Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne 4 stars

441 Royal Parade, 3070 Melbourne, Australia

#83 of 169 hotels in Melbourne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 762 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    The place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No laundry services.

    The space was great. Very well located and easily accessible with own transport. Staff were very engaging and attentive. Will most definitely stay again and highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Great option if visiting Carlton, Parkville or Brunswick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit awkward - not so east to figure out where to park and there is an extra fee for parking.

    Room was well proportioned, nice outlook over the park. Bathroom renovation nicely done.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water issues, slow coming through shower & then non existent, late at night. I spoke to reception next morning & they were obliging.

    Bed very comfortable. Room very clean Room at first had an old cigarette smell. Staff were efficient, friendly & kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room King or Twin and Single
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side was that the bright lights outside were not turned off or dimmed overnight.

    The staff were all more than helpful & location was ideal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    the staff were amazing in ensuring I was comfortable and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    that my checkin was lengthy due to not being able to find my booking

    the staff were amazing in ensuring I was comfortable and upgraded my room as a kind gesture for the inconvenience...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Almost four stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air cond. comes on even when turned off. Shower was in bath...not suitable for larger people.

    Elevator was quick. Room was quiet. Location adjacent to parkland and close to city and multicultural Brunswick.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Clean, close to where we needed to be. Noisy appliances and other guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air con kept going on and off all night, very noisy fridge. Guests checking in late 10pm - very loud and were trying to open our door instead of room next to ours. Could hear room next door snoring in early hours of morning.

    Clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately room had a smell of cigarette, but they fix it with a machine that cleaned the air, amenities missing tooth paste, noisy when it’s cleaning time

    Price/quality/location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Plesant staff, comfy bed, good shower quiet room position, would not hesitate to stay here again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free Wi-Fi (24Hr) required signing up to newsletter. Minor issues with room key, resolved. I could not find instructions for TV remote. Some other very minor observations, my room was showing signs of age and some maintenance could be due, nothing that affected my stay, eg: sealant around bathroom delaminating with some signs of mould. Walls could do with a lick of paint.

    The friendly and helpful staff, especially my room service providers courtesy was outstanding. The location was ideal for my purposes and the breakfast service was more than adequate to start the day. Great shower. Easy check-in/out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Plesant staff, comfy bed, good shower quiet room position, would not hesitate to stay here again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free Wi-Fi (24Hr) required signing up to newsletter. Minor issues with room key, resolved. I could not find instructions for TV remote. Some other very minor observations, my room was showing signs of age and some maintenance could be due, nothing that affected my stay, eg: sealant around bathroom delaminating with some signs of mould. Walls could do with a lick of paint.

    The friendly and helpful staff, especially my room service providers courtesy was outstanding. The location was ideal for my purposes and the breakfast service was more than adequate to start the day. Great shower. Easy check-in/out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.2
    Could use some renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room Double Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not particularly clean and the towels smelt bad. The curtains weee broken and let in light. The staff booked breakfast the night before but it wasn’t on the list in the restaurant and the staff weren’t very pleasant or helpful

    The beds were comfortable and the location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Great for short business stay, not for comfort and leisure holiday
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Furniture needs updating and two single beds do not make a double bed, which is what we asked for! Also, for external rooms (like ours) you can hear everyone passing by and stepping on the concrete floor.

    Location, location, location. Also, the friendly staff and cleanness of the hotel. I also loved the history of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    We are not satisfied with the facility it is like an old hospital.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no toaster or even microwave (We had accommodation before which is near Vibe location same price but lots of amenities), television is working poorly. When we had our stay roof is leaking. My son was so disappointed. The smell of the corridor is not pleasant.

    honestly only the service of the staff is likable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    The reception staff were all very friendly and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Guest Room King or Twin and Single
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I thought it was abit miserable that you had to pay extra to watch movies in the room.

    The reception staff were all very friendly and the room was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.2
    Parking and good coffee from the cafe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was not clean and was smelly,big crack in hand basin which has been temporary fixed .Shower could do with a good scrub .Beds were very hard. First night I got to sleep after 3 am due to people walking past , traffic noise and then the trolleys from the cleaning staff starting at 6 am was extremely noisy . I usually try to find a positive but I’m sorry to say I will not be back to this hotel ever again . No good Vibe at all .

    Parking and good coffee from the cafe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Delightful and convenient stopover for a function in Brunswick
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    King sized bed. Beautiful spacious room with little balcony and a table for outside. Tea and coffee ( various). Fresh and clean. Great tv though didn’t watch it. Buffet breakfast for 15 if you prepaid tram line close by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.0
    As above
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt stale and unpleasant, spilt system was mouldy, bath needs replacing and the shower head had a fountain of water coming from the tightening point.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay. Staff were brilliant....very friendly, helpful......nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room Double Double
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Tram right outside to take to city or Brunswick. Close to Carlton. Room was clean and comfortable. Had an issue with the bathroom, received a call whilst out that they would be moving us to another room upon our return back to the hotel. Very apologetic for the inconvenience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, great location, will be back to stay again!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rubbish from previous night's guests was not removed but we dealt with that and it wasn't a problem for us.

    we will definitely be back to stay. Great location, staff friendly and efficient, facilities were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    We were a large group of 22 16-17 year old girls and 5...
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are a little bit tired and slightly grubby.

    We were a large group of 22 16-17 year old girls and 5 adults on a netball tour. The hotel was ideal for our group - the rooms are large so fitted 2-3 people per room, there is a pool, sauna and gym which was great, the breakfast was simple but healthy and tasty and we were able to use the dining room for a couple of casual functions in the evening. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. There aren't many options for eating within walking distance but there is a tram stop right outside and plenty of cafes and restaurants 5-10 mins drive away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Very good for what we needed
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains in my room were ripped and worse for wear. Feel like there needs to be a spruce up of the decor? The breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful to the adults in our group but less tolerant and polite to our students (and they were very well behaved I throught). I was upset that the group of Chinese tourists who happened to be eating one day at the same time as our large group were treated in a quite frankly rude and dismissive way. That day there was a shortage of food, cutlery, plates and the coffee machine wasn’t working properly so the pressure was on. But when the Chinese guests tried to ask what was happening (and given English was difficult for them) they were spoken to very rudely. I think the staff in this area could be educated to provide better service to all not just the people they relate to.

    I thought it was a funky 60s style hotel. Staff were friendly to us - a school group travelling together and very helpful with providing areas for us to use. Facilities (gym, pool, laundry) all great and breakfast good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm not a big fan of ground floor rooms but were put there anyway. no big deal though.

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed and quite close to some really good restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Was nice stay
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was clean and nice , but the bath was old it had some stain and unclean well

    Overall it was nice staying at this hotel The room , service & staff are all good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Welcome to the Vibe hotel for a comfortable trouble free experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to city and public transport. Close to many attractions. Close to family that we were visiting. Very quiet location .

    Neat and tidy. Room service excellent. Smorgasbord breakfast good value. In all a well managed facility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym needed maintenance, machines not working, remotes not in place and air conditioner broken. Leaves a lot to be desired and open for injury. Helpful staff in trying fix and supplying an upright fan.

    All parts of the area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Our stay is always satisfactory.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant would be benificial open at night as it's a long way to get dinner elsewhere. The cost is expensive considering it is so far from the city.

    It's easy to park the car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Loved the amenties we saw on offer on our short, quick stay. Location was perfect. Couldnt hear any
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike at all.

    Loved the location, the size of the room and the gorgeous big comfortable bed. Upon check in found we were upgraded and this was a lovely surprise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    great value for money
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tiles in bathroom need bleaching. Rm 133 Sit on loo and look at the tiles and you will see. New vanity as its been flooded.

    Room service for dinner was fantastic, the lasagne was AMAZING hats off to the chef

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    First receptionist we met was the best I have ever come...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    First receptionist we met was the best I have ever come across. The others were helpful also but she was outstanding. Bed was way comfortable! Basic accommodation fitting the price range.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    It was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is tired and in need of a facelift I didn't get the extra 2 hours longer checkout which I was expecting

    Location, ability to catch a tram into CBD and not have a parking problem

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Convenient to transport, request the newer rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room King or Twin and Single
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The blood stain on the doona on my bed was gross. I have stayed here previously and was in the newer rooms which were amazing and thought I was getting something similar, but didn't. I asked for a room with three singles as was with my husband and adult daughter. The room was very small so was tight with three adults, and the bathroom was very compact. Only two towels were provided for three adults. There was black mould in the shower screens and the toilet kept on running all night. Only two cups provided.

    The bed was comfortable and the air conditioner worked well, room was quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    disappointing facility but excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed base was ripped and clearly visible . the outside of the toilet at the back and base was extremely dirty. It obviously hadn't been wiped or cleaned in a long time. the room we had was supposed to be 'accessible' and the bathroom was kind of, it was narrow, but there is a small step to get into the actual room. this is not accessible. the hotel is basic but comfortable, but the small things I mentioned means we probably wouldn't go again.

    Staff were very professional, helpful and very conscientious. nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    3.8
    The Vittoria coffee take away from restaurant
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed as I have stayed at other Vibe Hotels. There was mould in the shower and along the walls in bathroom, the shower door was broken thus letting water out over floor. Toilet is to close to shower making it hard to get in and out. No hot water for shower at night. Fan in shower needs cleaning. Air conditioner needs cleaning thoroughly both inside and around it. Bedside lamps globes were very dusty, smelt when turned on. Under blanket on bed does not fit king size bed (which really seems to be 2 singles pushed together) Under blanket had stains on it that could be seen through sheets. Dust on top of fridge thick enough to write in. No complimentary biscuits supplied with teas and coffee. Only 2 packets of coffee in room. Unable to give me a computer generated receipt on booking out, computer system not working.

    The Vittoria coffee take away from restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location for a zoo visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing flash, just a clean & comfortable place to stay and within walking distance to the zoo. Great to stay at when we visit Twilight at the Zoo. This is our 3rd year that we have stayed here. The location is great and only 10 minutes to the zoo.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall it's a good value hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room facing major traffic is very noisy.

    I had a very noisy (traffic) room initially and couldn't sleep, but were pleased to be given a different room after spoke to the reception. The breakfast is good and not expensive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay for a quick Melbourne getaway
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two twins pushed together so kept moving during the night and the air conditioner was very loud.

    Staff were lovely, room was comfortable and quite spacious. Right outside a tramline and was so central to everywhere we wanted to go!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Great value and location with a good value breakfast to boot.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couple of instances of staff letting customers wait while they were on phone or dealing with a protracted customer inquiry. Should really call a colleague to help - especially for people on business needing a quick checkout. Wifi was terrible - about 100kbps both ways.

    Location and price are excellent. Spacious rooms and pretty quiet. Breakfast was good value with cooked breakfast, though warmers were not great and food was not as hot as I'd prefer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.4
    Good location, dirty room, would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty. Especially bathroom, mould in shower, exhaust fan and air conditioner vents filthy, bathroom laminate on vanity rotting an peeling, towels yellowed and frayed.

    The location was great. The cleaning staff friendly and the staff member checking us out was very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Lovely weekend away and the staff were helpful and informative about local transport/trams
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking in, my husband went in to book in and was told he couldn't because it was booked in my name. That was rather off putting and we were both cranky at the over-officiousness of the situation, especially after driving all day and being tired.

    The bed was a very firm inner spring mattress which is firmer than I'm used to. Breakfast was very good except that some mushrooms or tomatoes would have made it so much better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location but attention to detail not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The house keeping was inconsistent when staying for 10 nights ( toilet paper, shampoo or tissues not top up unless asked, garage bin not emptied, room not vacuumed often ), pool was closed when we arrived (35 degree day) then opened 2 days later not so clean, the spa was out of order to full stay.

    Location is great, bed was comfortable, pool was good once opened and cleaned

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Guest Room King or Twin and Single
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were a bit small.

    Hotel was lovely, staff were amazing and helpful, especially mark. Rooms were great, air con was amazing. Pool was great. Everything great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Super location for zoo lovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent. Walking distance to Melbourne Zoo. We attended Zoo Twilights. Very quiet. Swimming pool if the need was there. Very clean hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    3.8
    Find another descent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dirty . And even the bad is fixed the floor cover with carpet stays dirty .totally out of question not a 4 star hotel really bad experience

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    Great food near-by and vibrant shopping and eating possibilities. Location and transport good.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not so keen on being given a handicap room as when using the shower water goes everywhere. Would like to be given the option of normal room next time

    Swimming pool was great. Staff friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Super-friendly, helpful staff and wonderful, buffet...
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room King or Twin and Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are able to be configured in many different ways so they have wheels. Unfortunately this means they are very mobile even when you’re on them! The enamel bath needed reconditioning in our room so looked filthy but was only badly scratched.

    Super-friendly, helpful staff and wonderful, buffet breakfast. Ample parking and a tram right outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Good except for poor conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Guest Room King or Twin and Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn’t working very well and it was very hot. Didn’t sleep well because of the conditions.

    Very friendly staff, in great position with tram out front.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike, although we weren't tempted to use the pool, which had a murky appearance.

    This hotel is well-located for our needs and the staff are always friendly. The price was affordable and the room comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Overall good, but overshadowed by the experience with Expedia bookings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    booking through Expedia proved To be a disaster and their customer service was time consuming, frustrating and ineffective. Vibe staff in contrast were excellent and supportive. Vibe should examine their relationship with Expedia

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.e

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the pool was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC made a racket

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the pool was nice. Nice and close to Fitzroy and Brunkswick hotspots and only a short cab ride to the city

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    But arrived on a midnight flight and was met with a cheery...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt like it hadn't been aired in a fair while and the curtains had holes in them.

    But arrived on a midnight flight and was met with a cheery smile,and efficient front desk. Late checkout at 11 was great too... And that's their checkout time usually!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    We were very happy with this accommodation, would stay again, recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I was not happy with was that parking was not included in my room price. My partner and I both had to drive from work so we had two cars and it cost an extra $10 per car, so on top of the room we had to pay another $20

    The room and bathroom was clean. The bed and pillows were beautiful, so comfortable, I want to buy a bed like that now! TV easy to use. Shower was great, nice pressure, nice and hot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    I would stay here because of the position, cleanliness and the $10 parking is a great advantage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was the letdown. Shower over very high bath and screen did not seal well. Exhaust fan available but could not find the switch to use. Road noise was noticeable but ok. Air con automatically would switch on in middle of night. Not sure if that was pre programmed.

    The staff were very pleasant and the rooms were clean and quite spacious. Beds were lovely. Although we did not use the restaurant onsite it looked very nice and modern. Slightly older motel but kept clean and accommodating. Although our fridge was not working we were offered another room without any hassels, staff were great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    Reluctant to return.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This 2nd visit was met with faulty TV - led to changing rooms, no corkscrew for opening wine to be found anywhere on site, swimming pool water cloudy and uninviting, no attention had been paid to my special request on bbkg form for ground floor unit and request for early reminder call not paid. Not happy overall this time.

    View over Princes Park; tram stop to City very close to accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Close to our where our son lives, comfortable bed, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not sound proof, we could hear the toilet and shower being used and during the night we could here someone walking above our room. Balcony was dirty and hot not appealing to sit outside.

    Close to our where our son lives, comfortable bed, and outlook to pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Very happy with our room and friendliness of staff, nice shady streetscape and handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Metal at top of pool ladders became extremely hot and some areas round pool hot to walk on. Not enough beach towels for use and some very stained.

    Bed was comfy; great to have use of a swimming pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location. Clean and comfortable enough for what I needed
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room King or Twin and Single
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were maintenance workers using power tools at 11:30 at night. When they were asked to stop they were polite and stopped. Then just as I was getting back to sleep I received a phone call from the desk asking me if I was unhappy!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location, large enough pool to not be crowded. Tram stop almost out front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Claustrophobic bath.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was good except for the bath over the shower, with the folding screen the bath was very claustrophobic. The pool was a relaxing bonus at the end of the day. We feel the staff could have been more attentive but overall the space and location were great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was very average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room Double Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bfast

    Breakfast was very average. By the pool, there were some raised nails and lots of splinters on the wooden walkway. Dangerous for kids. The room was excellent and we really enjoyed it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    5.8
    Not a good quality hotel. Avoid on weekends if alone as no restaurant and no food or room service.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food available, no room service - had to order pizza for dinner - inedible. Staff said restaurant 10 mins walk away. I was on my own and had been up since 2.30 am! Just wanted simple dinner in room. No room service for breakfast either. Nothing in room to eat either - not even a biscuit Wanted relaxing bath - took forever to fill half way and it was barely luke warm. To cold to enjoy. Waste of all that water. Broken plastic tray in bathroom, chipped enamel on bath, windows very dirty.

    Friendly staff. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.1
    -only gave us 2 towels when there was 3 people who stays...
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room Double Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -only gave us 2 towels when there was 3 people who stays there -thought it was pathetic you had to pay an extra $10 for parking, it should be included in the stay price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.5
    Good spot and quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were hard or thin nothing in between. On Sunday night when I needed to check in there were no staff around as one was making coffee. I rang the hotel number on my mobile phone, could hear it ring but it went unanswered.

    It was a nice standard room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    This was half the price that we normally spend in the city - such great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to keep the curtains drawn for privacy. Bathroom was a bit tired. Not much around it for entertainment and lack of restaurants in the immediate area.

    This was value for money. It was comfortable but not flash. It was a convenient tram ride to the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Highly satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower fittings

    Breakfast excellent. Has improved dramatically in recent times. Well done! Whenever refurbishing the management should do away with baths. Difficult for many older people to shower in a bath and very few people of any age use a bath now.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Will be back again for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating felt a little cool with the heater on 24 in what seems a standard room size. The staff when I booked a second breakfast lacked a little understanding on the pre booking re discounted rate.

    Staff extra helpful Bed super comfy Great breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Overall good & would stay there again due to position of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels old and frayed, furniture needs updating , bathroom dated & dangerous having to climb into the tub to shower. The front entrance wasn't very welcoming, it was dirty and unkept.

    Very comfortable bed, room was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    On the go in Melbourne
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bathroom was inconvenient in design, especially bath/shower arrangement.

    Position is very convenient, especially if with a car. All services were adequate to good. Price was especially good, especially in Melbourne Cup week.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service available on weekends. Sheer part of the curtains were very grotty with mould on the bottom. Would have been better if pool was heated and spa was working.

    Bed was comfy and rooms were big.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    Not going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff could be slightly more cheerful and welcoming. (Cleaners and other staff met were wonderful.) Shower subordinate. Bed on rollers and moved easily accidentally. TV - not much choice unless paying. As CC details taken, why not stock fridge with a few items for convenience. For the price paid - the view from window not particularly pleasant..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Convenient, helpful staff, but, too noisey in the room i was in.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very noisy, i was in a room at the front of the facility on ground floor. I heard every car and person that pulled up at the facility and therefore did not get much sleep. Next time i would request a room not on the lower front level.

    It was convenient as i was doing a course at the property

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    A gem of a place , close to the city and lovely parklands, with a touch of summer resort about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight issue was the slight gap down the middle of the king size bed - result of coming to single beds however some other hotels overcome this with a supplementary'joiner'.

    Easy location to access when approaching from the not. Lovely area for walking, coffee shops etc. Hotel is fresh and vibrant with spacious rooms and overall very quiet. Best hotel pool that I have encountered. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.8
    Location was great, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV remote was not easy to navigate and as a result ended up paying for the movie channel, which we didn't even watch. Was advised at check out , we could have chosen to have this feature turned off, it would have been nice to have been told that at check in.

    Location was great, quiet. Just out of the city center, but not to far away. Parking if needed. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    The staff at the hotel are lovely, friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast as part of the deal

    There was no breakfast offered and not really a café at the premises and it would have been nice for the pool to be inside as Melbourne is so cold so wanted to swim but too cold

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location rooms clean but small room , easy parking and on a quite road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guest Room King or Twin and Single
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom pokey no toaster paying extra for parking no small table and chairs in rooms to sit at to eat , expected the room to be bigger for the price

    Comfy bed pool area parking serviced room friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Centrally located but dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is pretty dated: I had a room with the two twins pushed together which was a HUGE room, however my major gripe was with power points. The power points that the bedsides were plugged into had the cables stretched to their full length. I had to charge my phone across the room at the table as there was no access to points near the bed without leaving my phone on the floor in the middle of the room. There are a few broken tiles in the bathroom, stains on carpet etc, looks fine in photos but the hotel really needs a refresh - especially at the price point.

    This hotel makes it easy to get to the city or Sydney Road - however you'll be catching public transport or uber/taxi as it's a bit of a hike in either direction. The room & bathroom were massive in size.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Very clean comfortable and quiet rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Guest Room Double Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't complain about anything. A favourite place to stay.

    Very clean comfortable and quiet rooms. Have stayed before and will visit here again. Great to be able to park a car at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: