Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa San Michele 4 stars

39-41 Macrossan St, 4877 Port Douglas, Australia

#18 of 101 hotels in Port Douglas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 524 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Unfortunately I didn't stay in the room as there was a problem with my visa. The receptionist that checks in did a great job and understood the problem as for the manager and other staff that used my debit card against my wishes caused and is still causing me a lot of problems and money as my refund still has not been paid..😀🗾🌴🇻🇺

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Seriously, I can not think of anything about Villa San Michele that we didn't like.

    The location is perfect - right in the middle of the town - a short walk from supermarket, shops and many restaurants. Also, it is a relatively short walk (perhaps 5 to 10 minutes) to the marina from where virtually all of the boats conducting reef cruises for diving and snorkelling depart. The apartment is complete with everything you could want, and the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Our apartment had a balcony overlooking Macrossan Street. A very pleasant outlook - we enjoyed being there and did not find the street noise excessive. But if you prefer to be away from street noise (there is a pub/restaurant directly across Macrossan Street) simply request a room that does overlook Macrossan Street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice set-up of villas

    Didn't like: We had a great time, but there were two problems - without a rail going into the pool, v difficult for anyone with slight mobility issues, or a little older to get in and out. The walls were very thin so noise echoed at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean and well equipped for self catering. Spacious, quiet and nicely furnished. Excellent location close to shops, dining, wharf tours and the beach. Friendly and obliging staff. Two heated pools and pleasant outdoor settings. A well equipped free laundry with multiple washing machines, dryers and sinks. An iron and large ironing board in the unit. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the top floor can be a lot when carrying luggage. The parking spots can be tight depending on the size of your vehicle & there are not enough available if you were to stay in peak period.

    The location was great. The heated pool was great. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Having to use stair cases with heavy luggage was difficult.

    Handy central location. More like an apartment rather than motel room. Good air conditioning. Two ensuites suited our needs. Well kept facility, with lovely pools.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The access to the car park is very very tight and does not suit big vehicles. As there are no lifts and the complex does have 3 levels you may wish to request a lower level if stairs are an issue.

    The apartments were very spacious with nice open plan living area and generous balcony. The the bathrooms modern and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very low and uncomfortable. Bathroom shower leaks between gaps in door glass and side panels resulting in wet floor. Door to balcony rattled all night in windy conditions.

    Good sized rooms. Central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no suitable table and chairs (there was a small table inside with no chairs or there was an outside wicker setting) for sitting comfortably inside either to eat or to work. This made working on a computer particularly difficult having to balance it on your lap on the couch. If this had been a business trip, for this reason only, I would not return.

    Perfect location. Excellent spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Starting to look a little careworn needs a refresh paint job to bring it back to its origional splendour.

    Excellent location in centre of Port Douglas.Lovely boutique apartments with separate bedroom and full kitchen with cooktop, microwave, fridge.Lounge has TV and DVD player.Courtyard or balcony have good sized table and chairs.Two swimming pools,one with good barbeque facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Suites are large and comfortable with air conditioning. Small but adequate pool. Office staff are attentive and helpful. Interior suites are superior to street side units.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa was not very comfortable

    The bed was comfortable and loved the 2 pool areas. Perfect location in the middle of macrossan street. The staff were friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent position, right in the centre of Port Douglas but still quiet at night. Close to all amenities. A real home from home, my apartment had both a balcony and a secluded roof terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious. Quiet but right in the centre of town. Walk to everything. Two pools was a bonus. Really helpful reception staff. Great stay for five nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we missed was a table inside to eat at or play cards at. Other than that excellent

    The facilities were excellent, location super close to everything but still very private and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. We are already looking forward to another visit next year

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is slightly dated and could do with a refurb. The walls are very thin which was fine but on the last day two families with children arrived and it was very loud on either side. The pool is good but small and if anyone has claimed it for the day very difficult to then sit down. Finally the WiFi was very bad. It was very slow and would disconnect often.

    This is a lovely locally run business in a fantastic location of Port Douglas. The staff were helpful about the local area and were kind. I really enjoyed that this place was run by Australian people from Queensland and the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Only small issues: the pool that was in the shade was really cold but the other one was fine and if you stay for more then 5 days (I think) they only clean your room once a week

    Almost everything was really good Great location, friendly staff, great views from our room, clean and well maintained

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows to high. The rooms are to empty and echo could here the elephant above her every move every drop and footstep. Perhaps some rugs to Dullen the echoing And some insect repellant and better brand coffee But still would come back very nice

    Location was excellent. Villa was lovely. Pool was great all in all would go back and recommend it to my friends Look forward to my next stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was not huge so there wasnt much space for suitcases and the kitchen was not spacious. The only place to sit to eat was on the balcony. The apartment decor was a bit scruffy and could do with a refresh.

    The location was great. We had a big balcony that was overlooking the main shopping street. Comfortable bed and lovely bathroom. We enjoyed the two pools and our balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My room was one of the few that overlooked the road. In Port Douglas people go to bed early and wake up really early. The pub over the road made a bit of noise but wasn't too much of a problem as it closed early but the cafe beneath my room and things going on in the street woke me up sometimes as early as 5am. The WiFi upload speeds sometimes dropped too low to sustain a Skype call home.

    Room was large, clean, well maintained and comfortable. Powerful shower, well equipped kitchen. Good aircon. Pool areas were small but nice. Good for a quick dip to cool down. Staff were helpful arranging transport and excursions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely place and I’d throughly recommend it. Location is perfect and the staff were really nice and helpful. We had a long wait before catching an evening flight, so they kindly agreed to extend our stay by 2 hours free of charge. We also arrived 2 hours before check in time but they let us check in early anyway, and they gave us some great tips on things to do during our stay. The wife and I were on a 3 week honeymoon and stayed 8 different places - this was the best service we received of them all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    Location, location, location. Very romantic. Easy access. Great pool setup. Plenty of off street parking. Very well keeped and maintained. Room and outside balcony very spacious. Would recommend highly. Will most certainly be back and with friends. Again thanks for making our stay something very special and memorable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On 3rd floor with 2 70 yr olds was a little difficult. Some issues with sink taps. Noisy residents early mornings

    Quiet, mostly adults. Beautiful setting. Great staff. Very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being able to swap wet pool towels for clean dry ones after swimming would've been great.

    A really lovely complex. Perfect location - right in the heart of town, close to shopping, restaurants, pubs, the beach and the marina. We could walk everywhere! Our villa had all the comforts of home. It was clean, modern and comfortable and the 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom villa suited our family of 4. The staff were friendly and helpful and could book tours for you. We had a fantastic stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite noisy. Upstairs cleaners were moving furniture and scraping the floors. The noise from the street was loud, workmen chopping trees on esplanade and emptying bins.. also people using stairs were loud just outside room.

    The location was great with everything in walking distance..The room had a modern kitchenette.. The rooms were generally cosy and very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are two pools, but both have small seating/lounging areas. The pool on our side had only four loungers which were usually occupied as the hotel was busy. Off-season would be the time to relax by the pool.

    It was a comfortable, quite spacious unit, although the kitchen area was rather cramped. I liked the private balcony and the easy access to the pool. I also liked the fact that there was the choice of a/c or ceiling fans in all rooms. The location is outstanding, being right in the centre of the town, close to everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our Bath had a hole which had been patched with silicone and didn’t look very attractive No daily servicing for short stays. We were there 4 nights and had no new towels. And if you are on upper levels there are no lifts so bear this in mind for luggage.

    Plenty of pillows, hairdryer provided, as we were on the top floor we also had a secret roof balcony which was fab.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wi-fi was really bad for some reason, it kept disconnecting every few minutes, many times the login window won't pop up. It was quite of a pain getting online. The outdoor space is quite small - the pools are rather tiny and there is no garden or other space to just sit and have a BBQ or read a book in the evening.

    Big room, modern bathroom, nicely decorated, big balcony, kitchen was well equipped. Not much noise coming from the street even though I had a room facing the main street. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is really tight and hard to get in and out of.

    The rooms were fantastic! The place is walking distance from everything! The staff are so helpful and lovely! Would stay here again in a heart beat!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maybe a lift to move luggage into rooms, but not essential.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Cleanliness of the rooms. Pool was sparkling and pool area clean and tidy. Position was excellent, straight onto the main street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. Maybe tiny suggestion would be lights over the bathroom mirrors. Makes putting make up on a little easier.

    The villa is in the best location to easily walk and access the beach, marina and Main Street. Loved the Free guest laundry, free wifi, free parking, air conditioner in each room. Walking distance to Coles to easily grab supplies. We were on 2nd floor overlooking pool from one bedroom balcony and lush trees from rear bedroom and lounge room balcony. Little kitchenette. We used the free bbq by one of the two pools to cook meat. The staff were fabulous for recommendations. It was a delightful and very comfortable home away from home. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loved our stay here, the place is beautiful and in an ideal central location. The pools were a highlight for us. Very clean and unlike other tropical accommodation we never had a problem with bugs or ants in our room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A choice of pillows e.g high or low would have been good. Or more comfortable chairs, obviously we are getting old!

    Loved the pools, location, Internet was great and free laundry facilities. So close to good coffee and supermarket if needed but quiet too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the second time we were put on the top floor, not easy for 70 plus year olds to struggle up with suitcases no help was offered.

    We had stayed there years ago and enjoyed it. It is centrally located in Macrossan st the Main Street. It has under ground parking. The apartment was large and comfortable wifi was free and worked OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television could have been larger- but who needs the telly when the sun is shining? Another slight concern was driving up the ramp from the underground car park. We scraped the hire car, and noticed that we weren't the first. It might be helpful to warn visitors to be extra-careful.

    We found everything we needed at Villa San Michele. Centrally located in Macrossan St, it was so convenient for beach walks, shopping, restaurants. Plenty of parking. Easy to self- cater or eat out. There were some fabulous places to eat on the doorstep- the Little Larder and 2 Fish were our favourites. Very comfortable and easy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment had dirty walls. Coach roaches in apartment No kitchen table Very dark Wi fi didn't allvthe time it all No washing machine in apartment

    Location, pools

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing really, but we did have to change rooms after two days to one friends had recommended. We should have requested the second room earlier.

    Great location, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited space around the pool. I would love to see a time slot for 'adult only' use for at least one of the pools. I know kids will be kids in water but in such a confined pool area (both pools), it can be dampen the relaxing experience- literally!

    Pool temperature was spot on- warm water is very appealing at any time of the year.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting was very dim in lounge ,kitchen area.Carpark is tight.kitchen needs updating.mattresses were ordinary

    Spacious,two fridges,two bathrooms,two televisions,balcony access to pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was quite dark and dinghy, once inside there was no view whatsoever so you felt quite "hidden away". Balcony inaccessible due to overgrown palm trees encroaching the table and chairs. Unable to sit and eat (or work) at table inside as there were no chairs therefore all eating had to be done on your lap on the lounge or bent over a coffee table. When you opened the door to the balcony the smell of smoke from other rooms was quite overpowering.

    Location very convenient for shopping and eating out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ian scaring my head All good including the pool and furniture

    Spacious 4 people accommodation able to cook or eat out fans and air con. As you like private deck with your own rain Forrest tall trees . Situated in the mid central of town don't look elsewhere parking was great bonus *****

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We did find the queen bed a bit soft and bouncy and the pillows too high but I suppose that is personal preference.

    A quite oasis right in the heart of Port Douglas. We loved the location amongst the cafes and restaurants and midway between the beach and the Marina. We stayed in apartment 12 on the second floor at the rear of the property and had a lovely balcony amongst the treetops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    fantastic place to stay so convenient to everything rooms were fine and having 2 pools was excellent and quiet place at night considering being on the main street highly reccomend it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lots of stairs for elderly guests and a bit difficult getting in and out of the pools. Tight access for vehicles and car parking could be difficult

    Centre location. Nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our veranda was close to plants outside and we were unfortunately not able to leave the windows open at night as there were no screens against flies and mosquitoes. We suggest adding screens. We didn't realize in the beginning how to lock the room (by simply pressing the button on the inside of the lock) and we left it unlocked the first day. Perhaps this should be explained to people who are not familiar with this. When I asked the staff they explained to me immediately.

    We loved the kind helpful staff, the large comfy bed, the bathroom, the way the room is set out, the extra towels we were given as we arrived, the small bathing pools in the hotel yard (great place to rest and refresh), the equipment for cooking had everything we needed. There is a shared laundry room which we didn't use but it was good to know it was there. The location is fantastic, in the center of town, close to restaurants and stores and about 8 minutes walk from a supermarket. The onsite parking and the wifi were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom and bathroom a bit small for two seperate people (beds made into twin ) and bathroom / toilet very close to beds.

    Staff at reception had suggestions for suitable trips, meals and best coffee when we arrived - really helpful because I was travelling with elderly mum . Very central convenient location. Swimming pool lovely and warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really... A small pool, but why swim in it when you have the Port Douglas beach.

    A great location in the main street of Port Douglas, in walking distance to everything including the marina and beach, not to mention pubs and Coles supermarket. I also enjoyed using the BBQ provided!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location in the heart of Port Douglas! Our room was a great size with a lovely balcony over looking the pool. The staff were attentive and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A little worn in places - bed sheets had a small hole. Bed was bouncy - suffered partner disturbance for the first few nights, until we got used to it. A little tired looking here and there, but was clean and tidy. Some rowdy guests, but that's not the properties fault. Large family groups that took over the pool at times.

    A comfortable stay at Villa san Michele. Newly renovated bathroom and kitchen. Nice warm (heated pool). Good terrace overlooking the pool. Very handy location - didn't need our car. Walked everywhere. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were monstrous. Too much noise from other guests. The underground parking was a Chinese water torture: that's not a holiday when you have to struggle to park your car.

    I loved the setup: Mexican/tropical. The decor and configuration and roominess all superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen is slightly cramped, but the overall apartment is fabulous and the rooms quiet at the back of the property. The cleaning team was quick, friendly and thorough.

    Having meals on the balcony - hearing the kookaburras laugh and overlooking the lush tropical garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    not much room for extra bed for 3rd person in 1 bed apartment, small swimming pools

    Freely available parking, nice rustic feel, right in the middle of town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (Daily Service)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Due to the fact that our room was facing the main street and we were directly opposite a bar across the road, it was noisy until late at night. Best to request a room at the rear of the property. Mattress was a little too soft and springy.

    Great central location right next to shops and short walking distance to beach. Staff were helpful and friendly. Clean room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools were small - often a lot of people in them Lounge room is quite non inviting - couch and TV tiny. Our room backed onto pool, people could see in so no privacy if blinds were up. If inside we had to sit with down so no subshine No insect screen on door so couldnt let breeze in room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No complaints really

    As real estates agents like to say: "location, location, location." In this respect the hotel had it all. A short walk to the four mile beach, just right in the main street of Port Douglas with restaurants and convenient shopping (Grocery store, Target etc.) just at your footstep, but still very quiet. The staff was also very helpful in making reservations for tours. We rented a very spacious two-bedroom apartment and enjoyed our stay tremendously.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 13 nights

    I thought the clean in the middle of our stay could have been better. Glass tables weren't wiped, dish washer sachets not replaced, hard to tell if they'd vacuuumed,

    Great location, very friendly staff, free laundry, book exchange in reception, pools a lovely temperature.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very friendly reception staff. Given key to room but not told where it was! It woznt easy to find either as no signs anywhere! Carpark is narrow as n difficult to manovere if have bigger vehicle!

    Location. Within walking distance to everything. 👍😁

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed was terrible. Most uncomfortable old springy bed just not up to scratch for half decent resort. Had to use fold away spring bed in the end so didn't sleep with partner and then was charged for its use, so in effect they made money out of us by having a shocking bed. Room 18 that we in (others rooms may be better?) also very dark and had to have lights on during the daytime even, so people can see in from walkway and pool so as well as not as nice as natural light, poor privacy. Thought this was terrible room for price. Had family staying at another resort which was much larger room, brighter, comfy bed for similar price.

    Bathroom had been updated , shower pressure was good. Free laundry facilities good. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one of the apartments with balcony overlooking Macrossan Street, a little noisy at times, we didn't mind but some may.

    Location outstanding, middle of Macrossan Street, walk to shops, restaurants, supermarket, beach....the beach is spectacular. Apartment roomy, well equiped and comfortable. Laundry facilities excellent and staff very pleasant and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My only complaint is regarding the noise from the dumpster bins across the road being cleared around 4 - 5 am each night. My husband and I had come away for well earned rest. I did mention this to 2 different staff members with no response or follow up....

    I have always want to stay at San Michelle Villas and was not in any way disappointing with our room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and excellent presentation. All we needed for a relaxing holiday. Near all tourist locations and just a short walk to the beach and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queen bed was a little creaky but our kids slept in it so it didn't really bother us (we had the king).

    The facilities were immaculate and the pool was heated so the kids could swim for hours! Fantastic position with the added bonus of the best coffee in Port Douglas on our doorstep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is more like a 3 star hotel, basic facilities, could use nicer interior paint job, awful wifi that would disconnect repeatedly and require re-sign in even when working.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We could smell a hint of mould upon entering our accommodation as our room faced south A lockable insect screen outside the sliding door would have helped

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next door smoked so couldn't use balcony sometimes. Prefer if smoking was banned on balconies

    Great location, new kitchenette and bathroom, nice balcony and outside table and chairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved everything!

    Excellent sized apartment for the 2 of us. Location right in the middle of shops, cafes, etc and a short walk to the Marina. Very quiet, despite being on the main road. Staff are superb, sorted our tour bookings etc with no hassle and were able to give us all the advice we needed. We liked that we could choose not to have the apartment serviced daily. The shuttles were organised for us both ways which we appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts so top floor (3rd) is by stairs. 2 Pools are ok but very small . Not many loungers/chairs to sit on if busy as there is limited space around the fenced in pool. Photo makes it look larger than reality.

    Location is great . Rooms are clean and comfortable enough . Self contained with enough kitchen utensils/ big fridge. Good balcony size.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unit was dark as the only natural light came in the sliding door and the colours were ochre tones. We had to continually turn on lights.

    Modern kitchen and bathrom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room at front of propeety meant it was noisy in early morning. Bed wasn't very comfortable.

    Excellent location in middle of the main street. Very well equipped. Roof top area to sit out on. No hidden extras beach/pool towels provided, large free laundry

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the street so the last night of the festival the noise from the Backpackers across the street was loud and it washard to get to sleep

    Was right in the heart of it all so close to everything really

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rattle n hum bar and restaurant that is situated opposite our room and balcony was very noisey. Disturbed our sleep both nights.

    The location of the hotel was fantastic, right along the Main Street of Port Douglas, however our room overlooking the street was quite noisey at night. We stayed Carnival weekend, so lots of loud drunks at the bar opposite shouting in the street at 3am. The hotel has two pools to use that our lovely and offer a relaxing atmosphere. I loved the style and decor of the hotel. Onsite parking is a little tight but very convenient. Extra towels were provided for our room at no extra cost which was very nice of the staff to do. Apartment room was spacious, clean and a very good size, with all the facilities. I think the cost for 2 nights was a little pricey compared to other places I've stay in Port Douglas but had a lovely stay. Thanks again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is conviently located in the Main Street of Port Douglas. Easy access to shops, restaurants and tour operators. The room was clean, spacious with a balcony overlooking the gardens and pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beds were comfy, traditional style apartment with tiled floor, nice size balcony, very centrally placed off high street. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was having issues and there was no access other than the first day. But in all fairness these things happen and it wasn't the end of the world.

    To be honest, the hotel could do with a bit of a face lift but it is perfectly located, staff are friendly and it had a very nice vibe. Very good value for the price, we were very happy with our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Two-Bathroom Apartment (Daily Service)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit tired décor and tired look. Lack of clothes hangers.

    Location very good - in the centre of the town, but quiet and comfortable and cool. Near to information centre for holiday / excursion booking. Good supply of cutlery and delph.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Villa San Michele traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: