Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Barbados hotel reviews
  3. Saint James hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Shades

Reviews of Shades This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Laynes Road, Paynes Bay, BB 29004 Saint James, Barbados

#5 of 45 hotels in Saint James

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 30 apartment reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed at Shades March 2019. Our whole holiday was amazing from start to finish. On arrival we were met by Jacqui the lovely manager who showed us around the apartment and gave us any relevant information. From there on in Jacqui was available with help and advice whenever we needed it, and was more than happy to book a car and a catamaran trip for us. We enjoyed using the pool at Shades which is in a lovely setting in well kept gardens and loved that the beautiful Payne’s Bay beach is only a few minutes walk away. Gemini, our lovely friendly housekeeper, came in regularly to make the bed, change towels and generally clean and tidy the apartment for us. Hummingbirds regularly visited the flowers surrounding the apartment and a family of green monkeys passed through the gardens most days. We really loved our time at Shades, made extra special by Jacqui and the lovely staff. Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    10
    Good location with very helpful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Jacqui is an excellent host who communicated very well with us before and during our stay. She was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was very comfortable and we used the pool as well as the nearby beach (5 minutes walk). Good choice from local restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were exceptionally clean. The kitchen was stocked with all the tools and equipment necessary for cooking and eating. Jacqui was very friendly and helpful. We were able to get food delivered free from the grocery and all our taxi and air shuttle pickups were right on time. Shades feels like a cozy, secret escape; the drive in gives no indication of this. The pool is clean, there are washing and drying facilities and a small gym. It feels like you are in the countryside, but it is only a two minute walk to a main street and the beach. Very pleased and impressed by the place and the service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.2
    Jacqui was the perfect host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Jacqui was the perfect host! She looked after us, gave great advice on places to go, arranged a taxi for us and let us check out later than expected. Thank you for everything Jacqui! Xx

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic, loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our host, Jacqui, was incredibly sweet and helpful. She made our stay so much better by helping with bookings, arranging activities etc. Also, rooms are much bigger than expected and the location truly is amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.6
    A quiet, relaxing and comfortable place to enjoy all that Barbados has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Jacqui was very welcoming and extremely helpful. The apartment, set in a beautiful well maintained garden with a lovely pool, was larger than expected, very comfortable and quiet and just a 5 minute walk from the beach. It was perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    Superb hosts and accommodation in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing loved it all

    The hosts Jacqui and Errol are welcoming and friendly and make you feel at home straightaway. The apartment is spacious and private and has everything you need

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay at Shades. Will make it our place of choice to stay in Barbados.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The serenity of the environment and the lovely garden which made the place very cool and nice. The hostess Jackie was very warm and welcoming which made us feel comfortable from the start.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    10
    Amazing property in a fantastic location. Shades is so much more than a self-catering apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We cannot fault Shades. Jacqui and her team did everything possible to ensure that we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay (from arranging airport transfers; organising online food shopping for our arrival; booking hair appointments; providing restaurant recommendations/directions; arranging car hire and more). The apartment and surrounding area was spotless (cleaned daily)and modern with everything that we required. We were made to feel so welcome that we did not want to leave!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    9.6
    Great Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The apt was very spacious and cool. The bed was really comfortable. Jackie was always very helpful and organised a meal for everyone which we thoroughly enjoyed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    10
    We liked it very much and would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    10
    Great location, beautiful property, very clean and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, beautiful property, very clean and well presented, lovely host and staff

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    9.6
    A wonderful base for a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walk back, up the hill from the beach, when temperature 30 c or thereabouts

    Jacqui Lee is a most welcoming and helped cheerfully with many queries

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, handy for beach. Beautiful gardens, very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe option of air con in lounge .

    Beautiful gardens, quiet and intimate Excellent host,

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Group
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hostess was helpful, friendly, fabulous!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Jacqui the host is lovely!! Thank You!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    8.3
    love
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The barking dogs at the back!!

    Nice property set in lovely gardens

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    Everything. larger than expected dident want to leave. cable.free wifi . pool was great.gardens we well looked after

    Stayed in October 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2015

    10
    Tucked away on a quiet street but only 200 metres from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tucked away on a quiet street but only 200 metres from the wonderful Payne's Bay. Beautiful apartment with everything you need for a self catering stay. Spotlessly clean and comfortable I highly recommend this accommodation to anyone who wants the flexibility of self catering. Lovely pool area which is surrounded by well maintained gardens with use of a well stocked gym (if you can get off the sunbed). in terms of location the beach is as mentioned very close and there are options to eat in Paynes Bay, about 2 miles north is Holetown where you can find a number of restaurants and a large supermarket and shopping precinct.

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2015

    5.8
    Jacqui the manager is really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Jacqui the manager is really friendly.

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2015

    10
    Location and facilities excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location and facilities excellent. Great value for money. All staff very helpful.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: