Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Octagon 4 stars

Akifa Seremeta 48, 71000 Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

#54 of 123 hotels in Sarajevo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 152 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Good choice for a stay near airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just ok at least for a short stay

    Needed a one night stay after flight & before roadtrip: the location was excellent, there were restaurants nearby and we got the rental car parked in a locked area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Very good location, close to the M18 road and to the airport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, close to the M18 road and to the airport, but no any noice came in. Good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and cosy place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Perfect for early departure at airport. Quiet,clean,very kind staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spotless clean, quiet location, spacious room and less than 5 mins to airport by foot. Ideal for early departures. Supermarkets and restaurants just around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast wasn't quite as good this time as it was the previous two times I stayed here. The hotel is about a 20 minute taxi ride from downtown Sarajevo - so, for those who want to see the city (as opposed to wanting to be close to the airport), there are probably better options. On the other hand, I quite like the neighbourhood around the hotel.

    Location - close to the airport, which was good for an early morning flight. I've stayed here before, and I've always appreciated the friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff were friendly and helpful. breakfast was good. the last day we left at 5 am, the staff on duty provided us with breakfast. the staff also took us to show us where to go to catch the bue and to get to the airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly and accommodating!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating! It’s close enough to walk to the airport, but it was starting to lightly rain and they offered to drive me. I tried to pay but they no.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    we arrived almost midnight, staff at the reception were so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we arrived almost midnight, staff at the reception were so welcomed to us and offered any choice of bed we want. Very near to airport, you can actually see the hotel sign from the airport itself. So, dont bother to take the taxi, unless you super tired. Breakfast was quite simple and OK.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    Very helpful personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful personnel. Very early checkout ran fast and w/o any difficulties. Location near airport is excellent. In the rooms were all, wha was needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Relax before flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No croassants for breakfast.

    Very spaceous room with extra room for take coffee or just seat on sofa. Very friendly staff. Walking distance to aeroport, but still no noise from planes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    A hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel Octagon is a hidden gem!! It is beautifully furnished with some fantastic artefacts around. The owners are lovely people and very helpful. Our room was a good size and had a little sitting alcove with windows that allowed some fresh air. The continental style breakfast was great and it was a bonus to receive delicious omelettes! The hotel is literally an easy 5 min walk to the airport. A taxi ride into the city centre was very reasonable and the owners organised it for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Brilliant Location for Sarajevo Airport. Very comfortable and inexpensive stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all. We were made to feel very welcome and that if there was anything we wanted, all we had to do was ask.

    Seemed like it was a family-run business. We were welcomed by a very pleasant lady, who despite the late hour ( well after 23:00), seemed very happy to continue going to the fridge to fetch more and more beers for Keith and me. Breakfast was simple, but very tasty. My travelling buddy Keith was very happy with his omelette which they rustled up for him.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Great Service, Wonderful Decor and Close to the Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself is beautifully decorated with their paintings, china and crystal and beautiful furniture. The hallways and rooms are decorated in the same fashion. Simply beautiful. It was wonderful just looking at the decorating. The room itself was spacious with an outer sun room attached. Air conditioning worked great. Beds were comfy. Breakfast was included and had a good variety of options. The staff did what they could to ensure the guests were well taken care of and gave excellent service. Parking was included and right outside the door. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood very close to the airport, but no airport noise was heard. The hotel had a restaurant which was reasonably priced. Was hard to believe the lodging price was so low compared to the atmosphere and furnishings. Would definitely stay here again before heading to the airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    The owners were lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want to stay close to the airport, this is an excellent choice. It was difficult to find the first time, but once you know where it is, it is just a short walk back to the airport.

    The owners were lovely! They responded to any questions I had very quickly and were very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location if you have early morning or late night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No supermart nearby.

    Perfect location if you have early morning or late night flight from sarajevo airport,Just 200 meters from terminal building to hotel.Very nice staff.Clean and comfort room.Not expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel when you have an early flight to catch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would love an in-room safe.

    the staff was extremely helpful and personable, giving advice, and waiting to greet me when I arrived later than expected. Showed me the way to make the easy walk to the airport in the morning, to make sure I didn't take a wrong turn.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    Excellent!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steff was so friendly and very helpfully. Bed was so comfortable, I slept like a baby. Very much like that little room were I relax with a book. Nice and quiet. I will stay again!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    I coming back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say anything...

    My opinion is, that the staff of reception was very kindly and helpful,because of it was my first visit in Sarajevo and they gave good advices for me during BiH journey!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy at night from neighbours mostly

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Near of the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near of the airport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Ok ok;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place.Clean, good food, silenc;)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very clean and comfortable room. Good breakfast. The owner are kind, helpful and friendly. You feel like staying in your home.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Staf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities Breakfast

    Staf

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    The restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant There is no restaurant in the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast not good

    Great location. Comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.5
    Nice for the purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room with Business Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the purpose, spend one night in transit, everything was OK.

    The location. The friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Good place for a night close to the Sarajevo Airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and comfy atmosphere, spacious and very clean room, quiet neighborhood, excellent and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    The staff is very polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location near to airport

    The staff is very polite and helpful. Rooms was spacious, super-clean & comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    it's very very close to the airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's very very close to the airport!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    I love their hospatility
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love their hospatility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    All..
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All..9

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Over all good experience
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing I didn't like Is the bad not comfortable.

    I like that hotel was very close to the airport staff was very good and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Very friendly management.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly management. Excellent food. Walking distance to airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.5
    close to airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    close to airport. staff good. breakfast option not good. quiet place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location and staff. Enjoyed my stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the vintage style of the hotel. Staff was friendly, room was clean. I'd recommend it, definitely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was fine.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Great localization
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Hotel is placed in great localization it is 3 minutes walking from the airport. Personel is really kind and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. 2-3 mins walk to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    sweet home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow a bit too soft

    All Was perfect.Reception top level. Thanks a lot!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    10
    3 minutes from the Sarajevo Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very conscientious and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.9
    Good location /clan unique place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.You better go back to your room before 11 PM..they lock up the entrance door at 11 .

    Great hotel..very unique!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.3
    Exciting explore
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    Staff hospitality is very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    The hotel personnel went out of their way to help you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel personnel went out of their way to help you. The hotel was conveniently located near airport which is very important because getting a taxi isn't easy to do.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    Nice little hotel 5 minutes walk from the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the mattresses in my room was a bit worn down

    Nice little hotel 5 minutes walk from the airport. It's a family driven hotel, so they run it tight, it's almost like you are staying in their home, so it's not for everyone. You also have to leave the room card at the reception, and you cannot bring food to the room etc. But they are nice people who provides good service.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    8.5
    Room had a very cool hidden room (a sitting room) behind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked because of location. Room did not disappoint. Not as luxurious as my other hotels.

    Room had a very cool hidden room (a sitting room) behind what I thought were the window curtains. They also had a staff member that was from the US who was very nice. Location easy walk from airport, no cab or shuttle needed. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    10
    Usually hotels or hotel management upload
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Usually hotels or hotel management upload much better photos than the hotel is in reality BUT not in case of hotel Octagon... Hotel has beautiful/warm ambient which we expect from at least 4 star hotels, clean & spaces room, delicious breakfast, fast WiFi and more than 50TV program's (if you really need them)... Location is perfect... Just 2 min walking (!!!) from Sarajevo Airport (rooms have extremely good soundproofing so you don't hear planes)12KM (6€) away with taxi from city center,on the way to Bjelasnica Ski Resort and 2km from highway... What more can we expect from 3 star hotel??? P.S.: Big THANK YOU to friendly staff and owners! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    10
    The host family was so kind, gentle and neat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing significant

    The host family was so kind, gentle and neat. Furthermore, they spoke good English that i could get anything that i want for my tour. They were very nice people!

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff, quiet neighborhood, parking place, heated...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    only one electric outlet in the whole room to plug in mobil phone or laptop charger. Breakfast too basic.

    Friendly staff, quiet neighborhood, parking place, heated bathroom floor, extremely close to airport entrance (no noise from planes by the way) and strong WiFi signal.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    You can WALK to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    You can WALK to the airport. The staff came in early to be sure we had coffee before leaving for our early flight. They also responded well to a minor issue with a hair dryer. The placeis nicely appointed. So done obviously really cares about this place. Decent pizza restaurant nearby.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    Proximity to airport after late flight in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little hard to find on foot - and no foot path - have to walk through a culvert, or along edge of main road. You need to walk out airport car exit, then walk back to the hotel street in front of airport. Best to print off map in google maps before you leave so you can find your way, especially in the dark.

    Proximity to airport after late flight in. 10 mins walk. Easy check in, made us a great pizza and wine room service at 9 PM.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. A pity we were in a hurry and had no time to try breakfast.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Extremely easy access from airport - 5 min by walking.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.2
    Motivated staff provided excellent personal service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not close to downtown but a reasonable trade-off if proximity to the airport is important. City buses to downtown were available after walking through the neighbourhood.

    Motivated staff provided excellent personal service. Walkable from the airport if carrying light wheelable luggage but curiously located out of sight amongst multi-story residential buildings.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    7.1
    Room was well equipped and large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was terrible, as some of the food had clearly expired. Not much atmosphere, at it is near the airport.

    Room was well equipped and large. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.6
    very close to airport, room was clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group

    very close to airport, room was clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    7.5
    Proximity from Airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast a bit limited Hotel getting a bit old Welcome area a bit dark

    Proximity from Airport Very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    9.2
    Lovely staff and great rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely staff and great rooms. If you want to stay close to the airport, no better choice.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    10
    The location was outstanding for the airport, probably not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was outstanding for the airport, probably not as good if you are a general tourist. The décor of the place was really impressive.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.6
    Close to the airport, but far from downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the airport, but far from downtown. Cute place!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No safebox in rooms.

    Excellent staff. Very helpful and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    8.8
    Ideal place to stay if you're getting a flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal place to stay if you're getting a flight. Just a few minutes walk to the airport. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    The proximity to the airport, the service, and the nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The proximity to the airport, the service, and the nice decoration of the Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    9.6
    Personal,room & wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Personal,room & wifi

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    9.6
    Location near to the airport, good for early flights
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location near to the airport, good for early flights Comfortable room and bed

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Hotel Octagon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: