Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Italia 3 stars

Pofalicka 7, 71000 Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

#94 of 121 hotels in Sarajevo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 302 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money, friendly staff, comfy bed and clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wee bit out from the old town (10 minute drive/ 40 minute walk), but this is easily enough accessed via public transport I.e tram and bus services, and obviously taxis.

    Great value for money, friendly staff, comfy bed and clean room, good facilities and nice food and good bar too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    It was pleasant.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Selection of food could have been better, namely there were no organic products and the plates were not being refilled in the buffet.

    We liked the room, its cleanliness and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    There are much better place to stay in Sarajevo for that money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old and ugly. There is no warm atmosphere, you feel like you came to some highroad motel. There are no carpets on the floors, there is moult and dump everywhere. Bed is too hard. There are no real windows in the bedroom at the apartment. I really didnt feel confortable and secure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Quick, one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a dog under our window who was constantly barking.

    The service was quick and front desk guy gave us useful tips. There is a shop really close and the bus station Sarajevo is walking distance away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast is good, staff is good too.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garages for parking were really hard to get in especially if you drive sports car. I even peeled of a bit of color trying to park it.

    Breakfast is good, staff is good too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect but the reception at night is opposite everyone is very very bad I have suggestions for you change him many people don’t like him

    Everything is perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Spacious room and bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel interior is outdated. For those who enjoy retro style and 90's it would be perfect. The doors and windows let too much noise from the corridor and street. Especially when dogs barking on the street at night. Breakfast was decent, but it can variate between days.

    Spacious room and bathroom. Internet was quite good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Great staff and pool, a/c a must. Long walks to city sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only go for 'Luxury' rooms with a/c. Standard rooms are saunas. The lady kindly upgraded us for free which made a big difference! Walk to city sights was 30-40 mins.

    Staff were great and so was the rooftop pool. Great Breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Best bang for your buck in Sarajevo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin / Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps it was just this one time or maybe its just a local thing, but the bed linnen didn't realy feel like linnen but rather like cardboard. It gave us a bizarre feeling when we got into bed .. but on the other hand .. we were exhausted of the day so we fel asleep anyway.

    You can't argue about the fact that this hotel offers incredible value for your money. The breakfast is without doubt royal and a little drop in the swimmingpool at the end of the day is all you need to relax. The whole hotel has this 80's retro feeling that we just love but have no fear .. it's crispy clean !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was surprisingly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was only so-so. Albeit not far from the city center, but right next to a tobacco factory. Also, there weren't many ways to find something to eat in the area. The restaurant was barely open at all. We were informed why, but that is still not that impressive.

    Breakfast was surprisingly good The staff were nice and accomodating, but that's really to be expected in BiH.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    3.3
    Pool, but the water was cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I looking that... I think the owner just takes the money, but not take back the money in the hotel... For example: renovation, new furniture, carpet, fridge, and a lot of things... This Holtel need the very fast renovation!!!! The room was terrible.

    Pool, but the water was cold.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Inconvenient location, but wonderful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is rather inconvenient - it's an uphill 10 minute walk from the bus station, and the only convenient way to get to old town (or back) is to take a 10 minute taxi ride. Even if you take the tram, you still have to walk. The only good restaurant nearby is the one at the bus station.

    We got a free (and unasked for) upgrade to their apartment suite, which was quite luxurious, with old style leather furniture and lots of space. The restaurant on the top floor offered a pretty good breakfast spread, and nice views of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice, clean, large room, excelent breakfast and stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that I didn’t like is location, but cheap cab recalculate 50 minutes walking from hotel to downtown.

    Nice, clean, large room, excelent breakfast and stuff.. Stuff is amazing, they help us about everything, very kind and helpful guys. We are thrilled. Also great thing about this property, there is a locked garage for cars, so you can be peaceful about car security.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.8
    I recommend NO one to stay here!
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not believe how bad the check in was. I had never been in that hotel before, but when I walked in, the man behind the counter began yelling at me. I had NO idea what he was talking about, he screamed at me and told me he was just too busy to check me in and demanded that I leave and come back in two hours! I cam back in two hours and my daughter and I were waiting for him saying nothing and he started yelling again about how busy he was. I asked him if he was in a bad mood or something and he said he was tired and too busy. I tried to pay my bill (like most hotels) in advance and he would not even tell me how much it was. I went to our room and called booking.com to have them ask him and to tell him I want a receipt. When I went back downstairs to pay for it. He went even crazier. My daughter ushered me away after we paid him because he was getting worse and my daughter thought he would get violent. The next day we went to the breakfast buffet (which was way too over picked and cold by 8:00 already), I spoke to this one man who had been downstairs all during the time he was yelling and getting crazy the third time, and he did nothing to calm the crazy man down, and complained. He said he was the manager (sort of) (whatever that means) and he just laughed about it. Actually laughed about it and admitted it!! I left the next day, after not even trying to get the breakfast because of how bad it was the first time, and I talked to another man who was at the front desk and he said he normally does not act that way. NORMALLY? What does that mean? When I asked if the man was just anti-foreigner, he said since I was an American passport holder (I am a dual citizen EU-USA) I must be a person who cannot understand that there is no one that hates ANYBODY in Bosnia, and Americans can't understand that because Americans are all haters and racists. What?!!

    Besides having a clogged up shower, full of hair that I had to clean out myself before it would drain, it appeared clean. It had a free pool table, but the cue sticks had no tips.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Great price and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. Thankfully we were tiredness out from walking around so much but definitely stiff and barely any padding. Some workers don't speak a lick of English and communicating is very hard even with our effort of Bosnian and google translate. The terrace (and pool) were closed for the season so we couldn't enjoy the view.

    The room was very spacious! The bathroom area is separated from the bedroom area. Shower had great pressure and hot water. Wifi worked great. Breakfast had lots of options and was included in the price. Gorgeous views of Sarajevo and the surrounding mountains.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Convenient for bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit of a walk uphill. Although only a short walk from bus station older or obese people with heavy suitcase might struggle but taxis are cheap and plentiful.

    The hotel is convenient for access to/from the main bus station (800 metres ). Old town easily accessible by #3 tram. Some car parking available. Reasonably good buffet breakfast. Spacious room with all the usual features. Have to pre-order if you want dinner. Helpful staff ordered a pizza delivery for me as I arrived late.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    What I liked about staying in hotel Italia was their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed's mattresses were uncomfortable, we could feel the mattress's springs and their pillows and the blankets were as uncomfortable. The breakfast stayed fresh and hot for an hour; after an hour from the commencement of the service it got really cold.

    What I liked about staying in hotel Italia was their friendly staff and the hotel's quite peaceful atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    The rooms are really nice and confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are really nice and confortable.The breakfast was very good. The staff is very comprehensive and kind. We enjoyed our stay very much. Its a good deal for money also.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.2
    Great value for money in a city.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast area could have been laid out better to show all that was on offer.

    Warm welcome with easy check in. Large well furnished clean room with very comfortable beds. Everything worked! Guest kitchen facility. Good parking. Dog friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very cosy, reception staff is very polite and friendly. Rooms are big, and the breakfast is great. Gret value for the money you spent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    7.1
    Clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is room for improvement.

    Clean rooms.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Large and clean rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel

    Large and clean rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    furniture, breakfast, price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    didnt find a way to the pool

    furniture, breakfast, price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect staying with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, close to autobus station. Great staff, it has pool inside of the hotel. Recommended!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Room was extra comfortable and the staff was very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be cleaner.

    Room was extra comfortable and the staff was very kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel close to the city
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine.Hotel is a bit old but very clean and comfortable.

    Everything was fine.Staff was very pleasant .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    staff, food
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    its a little bit far from Sarajevo center, but taxi is cheap

    staff, food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    if taking the price into consideration, you receive very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    far from the city centre

    if taking the price into consideration, you receive very good breakfast and a spacious room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value for mommy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub has no curtain so the floor get wet

    Big room, good bed, private parking, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Extremely helpful staff, great location, clean and cozy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely helpful staff, great location, clean and cozy room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms are big and clean. Breakfast was very diverse,fresh and very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice area big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not good qualty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean, breakfast good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly. Little shop close by

    Clean, breakfast good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Hotel Italia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and service eas good. Breakfast was good. The room was huge, plenty of room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    4.6
    I do not think I will go there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilette was not disinfected. And generally, the hotel was not so clean. Sheets are so old, that they are almost grey.

    Big rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Good value
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice pet friendly hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Very good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furniture is a little old.

    Very good breakfast! Not far away from center of Sarajevo (2.5 - 3 Euro by Taxi).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Staff is nice, room was clean and very big, breakfast is the best.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    5.0
    Location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good. Our room was not good. Window felt like falling out when opened not clean and horrible beds...

    Location and price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff, simple breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple breakfast. Worn down lobby. The pool wasn't open.

    Large non-smoking room. Easy to navigate around in the hotel. Late night check-in.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Italia - The soul of Sarajevo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin/Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hard bed, but thats only my personal opinion, lots of people like that.

    Excelent domnestic coffee, extra kind staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    7.9
    The size of the room was very good (it was a room for three...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a little bit far from the centre of the city, but it´s ok for who is going to take the bus or the train.

    The size of the room was very good (it was a room for three people) as the amenities.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    7.9
    Very, very kind young lady at the reception desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There could be more worm meals (such as wormed milk, scrambled eggs) for the breakfast. Breakfast was quite various but mostly cold meals.

    Very, very kind young lady at the reception desk.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    7.5
    Room - in regular 4 star hotel you're lucky if you get a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast not that great , smell of cigarettes , prices of laundry service -ask for prices before you ask for laundry

    Room - in regular 4 star hotel you're lucky if you get a quarter of what you get in Italia, its just huge, staff very friendly and helpful , room cleaned everyday , free wi-fi ,

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    8.3
    The staff was friendly, especially he young women.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing was that none of the electronic devices in the room or bathroom worked. Of course we didn't report it because it wasn't a big deal to us but that should be fixed in the future for others.

    The staff was friendly, especially he young women. I liked the old style of the place. The size and layout of the room was excellent! The breakfast was very good, especially the omelets. I also appreciated the staff's willingness to use their internet as we had our Kindle stolen and the nearest internet cafe was far away and smokey!

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    6.3
    Very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rude gentleman at service counter. Not helpful. 30 minute walk into City Centre. Very close to national bus service but still 10 minute walk. Walk doesn't seem safe out of hours but fine during daylight.

    Very spacious. Clean. Nice bathroom. Very friendly female member of staff who provided lots of advice about travelling around Sarajevo. Excellent morning breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    3.3
    The lady at reception was amazing, so friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately the two men at reception were the most un friendly and un welcoming hotel staff I've come across.

    The lady at reception was amazing, so friendly and helpful!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.1
    WiFi password in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No hot water in the evening and in the morning No water at all at night Breakfast suddenly dissappeared at 10AM No A/C on the room

    WiFi password in the room WiFi worked very well Spacy giant room Easy to find Private parking Very tasty breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    7.1
    Free parking is good oportunity.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathrooms are too narrow.

    Free parking is good oportunity. Breakfast is nice.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    7.5
    Internet, Value for price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Internet, Value for price.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    9.2
    Very close to bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little dated

    Very close to bus station. Our room had 4 beds and a lounge - huge!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    room and hotel in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    room and hotel in general

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sometimes weak wifi connection

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    10
    Room is nice for the price, clean, comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dog bark close to hotel for couple hours.

    Room is nice for the price, clean, comfortable....

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.8
    Near the bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Near the bus station

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.3
    Very nice staff, helped us order dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the cleaning staff smoking near my room.

    Very nice staff, helped us order dinner. Quirky room but nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    Calm location, nice equipped and spatious rooms, view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Problems with WiFi.

    Calm location, nice equipped and spatious rooms, view of the city, garage.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    7.5
    room was really big, view, balcony, fruit, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Furnishings were bit dated

    room was really big, view, balcony, fruit, etc., close to bus/train station.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    8.8
    The hıspitality shown by the staff is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi connectivity was so Bad.

    The hıspitality shown by the staff is wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    6.3
    Old Town is great, taxis cheap and plentiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very hard bed. Water switched off overnight and VERY loud when it comes back on about 05.00

    Old Town is great, taxis cheap and plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    7.1
    staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    staff were very friendly and helpful. Free parking .

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: