Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bougainvillea Barbados 4 stars

Maxwell Coast Road, BB06830 Christ Church, Barbados

#2 of 16 hotels in Christ Church

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 175 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately the property was inundated by a run of Sargassum seaweed washing up on the beach and turning the water brown. This has been going on for weeks now. This is the same beach that is shared with Sandals which is literally next door on the beach. This act of nature is obviously not under the control of the resort. Accommodations were made to transport guests who wanted "beach time" to a sister property or other beaches that weren't affected by this. Food at this resort was mediocre with very limited choices. Breakfast was good (hard to mess up breakfast though)

    Room was nice size, with kitchen, separate living room, good size bathroom. Nice patios ( need a fan out there) with table & chairs, chaise lounge. Rooms were completely updated in 2017. Great ductless air conditioners in bedrooms and living room areas. Staff is excellent and helpful! Small gym with good treadmills and decent exercise equipment. Gym bathrooms/ showers kept immaculately clean, fresh towels, etc. Public areas of hotel kept immaculately clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t enjoy the beach due to the seaweed problem

    Pretty nice. However, while we were there, we couldn’t enjoy the beach due to the seaweed problem. We had options to go to other beaches via the shuttle provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was ok but not what I would expect from Barbados! The water was rough and for people who like to body surf it would be an ideal location. Seaweed is a huge problem for some of the beaches. Although this resort doesn't have a huge issue, Sandals two resorts down does have a huge issue. The beach was a disappointment for me overall. If I were to return, I would stay on the north west side where the beaches are much nicer! Music around the pool area would have helped the atmosphere. Activities in the pool Such as water aerobics or yoga on the beach would have been a nice touch. Better entertainment nightly would also improve the resort,

    The property was lovely. The staff were very responsive to any issues and knowledgeable about questions we had about island. They were always friendly. The studio we stayed at for the first four days was lovely. It had a sit pool and waterfall off the balcony. We really enjoyed room 5119. It is also on the breezy side so there was always a nice breeze when sitting on the balcony. We had no issues with the service at either restaurant and we tried them both. Happy hour was fun which they had every day from 3:30 to 4:30 but they should extend their happy hour menu to other drinks not just the basics to make it a true happy hour! Gym facilities were great! Tennis wasn't available but they arranged for court time at another resort down the street, Overall, I would give the resort a 4 star.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Change Checkout to 12 noon

    The room was gorgeous, everything was perfect except check out 11AM ...TOO EARLY Make it noon, thanks for a wonderful experience!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that though the kitchenette is fully outfitted, there was ABSOLUTELY NOTHING in the room (for example, a few teabags, some sugar and cream packets) just for your convenience, especially on arrival when you may just want to stay in and relax.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not recommended for people with mobility issues as there are no elevators.

    Room and amenities were fantastic. Loved the layout of the room. Bathroom large. Great view of ocean & pool area. Beautiful property. Felt safe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa center was closed on Sunday.

    The pool is beautiful and the bar is lovely. The fish taco at the restaurant so perfectly cooked that I kept ordering it everyday. The location is also very convenient. It’s a 5min drive to fish market and all kinds of attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property. Great value. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Many guests return year after year (this was our third visit and it just gets better and better!)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a good size. Beds were comfortable. Kitchens had the basics that you needed. Always had breakfast in our room. Enjoyed some meals at the restaurants on site. Very good! The pool bar was fun. You could walk to other restaurants and the large food store if you don't mind walking 20 or more minutes one way. Taxis are always available. The staff was always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable ground floor junior suite overlooking gardens and the sea. The terrace was private with good quality furniture and was a very pleasant spot to have lunch or an evening drink. Extremely friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food, it was a bit bland. I think it could have been real Bagin food and the Thai restaurant is far too expensive for what is offered.

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Only minor comment is that if you have AMEX on your account the stay will be taken in advance and you'll get hit with a 3% additional charge; if you contact the hotel in advance you can give them a different card.

    Maxwell beach is really nice, Bougainvillea staff were superb and very helpful resolving some minor issues on check in and arranging late checkout; rooms are large, very comfortable and the kitchenette is excellent if you want to make your own breakfast/snacks. Gym is very good. Walking distance to Oistins for the fish fry/supermarket, and St Lawrence Gap (although you will be approached by dealers around Dover beach area). Hot legendary fishcakes and Pat's place in Oistins, Surfer Cafe near Oistins, and Cocktail Kitchen at St Lawrence Gap were very good for food and drinks. Foursquare distillery is good for a visit for a rum tasting, work out your return travel in advance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor comment but could have done with having catering options past 9:30pn. We landed late on our first night and couldn’t order room service as it was just after 9:30

    Really comfortable stay, super friendly staff who couldn’t do enough to help, amazing food, great beach and facilities. Not much more to ask for! Will definitely be back here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    they would run out of towels daily-everyone would go early and book chairs and use up all the towels, kids liked shuffleboard and chess

    New renovated rooms are great, staff was accommodating, restaurant was good, nice small resort, beach and sand are beautiful, easy walk into the gap from the beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more staff at pool side bar and at breakfast, service slow and staff had no time to talk to guests.

    Help from reception staff in organising events, the well equipped gym, location, location, location beautiful beach!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could be good to include more vegan options in the restaurant menus. Also would be nice to have a bigger bed which is a bit more firm.

    Great service and management. Very convenient to have all the watersport items included in the price. Comfy sun beds and nice pools. Wonderful beaches on your doorstep. Library, gym, shuttle to supermarket. Activities and live music in most evenings. Fantastic pool bar and staff there engaging and fun. Fresh and tasty food in the restaurant Siam. Overall client oriented service- can use the facilities on the day of arrival before check in and after check out when waiting for the plane back. Want to stay there again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t really identify any areas that I didn’t like.

    Very spacious with very good daily service.All staff demonstrated a welcoming approach to their guests and were always courteous and willing to help if any requests were made. It was my second stay there and I intend returning having enjoyed each occasion. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this holiday resort.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hotel wing needs some interior remodeling, but that is to be done in the near future according to management

    Perfect location, right on the beach, lovely landscaping

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in one of our rooms was unuasble for showers or washing our hands due to a leak for two days. Also in that suite there weren’t glass windows just wood shutters. It let in noise and was more primitive than I thought it should be.

    Mark at the pool bar was super friendly and made the best drinks on the whole island!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just construction going on - 1/2 the resort is under construction which we were alerted to prior and offered accommodation at sister resort (SugarBay) but we chose to stay at Bougainvillea. The food at the restaurant, that was open was amazing - the tenderloin incredible - curry mayo with sweet potato fries to die for. People were so nice and the room - was a one bedroom apartment really nice full kitchen etc.. Our room patio opened to beach and pool area. Would definitely come back once construction done.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were comfy and the studio room was highly with a decent size kitchen and full size fridge and separate freezer compartment. Wonderful view from the balcony. 10 mins drive to Oistins Fish Fry - go to Chillin & Grillin and have the snapper! They have a few lovely little cats who are adorable and very friendly!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reason we booked this hotel was for the grounds and pool area wit swim up bar and it was closed. Loud renovations going on and yes its listed in very very very small print that most of the hotel is closed for renovations there was no warning otherwise. I feel we were tricked into going there. The main reason we booked at this resort was to spend the majority of our time at the pool area with the swim up bar.

    Ice cold air, staff, beach pool and the water sport staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in we even got an upgrade to a beachfront suite..staff were amazingly nice All of them all of the time

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Water was too rough to take out Kayak or snorkel. Further up the west coast was better. Also it was crowded but not easy to walk at night to places to eat - you had to walk across the beach which sounds great but isn't in the dark.

    Lovely pools, lots of sunbeds, right on beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, the rooms are modern, rooms are dated.

    I loved the staff to include Christopher, Reagan, Jose, and Mike. They are professional, friendly, and courteous. The food was delicious, try the blackened fish. I love the location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our trip was way too short !!!

    A piece of paradise with an amazing beach right in front (see pic.). The best Barbados' beaches are located in the South up to Bridgetown and the one in front of the hotel is amazing! The location is perfect, you are 15min walking distance (by the beach or 25min by the street) to the St Lawrence Gap where you can find everything you need; plenty of restaurants, souvenirs shops, bars, tourist info, etc. You are also close to Oistins (Friday night fried fish market) - 30 min walk, by the street. By 30min taxi or bus you can reach Bridgetown. All flats have a bacony with beach view so it's amazing to wake up every morning facing this blue ocean! Staffs from the hotel are super nice, friendly and helpful. The apartment is clean, big and comfortable. Lots of facilities are offered; great pools, pool bar, pool/beach chairs and parasol, beach towels, beach bag, snorkeling equipment etc provided, entertainment activities such as outside cinema, etc, game rooms, library, souvenirs shops, post office, taxi/tours services, 2 restaurants with good foods, etc. Basically, everything you need!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at main restaurant; molasses slow! The Tai restaurant was closed or we would have eaten there another night!

    Location was great, relaxing and beautiful! We ate at both onsite restaurants and very much enjoyed the Tai but the other was lacking in all avenues.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our flight got in at 10pm so we did not arrive at the resort until 11. The details said that although food stopped at 9.30, there would be a limited choice of snacks at reception but there wasn't. It would be helpful to know this in advance.

    Beautiful view from the villa and very helpful staff. Delicious food with good lunch time choices. Lovely pool and great access to the beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes!

    The staff were excellent in executing their duties. They made sure I was given the welcome and treatment I deserve. Foods are great there, pools are awesome and the beach is to die for. The relaxing sounds of the waves crashing into the shore in the night takes all the stress away. Bougainvillea is indeed the perfect getaway place go be!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant was expensive and the food not that exciting. We also felt that we would have preferred a service charge be added to final hotel bill rather than every meal/drink we ordered. It stopped us eating there.

    Fabulous location on a quiet beach. Very attentive staff - beautifully maintained gardens. Very clean everywhere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't great, but who needs wifi on holiday

    Loved the flowers, pool area and facilities. All the staff were very friendly and the lunchtime menu was great. The bed was very comfy and we were very pleased with the size of the room. All restaurants and shops in st Lawrence gap were quick to walk to along the beach and the local bus is easy to take to oistins or Bridgetown. Wish I could return immediately !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights

    It sticks in throat that you have to give a tip of 5% of your total room cost on check-in and then they want more for everything you sign for. Download speeds varied from 3.4 to 0.07 (yes) Mbps. There are Americans so there’s shouting. More children than I expected in mid January.

    We usually go to the west coast pre-Christmas but chose Bougainvillea as I was unable to come to terms with paying double the price there in the new year. Most rooms are in a horseshoe around small pools and bar. Entertainment 3x a week which is noisy but only goes on to 10pm. Didn't eat there. Rooms reasonable. Several problems resolved quickly by very pleasant staff. Exception is bar staff, who seem glum, slow and dedicate a lot of time giving you the smallest drink they can get away with. (One exception to this). Limited water sports available. Hotel staff put up umbrellas on the beach. No cushions on beach sunbeds alas. Like many places, they start clearing chairs long before sunset. Feels like they’re getting the Hoover out to move people on. Big building site is nearby (Sandals extension) but no effect on the stay. No lift (elevator) in our block. Beach wide with gentle slope. No coral just sand. South coast can be rough but the artificial reef built by Sandals is helpful. Sensitive swimmer with me was fine. It’s not possible to do a long beach walk. Airline staff use the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was booking was non refundable and I had to lose a night so would probably never book that sort of deal again.

    We were given a third floor suite with an amazing view. Lots of stairs but porterage for luggage so that was not an issue. Good air con and ceiling fans. A little off the beaten track but superb setting. Great gardens. Unusual foyer nice design. Overall loved it, would return.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous hotel, superb location on a small bay and off the main road, wonderohelpful staff and room upgrade from studio to deluxe suite. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was very slow, limited dining options on site or in close proximity.

    Almost everything! One bed deluxe apartment was clean and very well equipped, and worked well for us with two young kids. Pool areas are very nice and beach is stunning. St Lawrence Gap is within walking distance (around twenty mins if you go along the beach) where there are lots of good bars/restaurants, or a 10 USD cab ride.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We thought the Lantern restaurant, we used for lunch only, could have offered a little more variety, not normally being"night eaters" ourselves. An hotel shuttle bus to Oistins would be an advantage for us older folk.

    Helpful friendly staff. Comfortable spacious room. Kept spotlessly clean.The bed ensured a good nights sleep. The site itself was beautiful, and very well kept. Considering local costs the bar prices & Thai restaurant, (which was very good), were reasonable. All in all a super hotel. We'll be back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bathrooms were a little dated, the bed was small for a queen. You can't walk to a lot of other restaurants so it feels a little isolated in that regard. However, the cabs were reasonable and with set prices you don't need to haggle.

    The beach was wonderful! Roomy, lots of chaises and umbrellas! No cruise ships to obstruct your view of the Carribean. We had dinner at both places and thought the meals quite tasty and plentiful. One was a new Thai place that was fantastic but the other was very good too with excellent seafood (our preference). Compared to other restaurants in the area, the two on the property were more competitively priced with better quality, and you can't beat the view with beach-side dining! Having a kitchenette and real refrigerator was also a bonus. There is some type of entertainment every night and security that actually asked people who bothered guests on the beach to leave. The staff were very respectful and courteous.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive to do anything from eating out and drinking to taking a day trip. Sometimes the service could have been quicker although on vacation I still like fast service.

    The location to the lovely clean beach was great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed that the waters edge restaurant wasn't open, although I think it may have been renamed to something else. It meant there was only the lanterns restaurant to eat and there was very little choice on the menu.

    This was our second stay. We love the location right on the beach and it is only a 15 minute walk out to st Lawrence gap. Very relaxing and staff are very accommodating. This year we stayed on the roadside facing the sea. The room was fabulous.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Drinks very expensive service charge added automatically but they want you to write in an extra tip as well. I don't like that. Happy hour only had Banks beer and Rum punch everything else was full price.

    Good room and comfy bed. Reception staff very helpful. Pool and beach areas.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the evening entertainment was good, some of the acts were a bit too loud such that it became obtrusive in our room

    The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a dislike, just a comment...no internet service in the bedroom... Like to review email, news, watch a late movie in bed...could not do.... We worked around it and spent a lot of time on the living room couch!!!

    Very friendly staff, great food perhaps a bit overpriced but still great...excellent pool layout, 20 minutes from Bridgetown, great beach, varied evening activities...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 Floors with no lift (we were on the 5th !). Scanty pool and beach drinks service.

    Friendly helpful reception staff. Good size Superior Suite with large bathroom. Multiple pools with no problem to find loungers.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building noise from next door was unbearable during the day, so it was not possible to stay there at all in the day time or even sit on the beach near your property. The road noise is also pretty intense, but it depends on what you are used to. Also the entrance to the Cafe next door is right next to the master bedroom, which effectively has no window, so when people come and call at 6 am onwards at the door of the cafe (which they did nearly every morning) it wakes you up. I didn't mind the drinking/smoking and gambling going on next door outside the cafe, because the people seemed pretty harmless, but some guests might be intimidated by this. Also because there are no windows to the property only wooden slats, if you wish to turn on the AC and close the windows against mosquitos then it is basically impossible to do so. One last point, the bathrooms need updating.

    Pretty good location and good beach. Large property with plenty of space for 4 people or even more.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was not comfortable neither were the pillows. There was only one restaurant, the food was fair and the cab rides to go out were very expensive. The music at night was loud and annoying while trying to sleep. The front desk called our room at 1030PM to remind us to put the stick in the door which I felt was late to call someone.The kids program was not in effect as there were not enough kids to have the program.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a peaceful setting on the beach..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Due to the out of season refurbishment works the management closed the other bar and restaurant reducing the number of available facilities which should be reflected in the cost. Cost of a round of golf at Barbados Golf Club could be a bit cheaper for the condition of the course.

    Overall the room was great, kitchen facilities are ideal and bed extremely comfy. Beach is spot on and clean. Superb atmosphere at the Pool bar happy hour with staff and guests. Close proximity to Oistins for shopping at Massys and of course Friday fish nights.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel area was under renovation and we were not informed about the works prior making booking or arrival. Was not happy about noises made during the day. Pool bar serving meal in plastic boxes with plastic cutlery at the full restaurant prices. Pool bar staff not friendly. Reception staff incompetent takes ages to sort out anything. Only two people working at most busy check in and check out time which means you need to wait at least 15 min before they see you. Before being checked out on final day cleaning staff has throw out all our food supplies and reception staff instead of finding solution that meets 4star hotel standard asked if we are okay with food taken out of the garbage and returned to us. If that was okay I would not book 4 star hotel. Overall would not come back or recommend it to friends.

    Access to the beach, restaurant location, pool area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you call front desk from off property. One lady seems fairly grumpy but the others are very friendly

    food was good but priced a bit too high. breakfast was very good and enjoyable. The guy in charge of the restaurant is very good at his job. very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel was extremely comfortable in all aspects. Arrival made easy, and access to facilities in close proximity especially to the pools and beach. Beds were very comfortable and living spaces were very clean. The security was very good, too. The complex felt small enough to feel bespoke and large enough to feel private. The entertainment programme was varied and superb.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grime by the faucet in the bathroom and in the shower of Room 3317 The local young men smoking cigarettes on the beach although it was a non smoking facility One waitress asking me for my Room number before she would seat me as though she didn't believe I was a guest at the hotel, although I did observe that no one else was asked immediately entering the Lantern As a matter of fact one couple seated nearby said they couldn't remember their room number and was told simply to sign and the front desk would be called for their room number.

    I like the beach, the hammocks, the salad lunches at the Lantern as well as the professional, friendly and prompt responses of most of the staff. I especially like the location of the hotel and being able to hear the waves from my room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very awkward... Not near anything... The air conditioning was weak woke up hot a lot. The bed was painfully hard and the comforter was thin and clothy. The towel rack feel off the wall with me just touching it. The fire alarm went off every time I tried to cook something. Then when I touched it to turn it off it just feel right off the wall... The tv was incredibly small and was very staticky... The wifi was the worst... Completely useless on all of our phones and iPads... Might as well didn't have it. It was so bad I was wondering if there was some kind of upgraded wifi I could purchase.. The staff was unfriendly. The main bartender was very cool and friendly very helpful. But the other bartenders act like they didn't want to serve me. Especially one dark skinned bartender was washing dishes right in front of me. It took him 10 minutes to ask me what I want. I just asked for a menu he continued to wash his dishes. Once he finished then he turned around and tossed an menu at me. I'm a bartender I have never seen such rudeness... I don't know if it was because I'm light skinned and he's dark skinned... Or cause the bar was full of white patrons and I was the only person of color siting there but it was absolutely unacceptable... Also the resort had very strict rules. It was two of us that paid for the room we had a friend who lives on the island with us who helped us around and showed us everything and planned our stay. The resort had issues with him being their wanting him to pay... The resort already made well over $10000 American dollars from us plus all the money I spent at the bar. Then to tell us they want more money for our guest to be in the pool with us while we spend our money at the pool for drinks. Or to be in the gym just watching us work out. Then we are told that the resort has a curfew for guest at midnight like I stay in a prison. This made it very uncomfortable.

    Liked the swim up pool. And patio view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff at the pool side bar were not rude but could be more friendly

    This hotel was perfect for families with children. We had a fantastic time so much for the children to do. I want to go back next year.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay could have been longer.

    The layout with a touch of greenery at the hotel. The food, gym,sauna and other activities.Excellent customer service and cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi.

    The suite was well laid out and comfortable, beautiful grounds and surroundings. Good entertainment. Ordered a birthday cake for my daughter they delivered it with balloons, was lovely!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds especially the sofa bed was the worse. Had to pay $50USD just to get a late check out not like it had guess line up waiting for rooms. When ordering food it took a hour to get same menu all week breakfast is the same breakfast every morning lunch same thing other than the special on that day and dinner well was the same unless it was buffet. maybe when your all inclusive that's what you get the same thing every day!

    The beach! Kids like the pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The only thing I would improve is about the towels. We were 4 people in our room and some days there were only 2 towels, some were 4 e some were 6 white towels!!! It's not a big problem but It's something that can be better. Sugestion: The cleaning lady could be advised on how many people are in the room, so she won't get confused. And also if the towels are not on the ground they are not suposed to be exchenged.

    Everything. The kindness of the staff, the cleaning, the localization.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were tired and in need of refurbishment Some (not all ) staff in the restaurant gave the impression that they would rather be somewhere else

    Location right on the beach was fabulous

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to use taxi or rental car to get around for groceries and shopping. Limited Restaurants on site.

    Excellent scenic location, lots of greenery and white sandy beach. All inclusive packages available. Excellent, if looking for peace and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean. The staff were very nice and very accommodating. I will be booking a stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of elevator

    Grounds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the music during the day was a bit loud.

    The accommodation was very comfortable.The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The food quality was fair, not great. The wait staff could have been a little quicker to address our needs.

    The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom had bad smell .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows on the beds and also sun loungers on beach no cushions

    The beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right next to the beach with beautiful room overlooking the sea ☀️🌴🌊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Nice location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I like the convenience of the facility

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good but bit boring menu. Apart that everything was really really amazing I will come back there again .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations

    Due to renovations most of the resort was unavailable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At £145 for one night I feel breakfast could have been included.

    The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    it was very nice for they value

    yes they were

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect managment of the hotel. Wonderfull complex with plenty of services.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk could have a little for information if the concierge isnt there

    The ambiance

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bougainvillea Barbados traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: