point but the cream covered chairs in the room were grubby and stained. The rest of the room was spotless.

    Great location, large room, fast free WiFi, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    6.3
    Could only recommend for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was laughable. We were sat down and then no-one returned to take our order or ask us about drinks. We eventually approached the desk and waited for staff to acknowledge us although they looked at us and kept clearing tables. We had to do the same when we wanted to order coffee and sweets. We found a good cafe down the hill on the right that made great coffee and food.

    Nice bathroom though there were areas of mould in the shower. Good toiletries. Comfortable bed though a lack of blankets. Air con was noisy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.5
    Location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the daily cleaning of the room needs to be improved, for instance, the used tea cups were not changed, the trash can was not emptied, little things can make a big difference. The curtains are a bit dusty and the room did not smell good the first day, I had to open the window to make it air.

    Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Excellent location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All staff were welcoming and friendly, rooms and bathroom were generous and very clean. Located right in the heart of Melbourne. Price of rooms were excellent and having carpark beside hotel & daily rate was excellent. Will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking is available but few places. Lucky to find small car park nearby thanks to a reception staff member.

    Location is great & good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.5
    Had a good weekend but would not return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking or help. No service. Three guests . One face washer and only three thin tiny bath towels

    Found parking impossible and no help from staff. Check in staff were rude and obviously had no time for the trouble we had with them

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.2
    Melbourne Trip (Victoria Hotel)
    • Couple
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We sometimes drive to Melbourne and I believe the car spaces are very small as we drive a large four wheel drive this may be a problem.

    The location as good as you can get in the Melbourne CBD. The rates are reasonable and the staff were friendly and helpful. I had to rebook and returned for a second night both rooms were well appointed and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.2
    Overall I would definitely stay again.
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just the size of thx room was a surprise

    Didn’t go to restaurant, room was small but really clean. Comfortable bed and spotless bathroom. Not much ambience! Maybe some artwork on the all’s and better coffee maker bag options. Staff were excellent, very efficient friendly and professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.6
    We had a great visit to the city for a show and overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast food we had at 7am in the morning could have been hotter ( bacon/mushrooms) otherwise plenty of choice in cereals and breads Ability to pre book a space for overnight parking would be useful

    Room was neat and tidy and hotel is close to all key shopping areas in the CBD Bar was very good for a late drink before bed and facilities were also handy with spa and plunge pool Staff were friendly and helpful and over night car park for $20 was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.5
    Location is great so if you don’t mind small rooms then you may like this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room size is quite small, it actually looked bigger in the pictures so we’re a bit dissapointed. We also had room with small windows so it even felt smaller. But our main concern was the room carpet. It looked dirty (you can see black spots) and felt dirty. They definitely need to change the carpets.

    Loved the bed it was really comfortable, bathroom was nice and clean and the location is perfect, close to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    8.3
    Location is very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no draft beer available on 3 of the 5 nights and the selection of bottled beer was not what I would drink if there was any other choice.

    Location is very central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    5.4
    Good location, good do with some updates and some air freshener
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Heritage Queen Room with One Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was so smelly when we walked in we had to open all windows and leave for a couple of hours to air it out. Basic room setup not huge amounts of space.

    Location is was the high point

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    8.0
    Only stayed one night and suited my purposes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of a rabbit warren as had to get two lifts in two different areas to get to the floor my room was on (needed to leave a bread crumb trail) and the signage was not very good to indicate where you needed to go. The air conditioner/heater system was very noisy (even though I had turned mine off) and I didn't get a lot of sleep du to this.

    Great location for CBD activities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    8.3
    Very clean and I am fussy about cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was close to the cleaners closet so quite noisy when they were getting stuff out in the early hours.

    Very clean and I am fussy about cleanliness. Room was basic but big enough for two people the bed was very comfortable. I got a very good rate of $100 a night, so well worth it but probably wouldn’t want to pay much more than that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.2
    Central old school hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view out of our window was of walls and roofs and I struggled to regulate the aircon - small things

    Location was fantastic, walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go (Etihad, MCG, Flinders Lane, Hardware Lane). Room was huge with netflix on the tv and we were able to check in at 9am which was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    7.9
    Suited our purpose well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfectly located, well priced accommodation. Clean comfortable room with plenty of food venues nearby right in the middle of the CBD. Easy walking to Southbank, fed square, MCG.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    5.4
    The location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are tiny. The hotel is old and needs updating. Black stuff in the shower. Ceilings not clean. Didn’t feel comfortable at all in this dingy hotel. We moved the third night! Staff so so! Could have been more helpful! We parked in the wrong car park overnight and was charged 84.00! We will not be back.

    The location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, right in the heart of the CBD and a close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is dated and the rooms basic, however it is clean and excellent value for money.

    Great location, right in the heart of the CBD and a close walk to everything we wanted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    10
    a great weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The location is ideal for my purpose. The bed and room was excellent. I have been going there for years and the staff are excellent, they know me by name and welcome me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommend for a clean & value priced bed for the night in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did have a bit of a smell about it although it was spotlessly clean, but it is a large hotel so possible the room hadn't been used for some time.

    Great value for money! Very comfortable beds, super clean room, brilliant location. The room was small but we were in town for the theatre so weren't planning on spending much time in the room anyway so it was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.2
    Highly Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing was the in room phone didn't work and just had a constant dial tone, went down to reception but they were really busy. Everything else was great.

    Location, great and helpful staff, really good experience!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.6
    Shall be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Have never organised my Accor card, so many visits haven’t earned discount or points; when my name pops up would be great to be offered a special every now and then. (I was offered a breakfast deal once due to my repeat custom and that was greatly appreciated)

    Convenient to drive to, our choice of city accommodation for 35 years. Facilities seem to be always upgrading, ie quality of beds, no smoking at all is important as we detest the smell. Great and reasonably priced restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Can leave car a little longer after checkout which is very convenient when we have appointments. Great to see familiar faces behind the counter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.6
    Heart of City, Excellent for young families and theatre goers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a shame that we were made to wait for breakfast as it was not showing as included in our booking. I had to show my iPhone, that I had left back in the room, as proof that breakfast was included. This should have been very clear, especially as I had double checked the night before. That was the only disappointing moment.

    We went to see the Wizard of Oz at the Regent Theatre and this hotel was only a 2min walk which was great for our family of five! The family room was very comfortable, the receptionist Zoe was so welcoming and helpful. The affordability for us as a young family was a big reason for us staying with you for the first time and I have recommended you to my Facebook friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.6
    Always a pleasant stay - great location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Alice's Restaurant was booked out because of tour groups, so we couldn't have an evening meal. We could hear water running presumably from higher floor - not into room though.

    Location is outstanding. Very economical stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.8
    Good facilities, Cleanliness and Superb Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Heritage Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room itself was a bit small and I think the carpets are getting old.

    Really Awesome facilities (High-end TV, Wifi, fridge, Locker ). Toilets were also super clean with modern design. No complaints there.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Victoria Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: