Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Value Inn 2.5 stars

50 Mitchell Street, Darwin CBD, 0800 Darwin, Australia

#70 of 85 hotels in Darwin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 543 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Paid WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    All night reception for late check ins, perfect for a travel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are average but fine for what you pay

    All night reception for late check ins, perfect for a travel stop over. Staff gave me a late check out at no charge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Right near night spots of central darwin, very small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Weekly Service
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Very small rooms and bathroom. I don't feel like the photos on your site sum up the value Darwin inn. Totally not what I expected

    Very central location and access to lock up parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    Very average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon very loud cant sleep, pillows very old and uncomfortable receptionist was NEVER at the desk. Says parking avaliable but very few spots secure.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were promised that there would be parking available in the premises but there was only limited parking available. Had to rely on paid street parking many a times. The club/bar next door gets so busy at night and so noisy. Not suitable with families with young children.

    Convenient location. It had shops and cafes close by which was good. Staff were polite and professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    I might come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nosie air cond. At least in the dry season can turn off at night. Just wondering during the wet season be too noise to sleep with.

    Good and close the the YAH backpackers place with different advents on each day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    24 hour check in via the hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cramped. No secure storage for bags after check out

    24 hour check in via the hostel Receptionist was very helpful/friendly Motel was quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great price, location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Budget but it has everything you need for a short stay. Comfortable bed and quiet aircon. Bathroom small but functional. Access to to YHA pool deck is a huge bonus. Staff are super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    friendly place to stay right in the heart of darwin. a two minute walk from shuttle bus terminus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    nothing

    right in the heart of darwin. just over the road from a coles supermarket. right next door to restuarants and nightlife. about a 10 minute walk to bus stop out of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We lost power to our room twice during our stay, once during the day for at least 10 minutes and then again at midnight just as we were just returning to our room. It only occurred in our room as the rest of the building was still powered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Wasn't what I expected.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a funny smell, and had cockroaches. Advised reception and they sent the housecleaner in to spray insect spray. Still woke up at 3.15am with a cockroach crawling on me. I was a little bit scared during my stay, anybody can walk into the building as the main entrance wasn't locked. Contemplated asking for a refund of the second night to stay somewhere else, however it was a stressful time for me as my dad was in hospital, so I just sucked it up. Understand that the price was very cheap, however next time I will stay somewhere else.

    I liked that it was right across the road from a shopping centre, and that I was able to check in as soon as I arrived off a late flight at 1.30am

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    A good place to sleep in Darwin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is connected with the hostel Melaleuca on Mitchell with a common reception at night. The pool at Melaleuca is small but nice and have a bar within 5 meters of the pool. Nice. The location is just on top of the night time street, can give noise into the room but is very convenient. The rooms are basic but good enough to sleep in

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Nice and cool and comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like. I am however glad I had a choice of two beds, as the first one was uncomfortable. But the second bed was perfect!

    I liked the after hours room service and menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.5
    My stay was average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like that the inn is so close to bars and restaurants

    Staff are nice. The concerns that i encounter during my stay are the aircon doesn't give enough coldness and tv turns on but doesnt have any channel's to watch

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we could fault with the stay we had here was that the bed was a little too firm for us but it was ok for a short stay.

    The room had everything you needed for a short stay. Having a fridge and kettle in the room was brilliant! The staff are very helpful and pleasant. Lovely small private pool area just for Value inn guests. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone who wants privacy and quiet, stay at value inn instead of the hostel next door as it has loud music and that's where the bar is situated. (We couldn't hear of this from our room which was great)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.5
    I was impresed by the efficiency and friendliness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was impresed by the efficiency and friendliness of staff.location is excellent everything you need is on your doorstep.Air conditioning worked well, fridge in room a bonus. The 24 hour reception is also great.A budget hotel that met my needs. Really good for single travellers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.3
    disappointed
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rattling air-conditioner, you are not allowed to turn off. Window you are not allowed to open for fresh air. Small old style rooms. Good for pack packers, but a little pricey for what you get.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Good location, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit smelly and the aircon wasn’t that cold. Shower head was also blocked up and the pressure was almost non existent. I guess you would expect it considering it’s more a budget hotel at low cost

    Good location, close to everything. It was good to just leave the hotel and walk around the city. Low cost.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    3.8
    Never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches in the bed, poor air conditioner. Unable to open window as opened onto car park.

    Cockroaches in the beds, faulty air conditioner, people drunk in corridor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    In centre of Darwin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough car parking. Car park was often full. On one of the nights we stayed a group of guests had a party in the corridor. It is a budget hotel so mixture of guests.

    In centre of Darwin. Value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    i enjoy my stays here,
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    this place does suffer from doors banging shut any time night or day

    i stayed here many times location is great, staff are always helpfull and friendly, the rooms are good value for the money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.3
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room

    Location was perfect. Rooms ok for few days but very small. AC was old and had no remote. Its nothing special but if looking for a place to sleep in a central location this place is sufficient. Will go again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location on main road close to restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is not free and costs 5AUD for 24 hours Reception not open for 24 hours but can use reception facilities at adjacent hostel. Road was closed when I arrived on a Sunday morning because of some event - taxi dropped me some distance away and I had to carry my luggage.

    Great location on main road close to restaurants, supermarket, the transit centre, tour operators, etc... Arrived early and as room was available, was allowed to check in straight away, which is nice after an overnight flight

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to pay extra for wifi access. There was some noise but security is very on top of any disturbances. Didn't hear noise off the street, Mitchell gets very busy at night with all the backpackers. Very small swimming pool, didn't use.

    Excellent location right on the main road of Darwin. Tons of food options around and cheap! Great place to walk to Mindil Beach from, walk to the water front and Bicentennial walk. Security was great and have access to Malaleuca next door for laundry, internet etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.8
    Not nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunk! Badly of mold. That can't be healthy, also there was a brawl in the hallway and some guy bleed all over the place. Then at 4:30am another group were causing problems in the hallways. Not impressed.

    Staff were nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    Minor repairs are critical
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some minor maintenance issues made it almost unbearable. The fire exit door closer mechanism had broken in the door outside my room so the door slamming woke me until I gave up at 11.30pm and left

    It's cheap, central and generally tidy enough

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Very worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the receptionists, the one who checked us in, was a bit rubbish. Barely looked up from the computer, had to ask which floor our room was on, didn't give us the ticket to display in our car, didn't tell us the after hours code to get back in the car park. Must stress that all the others were great though! Aircon was a bit noisy though didn't really bother us, room was a bit on the small side but totally adequate.

    Great location, comfortable, good room servicing, freezing Aircon. Free parking and WiFi worked well in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Extremely convenient with excellent service :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed was a little bit firm, however, overall stay was wonderful .

    Perfect location, extremely central. Helpful staff & excellent value for money :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    We'll definitely choose the Value Inn again for our stay in Darwin next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan in the bathroom is still very noisy.

    Very centrally located. Friendly staff. Room serviced daily efficiently. Having stayed there once a year in August for many years now because it's reasonably priced. Some rooms are less noisy than others.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, very nice bed for good night's sleep, met my needs perfectly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Key card didn't work properly, quick replacement would have been best response. I had to ask to have my coffee cups cleaned, but just the once and all good. Aircon and exhaust fan a bit noisy.

    This was the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in ever! The room was quiet, even though it was in the middle of the backpacker and pub area. Great shower: water pressure, warm water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    affordable but no wow factor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    can be a bit noisy

    Darwin's not the type of town to stay stuck in a hotel room - excellent value if you are socializing with friends, meeting the locals and just need a place to sleep after a long night - probably not best for longer stays.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff, great lively location no fills butgood price
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit of a facelift in the decoration department such as new quilt covers etc and throw out rusty fridge.

    Staff very friendly. Willing to help and made me very welcome. Cheap accommodation suited my needs. Close to everything restaurants, bars, shops etc . Walk to waterfront. Very lively as most guests were young travelers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    It would have been wonderful if I hadn't been so sick with influenza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For the price of the rooms you really couldn't dislike anything much. Maybe that the location although great is a noisy one but this can only be expected.

    Unfortunately I was very ill with the flu for the entire time I was in Darwin. However, the staff at the Value Inn were extremely kind & helpful to both my husband & myself. I am very grateful to them for this. Maybe there'll be a next time for Darwin so I can go on the excursions that I had to cancel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable 2 nights, after a tour in the desert!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower made the bathroom flood, which was rather annoying.

    Very good location, 24 hour desk and they didn't mind holding some of my stuff for a few days when I went on tour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.0
    towels were changed daily and bed made daily.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    airconditioner was old and noisy. Minifridge needed defrosting and keycard didn't always work.

    towels were changed daily and bed made daily.TV was modern.Staff in Melaluca next door were helpful and available 24/7.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    Gripes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cockroaches in our room, no fresh air, electricity off in our room for about an hour before we left and nowhere to park car. The deceptive photos on the internet.

    The convenient location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.3
    Short stay accommodation Darwin
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, hate to cram 3 people into it. My swipe card worked intimittenly to the room. Had people at the entrance humbugging at night. It was more of a backpackers accommodation style. Paid similar money to stay in Melbourne heart of the city a few weeks previous had a beautiful apartment.

    Location was good, price was ok for darwin lousy value for the rest of australia

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing and wouldn't recommend!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This room was intend to accomodate 3 people . There was no room for my luggage let alone 3 people's. The air con was noisy and the room smelt mouldy.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    3.8
    Not for a business style traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No reception, wanted to charge for wifi which wasn't made clear in information, given wrong directions to room - different floor to where the room actually was - and at 1.30 am that makes you cranky

    Not for a business style traveller - used because other options in Darwin high season - it was the dry season were many $100's more. Reminded me that there is budget traveller who would have been happy but my thoughts - I am over this level of accommodation even though it was excellent for budget challenged back packers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    4.2
    Horrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small, smelly, no fresh air available , bed hard, shower awful, water everywhere, no room to move, yup couldn't eat breakfast in there it had no where to do it, coffee mug dirty, air con loud

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    In the heart of the action
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lively nightlife can be heard from room - OK if you're part of the nightlife, not so good if you have an early morning start for tours!

    Central location in the heart of the city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.8
    Safe money but not the place where to stay if you plan to wake up early
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location and nightlife noise till 2.00 AM (I had my bedroom over the club)! The windows let the noise pass through. Reception closed at night time so the noisy guests feel free to do what they want and bother the other guests. There isn't much space where to put your clothes/belongings.

    Good location, price, free parking bays for the guests, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location apart from noise, so would have enjoyed stay if we had not had a front room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Value Inn is amongst many nightclubs or late night bars and the noise from these went on until the early hours. AC was set so cold that we had to switch it off and keep window open, hence we heard all the shouting from bar patrons and did not sleep well.

    Very close to city centre and its amenities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    Safety standards need reviewing for guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything or a night security in the Value InnSafety Standards need reviewing for guests

    Friday Night the noise was unbearable, No Counter staff from dusk till dawn, Security Guard was in next building getting bashed, not pleasant and as we are in our 60's very scary. Saturday Night much better than Friday

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hair-dryer didn't work, and the AC can't be turned off though I did adjust it slightly. The room would be quite a tight fit if 3 people were travelling together with actual luggage.

    Great location on Mitchell Street without too much noise, I did meet the security guy when I checked out. The 24hr front desk at Melaluca makes it easy to come and go after hours.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    Room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was hopeless the water went everywhere. TV remote did not work. The lights kept going out & we had the go out & re-insert the card.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Cheapest accommodation in the heart of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor behaviour from other residents. Security staff did not seem to respond to their kicking their door when they'd obviously locked their key inside. Neighbouring room asked them to keep quiet but they became abusive. As a single woman I did not feel safe to open my door to find out what was happening and they eventually left

    Comfy bed, good accommodation for single people. Felt safe. Great position in town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    The fact that it was so central to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The floor in our room was quite damp to touch and there was no hanging space for our clothes, mind you, there wasn't much room for us and our luggage either!

    The fact that it was so central to everything. The staff at the tourist counter were extremely helpful also it was next to other travel agencies who were also very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    A good position and comfortable and clean, room service daily, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation is very basic but good for the price. All I want when travelling is a clean room and comfy bed and it had that. Bathroom small but useable. Own pool plus could use facilities at melaleuca on Mitchell. Very central to everything, could walk just about everywhere and lots of places to eat close by. Could purchase a breakfast pack if you wanted to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Great value and very comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a little dated maybe but didn't matter as was clean.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, great little pool and well equipped room! This place is good value for money. We used the kitchen over the carpark at the YHA but we're separated from the backpackers which suited us. The pool was just big enough for a couple of groups to use comfortably and the accommodation is perfectly situated for Coles and the restaurants. The bedroom had a great fridge and the TV was a bonus. Would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Lighting over desk, stairs to go to 2nd floor, very small room with a single and queen size bed, lighting for reading in bed was inadequate, noisy fan in bathroom

    Location,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.4
    Firealarm during the night, air in room was disgusting,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firealarm during the night, air in room was disgusting, aircon ran all the time on highest step. Not able to adjust from room. Fan in bathroom very noisy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    A good place to stay in Darwin for those on limited budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that hasn't been mentioned in the above review

    Value Inn in Darwin was very central and comfortable enough. Probably could do with a "makeover" as its age is becoming apparent. Reception staff member we encountered on arrival was very welcoming & friendly but other reception staff a bit on the brusque side. Overall not bad value for money & OK for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.4
    Slow Check In Process and No Free Internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check in processes was painfully slow, we had a couple in front of us that took approximately 15 minutes to process and then it took a further 15 minutes to check us in. This is mad! Also, we were very disappointed to find that there was no free internet access, only one expensive option that would only work on a single device. I personally do not feel this is acceptable in this day and age.

    The location of the hotel is great, slap bang in the middle of town. Also, one of the reception ladies (I think possibly the owner) was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the bed very hard. The rust in the bathroom of room 20 was disappointing, the shower saturated the mat every day. The Airconditioner was effective but very noisy. The TV remote battery cover was broken, cleaners stuck it together with bits of masking tape to help which I appreciated. My door was hard to open.

    Nice and quiet even though in the centre of town. Good housekeeping standards.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    great place and value, in the heart of darwin
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    bar frige was a little small

    i asked for a quiet room and got it. even though i was placed close to elevators i did not hear much noise at all, even though i am light sleeper. i stayed at the value inn for eight nites and one of them was State of Origin Rugby League nite, not much noise was heard from surrounding venues that televised the match.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    4.6
    no value at all!! 😔
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the parking was first in best dressed ;( a bit decieving from the website comments and having to step over a massive vommit to get into my car was disgusting 😡 Also the website says toiletries are provided (which I read as shampoo and conditioner) but the only thing that's provided is soap! Also ALL nightvwe were woken up with SLAMMING doors even with earplugs 😔 Will never go there again it's pretty much a backpackers hostel but with your own pokie ensuit 😟

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think security could have been a bit tighter - people just wandered in through Melaleuca on Mitchell next door without showing room keys/ID etc. I was disappointed that the waterfall spa wasn't working but that is minor.

    The property was close to all the attractions I wanted to visit (on foot) and was across the road from the supermarket which was very convenient. Lots of restaurants and bars along Mitchell Street in close proximity. The room had everything I needed and was very clean. I had requested a quiet room and got it - I didn't hear any noise and slept really well both nights. Well worth the very reasonable cost.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    4.2
    * WARNING - MOULD *
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    No problem with housekeeping - they do a great job considering. But the rooms themselves, or at least the one I stayed in, not a healthy environment. Almost every morning when I woke up, the walls were actually wet and the bed sheets felt damp. There is a sign underneath the A/C unit advising you not to turn it off, nor open the window as you will set off the fire alarm. So for the first 5 or so days, I left it exactly as it was when I got there, but the moisture was building up, so I tried everything; window shut with A/C on different settings, window open, bathroom exhaust fan on all day and night, door open when I was in the room, etc. I had a pair on canvas shoes (like Vans - see photo) sitting on the floor, and when I picked them up to pack them in my bag, they were covered in mould. I was there for 12 nights and got sick twice - could be a coincidence but I don't normally get sick easily. I ended up checking out early and staying elsewhere my last night because I felt like I was breathing in mould. I advised reception of my reason for early check out, even gave them my mouldy shoes, to be told no refund (not even for the night I wasn't staying) and I should have said something earlier and they would have moved me to another room. Fair enough, maybe I should have said something, but what were they going to do? Move me to a different room every 3 days? What a hassle. When someone checks out, housekeeping have the room open to air out until someone else moves in, I know this because the room right next to me was open almost the whole time I was there. So obviously these rooms are not suitable for a long stay. That's just not healthy. Mould is very, very dangerous.

    Great location & handy use of backpackers facilities next door.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.7
    Good value for arriving after a 1:50 am landing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the main 'clubbing' street in town, daunting to arrive in the early hours of Sunday & the car park was locked so we had to park in the street a few blocks away

    Cheap for a one night stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice, comfy and enjoyable stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lunch and Dinner could have been provided within the hotel premises.

    The courteous and helping staff, Budget Hotel, Rooms are pretty cool. Amidst the hub of the city, food and shopping are just at the doorstep.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    We had an excellent holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit hard, when I booked I asked for a ground floor room but was put on the 2nd level

    Friendly & helpful staff, access to everything within & outside the building

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Not the Hilton,but definitely value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not major,but the shower rose in the bathroom was a shocker,set too high and not adjustable enough.Had to stand up against the wall.

    Nice central location.Not too noisy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    5.0
    Won't come there
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh sheets in the bed.Lot of hairs in the bed. They did not find our booking at the check in. We were supposed to check out at 10 am but the cleaner came in the room first at 8:30 then 9am. Quiet annoying when you do a check in at 1am after a flight.

    Good location inner town

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    4.2
    Pay a little extra for something better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mould on the walls throughout the rooms is a health and safety concern, caused breathing issues, condensation of overall facility, (had condensation dripping off the ceiling onto the bed and carpet). Requires immediate air ventilation upgrade, lacking sufficient lighting throughout, extremely poor staff service. Rude, arrogant and very unhelpful staff. Milk in fridge was off as fridge was not turned on. Stained bathroom linen and bedroom bedding (mould)!

    The pool and prime location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    Peter
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Access to WI FI should have been free. A toaster and microwave in the room would make things more comfortable.

    House keeping staff lovely and did a great job. Value for money. Pool was nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    6.7
    Very small rooms and party Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms arnt what they seemed in the pictures. They are very small and the beds are very hard. It is a party centre and very loud at night.

    Only thing we liked was the location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    5.8
    Pool was dirty, sheets was stained power went off for half...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was dirty, sheets was stained power went off for half hour as reception didn't tell me the door has to be fully secure otherwise the power cuts out, and at about 4 in the morning it is very noisey

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    5.8
    Horrible rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place wasn't nice at all! The room was horrible, very small (the bed filled out the whole room and it was hardly possible to walk around in the room), the bad was dirty and also very small, the shower was just a whole (no shower head) and the toilet flush didn't work which made the whole room smell urin after some time. If you are looking for a place just to spend the night it is ok, but don't stay there any longer than that.

    It was possible to use the facilities of the backpacker next door, so there was a pool and a laundry place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.5
    pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being able to park my car on the premises . First time in 16 years going there that I haven''t been able to park there.

    I like the location. That is why I always stay there whenever I'm in Darwin.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    5.0
    generally good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Foul smell coming from fridge. Glasses had to be rinsed several times before we could use them. Items put in fridge were subjected to odor. Would have thought staff would have noticed the odor when setting up room for our stay. Very disappointed. More attention to detail required.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    I only slept overnight , travelling next day to rural area. Price was good with you guys saved $20
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really say.... arrived 1.30am . Didn't have contact just went to room and checked out at 11am.

    Room clean n tidy, motel very quite, staff friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    5.8
    Very good location and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paid wifi only - and terrible slow. Cleaning lady was a bit rude and didn't respect our privacy. Very lousy environment (you can hear constant nerve-draining noise from all nearby air-conditioners and ventilators).

    Very good location and comfy bed. Pool with a grill for barbecue is available!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.4
    Was okay but if I will return to Darwin I wouldn't choose this hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff weren't really friendly and sometimes they were annoyed of our requests. The toilet fan was extremely noisy, it seemed to be at airport! Room wasn't clean properly. We had to ask for clean towels.

    Was in very good location, basically on the Main Street.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.9
    An ideal, cheap stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was much cleaner on our second visit than on our first, four days earlier. We believe that the new owners are trying hard to improve all aspects of this budget hotel.

    We received a lovely welcome, and appreciated the availability of breakfast. Rooms were large and well equipped.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.9
    clean, comfortable , convenient location Budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it is a budget hotel, I would say it is value for money for the amenities you get. Although the room is small, air conditioner noisy, it is clean, comfortable, firm mattress and centralised location.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: