Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boardwalk Small Hotel Aruba 3 stars

Bakval 20, Palm-Eagle Beach, Aruba

#4 of 31 hotels in Palm-Eagle Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 62 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Paradise found
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From check in to check out the whole experience was truly amazing - the little extras made a big difference - would highly recommend to anyone planning on going to Aruba

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic vacation at The Boardwalk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Boardwalk is a beautiful resort located right across from Palm Beach. The resort was very quaint. We loved the quietness of the area and the proximity to the beach. We will definitely be going back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Amazing oasis very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing oasis very close to the beach. Great apartments, very fresh and nicely decorated. Beach palapas were a great plus! Friendly staff, laidback and cozy atmosphere! 2 cute cats on the property:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    Nice but absolutely overpriced apartment hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our casita was too dark situated behind the lobby with absolutely bad internet connection. Palapas needed to be reserved day by day, which is quite annoying during your holidays. You also need to walk every day into the lobby to get fresh beach towels. Lobby is only open from 9-17hrs and closed on sundays, what makes difficult to get fresh towels. Got to many mails in advance and my requests were not properly handled. Due to availability I made two reservations to stay in total one week. They were unable to book me in the same casita and I needed to move on my last day to another casita. Initially, I asked for a two bed casita and they didn’t provided it arguing there are no two-bed-casitas. On my last day (when I didn’t need it anymore) I was moved to a two-bed-casita. Personal in the lobby is not well trained and therefore not customer oriented. Entrance of the building doesn’t reflects the high prices. A huge street needs to be crossed to get to the beach. It’s full of mosquitos.

    The pool is quite nice. The complimentary breakfast we got was awesome! It’s a nice small hotel, but I didn’t had the feeling it is as elevated and professional as a real boutique hotel would be. In my case it wasn’t worth the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location across street from major hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great relaxing place, tucked away but missing a bar or onsite food.

    Great location across street from major hotels. Very clean and quiet and private among the palm trees. Less busy and less expensive than big hotels. Even gave us free chairs and Paloma's on the a little private area of the beach across street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.1
    NO MORE BOARDWALK !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Warning! If you booked the Two-Bedroom Cottage hotel cheating! It gives room number 21, which has nothing to do with the offer. This is an apartment on the first floor in the hotel part of the hotel overlooking the car park and a local road. Some reception staff unprofessional and arrogant!

    kitchen equipment, cleanliness.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    10
    Great stay in Aruba
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely lodgings and facilities, friendly and helpful staff, GREAT beach amenities and a charming setting in the trees. Couldn't be happier with our stay at the Boardwalk.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Paradise in Aruba
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was perfect. The only thing we didn't like was that we couldn't have stayed longer!

    This was a first-time stay at Boardwalk Small Hotel and we loved everything about it from the accommodations to the friendliness of the people working there.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    The whole Boardwalk experience was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hurricane could have missed the Island.but it was OK we were looked after really well. Thank you to all at Boardwalk

    The whole Boardwalk experience was amazing. The cleaning staff were so lovely, nothing was too much From the supervisor, Veronica, to her assistants Teresina, Luz, we're great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Boutique hotel friendly and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes

    It had the personal touch and was a far cry from the high rise hotel we were in the week before. Would defo go back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden is lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    Nice small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what you get. Professionalism needs to increase.

    It’s a nice small hotel but definitely still not a real boutique hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Excellent, quiet and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Not one complaint!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Need a relaxing vacation right before the holidays, this is the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We opted for the breakfast, it was fantastic way to start the day. All the staff at the hotel couldn't have been nicer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    My wife and I love the property. I will deathly come back. It is conveniently located to the beach a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place and highly recommend. Beautiful gardens and pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Superb Place would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bugs!!

    The peace and quiet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff, Very comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Casita
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Every thing was perfect

    Very friendly staff, Very comfortable rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    10
    Loved the service, facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the service, facilities. The hotel has a very nice feeling. it is not a resort, so feels more like a little community. The service was excellent! we arrived late due to the airline delayed and our fridge had a fresh ice tea to freshened up. We got arrange breakfast in our porch on our departure date and it was really yummy. I wish we would have stayed a little longer. I would recommend to stay here compared to a big resort. The hotel is a wee walk from the beach and close to the shopping and restaurant area in Palm Beach.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    10
    Great rooms with tasteful decoration, fully equipped kitchen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to complain about

    Great rooms with tasteful decoration, fully equipped kitchen, wonderful staff that take excellent care before, during and even after the stay. We came with 2 small children and the two bedroom room was just perfect. Babybeds were provided free of charge. A very calm and relaxing atmosphere, nice pool area and great breakfast Can't wait to get back.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    9.6
    It was a wonderfully private, small secluded and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a wonderfully private, small secluded and very beautiful oasis that was very well situated for getting to the beach, dinner, or on the road to activities. The staff went above and beyond to make your stay pleasant and the spacious casita allowed us to eat at home several times. They have a nice pool and outside eating area and 2 friendly cats, chickens and lizards running around. We will definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    9.6
    Great location right across the street from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only things we can think of was the hammock in the gazebo was not very comfortable. They also didn't have conditioner or hand/body lotion in the bathroom. Obviously all minor quibbles.

    Great location right across the street from the beach. The ambiance and decor really give it a secluded beachy feel.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    10
    Hotel was most charming, comfortable and luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing to report, except that our vacation couldn't be longer then 5 nights we stayed

    Hotel was most charming, comfortable and luxurious. We had delicious breakfast, restful night and close proximity to clean, beautiful beach. Best vacation ever!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    10
    This is the best hotel I have stayed in;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is the best hotel I have stayed in; it truly is a hidden gem and a contrast to all those big, fancy hotels you normally find on the island. The location of the hotel is nothing but perfect and the layout of the small hotel is as you can see on the pictures. The owners are very attentive and make sure you'll have an unforgettable stay in Aruba!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    7.5
    Excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we checked into the casita there was a terrible smell. (like sewer gas). This took 24 hrs. to fix. There was no hot water at 6:00 PM for two nights. Casita is small, a queen size bed filled one room. No real closet space-or bathroom storage. Other room had a loveseat. We would have probably been happier in a one bedroom. We really wanted to "love this place." Probably would go back in a one bedroom. Staff was so accommodating.

    Excellent staff! Attentive to needs. Let us check in early. Helped up rent a car. Dealt with plumbing issues. Gave us a bottle of wine. Listened and made adjustments. Quaint, charming surroundings. Close to beach. Easy to have car.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    9.2
    a few minutes walk to the beach, nice staff, nice clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    a few minutes walk to the beach, nice staff, nice clean rooms, pool in the garden

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    9.6
    Comfort, privacy and the location near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfort, privacy and the location near the beach.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.6
    Style of hotel, staff who are wonderful, Iguanas,colourful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Style of hotel, staff who are wonderful, Iguanas,colourful cheeky little lizards, birds and house cats especially one who is adorable.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: