Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hecco This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Medresa 1, 71000 Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

#95 of 123 hotels in Sarajevo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 230 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable, amazing kindly staff, great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing might be improved is the wifi coverage. It doesn't arrive well to the room where we were located. But once you get signal, it is considerably fast.

    Hotel totally renewed. Everything is super clean and everything works. Spacious room. The all-you-can-eat breakfast is so complete. Staff really helped with indications and took care of our things after checkout while we visited the city. Staff has 10 over 10 in kindness. Location is relatively good, just around 10-12 mins from old town, not a huge problem. Hotel area is super calm and we didn't hear any single noise during sleeping time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    7.5
    Easy going staff, clean hotel, good food and safe, what more can you ask for?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is only ONE iron and no ironing board, no steamer. As I mentioned, do not expect a Canadian living, rather a European life style that is minimal, beautiful and inexpensive. The distance from the old city is a far walk. Parking is tight and there is not much space to park your vehicle.

    The hotel is beautiful for adults. There are no elevators, therefore you will walk your luggage up three floors. This can be exhausting if you have small children or loads of luggage. In addition, the walk to the Bas Carsija (the main square where the old town is) is roughly a 10 min walk. But not your ordinary 10 min Canadian walk, this is up a hill and down the hill. You will probably burn up to 500 calories just walking to a fro from the hotel. Safety wise, no complaints. Secure? Absolutely. Food? We Canadians are used to 5 star hotels with grand bed and breakfast, Europeans are not this way. They eat minimally, so expect less of everything and small portions. Breakfast is 7-10 everyday, which is wonderful considering most places are 7-9.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    6.3
    European island in the romantic Balcan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wanted to take a short sightseeing on foot but after 20 minutes orbiting around the hotel before finding it (so many one-way street, closed roads due to football match, road construction not displayed on google maps) we decided it is better not to leave the hotel by night. We booked double bed but got two single beds put together. I was not sure during check-in and when I complained during check-out about it, they could do nothing. The room was extreme cold by the time we arrived we hardly managed to heat it by opening the window. We booked parking lot via booking.com but they told us to leave the car on the street contrary that they had empty space in their garage. I do not know what is the standard for Sarajevo but the towels looked overused and the white bed sheet had same dark spots. During the morning we realised how close is the inner city but unfortunately we had to drive further and had no chance to discover Sarajevo.

    Reasonable price for European standard. Receptionist speaks well English and very helpful. They chilled our room as there was extremely hot outside. The wi-fi was good and fast even on the second floor. We could see our car from the window and the receptionist told that she could look over it via CCTV. The breakfast was good (including scrambled eggs and sausages) with fresh fruits and local sweets. You can get even a fresh espresso or cappuccino and not only usual long coffee from the tank. The interior is modern even with contemporary art.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.6
    Its close to Bascarsija on a quite place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WI-FI was slow.

    Its close to Bascarsija on a quite place. We spent there just 1 night, we are satisfied with everything. We had a big, clean room, bed was comfortable. Breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    7.1
    Dosta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Équipment were poor, breakfast not enough varied, It's a pity that the parking is used by the personel of the hotel and so there are not enough place for thé clients. But we have chosen that hotel for its own parking.

    The bed was made every dayi ans the towels were changed everyday. Nice and smiling staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    7.1
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was on the thrid floor,it was boiling hot, it needs to be renovate. Breakfast could be better. The lock of our door was damaged.

    The location is near Bascarsija and the garage was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2016

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed could have been better but still ok for a 3 star hotel. Wifi was very poor.

    Most of the staff was very friendly and service minded, the room was warm and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    7.1
    OK for a short stay, with no great expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room not very clean, with a cold feeling and not well maintained, shower broken, food at breakfast was almost gone when we went downstairs at 9AM, asked for more they said sorry - it's finished. No friendly faces among reception staff.

    15 minute walk downhill to old city - 20 uphill at return :), free secure parking, spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2016

    6.7
    Good location, friendly, some downs as well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed is very soft and not comfy for a couple. If you just move slightly towards each other there is nothing which prevents the mattresses to stay together, resulting in a big gap between them.

    Staff is very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2016

    5.0
    Average comfort in sarajevo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator. Reception did not react to change room while i was in attic room due to incoming visitors overlooking our priority. Price/quality ratio below expectation.

    Secure parking. Free capuccino in breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    6.3
    Sub-par facilities for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi did not work in room, air conditioning in room did not work, shower was broken and had to take hand-held showers. Cleaning of rooms was great on arrival but during stay was poor - carpet not vacuumed, no bin in room, bed not made. The design is such that the central area between rooms is tiles and open which makes it quite noisy with other guests

    Great staff, quiet location, fair sized rooms and efficient transfer service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2016

    7.9
    Nice hotel facillities but bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The uphill location. Easy to go down hill to the city center but getting back to the hotel is very tiring. We were given an ally room were often our heads hit the ceeling It is like a cave.

    The internal decoration.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.9
    La positioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    La positioned.In pochi minuti si arrival all centro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.5
    The bed was comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choices of breakfast is not much and the food were mostly cold

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Within walking distance from the city center (old town), friendly staff, all modern, nice breakfast buffet, free parking right at the door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.6
    Great comfortable hotel for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Comfortable Bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    8.8
    Trip to Sarajevo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice hotel near old city area Baščaršija (5min walking). It's clean, quiet, tasty breakfast... Hotel has secured parking in garage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    7.5
    None
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom need a bit more cleaning

    It was good.. friendly staff good location and over all i would recomended for all of my friends and family

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, comfortable and near the old town. I enjoyed the breakfast and I would come again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.2
    Reception Stuff is very friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was some road repair on the entry...

    Reception Stuff is very friendly ...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    9.2
    Nice and clean room,friendly staff,parking space next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice and clean room,friendly staff,parking space next to the hotel,close enough to turist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel with the garage for car, room was clean and nice, bathroom is big and really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice and clean room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    8.8
    cleen
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    toilet no gun water

    cleen staff friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    6.3
    No elevator and too far away from the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator and too far away from the city center. The worst coffee i ever had.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2016

    8.3
    close to the city center, friendly staff, free wi-fi,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    close to the city center, friendly staff, free wi-fi, private parking place, varied breakfast, comfortable room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2016

    9.2
    Very nice hotel with nice staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi wasn't good.

    Very nice hotel with nice staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2016

    10
    Hotel is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Hotel is very good..It's at the old part of city and the famous bascarsija is only 5 minutes walking down hill. I like everything about this hotel..i felt like I'm at my own home. Breakfasts is perfect and u can order what you want. Kind reagards to all staff of hotel Hecco. See you soon

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2015

    10
    The location is absolutely perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    None.

    The location is absolutely perfect! Just a short walk to pigeon square in the old town center. The entire staff was absolutely wonderful! The ladies at the front desk were incredibly helpful and accommodating when I needed to extend my stay. They were also always happy to help with directions, transportation,suggestions, etc. This is my favorite place to stay in Sarajevo and the price is great for location, room quality, service, and breakfast. I highly recommend it!

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2015

    9.2
    It was nice to stay in a proper hotel instead of an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Neighborhood immediately surrounding hotel. The hotel is on an incline up a hill which could be challenging for some guests (ep. In 30+ weather) It is ~10-12 minute walk down to the entrance to amazing Old Town, but 15+ going up. Crime stats in Sarajevo are exceptionally low, but I do understand why another posted mentioned not being comfortable walking alone at night. The 5 minutes of the walk immediately outside the hotel are a bit scary at night - the houses look derelict and the stray cats and dogs of Sarajevo do roam the streets. I went out and back from 11 pm - 12:30 am in search of food and felt a bit uneasy but note, nobody approached me or bothered me.

    It was nice to stay in a proper hotel instead of an apartment. I booked online an hour before arriving and the front desk was immediately responsive! They were able to provide estimated taxi costs, later call me a taxi, helpful with a map, and print tickets for me. Breakfast was included and was great. Eggs, meats, cereal, Lots of Fresh fruit, coffee and juices. The room was comfortable, I even had a terrace, air conditioning worked and wifi was very strong.

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2015

    7.5
    location is in the old part of Sarajevo,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The room rate offered by Booking.com is high, the room booked should ideally be around 40 Euros per night.

    location is in the old part of Sarajevo, About 15 minutes uphill walk from main streets and tram stops. Staff are very friendly and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, free wi-fi and they speak good English. They own a shuttle bus and offer a drop off and pick up to and from the Airport, at a very reasonable rate.

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2015

    9.6
    very good location - 5-10 min walk to the old town of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was good

    very good location - 5-10 min walk to the old town of Sarajevo; free parking; very nice and helpful staff; the hotel is clean; very good price for the quality you get

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2015

    9.2
    The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location required walking uphill for about 5 minutes. This could be a problem for some. The rooms are not sound proof at all.

    The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel was clean. The facilities were fairly modern. There was hot water. The breakfast was decent: eggs, yogurt, cheese, cold cuts, bread, jams, coffee, tea, juice, cold cereals, cucumber, tomato

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2015

    8.3
    The staff is very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They do not have double beds, just single beds together that get separate at night, plus they are very thin.. so for a couple to sleep there is very unconfortable...

    The staff is very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2015

    5.8
    Garage, but it is small and you must catch other guests to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor breakfast, uncomfortable bed mattresses, pillows, no lift, door handles fall out, slow wifi, flashing screen on TV, loose toilet,......

    Garage, but it is small and you must catch other guests to move their car if you want to go out with your car. So that we used taxi, it's very cheap. Hotel is close (800 m) to the centre of town.

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2015

    9.6
    Comfy bed, nice breakfast, helpful staff, great deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water in our mini bar and been opened and refilled so it wasn't bottled water, probably the people who state before us but check just in case!

    Comfy bed, nice breakfast, helpful staff, great deal.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2015

    10
    The staff were exceptionally helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were exceptionally helpful.we had lots of questions about onward travel and they did research in their own time and helped us book the next leg of our journey. The breakfast was very good, the room clean and had free wifi which was important to us. Brilliant value for money. We expected it to be much more expensive.

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2016

    10
    reception people very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    leaving to go home

    reception people very good

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2016

    10
    The staff of the hotel was extremely polite and kind.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff of the hotel was extremely polite and kind.They offered me an airport service.I just can recomend this small but cosy hotel to everyone!

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2016

    9.6
    breakfast is good, the beds were comfortable, room clean,...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast is good, the beds were comfortable, room clean, friendly staff, excellent location, excellent value for money!

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2016

    9.2
    The staff is very professional and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The staff is very professional and helpful. Good location. Great deal ( value and money).

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2016

    7.5
    Helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small private parking, basic breakfast.

    Helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2016

    8.3
    Service and staff was great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The bed was too soft.

    Service and staff was great

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2015

    9.2
    we like the location of the hotel, nearby off all main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we like the location of the hotel, nearby off all main attractions and old town in Sarajevo. The hotel very clean and staff very fiendly

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2015

    8.8
    value for money and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    value for money and location

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2015

    8.3
    Staff has been very helpful, location is close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff has been very helpful, location is close to the center.

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    7.1
    location, the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor breakfast, we didnt get a message which was given to us at the reception, small room and bathroom

    location, the staff

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2015

    9.6
    Clean, modern hotel within walking distance of the old city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Clean, modern hotel within walking distance of the old city and the Baščaršija.

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2015

    10
    The location, modern atmosphere and the very kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bad was a bit narrow....

    The location, modern atmosphere and the very kind receptionoist Leila!!

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2015

    7.5
    Location, free parking, cozy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location, free parking, cozy bed

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2015

    8.3
    Spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weird that you are not allow to dry your face after makeup cleaning.

    Spacious rooms. Good wifi.

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2015

    10
    Very close to the city center, room very clean and...
    • Solo traveler

    Very close to the city center, room very clean and comfortable. Varied breakfast and fresh. The staff very kind and friendly. Good value for money

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel,friendly and professional staff,my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hotel,friendly and professional staff,my recommendations!

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2015

    8.3
    Everything was fine as written before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fine as written before. Rooms are clean, 900 meters to bascarsi, receptionist was very hepfull

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2015

    10
    Everything is perfetct, staff is professional, very polite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is perfetct, staff is professional, very polite and helpful.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: