Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostel Gonzo

Gatacka 33, 71000 Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

#89 of 105 B&Bs and Inns in Sarajevo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 158 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Very kind owner and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2+2)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price good value

    Extremly helpfull and kind owner and all the staff there, helps us with everything, especially with advices about visiting Sarajevo and other places. They have parking which is very safe, because they close the parking door every evening and they also gave cameras. The reception works 24 h per day, the hostel is close to center city (if you have a car) and metro. Acommodation and breakfast was good value for the price we payed.We would definitely visit Rifat and his hostel Gonzo again.We recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Extremely friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is located a bit away from the old town etc. But there is a bus stop just a few minutes away so this is not a big deal. And taxi is also cheep if you prefer that.

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The owner and his son is there for you basically 24/7. They even washed a bag of clothes for me without charge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.3
    Horrible, I will never stay there again
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air in the room was stifling. A lot of unnecessary things were crammed into the room. I had two big, old and nonfunctional TVs in my room. I had share bathroom even if on my reservation was written private bathroom. Two days there was not toilet paper in the toilet. The toiletries consists in one old and dry piece of soap. Nobody cleaned my room within my stay there.

    You can park the car in a private place, near the hotel. Breakfast was acceptable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    A wonderfully authentic Bosnian experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A wonderfully authentic Bosnian experience. Hospitality that comes from heart from local people who genuinely enjoy what they are doing. Very pleasant evening conversations with Hamza. Nice quiet location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    3.3
    Horrible
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived to the property together with a family of friends. We booked a double and a single room, both with private bathroom. What we got was totally different. When we arrived, the receptionist was kind although he did not speak English, but we realized that he was a little worried when looking to our bookings. He spoke with the owner and gave us two "rooms" having a common shower and toilet. My "room" did not have window, only a door to a narrow corridor leading to the bathroom. Three dirty beds were crammed there. In the bathtub under the shower were a large black spider and an ugly bug. The air was fading. I walked out of the room and found that most of the rooms on our floor were free, with open doors and looked much better than what they had given us although these rooms did not have a private bathroom. When I went down to the reception, claiming to obtain the rooms that we have booked, they gave us other rooms, much better than the first ones but also without private bathrooms. There were two rooms at the second floor. On the floor there were two common bathrooms, each with one toilet and one shower.The toiletries they pretend to offer are some old and dry pieces of soap. Two days we did not have toilet paper in the common bathrooms. Everywhere in the hostel there are old, big and nonfunctional TVs. In the second room I had, there were two of them. In the last evening of our stay we discover that the rooms that we have booked exist. While we were in the lobby with friends, a man came up with two tourists and he had accommodated them in the room behind us. Then we saw the room. It was the room with the features described in our bookings (including the private bathroom). So, they have cheated us from the beginning to the end. Not to mention that the genius bonus (a free welcome drink) has not even been taken into account.

    I liked only the possibility of parking the car in a little private place near the hotel. The breakfast was acceptable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    A good place for low budget travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit far from the city center. The bedclothes were rather worn-out, no towels.

    It is a really cost-effective place (with a correct breakfast included!) Kind and very helpful staff. A+ - a good place for low-budget travelers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    5.0
    Very cheap but that's all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not clean at all. The bed linen had been used by another guest before us. Paper thin walls so we could hear every single word from the corridor and from the other rooms. The location is not good if you prefer staying close to the city. The breakfast was dry bread and creme cheese.

    The host was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.5
    Proprietor was friendly and went out of his way to help us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very basic place,but it is also priced accorrdingly.

    Proprietor was friendly and went out of his way to help us. it is also close to the airport. Trolleybus # 103 gets you to the old town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the economy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is old and needs refurbishment asap. There was a faint smell of mould and old stuff, horrible if you have allergies. Also cold, the heaters simply couldn't cope. The toilet in the room is very old and could be renovated, and it is freezing. Wi-fi doesn't really work properly, on and off irritatingly often. To measure how displeased I was, I had booked 3 nights. After the first, I paid for all of them and headed to another hotel. The hostel is indeed cheap, but I recommend only if costs are really an issue. In my opinion, it's not worth the economy.

    The best feature, out of not many good ones, is the gentleman that manages/owns the hostel. Even though communication is prejudiced due to his lack of english, he is definitely very friendly and helpful. And that's about all.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.6
    Great People Nice Location Awesome Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Made us feel like we are home. The location was really great for us -located pretty much in the same distance to the center and airport and the main bus station- We walked to city center like in 40min and on our way back we took the trolleybus 103 from center and it took us just 15min to be back. We were pretty late to check in and we had no problem at all. Breakfast was very delicious and filling. Overall we had an amazing time there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Exellent
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb hostel!! If you like to visit Sarajevo Hostel Gonzo is realy good choice Good accommodation and breakfast. Prava raja!!!!😀😁 Odlicno sve i vidimo se opet!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    Peaceful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Not good for night owls who want to stay outside longer and who prefer to come back to the hostel after midnight.

    Very nice staff who always ask about your needs and who want to make your accommodation very comfortable. Kind and friendly people. Clean rooms, peaceful environment. Big breakfasts :-) Bus, trolleybus, tram stations and a mall quite near the hostel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.9
    I liked the hostel and especially the father , very kind ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -if you want to be near the old town maybe it s a bit of inconvenience because you have to walk like 15min to the tram station. -It felt akward to ring the bell , and i didnt want to wake the man up to open the door for me. But overall, i would recommand if you want to be in a calm area.

    I liked the hostel and especially the father , very kind , who stood up at 6 to make breakfast for us . We got a new room (with an amazing balcony) after we requested to change a room. -the Value for money is good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    4.6
    Nice staff, was trying to help us out with everything, let...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed linen was not fresh at all, it was simply used by someone else before. Had to ask the kind man in reception to find me clean ones. He didn't have it for double blanket, so had to sleep with single ones. Bathroom simply needs repair. Everything needs repair. Sorry. But it's probably OK for the price.

    Nice staff, was trying to help us out with everything, let us use their fridge, also freezer. Thanks! :) Good location, not far from the centre. Also fair breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.9
    Bit far from the city centre, but good value for money and very nice stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super caring and hospitable managers. There was a problem with a taxi for me early in the morning, so that gentleman drove me to the bus station himself. Many thanks for warm welcome!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    A great place in Sarajevo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I find it hard to fault a place where they go out of their way to help you.

    The staff here were amazing and went out of their way to help. Refat, the owner and his son Hamza were always on hand. Fahro also showed a great concern for the guests, making sure that they were all well looked after. This was my third stay and I definitely plan to return,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Cheap, clean and welcoming. Not luxurious or anywhere near that but you get what you pay for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean toilets, good Wi-Fi and a welcoming staff definitely make me want to come back to this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Location is top !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is top !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Mosquitos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many Mosquito's, may seem daft to mention but really to many mosquito's.

    Staff was very friendly and room was nice and spacey.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Natural place ,smile person and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Natural place ,smile person and good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Cheap and good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to the city centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    Not very close to te center, but ideal to have a rest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very close to te center, but ideal to have a rest between arriving from the airport and getting on a bus the next day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.1
    wonderfull owner nice location not in the centre but good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    extremly cold inside, disgusting smell in the bathroom only for backpackers

    wonderfull owner nice location not in the centre but good connection

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    4.6
    The owner was really friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean

    The owner was really friendly and welcoming. Always eager to healp

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    2.5
    Avoid it at any cost!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was terible, breakfast is awfull, there is no heating, furniture is bad

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.9
    Far but friendly..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from city center. Rooms need renovation.

    Friendly and helpful staff, very close to mass transportation. Very quite, good for relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Warm, clean, cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent staff, good location between center and airport, warm, clean, cheap

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    Great people for a cheap stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Of course regarding the price, the accomodation is a bit austere but people are really great. I do recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Good Accomodation and Happy People
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to communicate in english.Like all Balkans.

    Happy People!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.3
    Nice staff, free pick-up at the airport, quiet area, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not central but you can easily reach the center with the trolleybus near the hotel.

    Nice staff, free pick-up at the airport, quiet area, good breakfast with fresh fruits, low price.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.9
    Lovely welcoming people, made to feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely welcoming people, made to feel at home. They went out of their way to make sure I was picked up at the station and dropped me for my bus when I left, really nice gesture. Generous breakfast included too, a really good deal at the price.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    6.3
    Very cheap room with breakfast provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Toilet seat was broken (effectively didn't have one). I'd skip breakfast next time and just grab something from the bakery.

    Very cheap room with breakfast provided.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.7
    The Gonzo owners are very friendly people, who picked us up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gonzo is a bit far away from the old town. The room, the bathroom and the breakfast are very basic.

    The Gonzo owners are very friendly people, who picked us up at the airport and dropped us off at the bus station. The room was just enough for a short stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    The hospitality and helpfulness was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hospitality and helpfulness was great. Very kind owner and young man. Because of private circumstances we had to cancel a part of our stay - we stayed 4 days - and this was no problem and was solved very easily and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    It is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    It is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Great staff and clean facilities with tasty breakfast. It is one of the cheapest and at the same time cleanest hostels i've ever visit! Atmosphere was awesome and the employees were very helpful and friendly. They are a beautiful bunch of cooky, crazy, lovely human beings who maintain an excellent atmosphere, both calm and boisterously relevant. They are a community minded hostel, being both generous and forgiving to the new guest, as well as accommodating and sly with those guests who seemed to have any problems. The food at the canteen was very delicious and luxury.The room size was adequate. A shining star of loveliness with a broad international community in the heart of Sarajevo. Definitely coming back and suggesting the place to friends!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.9
    Very friendly host and stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly host and stuff. They pick me up from airport.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    8.3
    Basic facilities, very clean, adequate Price, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Basic facilities, very clean, adequate Price, very friendly Stuff, very quiet, highly recommended for people who are interested in bosnic culture

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    The proprietor and the people working here make this place...
    • Solo traveller

    The proprietor and the people working here make this place like a second home for everyone!! Thank!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Owner was simply the best, drove us around with his car,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Owner was simply the best, drove us around with his car, gave helpful advices about Sarajevo... Rooms were clean and great for this price.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.1
    Very kind staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very kind staff. Peaceful and quiet neighburhood.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    8.8
    Very good personal, they were so kind.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good personal, they were so kind. Hi to all personal. See you soon

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: