Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Barbados hotel reviews
  3. Barbados hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Shades

Reviews of Shades 3 stars

Laynes Road, Paynes Bay, BB 29004 Saint James, Barbados

Review score

Based on 19 apartment reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10.0

  • Comfort

    10.0

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.9

  • Staff

    10.0

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    10.0

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 19

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2020

    9.0
    Very relaxing and a great base for the west of the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated in places but adds to its charm.

    Quiet, lovely landscaped grounds, very close to Paynes Bay.

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2020

    10
    We loved it here and plan to return. Jacqui was so helpful and friendly, loved every moment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Absolutely terrific place to stay, so friendly and a great location.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2020

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Shades is as good as it appears on Booking.com and then some. It’s a friendly, safe family environment. The seven apartments are set out mostly around the swimming pool in attractive, secure grounds. Our first-floor apartment was light, airy and well equipped, and included a fairly private terrace overlooking the pool and garden. This terrace had plenty of space for sitting round the table for drinks or meals. Our apartment was very clean and was serviced daily Monday to Saturday. Pool towels were provided. WiFi connection was straightforward and the signal was good. As well as the pool, Shades has a small but usable gym with weights, exercise bicycle, treadmill, and cross trainer. If you want something more extensive, several commercial gyms nearby offer temporary membership. There is also a laundry room that we found to be a big plus. Shades is well located just three minutes’ walk from Paynes Bay Beach. In addition to the beach and its facilities there are several nearby local restaurants and at least one minimart. Holetown is around ten minutes away by frequent bus from the bottom of the road. If you’re renting a car, Shades has straightforward on-site parking. No review of Shades would be complete without mentioning Jacqui’s thoughtful and efficient management of the apartments and her helpfulness with any further arrangements that you may need, such as car rental and restaurant reservations. Shades is a great place to stay: Jacqui makes it truly outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apt was really good and located very close to beach (2-3 min) that gave us oportunity to swim with turtles every morning )

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Great place.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2019

    10
    Private oasis a stone's throw from Paynes Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked air conditioning in living room/kitchen

    Beautiful private oasis. A 3 minute walk to beach at Paynes Bay which is fab for snorkelling with turtles and on the reef. Great accommodation- really spacious and lovely. Jacqui is so helpful and nice. We felt like the only guests even with others staying - there are just 7 apartments so lovely and private. The pool area is so pleasant- quiet and pretty. We loved the gym - it's small but has 4 cardio machines and weights. The area beside it is lovely and cool for yoga, or for chatting. Really good big barbecque you can use. Self-catering is so helpful in Barbados because it is such an expensive place to eat out. Kitchen well equipped, including a big fridge and freezer.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2019

    10
    Exceptional in every aspect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Visited in March 2019 and Shades exceeded all our expectations. Jacquie collected our groceries, arranged our transfers and planned a fully day tour of the island.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2019

    10
    More than met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine .

    The personal service provided by Jacqui.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2019

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at Shades March 2019. Our whole holiday was amazing from start to finish. On arrival we were met by Jacqui the lovely manager who showed us around the apartment and gave us any relevant information. From there on in Jacqui was available with help and advice whenever we needed it, and was more than happy to book a car and a catamaran trip for us. We enjoyed using the pool at Shades which is in a lovely setting in well kept gardens and loved that the beautiful Payne’s Bay beach is only a few minutes walk away. Gemini, our lovely friendly housekeeper, came in regularly to make the bed, change towels and generally clean and tidy the apartment for us. Hummingbirds regularly visited the flowers surrounding the apartment and a family of green monkeys passed through the gardens most days. We really loved our time at Shades, made extra special by Jacqui and the lovely staff. Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, beautiful property, very clean and well presented, lovely host and staff

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2019

    10
    Good location with very helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacqui is an excellent host who communicated very well with us before and during our stay. She was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was very comfortable and we used the pool as well as the nearby beach (5 minutes walk). Good choice from local restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2019

    9.6
    A wonderful base for a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk back, up the hill from the beach, when temperature 30 c or thereabouts

    Jacqui Lee is a most welcoming and helped cheerfully with many queries

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2018

    9.6
    Great location, handy for beach. Beautiful gardens, very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe option of air con in lounge .

    Beautiful gardens, quiet and intimate Excellent host,

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Group
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2020

    8.0
    Great location, comfortable apartment and an attentive host......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    great location; walking distance to the best beaches of Barbados. Restaurants and shopping within 10 minutes walk.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2019

    10
    We liked it very much and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 – 19

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: