Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hecco 3 stars

Medresa 1, 71000 Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

#103 of 124 hotels in Sarajevo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 269 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Front reception staff were excellent, room was comfortable,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What let this hotel down and why I didn't score higher was the breakfast. There was sufficient variety but lady managing wasn't managing. She was not attentive to how items were diminishing and the hot stuff was cold!! Hope management is reading this because it really let the hotel down. If you were not part of a party or got down after 8.30am you would have a problem, saw several people looking miffed because they couldn't be satisfied, we asked but they just gave up.

    Front reception staff were excellent, room was comfortable, 1st impression on entering hotel was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi at all in the room. You can browse in the reception area but once in the room you have no signal anymore. Also it‘s a bit noisy since the stairway is quite open and directly above the reception area.

    Location a bit out if the center (not even 10 minutes walk) but with parking, great breakfast, comfy room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff very very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WiFi was a bit temperamental, so I used a lot of data on my phone.

    The staff very very friendly. The location is good and the hotel is nice and quite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.8
    Sadly I cannot recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly I cannot recommend this hotel. Our first room had a leak in the bathroom causing mold marks on the outer wall, so we requested a new room that was available only in the next day. This room also had a leaking bathroom, so we realized this is probably a structural problem in the whole hotel, together with the really loud toiled flush. Our new room had also a sewage smell. The breakfast was OK at the best, with few options, many flies over the food, dirty and little to no dishes to be used. The location is a steep 15 minutes walk from the city center, so be aware of that. To conclude our "great" 3 nights stay, on the last night and day there was no hot water in the hotel, so we had to take cold showers and finally leave. Believe me, I'm sure you can find a better option in Sarajevo.

    The hotel looks nice and clean, that's the reason behind the nice pictures in booking.com

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    It is time HECCO spends some money on general renovation of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is time HECCO spends some money on general renovation of rooms, particularly. I have been here several times over the years and I can see how the rooms are gotting more and more used up. equipment broken, etc. Pls fix things fast. This is a very nice hotel!!! Would be a shame to let is go down

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel with many disturbing weaknesses
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We received an attic room with unusably low roof above the double bed. Additionally, there were no blinds on the window, it was difficult to sleep in the morning. Bed mattrasses were extremely uncomfortable. Room was not cleaned up well.

    Excellent location - walking distance to downtown. Closed parking place without extra charge. Air condition worked well, breakfast was excellent. Grocery shop at the next door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    Not enough for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was so noisy and we had to clear it out ourselves to fix it. We had a room under the roof (sooooo hot !!) and many items were broken (like the blind).

    It was clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was ok with many local foods.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    3.3
    Never more there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No car park inside available, also If I sent an email asking availability but without reply. The hotel is situated on a Hill, about 900 meter walking on it, no public bus to the center of the City, staff not friendly or professional, they even joked about no bus to the Center. No elevator. They assigned the room 211. The door has a window on it through lighting of the corridor all the night into the room. There were no soap or shampoo in the shower, only one electric jack in the bedroom and another one in the Bath room, water on the floor coming from the radiator, bad internet signal so it doesn't work, impossible to connect ! They are concerned only about appearance but there is no substance for price paid. It is not a 3 Stars Hotel of European Standards. Conclusion: never more there!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Everything clean, there was parking place inside for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Door of my room very squeaky.

    Everything clean, there was parking place inside for the motorcycle and I used laundry service to wash all my stuff for 2.5€. Also breakfast was of good quality and variety. The place is not exactly in the center but it's quiet on foot is close and it's easier to arrive there driving.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable, amazing kindly staff, great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing might be improved is the wifi coverage. It doesn't arrive well to the room where we were located. But once you get signal, it is considerably fast.

    Hotel totally renewed. Everything is super clean and everything works. Spacious room. The all-you-can-eat breakfast is so complete. Staff really helped with indications and took care of our things after checkout while we visited the city. Staff has 10 over 10 in kindness. Location is relatively good, just around 10-12 mins from old town, not a huge problem. Hotel area is super calm and we didn't hear any single noise during sleeping time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Easy going staff, clean hotel, good food and safe, what more can you ask for?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is only ONE iron and no ironing board, no steamer. As I mentioned, do not expect a Canadian living, rather a European life style that is minimal, beautiful and inexpensive. The distance from the old city is a far walk. Parking is tight and there is not much space to park your vehicle.

    The hotel is beautiful for adults. There are no elevators, therefore you will walk your luggage up three floors. This can be exhausting if you have small children or loads of luggage. In addition, the walk to the Bas Carsija (the main square where the old town is) is roughly a 10 min walk. But not your ordinary 10 min Canadian walk, this is up a hill and down the hill. You will probably burn up to 500 calories just walking to a fro from the hotel. Safety wise, no complaints. Secure? Absolutely. Food? We Canadians are used to 5 star hotels with grand bed and breakfast, Europeans are not this way. They eat minimally, so expect less of everything and small portions. Breakfast is 7-10 everyday, which is wonderful considering most places are 7-9.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.3
    European island in the romantic Balcan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wanted to take a short sightseeing on foot but after 20 minutes orbiting around the hotel before finding it (so many one-way street, closed roads due to football match, road construction not displayed on google maps) we decided it is better not to leave the hotel by night. We booked double bed but got two single beds put together. I was not sure during check-in and when I complained during check-out about it, they could do nothing. The room was extreme cold by the time we arrived we hardly managed to heat it by opening the window. We booked parking lot via booking.com but they told us to leave the car on the street contrary that they had empty space in their garage. I do not know what is the standard for Sarajevo but the towels looked overused and the white bed sheet had same dark spots. During the morning we realised how close is the inner city but unfortunately we had to drive further and had no chance to discover Sarajevo.

    Reasonable price for European standard. Receptionist speaks well English and very helpful. They chilled our room as there was extremely hot outside. The wi-fi was good and fast even on the second floor. We could see our car from the window and the receptionist told that she could look over it via CCTV. The breakfast was good (including scrambled eggs and sausages) with fresh fruits and local sweets. You can get even a fresh espresso or cappuccino and not only usual long coffee from the tank. The interior is modern even with contemporary art.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Its close to Bascarsija on a quite place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WI-FI was slow.

    Its close to Bascarsija on a quite place. We spent there just 1 night, we are satisfied with everything. We had a big, clean room, bed was comfortable. Breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    Dosta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Équipment were poor, breakfast not enough varied, It's a pity that the parking is used by the personel of the hotel and so there are not enough place for thé clients. But we have chosen that hotel for its own parking.

    The bed was made every dayi ans the towels were changed everyday. Nice and smiling staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.1
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the thrid floor,it was boiling hot, it needs to be renovate. Breakfast could be better. The lock of our door was damaged.

    The location is near Bascarsija and the garage was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been better but still ok for a 3 star hotel. Wifi was very poor.

    Most of the staff was very friendly and service minded, the room was warm and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Location & facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn’t work (no aerial)

    Location & facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Parking garage, position close to the old town, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking garage, position close to the old town, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    Good value for money in Sarajevo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small garage, some difficulties with parking.

    Great staff, quiet and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    La positioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La positioned.In pochi minuti si arrival all centro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    The bed was comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choices of breakfast is not much and the food were mostly cold

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Within walking distance from the city center (old town), friendly staff, all modern, nice breakfast buffet, free parking right at the door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Great comfortable hotel for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Comfortable Bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Trip to Sarajevo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel near old city area Baščaršija (5min walking). It's clean, quiet, tasty breakfast... Hotel has secured parking in garage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    None
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom need a bit more cleaning

    It was good.. friendly staff good location and over all i would recomended for all of my friends and family

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, comfortable and near the old town. I enjoyed the breakfast and I would come again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    Reception Stuff is very friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some road repair on the entry...

    Reception Stuff is very friendly ...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice and clean room,friendly staff,parking space next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean room,friendly staff,parking space next to the hotel,close enough to turist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel with the garage for car, room was clean and nice, bathroom is big and really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    10
    Hotel is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is very good..It's at the old part of city and the famous bascarsija is only 5 minutes walking down hill. I like everything about this hotel..i felt like I'm at my own home. Breakfasts is perfect and u can order what you want. Kind reagards to all staff of hotel Hecco. See you soon

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    10
    The location is absolutely perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None.

    The location is absolutely perfect! Just a short walk to pigeon square in the old town center. The entire staff was absolutely wonderful! The ladies at the front desk were incredibly helpful and accommodating when I needed to extend my stay. They were also always happy to help with directions, transportation,suggestions, etc. This is my favorite place to stay in Sarajevo and the price is great for location, room quality, service, and breakfast. I highly recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.2
    It was nice to stay in a proper hotel instead of an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Neighborhood immediately surrounding hotel. The hotel is on an incline up a hill which could be challenging for some guests (ep. In 30+ weather) It is ~10-12 minute walk down to the entrance to amazing Old Town, but 15+ going up. Crime stats in Sarajevo are exceptionally low, but I do understand why another posted mentioned not being comfortable walking alone at night. The 5 minutes of the walk immediately outside the hotel are a bit scary at night - the houses look derelict and the stray cats and dogs of Sarajevo do roam the streets. I went out and back from 11 pm - 12:30 am in search of food and felt a bit uneasy but note, nobody approached me or bothered me.

    It was nice to stay in a proper hotel instead of an apartment. I booked online an hour before arriving and the front desk was immediately responsive! They were able to provide estimated taxi costs, later call me a taxi, helpful with a map, and print tickets for me. Breakfast was included and was great. Eggs, meats, cereal, Lots of Fresh fruit, coffee and juices. The room was comfortable, I even had a terrace, air conditioning worked and wifi was very strong.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.5
    location is in the old part of Sarajevo,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room rate offered by Booking.com is high, the room booked should ideally be around 40 Euros per night.

    location is in the old part of Sarajevo, About 15 minutes uphill walk from main streets and tram stops. Staff are very friendly and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, free wi-fi and they speak good English. They own a shuttle bus and offer a drop off and pick up to and from the Airport, at a very reasonable rate.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.6
    very good location - 5-10 min walk to the old town of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was good

    very good location - 5-10 min walk to the old town of Sarajevo; free parking; very nice and helpful staff; the hotel is clean; very good price for the quality you get

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.2
    The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location required walking uphill for about 5 minutes. This could be a problem for some. The rooms are not sound proof at all.

    The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel was clean. The facilities were fairly modern. There was hot water. The breakfast was decent: eggs, yogurt, cheese, cold cuts, bread, jams, coffee, tea, juice, cold cereals, cucumber, tomato

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.3
    The staff is very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They do not have double beds, just single beds together that get separate at night, plus they are very thin.. so for a couple to sleep there is very unconfortable...

    The staff is very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    5.8
    Garage, but it is small and you must catch other guests to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor breakfast, uncomfortable bed mattresses, pillows, no lift, door handles fall out, slow wifi, flashing screen on TV, loose toilet,......

    Garage, but it is small and you must catch other guests to move their car if you want to go out with your car. So that we used taxi, it's very cheap. Hotel is close (800 m) to the centre of town.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    9.6
    Comfy bed, nice breakfast, helpful staff, great deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water in our mini bar and been opened and refilled so it wasn't bottled water, probably the people who state before us but check just in case!

    Comfy bed, nice breakfast, helpful staff, great deal.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    10
    The staff were exceptionally helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were exceptionally helpful.we had lots of questions about onward travel and they did research in their own time and helped us book the next leg of our journey. The breakfast was very good, the room clean and had free wifi which was important to us. Brilliant value for money. We expected it to be much more expensive.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    10
    reception people very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    leaving to go home

    reception people very good

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    10
    The staff of the hotel was extremely polite and kind.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff of the hotel was extremely polite and kind.They offered me an airport service.I just can recomend this small but cosy hotel to everyone!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    9.6
    breakfast is good, the beds were comfortable, room clean,...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast is good, the beds were comfortable, room clean, friendly staff, excellent location, excellent value for money!

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.2
    The staff is very professional and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff is very professional and helpful. Good location. Great deal ( value and money).

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    7.5
    Helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small private parking, basic breakfast.

    Helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    8.3
    Service and staff was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was too soft.

    Service and staff was great

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.2
    we like the location of the hotel, nearby off all main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we like the location of the hotel, nearby off all main attractions and old town in Sarajevo. The hotel very clean and staff very fiendly

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    8.8
    value for money and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    value for money and location

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.3
    Staff has been very helpful, location is close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff has been very helpful, location is close to the center.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.1
    location, the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor breakfast, we didnt get a message which was given to us at the reception, small room and bathroom

    location, the staff

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.6
    Clean, modern hotel within walking distance of the old city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean, modern hotel within walking distance of the old city and the Baščaršija.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    The location, modern atmosphere and the very kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bad was a bit narrow....

    The location, modern atmosphere and the very kind receptionoist Leila!!

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.5
    Location, free parking, cozy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location, free parking, cozy bed

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    8.3
    Spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weird that you are not allow to dry your face after makeup cleaning.

    Spacious rooms. Good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Very close to the city center, room very clean and...
    • Solo traveller

    Very close to the city center, room very clean and comfortable. Varied breakfast and fresh. The staff very kind and friendly. Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel,friendly and professional staff,my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hotel,friendly and professional staff,my recommendations!

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    8.3
    Everything was fine as written before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fine as written before. Rooms are clean, 900 meters to bascarsi, receptionist was very hepfull

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    10
    Everything is perfetct, staff is professional, very polite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is perfetct, staff is professional, very polite and helpful.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: