Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place 4 stars

165 Phillip Street, Sydney CBD, 2000 Sydney, Australia

#167 of 306 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1854 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    No fresh air, couldn't open the windows, the motel room made me feel like I could've been anywhere.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh air, couldn't open the windows, the motel room made me feel like I could've been anywhere. I was in Sydney Australia in the room look like something I could've seen in Detroit Michigan.

    Your employees

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    friendly staff and fantastic location.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet a little dirty but in the process of an upgrade. Didn't like the access to the car park after hours lifts don't access the carparking directly making it difficult if your unwell.

    Bedding very comfortable and nice and quiet room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Awesome time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms wete a good size with comfortable beds with clean sheets and the hotel was clean aswell.. great location being inbetween st james and martin place stations so can travel easy around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have few pieces of luggages but Staff did not offer to send up my luggages. No laundry service. No car park. Didn’t get refill coffee everyday.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Well worth considering as it is close to museums, galleries, the harbour and shops
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, even though I had completed the paper work earlier in the day, when I returned to the hotel to collect my key card the check-in was very slow. With only two staff, one on the phone dealing at great length with a customer, the other on the phone for considerable time, then ignoring me even though it was obvious that I had my luggage retrieval card ready , my wait to was very lengthy. This soured my stay.

    The location is fantastic and the room comfortable, although the foyer lacked character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small piece of soap was provided for two adults so it was lucky we had brought a cake with us.

    The bed was very comfortable and there must have been double glazing on the windows as we had no noise from the traffic below although we looked out onto a busy road. The room was a decent size for a couple.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Great staff, handy location, Would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin room would be great with 2 double beds but that is purely a personal thing. I really couldn’t fault the hotel or staff

    Handy location easy walk to the city centre and Circular Quay. The staff were so friendly and happy to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    City Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable. Efficient staff. Great location for art gallery and city recital hall. Close Martin Place railway. Convenience store and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Good base in Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Position, position, position! Great position for exploring Sydney. The Staff were very helpful. The room was spacious & comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size. Excellent coffee shop across the road. Kitchenette contained a microwave, handy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Great Hotel, was very lucky to get the top floor and enjoy the scenery. Thanks Travelodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no spa, pool or gym in the hotel which could have been more enjoyable to stay in but other than that it was good.

    I liked the location where the hotel was just two mins from the train station. It was a fresh entrance on arrival and has amazing views and rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing. Expected more and for the cost feel we might reasonably have expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Upon arrival and entering allocated room hit by wall of heat. Turned out to be from portable fan heaters drying out floor.. . problems with previous occupants or more a structural problem don't know .Reception not aware when allocating room so communication internally not good it seemed. Given new room. This room after a cool night turned out to have a faulty air conditioning unit. We were provided with two portable fan heaters (one of which didn't work!) and promise that someone would look at it that day. No feedback was provided and if it had been looked at it was much if any better. The day after I enquired and told someone had. Not ideal but shut up and put up with the one working fan heater. This accommodation is 'tired' and in need of investment I would suggest, which is a shame, as other than overnight roadworks causing disturbance to an already fragile body clock and the faulty air-con the location is good. Also don't muddle the reviews with it's sister hotel of a similar name

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Satisfactory, handy enough to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping was slack, had to continually ask for items that should have been automatically replenished, one of the staff particularly didn’t know the difference between sugar and artificial sweetener (even confused sugar sachets with the coffee sachets!) Disappointing that no breakfast available - Booking.com should make sure this is clearly stated before a booking is accepted (have had this problem before, but had already made more bookings before staying at the first hotel!)

    Reception staff were all very helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    Bed was very comfy and the room was quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room took ages to warm up and the air com was noisy. needed a bit more attention to cleanliness and we were only given one face washer to share

    Bed was very comfy and the room was quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff were amazing and very friendly with good knowledge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment as we were quite happy

    The staff were amazing and very friendly with good knowledge of where to visit and best places to dine Thank you for such great service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    I didn't like that the aircon and heater were hard to...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the aircon and heater were hard to figure out so in the end I just turned it off. I also had to ask for a blanket as there wasn't a spare on in the room and the bed only had a small layer of blankets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Situated in the CBD of Sydney, close to all amenities. Quiet and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central location, met our expectations. This is not a 5* hotel, and we did not expect it to be. The room was a good size and clean. The reception staff are very pleasant. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is in a very convenient location ..a short walk to the station and well away from traffic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are steps from the street to reception. A ramp would be more convenient for travellers with large luggage.

    A very convenient loacation in the middle of Sydney. The room had a small microwave and sink which meant we didn't have to go out at night to a restauant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    will definitely recommend and will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    heater was not working, hot water from shower keeps getting cold, didnt change the blanket which had a stain eventhough we asked to make our bed

    very helpful staff, great location, very satisfied with the room, internet speed tolerable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    great staff and awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff was very helpful, we arrrived early in the morning (7 am) after a 40h journey from austria. unfortunately there was no free room, but they promised us to try their best to get one available a.s.a.p. for us and they gave us a phone call at 8 am that a room is now available for us. will stay there definitely again!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    The location was perfect for a tourist in seeing and being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect for a tourist in seeing and being able to walk around the city, most interesting points were only a 15 minute walk away. Rooms were comfortable and cleaned daily which is what you expect, good value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    No Breakfast!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this property as breakfast was included unfortunately this was not the case. We had to spend more for breakfast in the city which wasn't planned for in our budget!!!

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    The location mostly, clean, quite.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location mostly, clean, quite. Easy to get to the Airport by the trains, I don't like handling taxi drivers and prefer to go by public transport. So this is a real bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely clean room. Location suited us perfectly. We walked to The rocks in one direction and Capital Theatre & Chinatown in the other. I'll be back to stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely stay here again when visiting the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was great. Just off Martin Place where we found an underground IGA with a full deli and coffee shop. Also great access to train/subway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    Small things done right could've made stay better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not up to our expectations. Had a peculiar smell upon entry, like that of stale air, which most likely was originating from the old central ac unit. Heating did not work. Also request you to please consider keeping a better choice of instant tea/coffee in the rooms. I'm sure it is not going to increase your costs by a lot. The tea kept in your hotel rooms is of a very poor quality.

    Staff was nice and courteous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Payed more for parking $144 for a day in secure parking, a...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payed more for parking $144 for a day in secure parking, a lot more than I would have though possible. For this reason alone will not be stopping there again, will find a venue with parking available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, convenient to stations, quiet,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps at front..would have prefered ramp. ..reception bare. ..uninviting...more info about close by eating places....a little dark around entrace

    Comfortable, convenient to stations, quiet,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Suited our purpose
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows very uncomfortable, room as such was okay though. No parking is an issue especially in Sydney. Hotel should work out some deals with neighboring car parks.

    Hotel was ideally located for what we had to do.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, cosy, close to where we needed to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom did have a build up of mould in the shower grout, & the bottom of the shower door towards the hinge area. Also a build up of dust on the top of the tiled edge around the bathroom & behind the door when it was closed.

    Close to the city, & gardens, transport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Very nice would definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im a smoker and some sort of ashtray or bin outside would of been nice but that was my only dissatisfaction

    Would definitely use this accommodation again very comfortable and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    It was very basic but convenient and somewhere to sleep. In spite of negatives I'd stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shelves missing from the little fridge and no ice cube trays. There was a strong smell of acetone in the hallway... bit offputting AND there was only one face washer for the 2 of us, lucky I had my own.

    Beds were lovely and comfy, it was clean, and TV fabulous and the venue was extremely convenient for my meeting early next morning. Staff pleasant and friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    Average
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cups not very clean, only 2 teabags in room. ? Extra pillow had a decorative case? If removed after every use, felt unsure about this. No wash up detergent to wash cups. No toilet in lobby to use after checkout when we came back to get bags.

    Beds quite comfy Staff helpful in stowing our bags after checkout for later return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    It was Soo close to everything & near Syd hospital which is what I needed it for bit pricey though
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner thought room was a bit dirty I know there was dust on kettle

    Marian at front reception was incredible could do 3 things at once & still very professional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice and strategic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont have parking lot, the room a little bit smaller than I thought

    The location was amazing, it’s really near hyde park. And you can walk 10min to circular quay. 5 min walk to the train station (martin place)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Quiet, comfortable and in a great location for walking to Circular Quay or Darling Harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything :)

    Beds were super comfortable and the hotel was extremely quiet, even considering its location and the building works going on down the street. In testament to this, the morning we left we found the street blocked off and a huge crane at the end of the street. Apparently it arrived at 1:30am and not one of us heard a thing. Would definitely stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    The hotel itself was pleasant, in a good location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some road works being done at the entrance of the hotel which made dropping off being done at the opposite of the hotel. But once the road works being done, it should be fine. The reception/lobby area need to do a bit more “cheering” up as it feels abit isolated and “office-y” eventhough there is a giant teddy bear sitting on the sofa.

    Value for money and location was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    I will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had problems initially re wifi. Eventually sorted. Construction outside not helpful. Fridge needed defrosting and dust on ledge of bed head thick. Booked 4 nights then extended another2. Could not get into room after the 4 nights. Had to go back to reception to get it sorted.

    Location great. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    We booked 2 rooms 1 for 2 adults and I child the room only...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 rooms 1 for 2 adults and I child the room only had a queen bed so child had to sleep with parents the other room had 2 single beds for 1 adult and 2 children so sleeping was very difficult

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.... did whatever I could not to be in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con Water pressure Room smell Pillows Room size Decor

    Air con didn’t work properly, water pressure was rubbish, took half an hour to get the hot/cold water balance even close to right. There was a constant smell/taste of either cigarettes or rising damp (or both) in the air.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a bit dated. No breakfast available in the hotel.

    Great location, near most tourist attractions. Supermarkets and shopping centers nearby. Have microwave oven, plates, and a kitchen sink in the room. Makes it Easy to cook something simple.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows didn't open. And some very noisy neighbours arrived on our final day! Obviously NOT the hotels fault!

    Location was very good! Easy access to all attractions. Good supply of tea and coffee and beds made up every day! Arrived after midnight very tired and stressed to be met with a very patient and friendly welcome. Ladies who cleaned rooms were so lovely saying good morning every time we saw them and apologising if they happened to be in your room when you came back! I would choose to stay here again! The little kitchen area with fridge was very handy, keeping our drinks nice and cold during our warm weather.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Good acccess to CBD sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one lift was operational - the other was not working (other guests advised it had been out of action for 2 days). Waited up to 10 minutes ion two occasions as the only available lift was quite small.

    Used the room as a base only - spent very little time there as I caught up with friends elsewhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No food available on site. Be a good idea to have a brochure "Where To Eat" in Sydney Central for those not familiar with city.

    Cleany, tidy, spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Refrigerator wasn't cold - no adjustment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Refrigerator wasn't cold - no adjustment. Air conditioning difficult to adjust. Travelodge facilities manual within the room would have been helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    3.8
    The hotel was in the middle of renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in the middle of renovations. Our room was next to the building area, so to enter/exit our room we passed through building site. We were woken by 7am by construction right outside our door in the Hallway. The place stunk of paint fumes. Disappointed doesn’t sum up how I feel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    It was a good place to stay being close to most things
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations were taking place so that was unfortunate but we were warned about them. They were not too noisy and once they are finished should begreat

    Good location. Clean room. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Compliance is a problem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one light not working, the toilet seat was not fixed in place, i was not advised that it was an accessible room, the building was not accessible with steps at the front, the tactiles to the front stair lacked contrast, the lift voice announcements were too soft, the room was not compliant with AS1428.1 , safety hook too high, shower rose holder was too short, the shower rose outlet was incorrectly paced, there is no reachable GPO, the robe hanging rail is too high, the bathroom door has a knob handle, the bathroom door has inadequate latch side circulation, toilet paper holder is incorrectly placed,

    convenience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location close to everything you want to see in Sydney.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Work was being done on the façade and lobby area. The hotel was difficult to locate due to missing signage; desk staff indifferent to this inconvenience and were not very friendly in general.

    Clean, comfortable room which included a microwave, refrigerator and sink. The hotel is a block away from beautiful Hyde Park and is within comfortable walking distance of all the sites, including the Botanical Gardens, Opera House, and Circular Quay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice folk, good location, needs attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When a room is advertised as boasting a kitchenette one usually expects to find at least one microwave safe cooking pot provided in order to safely use the microwave provided. Not here. No way of remedying this at 9.45 pm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.3
    Nothing exciting to report.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or restaurant. Nothing extra to make me want to stay there again.

    The location was great. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    This is my third time at Travelodge Martin Place and I will come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The long weekend meant some restaurants and supermarkets were closed on the specific public holidays but not the other day/s. Make sure you are aware of public holidays and what may or may not be open.

    Quiet street near the heart of the city. Convenient to so much in the CBD and most things any traveller would expect i.e. transport, supermarkets, good coffee and food plus a variety of things to do/see like Darling Harbour and the Opera House.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location not sure I would stay again as unhappy with room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small compared to our friends room and had trouble with air conditioning until moved to another room

    Location is a big winner I know you are renovating but a restaurant would have been good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    I have stayed in worse, the location was great. Encourages you to not sit in the room at least
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, could not see anything from room, not even the weather even though we were on the 6th floor. Weird enclosed courtyard out the window. Couldn't open any windows. No info folder or anything about any amenities in room.

    The WiFi was free and unlimited.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay value for money will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything great would be handy to have a small shop for milk etc convenience store close but was closed over easter

    The location is great within easy walking distance of CBD,Transport and Circular Quay.Staff very helpful nothing a problem .Very quiet location,often can be noisy at hotels in Sydney

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, as above attention to detail could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    House keeping could be improved, some areas of the shower not clean, doors on cupboards in the kitchen needed to be fixed, trim under the bed was falling off, light bulb needed replacing also had to ask on two days for towels dish cloths and tea towels. All of the issues should have been checked and corrected by the house keeping staff or them advising maintenance of things broken or needing attention.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Good location and facilities for my family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A ramp is needed at the entrance however I understand the foyer is still being renovated.

    The kitchenette was good especially with children who want to eat at all types of hours which saved us money and time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, great location,staff very helpful, bed fabulous and very qietlocation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very dirty needs a good professional clean, decor could be better, carpet badly laid a big lump runs thru middle of room, very dangerous.

    Bed excellent,location great,kitchen facilities very good,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    Central Sydney Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was construction going on next door and repairs in the lobby but it was not a great inconvenience.

    The hotel was in the central part of Sydney, close to main shopping and Martin Place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.0
    There was a used face washer in the shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a used face washer in the shower. Also a very ling black hair. There was no book in the room in relation to services available or things to do in Sydney. Wifi through the tv is very very slow and costs to speed it up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Great comfy bed, superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in our room was leaking. It made a big pool of water on the tiles at the entrance of our room. Had to get several towels to clean it so we wouldn't slip over.

    The bed and pillows we extremely comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location for transportation and leisure activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were constructions in the lobby of the Hotel, therefore very noisy at times. The Hotel is also next to a construction site.

    the location of Travelodge Martin Place is very convenient for restaurants and subway.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again once restaurant open
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting could have been brighter and light over the small dining table didn't go. Lack of signage front entrance as alterations taking place. Restaurant still being installed and needed as in financial area and most easting places close after 5pm and weekends worse.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    More than adequate for a one-night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a hotel information book in the room rather than having to ring down to the reception desk with questions.

    The person at reception was welcoming and helpful. The bed was very comfortable & the linen lovely. The room was very quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    strategic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    At the time we stay, they still have renovations running, so no hotel sign at the front. Quite difficult to find it for the first time.

    The room is clean, staff is very friendly & helpful, the bathroom is clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.8
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable. Felt unsafe walking to and from the property at night time due to limited people around.

    Good location, central to everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Good for travel to consulate. Bed was ok
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in room. Kettle, mugs and milk in fridge but no tea or coffee...weird. Bathroom v dirty esp in shower Aircon turned all way down (temp) and fan speed on high and yet room was still warm

    Nice staff, location good for me

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    It was like walking into construction site.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payed good rates but wasn’t notified of construction n works st hotel while booking on line. Was disappointed especially paying high price & not good clean n unfinished entrance n Hull way n walls n surrounding areas to our rooms(808 n 807)

    Staff n rooms were great & location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location and value for money but don't expect the Ritz
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grout in the shower was a little mouldy, overall a little tired, but good value for money

    The place is a little old and tired, but clean and the bed was comfy. the room was a good size for the price and is in an excellent location, only a couple of minutes from the St James train station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.8
    It was alright for a short stay and it would have been better when all the construction is done!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite dusty in the room when we checked in. Could see dust on the kettle, microwave and benches. The bathroom wasn't sparkling clean.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hotel features like room service, gym, pool etc etc. but that’s ok because there was so much of everything around because of its great location.

    Great location and very clean and tidy with great customer service. Perfect really!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location before our cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations that should have been advertised on booking not a month before our trip. hard to find the hotel. The smell on the door step

    Convenient location before our cruise. Walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    great place to stay for busniess trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place was being renovated while I was there, the only thing is the sign could have been placed out the front on the foot path so you know where the place is. I did walk up and down the street trying to find the place.

    the location. close to trains, city centre and places to eat. the room was clean, the bed was comfortable. if you are traveling for business and need a place to stay, I would recommend this place for sure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    The staff are really friendly and attentive, they were very helpful with giving me directions .
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to have more milk in the fridge, for what you pay for the room, I think it is a reasonable request. The sign out the front is really hard to see or find. I actually walked up and down the road for a while until I got lucky and spotted the sign. It is on a 45 degree angle and hangs off a safety gate.

    The bed was really comfortable, there could have been more milk in the refrigerator. It took me a while to work out the lights but I found the red button.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    FANTASTIC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything my friend and I did not like

    Did not have breakfast hotel was good for being near to harbour and being near to shops and gorgeous garden's

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Location price comfortable room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foyer, no place to change while waiting for room to be ready - had to change in baggage room, no toilets in foyer, one staff member aloof, o there’s helpful ,

    Location price comfortable room

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: