Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vulcan Hotel 3.5 stars

500 Wattle Street, Ultimo, Ultimo, 2007 Sydney, Australia

#106 of 316 hotels in Sydney

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 884 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, friendly and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety in the dinner menu, but a very nice restaurant environment.

    The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Easy public transport nearby. The room very comfortable and clean. Enjoyed our stay.Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Happy days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well nothing really......

    Loved the location near Central, UTS campus, Spice Alley, Sydney Dance Company, Broadway Shopping Centre and Glebe. Staff were super pleasant and helpful :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street noise can be a bit loud through the windows. Glazing would help.

    The staff are very polite and where able to answer questions regarding location options. Taxis where organised with no problem

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Overall nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear other people talking, showering etc. This noices woke us up few times per night. The was a weird smell in the room and we couldnt open the windows.

    Nice room, good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Affordable hotel with easy access and comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift was not working 2/3 days, but was quickly repaired. No bottled water provided.

    Location was great for my events. Easy access to CBD and places.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Awesome location, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of our room was tiny, but as we were only in there to sleep, it was ok

    Awesome location, very friendly staff... it had everything we needed for an overnight stay in Sydney

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Extraordinarily clean. Perfect staff and cleanliness.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant pizza was very ordinary Single bed was very small and this is the ONLY reason I would consider not coming back.

    Staff were so accommodating even without us asking. They offered to lock our luggage up after checkout. When we came back to pick up luggage in the afternoon they offered to charge our phones and fill our water bottles whilst we used their cafe bathroom to get changed before our flight. All this AFTER checkout.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The call for full payment plus deposit...which was then not traded against expenses incurred at checkout. The price was high so I didn't expect the credit security. The room was clean and fine if small. The neighbourhood (which is not he fault of the hotel) was spare in tourist facilities, but it was close to DH and light-rail and city by walking. The staff had too much to do, which they did well.

    The staff did well to manage...the place is understaffed. The location was fine for Darling harbour. The food and drink was just as advertised. The room was adequate, clean and accessible

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    It was a 15 minute walk to the convention center which is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    So this could be a plus or minus depending on who you are. They "upgraded" me to an apartment. It was quiet and more room than I would expect from a standard hotel room, however they only clean it every three days. If you want daily service it is $30 (Australian)! I don't spend much time in my hotel rooms so the extra room is meaningless to me and I'm not buying groceries on a business trip so the kitchen is meaningless to me. I do like my room cleaned so not having that everyday was a minus for me. If you want all those things then an "upgrade" might be just that for you.

    It was a 15 minute walk to the convention center which is nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel a short walk from everywhere - quiet and good standard of room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you have less on your restaurant dinner menu than I have in my fridge at home - maybe was time I wanted to eat but maybe look at something other than pizza, which took 25 minutes to arrive.

    nice rooms, nice style of property, friendly staff, will definitely return

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    clean room, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much.

    clean room, convenient location Near UTS and china town and contral station You can get any bus and train there Its was very close to China town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    The Vulcan hotel has to be one of the best value places I have stayed at.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poached pears for breakfast the best I have ever tasted . Such good value.It is a minutes walk to UTS. I am coming regularly for study and it such a pleasure to be able to stay there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Convenient & affordable accommodation near city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows too soft & thin, needed two pillows to get a comfortable sleep

    Good clean, comfortable room, friendly staff & a very good café for breakfast. Close to buses & Chinatown

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location, great place, clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was great, we got there late but the night manager got us checked in quick and easy. Hotel was clean and centrally located. We got parking right out the front and left the parking space before we had to pay for street parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Great location, felt safe around the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, felt safe around the area. 10 min walk to Broadway or Chinatown. 3 min walk from the bus from the city. Very quiet hotel, didn’t hear a peep out of other guests. Room and hotel were very clean and smelt good too! Really great value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Super friendly, easy, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside I think is that the walls are paper thin, so your confort depends a lot on how loud the people next door or upstairs are jetlagged/ walk / sneeze / breathe...

    Super friendly, easy, helpful staff. Their great attitude and professionalism is a big plus. Interesting location, quite clean, good value for money as the hotel has all the international confort for a small price. Cute building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Cute comfy room and bed, nicely decorated with a great desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mostly quiet except sounded like someone was jumping around in the room above me (luckily not while I was sleeping). When I mentioned it to the staff on checkout they said I should have mentioned it earlier and they would have done something about it. A bowl or a larger cup in the room would have been handy.

    Cute comfy room and bed, nicely decorated with a great desk and chair. Nice modern bathroom. Good heating (individually controlled). Friendly staff and beautiful courtyard and breakfast area. I appreciated the slightly later check out. Short walk to Broadway and Central Station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place, will definitely return.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    10am checkout, no tea or herbal tea in room.

    Friendly staff, great location, free coffee and pastries between 8am-10am, modern and clean building design.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic accommodation with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was quick, staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was much larger than alot we have stayed in when visiting Sydney before. It was very clean and the beds comfortable. Great location within an easy walk to Broadway shopping centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Very much enjoyed out stay and will recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extra pair of pillows.

    So comfortable. The room we were in was so quiet that we slept in past the checkout time. When I called reception they were so understanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    This place has no right to be this good for this price. Wow!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wattle street is quite a busy road, so if you get a room on that side you need to keep your windows closed for noise

    Super clean, comfortable, friendly staff. Really shouldn’t be as cheap as it is

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    So convenient and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An awesome find and such a great location. Although parking a block away we left the car for the weekend and walked everywhere. A really fabulous weekend. Not keen to tell anyone else about it now that I have found this gem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Central and homely
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the windows made a knocking sound with the wind. The hair dryer needs upgrading and the tv was really loud and wouldn’t go down. We raised these issues with the staff so I’m sure they will rectify them.

    Central location, yet nice and quiet. Cosy hotel. Exceptional customer service. Very friendly, accommodating and helpful staff. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great place if you're looking for comfort and centrality in Sydney on a budget.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have a sleep disorder and I wish check time was a little later, say at noon.

    Love this place, but as I was at a conference, I didn't spend much time in the room. However, it is spacious, comfortable, well located, and reasonably priced. The staff were cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value, friendly , comfortable & well-situated.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bathrobe in the the room, perhaps, & better coffee. Checking out took longer than necessary without apology.

    Very friendly French person on arrival, homely feel, comfortable bed, mainly well-equippped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Thank you for your hospitality. We will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, perfect walking distance to the International Convention Centre where we came for a business trip. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast and well priced. Great value for money. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice comfy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower drainage wasn't perfect.

    Small comfort hotel. The staff are super nice and helpful! The room was cleaned everyday, and resupply with coffee and small milk. The shower was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    View into neighbouring property, no privacy once blinds/window open. Room was small & bathroom tired/damaged. Didn't match up with the marketing pictures.

    comfortable bed, quiet room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping can be improved. The hotel has an old school vibe, but I think card keys are more functional and safer than regular keys. A bottle of complementary water, would have been nice too.

    Good location, just a 10min walk to ICC and to a shopping center. Sandra at reception was really kind and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location 5 minute walk to basically everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Toilet was a little cramped but nothing too bad

    Great location 5 minute walk to basically everything! Room was clean and tidy and ample space for a single room. Nice quiet area and very safe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our understanding of the quality of the rooms, but we now know for future visits.

    Cafe was excellent and so was the room when we upgraded to a "superior"

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was just a tad bit small. Also, the shower was awkward for two people because there was no partition which would cover the length of the tub (ie. water everywhere!) haha

    Staff were very helpful. Location was great, and I was surprised by how quiet it was.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Accessble and quiet hotel in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there were not particular negative points.

    The location is behind University, UTS campus. There are cafe on the same street (open only daytime) and a little Chinese restaurant, and some cafe in the campus area. Hotel was cozy and clean. Good for short time tourist. A famous Fish market can go by bus. If you were interested in architecture, hotel locates in an ideal place. Frank Gehry 's building in the University premises is on the same street. Accessible to the busy area in the Sydney. Recommendable place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    great location (near haymarket, darling harbour, central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pillow not too comfortable, the cleaning staff didn't change the glass everyday

    great location (near haymarket, darling harbour, central station), the staff were friendly, clean room, nice environment. if you planned to go to blue mountain using public transport (train and bus), you just can walk from the hotel to central station to take train to blue mountain.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable and a good location to explore Darling Harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was smaller than we expected (Queen size) but there again so was the room. We ate there once during Happy Hour and the only thing on offer was pizza. The pizza was ok, they were all hand made by the receptionist/bar worker, but nothing special. We ate breakfast at an awesome place just around the corner, The Fork & Grind, because we didn't have faith in their breakfast.

    The shower was awesome. The welcome was good and we made use of Happy Hour on one occasion. Wifi was also good. Location good for visiting Darling Harbour. I'd still recommend the Vulcan for a Sydney exploring base, at least for a day or two. It was comfortable, clean and not bad value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above, could have done with more air con or insulation from the heat coming through the roof.

    Good room, although a little hot at the top of the building and the toilet was a bit squashed in. But otherwise, very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, I loved it!

    We got an upgrade when we arrived, so our room was big and spacious. The bathroom was also very spacious with an okay shower. The bed was very comfy. The minibar wasn't actually that expensive, which was nice. The guy at the reception was very friendly and gave us some tips on where to go and what to see. The hotel itself is a 10 minute walk to Central Station and a 15 minute walk to Darling Harbour. Busses to CBD also depart closeby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    If the air con was quieter, the noise from the bathroom...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air con in my room was way too loud. Also a constant fan or water pipe noise came from the bathroom. Don't forget to shut the door again if you get up to use the toilet during the night or you'll put your head down on the rock hard pillow and get driven insane by the noise until you get back up and shut the door.

    If the air con was quieter, the noise from the bathroom wasn't there and the pillows weren't so hard it would have been great. The hotel in general had a nice and quiet, relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Awesome location, near by Darling Harbour, Fish Market and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was quite small for two. One of a waiters was a bit rude (breakfast time), maybe he had bad days... :)) The room could have been cleaner, there was splodge on the carpet and some dirt in the bathroom. The TV was on the wall, next to the bed, so it was very uncomfortable to watch it.

    Awesome location, near by Darling Harbour, Fish Market and Central Station (10-15 min walking). Very nice, helpful and friendly staff! Relatively good internet (wifi) connection. Not too expensive (common prices) and delicious breakfast. Air-con works good. The room was relatively quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was very clean and designed for the comfort of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    lighting in bathroom was not bright enough needs a stronger bulb.

    The hotel was very clean and designed for the comfort of the guests the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.5
    Breaky was really quick, easy and yummy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was handed a key to another room and walked in on another person who was in bed. This was awkward and not acceptable.

    Breaky was really quick, easy and yummy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful old hotel with up to date rooms and all the amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The property is a lovely old hotel, completely renovated to meet current traveler expectations. Breakfast in the lobby café was quick, delicious and fairly priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room was echoey, rooms next door were slightly noisy and didn't feel the safest. Would absolutely return but request an upstairs room!

    Friendly staff! Good shower! Nice linen!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    A nice, comfortable and friendy hotel that offers everything that a business traveler requires
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I like to watch TV when I work - the desk was facing the wrong wall! Maybe helps concentration! Still unsure as to whether the hotel provides supper?

    The room was a good size with a view. It was kept clean through my stay. The hotel is a shortish walk from the ICC and the City

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Okay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My particular room was quite small with dark furnishings and (non opening) frosted windows placed well above eye level. Fortunately, there was a split-system air conditioner in the room. The bedding consisted of (the usual hotel-type) white cotton sheets but combined with a grey woollen blanket. The television was quite elevated given it was so close to the bed.

    The staff were very welcoming and the minibar was very well priced. I understand that there are different room types available.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Great place close to Sydney CBD, awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly and helpful staff couple with quality clean and well presented rooms, very attractive place to stay, thanks, we both really enjoyed our time at the Vulcan

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect weekend near UTS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stay near UTS. Quiet, friendly, comfortable, clean hotel. Great recommendations on info sheet re food/drink, eg Australian Youth Hotel (450m) and Spice Alley(1.4km). Under-cover parking avail (240m away) at $20 p/n.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    Could do better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Room wasn't clean well (hair and dust left in the room, no change of coffee mugs). The towels could be changed as they were hard and looking old. Too many shampoos and not enough shower gel replacement for two guests staying 14 nights.

    The bed was comfortable. There is also a vegan breakfast although I didn't get to try it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    Good city hotel with charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is a bit small

    Small hotel but very chaming, close to china town, city. Good breakfast with friendly service. the court yard was also nice to use in the afternoon for a drink with family and friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.5
    I would choose the hotel for my next stay in Sydney again!...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The connection to the next train/bus station could be better.

    It was nice to find a little Arnott's cake near the coffee cup every day after room cleaning and at the reception desk some delicious merrenques for to take before leaving the hotel for sightseeing!..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Stayed pre and post a family wedding and familiarity was welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Standard room was smaller than we would have liked, especially the bath/shower room.

    Having stayed at the Vulcan pre - New Year, it was much better value for money albeit we were in a Standard Queen room as opposed to a Superior Queen Room on this occasion.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Great family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wattle St has a lot of traffic at times, but the windows are well insulated. The location is good for getting to the CBD and other areas.

    We loved this family-run hotel that made us feel like home. So much that we came back for our second time in Sydney. Good location in a mostly residential neighbourhood. We had a nicely kept old fashioned room and the staff were extremely friendly, esp. Rose. We rented bikes from around the corner and were able to store them overnight. Good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Good and very well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For me the bed was a bit soft and the breakfast could have more meals options available.

    For me the bed was a bit soft but in a broad way the room was very comfy. Good breakfast but with just a few options available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a Superior Queen room, however after seeing other rooms in the hotel, ours was definitely smaller. It also had no court yard view as advertised and instead looked out onto a busy main road. The room itself was fine, although we had to heave our large suitcases up a flight of narrow stairs.

    Nicely converted hertiage hotel. Close walking distance to Central Station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Met our expectations from a boutique hotel during a very busy pre-New Year period.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It suited us fine but on occasions it would have been useful to have had meals available outside of breakfast.

    A nice contemporary boutique hotel and the staff were excellent. Handily located for Central Station albeit away from the main hotel area. A nice touch was a complementary bottle of sparkling wine placed in our room on New Years Eve.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Thank you everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pleasant to stay in this hotel. It was very quiet so we had really good night sleeps. Bed was so comfy. Staff was extremely helpful. Very happy with the secure parking. Overall amazing experience. Thank you all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    Great place, good location and practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A couple of hooks on the wall by the front door would be useful, as would a second luggage rack for our second suitcase. The shelf above the sink could be more level.

    We loved the Vulcan Hotel. Being in a residential neighbourhood yet still close to the city was great. We were given a quiet room with lots of space. Next time we are back in Sydney we will come back to the Vulcan.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    My stay for clinical qualification purposes was made so easy for me - I felt really cared for.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cooling in the public hallways and lift would have been welcome.

    All of the staff (including the owners) of this exemplary hotel treated me like royalty - nothing was too much for them.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice and quiet hotel in close proximity to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome to the hotel and overall service could have been warmer. We got to the hotel before the check in time and wanted to leave our bags there, however without even saying ‘good morning, welcome to the hotel’ we were quickly turned away by the manager/owner due to the receptionist needing to take her break at that exact time. We were offered to wait for half an hour, which we declined. No mention of a luggage room and instead of leaving our bags unattended next to the front door, we took them with us while exploring the city. Inconvenient, but at least more secure. The service from the PM receptionist was more attentive and friendly, so it might have been a completely different experience should we have arrived in the afternoon.

    The room was comfortable, spacious and quiet. Location was good, away from the city buzz, but still close enough to everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Excellent choice for my birthday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don’t have any complaints- it is a delightful Heritage Hotel.

    We were made very welcome from the moment we booked in. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed getting to know them during our stay. Our breakfasts were delicious with excellent coffee and the surroundings very relaxing. We also enjoyed Happy Hour - wine and pizza - on the first night when we were too tired to go anywhere else. It is very easy to travel into CBD on the bus and there are great eateries nearby. We will return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Soundproofing could have been better, I could hear people on the floor above my room walking in the middle of the night.

    Staff were welcoming. It's a great little hotel with good facilities and not too far from all the action.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay with excellent staff, good location and good value for money. Pick the right room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was located at the back of the building and was very stuffy and smelled dank and stale. This detracted considerably from an otherwise positive experience.

    Location. Close to UTS and Broadway. Good size room with kitchenette and modern bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.3
    Charming property but too noisy to stay for business
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable not condusive to good rest before business seminar. Location near tafe cut out travel time however too close to main road meant too much traffic noise and rooms not sound proofed enough plus petrol station two doors down road extra traffic on the road. No real quick access to food facilities such as good restaurants nearby unless you use petrol station for snacks and taxi service during morning/afternoon times non existent. Evening/ early morning taxis were available between midnight-5am for travel.

    Fast free wifi worked really well. Plenty of buses on main road to get into the city. Room was neat and tidy but on the smaller side for the cost. Bathroom was bright and clean. Room had a desk and lamp for study but no microwave. Had a lovely old fireplace mantel in the room for charm but it cut out lots of potential space. Very cold air conditioning which worked well. Reception staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Would recommend for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More cafe staff in the mornings might be useful - there was a reasonably large group in the cafe when I attended for breakfast and it took a long time until I was able to order because of this. My room became quite noisy in the morning due to traffic outside

    The staff were all very friendly and the rooms were clean. The location was lovely - lots of eateries close by and it was close to my business destination (University of Sydney) for the day. Checking in and out was super easy and a quick process.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    We'd stay there again, if in that part of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a minor point - but, some of the rooms don't have outward facing windows, so not much natural light. We'd be specific in this request next time.

    Clean, close to Sydney CBD, Darling Harbour, Central, Broadway, Redfern, China Town/Haymarket, Sydney Uni and value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Convenient fro any UTS courses.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite warm and even though there was an aircon unit on the wall it wouldn't adjust below 19 degrees, so the room never reached cool and I had to leave it on all night. Suspect parking is a challenge.

    Staff were very helpful. The room was well presented and clean, the bed was comfortable. Was very close to UTS so I could walk to my training course.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Amazing find
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal ironing board.

    Was greeted by Rose who was amazing. She was friendly and a crystal clear communicator. Superbly fit for the hospitality industry and was a great introduction after a long flight. Basic but clean and comfortable room. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a big insect (looked like a brown beetle) living in my room. It was too fast and I could not kill it.

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Good location. Fast Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    The Victorian style of the hotel was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pressure of the shower was a bit lacking. Not a big deal.

    The Victorian style of the hotel was very nice. The room was small, but functional. The breakfasts are the best. The staff is always there to help. I had forgotten a travel adapter and the cleaning staff made a report. I called the next day and they had the adapter. I was pleasantly surprised. Would come back for sure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    Our room was very small spoke too staff and was changed to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small spoke too staff and was changed to alarger room the next day plus they arranged for our bags to be moved as we where out for the day . Thanks to all the staff for making us so welcome and making our stay in Sydney thank you Lynne & Bevan Scot

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    4.6
    Terrible Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Black fingerprints all over the walls and ceilings. No shower pressure. I was charged a $200 smoking fine after I left the hotel, and I am a non smoker. Very dissapointed with this stay. Will never go back, and do not recommend this hotel. There are much better hotels in Sydney.

    Location was good. Check in was fast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Hotel provided us with a very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    Lovely boutique hotel - staff were all very attentive and the room and facilities all excellent. Location was in a quiet area, within 15 minutes easy walk to Darling Harbour, Power House Museum etc .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Boutique hotel where the owners and staff took personal...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Boutique hotel where the owners and staff took personal interest in their guests and offered excellent sightseeing and restaurant suggestions. In-house restaurant had delicious breakfasts. Hotel was nicely decorated, clean, neat and in a quiet neighborhood, but close to Central Station (railroad), Chinatown, Sydney Fish Market, etc. Would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    As a single woman who did not know the area I was given good information and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that was not high above standard.

    Reception was 110%, exceptional help. Comfy bed linen exceptional. Desk to write my notes. Breakfast was quick and exactly as I had requested. The products in the bathroom were top of the range.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Was perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was not cleaned on a daily basis only new townels and bed made , no fresh lined was supplied or surfaces like bathroom cleaned

    Breakfast was great really good service

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: