Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5 stars

5 York Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#55 of 250 Holiday rentals in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1406 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect apartment in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was fantastic... a lovely size, great facilities and a complimentary bottle of wine. I'd stay there again and the location was perfect for seeing everything Sydney has to offer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable apartment hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a background level of traffic noise, but it was not a problem overnight.

    The York is well-located with easy access to Wynyard train station, buses and Circular Quay. It is a short walk to good restaurants. The studio apartment was roomy and comfortable with plenty of in-room facilities. The cleanliness was fine and the staff we dealt with were helpful. We had a glimpse of the harbour from the apartment which faced York St.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Sometimes great, sometimes awful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My unit was very dark - it didn't get natural light into the apartment. It was also cold. Noise from other apartments was the biggest problem: upstairs neighbours were shrieking and doing karaoke until 3AM. Eventually staff did get them to keep it down. Unfortunately other noises - eg the scraping of patio doors - made it very difficult to sleep. I was also disappointed that the pool and spa was closed - and will be for several months. This should have been pointed out on the website- I could have booked somewhere else if I'd known. Finally, it is bizarre that there's no eating or drinking facilities in the hotel- for breakfast you're invited to go next door to travelodge! I stayed here before and had a great experience, but really got unlucky this time.

    The location is great and the room size is excellent - far bigger than similar properties.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location, needs a facelift
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Double)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our apartment was very ‘tired’. Everything squeaked & creaked & the paintwork was in dire need of a refresh.

    Apartment was large and shower was amazing! Location good for a short walk to The Rocks area. Beds were huge. Fabulous Italian place across the road for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    For the price the apartment needed maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price the apartment needed maintenance. Wires hanging from back of fridge, bad smell coming from air con, under sink looked like a construction zone, shower glass was old and discoloured, check in was unhelpful and did not warn of high Visa card charges prior to using card, swimming pool was not accessible.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    I would specifically like to thank Dylan who helped me above...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would specifically like to thank Dylan who helped me above and beyond with the issues i was having in regards to my booking. He is really a credit to this hotel and i will make sure to book it again when i am in Sydney!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    The york June 2018
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion with checkout. Asked for a quiet room and it was assigned a room next to utilities wearhouse Not all the facilities mentioned in the page are available in the hotel

    Very generous space of the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clothes Iron was difficult to use.

    Great location. Friendly, Helpful staff. Good sized rooms. Very comfortable bed. Good to have a clothes washer and dryer available in the bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Leo was very prompt and informative and pleasant.
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa and some of the reception staff were a little unsure about things at reception

    Leo was very prompt and informative and pleasant. He took over my check out as the other male wasn’t sure what he was to do with my check out . I booked this hotel as I suffer with chronic pain and they advertise that there is a spa that I was dependent on. But spa and pool area was under maintenance and not available until September. I was well greeted upon my arrival by a female . My sister paid an extra $60 a night for 3 nights for a trundle bed. After she left, I asked reception to remove the trundle bed and had to call another 2 times to get it removed and the male that I asked said. Oh I thought you said you wanted a trundle bed. He was the same male that handed my check out over to Leo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel located in a good location however the area was too noisey and windows weren’t double shields so the whole night I had the noise of the passing cars and trucks! When the day after I raised this with the hotel receptionist, I was told you got lucky as the rooms facing to York st are even worse! The room itself wasn’t quite clean as you expect from a 4 stars hotel. It was quite old, the air con didn’t work properly, no soap in the bathroom ( they only provided a shampoo and hair conditioner!!) There was wifi network, but without internet access! In total never worth the value of the money I paid.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Met all our needs, the Motel was clean and tidy. I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The attitude of Check in Staff was a little off putting. It seemed a bit of a task to engage - I left check in feeling less than valued. Later engagements were better- still not overly welcoming.

    Proximity to Wynyard Train Station, Circular Quay (Harbour Ferries) and the City was great. The Breakfast deal with Travelodge Motel (Next Door) was a pleasant surprise and value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Spacious room (Delux 2 bed apartment).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Double)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obviously an old hotel that has been refurbished so it looks a little dated in places however if you ignore this it is a great place to stay and has everything. I'll be back.

    Spacious room (Delux 2 bed apartment). Super convenient to the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Great balconies, great sized rooms, lovely decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were overcharged on check in and after arguing a little we showed proof of email and were refunded the difference.

    Great balconies, great sized rooms, lovely decor. Very clean! Excellent location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay right in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Occasional noise at night, but that is due to being right in the city.

    Great location and room was clean and spacious. Easy to access hotel and car park straight off the harbour bridge. We have stayed here before and would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay. Great view. Would have loved to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I forgot to let them know the shower attachment needs altering as the hose wouldn’t stay in the holder.

    Great location and a fantastic apartment. Very spacious and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    2.9
    So disappointed for our international visitor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room and ashtrays dirty on verandah Only 1 bathroom in a 2 bedroom unit Room wasn’t serviced on Sunday and had advertised as serviced daily

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Stay again anytime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Double)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hate those little milks, especially when they know you are there longer than a night and staff could not supply any more.

    Great location and the property had great facilities. Loved the more spacious older style room. Loved the layout of the room. Private and solid building so sound did not travel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Spacious and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor quibble re being charged for laundry powder in a room costing a few hundred a night.

    Spacious, great view and location. Very clean and good facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall get location and place to stay with on site parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Double)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property definitely needs a make over, but still vey comfortable.

    Great location for restaurants and close to Wynyard station to hop on the city circle to get around the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Good location, reasonably priced and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Executive Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from the streets but in a way this couldn't be helped with being a busy city. Shame a consignee was not on at the weekend to help with bookings for activities.

    The location was very good and deluxe 2 bedroom unit very spacious. Great for a long stay. Walking distance to most and taxis available if required from York Street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    It was great and we will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a big thing - on a previous visit, I had a view over the Church, which was lovely, but I understand that cannot always be arranged (depending on apartment availability).

    Nearby restaurants for meals are great. I had to leave my car at the complex for a few days between stays while we travelled out to the bush - the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Room was adequate for our short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel is in a central position not far from Wynyard Station. Close proximity to shops and a 10 min walk to Harbour. Room was spacious with kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Good comfortable facilities for our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safety electrical switch for the stove top and fridge kept tripping, thus the fridge would not be working for a while. This electrical problem should be checked by a electrician.

    Apart from good facilities the central location of the York in the CBD was a great advantage

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    The apartment is spacious and comfortable with a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the kitchen was nice and modern, the rest of the unit was old and dated. It definitely needs a refresh! The unit was however comfortable and clean.

    The apartment is spacious and comfortable with a great location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    Beware of false advertising
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property is not a hotel - but a group of privately owned apartments centrally managed. This means it is the owners choice on whether they renovate their property and the photos you see on the website are the best ones! Well I got one of the worst ones. Unrenovated, old mouldy and dirty bathroom, brown stained pillows, uncomfortable bed (apt 1502). I asked to be moved, and although the next room (apt 1301) was better (at least the bathroom was from the 2000s) the TV and bedside lamps didn't work. Annoyingly you also have to pay for washing powder, even though there is a washing machine in the room. Every room in this hotel is not 4 star, but has a 4 star price. So if you want something modern, clean with working amenities - don't take the risk - go elsewhere.

    The staff were very helpful and understanding when I asked to move rooms. The location was also convenient to the office I was working in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    I love the location of this hotel, it is so convenient to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are not really friendly, they don't make you feel like you are on holidays and going to have a good time. They do their job effectively enough, but you know what it couldn't hurt to smile, be more welcoming and engage in a little polite conversation (you are after all in the customer service/tourism trade). I just got back from Ayres rock (Accor) and all the staff there were friendly and welcoming and made your experience so much better and memorable, Sydney was a stark contrast where you just felt like a business transaction.

    I love the location of this hotel, it is so convenient to park your car then walk everywhere for the weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Love the convenience of the hotel, don't particularly feel overjoyed to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are not really friendly, they don't make you feel like you are on holidays and going to have a good time. They do their job effectively enough, but you know what it couldn't hurt to smile, be more welcoming and engage in a little polite conversation (you are after all in the customer service/tourism trade). I just got back from Ayres rock (Accor) and all the staff there were friendly and welcoming and made your experience so much better and memorable, Sydney was a stark contrast where you just felt like a business transaction.

    I love the location of this hotel, it is so convenient to park your car then walk everywhere for the weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    We had a good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested that the bed be separated into x2 single beds on two separate occasions, yet this was not done. That the parking was not included in the cost of the room. The cost of the room was very high. The room was outdated.

    The location. The x2 balconies in the room. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant city visit for Vivid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little noisy at night from city traffic but that’s from someone who lives in the very quiet countryside.

    Nice view from our room - we were in a delux apartment. Very comfy bed! Easy stroll down to the Quay & The rocks & also Burrangaroo & close to Wynyard station. Were allowed to leave our car in carpark after checkout (parking is extra though). Pleasant sitting on balcony on a winter afternoon - faced north. Better value than a hotel. Also had fully stocked drinks fridge if u needed drinks but we brought our own.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff and everything was amazing. The parks were cramped but the rooms were huge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. For $50 a night, the parks were small, cramped, difficult to get in and out of, and way to overpriced for that part

    The room was huge for the price, and so nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bright orange tiles in bathroom ruined aesthetics, no hairdryer in room then it took an hour for them to send one up, noisy pipes from other rooms, check in took ages and so did check out. Staff not practiced at the check in and check out procedures.

    Location was excellent - walking distance to harbour and The Rocks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Space (we booked deluxe one bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the week and although on 13th floor, the outside traffic is relatively nousy

    Space (we booked deluxe one bedroom suite). Arrived from Europe we needed to adjust to new time and this definitely helped. Well equiped with all you need and also location is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, clean, spacious 2 bedroom apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Staff member on Friday and Saturday made everything seem like it was a inconvenience however the staff member on Sunday, Janet was lovely who couldn’t have been more helpful.

    Great location, clean, spacious 2 bedroom apartment. Would stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Location was great, as were the facilities.
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelled musty from being closed up when we first entered. The lounge and loungeroom carpets were stained.

    Location was great, as were the facilities. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Did the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy renovations on floor, poor admin staff attitude when trying to use business centre, coffee machine was broken at reception. No help taking bags to room. Parking was a nightmare.

    The heated spa was deluxe!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Lovely stay, comfortable and easy , want to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities excellent . Location excellent and we loved the view from our balcony. I booked a de luxe studio suite but we had a one bedroom apartment which was very comfortable . The staff were very helpful . Close to Wynyard Station and walking distance easy to Circular Quay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfy beds, good TV selection, a homely feel to the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access and finding the hotel is quite hard. As the address is 5 York street, but the entrance is on Jamison street. Makes it hard when you have lots of bags and dropped off at the wrong address..

    Comfy beds, good TV selection, a homely feel to the room.. Minibar^^

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Decent apartment for with kids near tourist spots
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was a bit tired

    Adequately stocked full kitchen. Swimming pool and warm pool. Easy walk to the harbour, opera house and botanic gardens as well as some museums

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved the accommodation and will definitely book again if the opportunity arises.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it came as a surprise, a nominal fee for surcharges was added. I would have appreciated the total bill included surcharges at the time of booking.

    Surprising roomy, comfortable room with full size kitchen and a balcony. Location was excellent. Loved it and definitely would book accommodation at this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Great property, great location and facilities, but not cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Staff OK, but not overly so. Mediocre experience with Leo. Needed help forwarding a package and he was very off hand and wrongly accused me of having cancelled my reservation so why should they help?

    Great location, very handy for everything we wanted to visit. Nicely fitted out, lovely carpets, lots of room and great facilities in the apartment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    Customer service non existent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Receptionist was not at all welcoming, spoke very quickly and was disinterested. Unfortunately we did have a bad experience. After dinner we came back to our room only to step out of the lift and find the fire alarm going. A quick check of our room confirmed it was going in their as well. Back down to Reception only to be told by another receptionist that it was only on our floor, not to worry, there was no fire and it was safe to go into our room - with sirens still going!! This was not an option for me so I sat in hotel lobby until fixed. Hubby had ear plugs so did go in to bed with pillow over head. The sirens continued for another 2 1/2 hours with the Manager eventually calling a technician who then had to drive in from Penrith. During the whole time there was not one thing done to make it more comfortable. I suggested moving us to another room on another floor, the receptionist said they had one but the Manager said they were full up...not even an offer of a cup of tea or coffee! They could not understand why I wasn’t in our room...with fire alarm still going! To add insult to injury, when I first tried to do a review, I found the property had “locked me out”! Such is their customer focus... Would suggest some urgent staff training on communication, starting with the Manager. Having said that on checking out Ajay was helpful and friendly. However we will not stay here again.

    Spacious clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was great but roadworks and rubbish in the streets around the CBD were not
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sydney was such a mess with all the roadworks but nothing to dislike about this hotel.

    The reception man who allowed us a shower as we arrived early after an all night flight and were exhausted and our room booking was a few hours away. This was a well appreciated kindness. The washing machine and dryer were great after a month long trip before our arrival in Sydney. Apartment very comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    Adaquate place to stay and location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff. The kitchen oven didn’t work even though we turned on switch at wall. The York did fix it but intimated that we didn’t turn the switch on at the wall. There was air in the hot water system in the sink in the bathroom that made it unusable at times. We were told there was nothing they could do about it. Be aware of the toaster! It burned everything! You were told to leave your balcony door open as you cook so you would not set off fire alarm! After using their toaster we can see why! The place was comfortable but dated. If you have the staff book you a van to return to the airport add in an extra 1/2 hour as they were late picking us up!

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, super spacious
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is dated and could use an upgrade. Of course then, it wouldn’t be good value for money.

    Fantastic location, very spacious for the price in central Sydney.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.4
    Deceitful advertising
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked NOTHING like the photos. It was 1970s decore - original, not a new contemporary takes on 1970s. I booked the room on trhe basis of the room photos and was shocked about the room I was put in. Also, there was a large window onto the balcony and the lock didn't work. As a single woman business traveller I didn't feel safe in a room in which someone could get into the room through an unlockable large window. IO ended up having to put books along the insider of the window to prevent the window being slid open. Definitely won't be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    A great place to stay in Sydney if you want a spacious apartment and not a motel room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed size. Booking. com advertised king size beds in the apartment. That is why I booked through you. The York advertised queen size bed When I arrived only queen size beds in apartments. and Bookings. com. had changed their add and I hadn''t taken it with me so they wouldn''t believe me. But we survived in the small bed.

    The view of the Sydney Harbour bridge was spectacular Handy to the rocks, circular quay, train, bus and ferry. Car parking on site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location - a short walk from Barangaroo and the Rocks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few things didn't work properly - the hob extractor fan, and the radio - and the shower was very noisy in use. The tumble dryer needed its filter cleaned and water reservoir emptied (impossible to do the latter without moving the entire machine). We logged a maintenance request for these issues. Our apartment was on floor 9, but both road noise and train rumbles were noticeable, particularly during rush hour. It seems like the property only has single glazed windows!

    The hotel is very close to Wynyard station, so it is easy to get the train from / to the airport. It is a short walk from Barangaroo wharf where there are lots of bars and restaurants. Our apartment was. A good size, and included a dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. The apartment had good sized balcony with a view of the road going towards the Harbour Bridge (we couldn't see the bridge itself though). The pool area looked good, although we didn't use it. Towelling robes were provided for guest use - a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Whilst we were disappointed that our problems were not addressed, we did enjoy our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of fish in our room which we reported twice (to two different staff members )but it remained.lack of plug for kitchen sink which we again reported twice and nothing appeared. Doors to one bedroom didn't close properly,reported once but it remained faulty.

    The location was perfect. The sauna,spa and pool were splendid. Most of the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location, let down by quality of accommodation and staff attitudes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Double)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the linen on arrival was dirty. Housekeeping didn’t replace coffee/tea items. The room was run down- shower taps fell off, shower pressure and temperature kept changing, bathroom tiles displaced, hole in ceiling of lounge room.

    Room size and location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    extremely comfortable stay, an old property so some stains in carpet but still clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have a little vacuum cleaner so we could do a little cleanup during our stay, especially with kids.

    The suite layout was awesome. The sound proofing between internal rooms and neighbours rooms was exceptional, we couldn’t hear a thing from our neighbours at all or the outside noise once asleep

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Our only "complaint" was that we booked a twin...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only "complaint" was that we booked a twin room - i.e. With twin beds. The bedroom of our appartment had a queen sized bed. We just accepted this oversight. Other than that everything was fine and we would stay at The York again the next time we are in Sydney.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.2
    😏
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility a bit run down and shower doors and corners not cleaned to a good standard. Lounge very old, cheap and used , carpets oldish too. Car parking $50 per night - found out later . It’s seemingly in the letter they give you on check in at the back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Such a wonderful time in Sydney over Easter, great accommodation in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Double)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow elevators, check in and check out painfully slow. Disappointing that services were reduced because it was a long weekend. We had 4 apartments and were offered half an hour when we asked for a late check out on 1 room 😟

    Location! Great living area. Comfortable bed for a great night’s sleep after a busy day out. Everything we needed for our time in Sydney.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People dropping cigarette butts from their balconies into the pool area while we were swimming below - very grubby. It would also be great to have some kind of communication about the safety of the balconies- it is an older building and one does wonder about structural issues/soundness/concrete cancer etc. the drain in the main bathroom didn’t seem to have been set on the correct gradient so water didn’t drain away and pooled under the bathroom door - it actually would have been quite easy for this to result in water damage to the carpet had we not carefully policed this. Likewise, a significant pool of water gathered around the air conditioning unit on the balcony and could not drain away. We ended up using the bath mats to soak it up to avoid having to step out into a pool of water.

    We had a lovely spacious apartment. We appreciate being able to,pay in cash as w e do save up for this annual holiday the old fashioned way. It would be great to be able to get an invoice and pay directly into a bank account for our stay upfront.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    The place was good but the people need to be trained.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was checking in at night after work and there was only one person working. I waited 20 minutes to check in. I showed him my booking.com confirmation which he then said was not paid. I confirmed showing him on my phone it was paid but he said he needs to charge my credit card again.

    The room is spacious. Particularly liked the bed and the pillows, very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked and organised. And a very good size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Centrally located to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour/Barrangaroo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Less credit care fees - at 2% they are quite steep. Dripping tap in the bath needs fixing.

    Roomy accommodation, great for a family. Centrally located to Wynyard train station. View to Sydney Harbour was lovely. Beds were really comfortable and it would be a great place to stay for an extended time, given there is a kitchen and laundry facilities in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast available in the hotel but you can eat nearby the hotel & it will be charged to your room!

    Great location! In a walking distance to all attractions in Sydney city centre. The 2 bed room apartment is great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    Not good enough York. Will not be back again, regardless of location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last time we stayed here a couple of years ago, a bathroom flooded with a blocked drain; and the TV required repair. This time the fridge started beeping, and couldn’t be fixed because the all-purpose maintenance man doesn’t work on weekends. Sleepless night!

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    The room is cleen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better there is randly powder. We were not able to wash our clothes because we didn't have anything for randly.

    The room is cleen. Also staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Elevator was quite slow. This is all I can find to say on a negative note. So V. good.

    Very convenient location and very reasonable cost for the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.6
    Unfriendly, and lacks any warmth or character.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are bordering on rude. You do not feel welcome at all. The bathroom tiles had well established mildew. It has an 80's feel even with some modern pieces. Pillows had rocks, bed felt like a plank of ply. Just unfriendly, basic accommodation.

    Location and space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    Ideal for a short stay, convenient to shops and train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in need of reburbishing, bathroom in particular was well over due.

    The hotel is convenient to Wynyard train station. The room was comfortable and a good size.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were given a 3 bedroom apartment when booked a 2 bedroom. Was very comfortable with plenty of room. Location was good and easy walking distance to train station and circular quay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    TERIFFIC !!!! thank you.
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Double)
    • Stayed 1 night

    CANT THINK OF ANYTHING !!!!! MAYBE A FREE BEER ON ARRIVAL ! LOL. JOKE ONLY.

    Yes GUYS ! the stay was great & the staffs help was very helpful , since it was my 1st time to drive in the middle of all the CAOS, let alone stay in the city, I don't know how you drive amongst that every day , next time we will bring some swimmers & have a swim & spa. THANKS AGAIN & SEE you guys next time . take care ALL. REGARDS THE SMITHERS FAMILY.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Overall we had a comfortable stay and the staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a little dated and needs painting. Our 2 bedroom unit only had one bathroom.

    We had a 2 bedroom unit and it was very comfortable with a good view from the balcony. The unit was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location in the CBD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in the CBD. We had the 2 bedroom ensuite apartment for my friend and our 2 teeanage daughters - it was perfect for us, lovely and spacious. View of the harbour from the balcony, and right next to the Wynyard train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    We always enjoy staying at the York, there is a room set up for everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An upgrade of the apartment would be good. The lifts are still somewhat slow. Other than these small complaints the room was excellent.

    The apartment was only partially upgraded although still very acceptable. The York is central for all facilities - Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, shops and trains. We have stayed many times before and will continue to do so.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Location great. Reception staff need to go on a customer service course
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information folder about facilities incomplete and not rectified during our stay. No mini bar price list when we arrived and breakfast box well out of date. Decor a bit tired in places. Reception staff all need to make an effort - pretty poor customer service. Night porter the friendliest and most helpful.

    Great location. Very comfy bed. Washing machine and tumble dryer in bathroom meant we could wash through some clothes before next stage of our journey. Our usual cleaner was very good. Marked difference when she had a day off.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money in central CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms were a bit dated with toilet button sticking so had to bash toilet tops to stop water flow. Water noise issues with tap use

    The 2 bedroom apartment on the 18th Floor was great size and had everything we needed for our long weekend stay. Great location easy to walk everywhere. Good value for money in Sydney!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed location apartment tired needs refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial room rejected due kitchen splash back having been removed wall plaster detached and electrical sockets duck taped Unacceptable Given a second choice which was an improvement but still not equal to the room rate

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Spacious, comfortable place for the ideal couple holiday stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bedroom is tight- no room for laying out suitcases, but big closet.

    This is a terrific place for holiday stay... spacious flat with huge living/dining room & nice balcony (20 floors up- no traffic noise- ask for high floor). fully equipped kitchen- perfect to save money on breakfasts. great workout room and pool, and a crossfit box for really tough workout just 50 paces away. helpful front desk with free nespresso coffee. 5-10 min walk to hop-on bus stop or circular quay. many nice coffee shoppes on same block.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved the space and facilities in the apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets a little worn but not really an issue

    Loved the space and facilities in the apartment. The location was great too. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Great location, fantastic views and met all our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Ensuite (Twin)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main bathroom was of an older style but the ensuite was lovely. I

    We walked into our apartment and were all thrilled with the size and cleanliness. The two balconies were fantastic which we utilised enjoying the view of Luna Park and the city. At night it was beautiful. The kitchen was well equipped .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.2
    Dated, Expensive, Location is Everything
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We asked for a modern room on an upper level to try to avoid traffic noise. We were given a room on the 16th floor straight out of 1984 mirror, brass and glass decor with a balcony so crowded with overgrown pot plants you couldn't sit or stand on the balcony and see over them. Anyone who has stayed here and been given this room will know exactly what I'm talking about. We complained and ended up with a room on the 12th floor-newer decor but didn't feel completely finished-and traffic noise-but at least we could see out. We had a light bulb explode in a floor lamp. We asked a young guy at the front desk to please get maintenance to look at it as part of the bulb was still in the lamp. We got back to our room, after the cleaner had been, glass shards were still everywhere- I suppose the cleaner doesn't clean over in that corner of the room- and the broken bulb still in the lamp....after another phone call managed to get maintenance up to look at it. The hotel overall is a little dated. The rooms are a variety of styles as many are privately owned. We thought it was expensive for what you get. The location is everything for this hotel.

    The location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    The best location in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor housekeeping issues like replenishing tea, coffee and milk was haphazard

    The best location in town. Easy walking distance from harbours and major sights. Good value for Sydney

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The York by Swiss-Belhotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: