Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Divi Aruba Phoenix Beach Resort 4 stars

J.E. Irausquin Blvd 75, Palm-Eagle Beach, Aruba

#11 of 31 hotels in Palm-Eagle Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 94 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful place. Our room was not confortable for kids traveling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was our second time in this hotel, the room this time was in the older building, even though we got a bigger room that what we initially requested it was not as confortable as the one we had previously. The kitchen did NOT have a dishwasher and I was traveling with 2 kids (3 and 1 yrs old).

    The beach is amazing, really good for small children.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.5
    We really enjoyed our vacation at the Divi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The resort rooms need to be updated with new furniture. AC in the halls. Just keep updating and making it a GREAT place to visit. NEVER let it go down in appearance. The areas where the iguanas stay near the pool -artificial grass should be changed occ so they do not smell.

    We really enjoyed our vacation at the Divi. VERY clean inside and out- landscaping beach and pool area. I love that it is at a quiet area....walking distance to the tourist area. Will be back!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Dushi yui...awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish bed was king size.

    Loved having everything right at the resort; it was hard to leave and venture out. Entertainment, activities, great food, happy hour and even laundry facilities on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Location and beach are great but the property needs some work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is in need of maintenance. The room was very musty and there is the strong odor of sewage in one outdoor area near the restaurant.

    The beach and cabanas are awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good overall experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Place is a bit dated for the price. Staff service was ok - some really good, some did not seem to care. Room cleaning not satisfactory. Note that check in is at 4pm. Do not expect to get in to room earlier so plan accordingly. We sat in the lobby for couple of hours.

    Great location and view from room. Nice beach with palapas, pool and jacuzzi. Having a kitchen made a big difference and the place had grills available for use. It is a time share place so most people staying there know each other and were overall really nice. Everyone is there to relax. Pure Ocean restaurant on the beach was excellent experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    There are better resort choices nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest concern was that there was an overwhelming chemical smell in the room. It permeated everything and was noticeable even while we slept. Also, the water was tepid, which made showering chilly and unpleasant. The staff seemed generally uninterested in assisting us in any way and didn’t seem to care about our stay. When checking out, the receptionist didn’t ask about our stay or how we enjoyed it, which is unusual. Lastly, you have to get up before 7am to “claim” lounge chairs on the beach or by the pool by putting your towels down. The beach huts and towel rules seem fairly unregulated, which allows chairs with towels on them to go unused for hours.

    Suite was well equipped with kitchen and laundry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.0
    We will chose to stay somewhere else next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It's old, and it's a time share resort, which for this resort meant that the guests were older and almost exclusively Americans. The bed was small for 2 ppl. and the bathroom was very small as well. There is nothing really "wrong" with the Divi, but there's also nothing extraordinary about it either.

    It's right on the beach - but so are most of the resorts. Pure Ocean restaurant serves great food in an exceptional setting - tables on the beach (stay somewhere else and go there for dinner). The gym is sizable for a resort/hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    It was a clean, contemporary resort that wasn’t overly expensive. A good option for a family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The credit card machine went down one day while we were there. They were very inflexible and wanted cash only from the coffee shop to room service. They could have asked for the room key and charged it to the room when the system came back up. We used a lot of cash on taxis so we tried to put all resort services on the room. Their inflexibility was very irritating. The Hilton on the island would have accommodated us better in that respect.

    Clean contemporary room. Kitchen in the room. Bathroom had rain shower head. Tub was large with jacuzzi. Beach view. Beautiful beach and views from the beach. Lots of amenities such as spa, restaurants, coffe shop. Plenty of chairs for laying out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    4.6
    There are many hotels in Aruba. Do not stay here. Very, very upsetting experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I would highly recommend staying elsewhere. We had a deeply upsetting experience at the Divi Phoenix.

    After reading a lot of reviews on the Divi Phoenix, we had high hopes for this hotel. Unfortunately, we had the worst travel experience we have ever had there. Some of our issues are less serious although still problematic. The room smelled musty, which is never pleasant. We were also surprised and disappointed that there wasn’t a Kid’s Club (Treasures of the Caribbean)—as advertised--since this was one of the reasons why we chose this resort. We wanted to spend time with our daughter and also spend time by ourselves. Unfortunately, this was not an option at the hotel. We were told we could have her do activities with other adults (play Bingo, etc.), which didn't sound like much fun for her. If you're looking for a kid-friendly place, I would recommend checking out other hotels. Most of them have activities specifically geared towards kids, a nice option for parents who would like some time for themselves as well. While this was unfortunate, we were more disturbed by our "missing passports" and the way Divi Phoenix dealt with it. We're dual citizens so we often need two sets of passports when we travel. I placed both sets of passports in my bag when we got to the room and left them there since we had no need for them. When I went to get my passports on our last day, I discovered our US passports were missing. After checking everywhere in the room several times, we finally contacted Security. Security also checked our room and were unable to find them. Security told my husband and me they would contact us later in the day with a report--which they did not do. A day later I finally contacted Divi Phoenix to ask for an update; they had no information for me. I felt strongly that if the passports had just been misplaced in the room, we would have been contacted immediately.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Unbelievable resort. Great in all ways. One of the best vacations we have ever taken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something needs to be done about the cost of air fair. The airlines will kill beautiful resorts like the Divi due to the very expensive cost of tickets. It's pretty bad when it costs you more to travel to the resort than to stay at the resort. I was talking to a couple of the employees and they told me that business was down about 50% from last year at this time and even they think it's because the airlines are charging too much money for people to afford.

    The resort was all that we imagined and more. Friendly staff, always happy, beautiful room, very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    enjoyed resort. enjoyed beach. liked island tour. liked offsite restuarants and flea market
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room phone didn't work. when desk was informed they sent tech to fix it.

    clean and comfy suite. nice pools. nice beach. within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. friendly and informative staff. convenience store, gift shop, deli, and restaurants onsite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Our suite was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The PureOcean breakfast buffet was very good, but they need to figure out another way to prevent birds from pestering the guests while they are eating.

    Our suite was exceptional. Their bed sleeps as well as the comfy beds at Four Seasons I've stay at before. 👍🏾 The resort staff front the front desk to beach and other staff (beach, restaurants) were friendly and helpful,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.3
    We love the Divi Phoenix with the beautiful ocean and pool views from our room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love the Divi Phoenix with the beautiful ocean and pool views from our room. Unfortunately, the property could use some updating i.e., the wicker on our headboard was separating from the frame, the front panel of the bathtub/shower was not secure, bathroom vanity cabinets were in disrepair, and the shower curtain rod should be replaced. NOTE: Be very alert when walking near the bed, the frame sticks out from the mattress and on the first day, I walked into it in full stride and a week and a half later I am still swollen a little from the impact. I padded the frame with hand towels for the remainder of our stay. This was our third stay at the Divi Phoenix and we noticed that the lobby did not appear to be as cared for as in previous stays i.e., lemon drinking water could be refreshed more often; chair cushion covers could be replaced, washed daily and/or eliminated altogether; the waterfall feature could be spruced up; and because of the windy climate and openness of the lobby area, the display cabinet could use daily upkeep (dusting). On a side note, one of the elevators was being upgraded during our stay leaving only one small functioning elevator that also had periodic operational issues and we were stuck in our 12th floor room on check out day with three large suitcases and three carry-ons. Fortunately, we were ahead of schedule and the elevator was only out about 20-30 minutes.

    We liked the convenience of the restaurant being on the property. Major improvements have been made to keep the birds out of the eating space since our previous stays. However, the staff could remove bird droppings from the tables and chairs between customers, and hotel management might consider another barrier to the entrance because the birds have learned to open the heavy chains with their little feet enough to fly in and out of the space.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Property was beautiful, staff were Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Tower One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled of mold, made numerous complaints . Management brought in a humidifier and sprayed the room with a deodorizer. We felt sick most of our stay.

    Staff were very pleasant, restaurants were clean, beautiful room views.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel with mostly friendly staff, but a high price for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Tower One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small minority of the staff were rude. A bit pricey. Rooms could do with a make over. Sofa bed wasn't very comfortable.

    Most of the staff were very good. The food was good. The room was a good size for us and being on the ground flor it was handy. The pool and the beach were both nice and the location was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Best combination of value, facility and location on Palm Beach, Aruba
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff very helpful; one bedroom suite a delight. Pool good for a dip, not for real lap swim, but it's a vacation, right?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beach Tower Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ! Love it here ... Love Aruba

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    beach
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Beach wasn't overly crowded like the other resorts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Tower Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booked Tower room but got first floor.

    Beach wasn't overly crowded like the other resorts

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    It was a beautiful resort right on the water!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a beautiful resort right on the water!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall the stay was excellent!
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite having a full kitchen, the blender did not work well for baby food..

    We really enjoyed the beach and the pool and the welcome cocktail...!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.6
    Very accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Tower One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very accommodating

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice vacation place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More restaurant choice

    Convenient,comfort,hospitality,best are all beach was so close and food fantastic

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    it was good
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Partly a little bit old buildings

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    A great place to stay with a full equipped kitchen, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price per day high!!!

    A great place to stay with a full equipped kitchen, very clean interior, nice pool area, nice beach, friendly all staffs, loved it

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    10
    All of the staff that we encountered were helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast at the restaurant. It's an open area and the birds are relentless trying to get your food. It's also not a great feeling to see the birds hopping around the area where the food is kept and stealing cereal from the dispenser people use. You are always thinking about a bird either stealing your food or taking a crap on your food/table as they fly around.

    All of the staff that we encountered were helpful and friendly. Never a problem.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    I love the quietness on the beach was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They serve the same exact stuff for breakfast every day. One day we were in the pool with our one year old baby and out towel was blown in the water do we needed a dry replacement and the towel guy said he is closed and he have the towels right there he didn't give us he just keep saying he is closed and our baby was trembling from feeling cold I think he could have done better and have better judgement

    I love the quietness on the beach was awesome. Staff is always friendly but can work on the area of flexibility a bit more

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    7.5
    the beach huts were plentiful pools well maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    did not like that balcony in tower so close together no privacy

    the beach huts were plentiful pools well maintained

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    I Loved The hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I Loved The hotel; great location with nice and quiet beach. Rooms spacious and everything like new.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    3.3
    Most are excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price high and wifi bad

    Most are excellent

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    3.3
    Beach, service , place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can't find

    Beach, service , place

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    6.3
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furniture

    The view

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    The locals were friendly and upbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The locals were friendly and upbeat. Great food. Great night life.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: