Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le 1815 3 stars

Route du Lion 367-369, 1410 Waterloo, Belgium

#7 of 11 hotels in Waterloo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 588 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    This was our second time of staying at this hotel and we would certainly come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although cleaned regularly, some of the rooms had different facilities to others, and were smaller then we had expected. (despite having paid the same price)

    The staff were very helpful and the hotel had excellent parking. We were able to walk from the hotel to all the historical sites and several restaurants. The hotel is well kept and very clean and we enjoyed the breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel is situated on the Waterloo Battlefield. Apart from Plancenoit, the whole site can be walked. The staff are brilliant and very friendly.Very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel right on the battlefield.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Wellington
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a/c on hot days is terrible.

    Super beds. Best bathroom we’ve found in Europe- large, shower & tub, 2 sinks. Couldn’t be any closer to the Waterloo battlefield- it’s ON the battlefield.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Ok as was out all day every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Wellington
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated. Needed decorating as all the walls were dark grey. No views of the battle field at all. We had to ask them to clean the room (not very well) ran out of toilet roll.

    The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would have been appreciated as it was very warm , although a fan was provided which helped cool the room. Possibly a lick of paint here and there would improve the room's appearance.

    The location overlooking the battlefield is excellent. There is ample parking for guests and the breakfast presented a very good choice. All the staff were pleasant and attentive and Marco in particular was both extremely helpful and friendly. He made every effort to make our stay enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble. We are grateful to him for helping to make our stay so enjoyable. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the hotel and would recommend it as an ideal base for touring the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive and not that good. No other breakfast within 3 miles so not much option.

    Location excellent. Could see the lion's mound from our bathroom window. Restaurants to suit most pockets in walking distance. Price through booking.com was really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Convenient for Waterloo museum and monuments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely hot, so had to have windows open all night, but was not too much of a problem as we were on the first floor. Would be nice if there was tea and coffee making facilities in the room instead of having to purchase a coffee from reception

    The hotel was very convenient for our visit to the Lion monument. The rooms were clean, the staff very helpful. The food in the restaurant for our evening meal was very nice. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice, hot and cold.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    A delightful 3 day stay visiting the Waterloo battle sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is quite close to a noisy busy road but this quietens down considerably at night. Unfortunately it starts again quite early in the morning.

    The owner, Elena, was a delight and works extremely hard to present a superb breakfast and welcoming experience. The location is perfect for visiting the Waterloo battlefield and there are good restaurants within walking distance as well as the one that is not connected but physically withing the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    The location was great for the Waterloo Battlefield the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives really only the pictures of the garden were misleading as it was overgrown and unusable but that didn’t make any difference to us as we sat in the restaurant gardens

    The location was great for the Waterloo Battlefield the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was clean and bed was comfortable. Nice little hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location at a great price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were rather warm but it was in the mid 20s C outside for stay.

    Where better could be you than to wake up overlooking the battlefield that saw the cavalry charges of Ney against the Anglo-Netherlands centre. The hotel is 100m from crossroads and about 400m from the Butte de Lion. It was great to have a fridge in the room that stored the water supplied. The kettle for the important tea was downstairs with an large setee. The staff were polite, friendly and patient. After walking about 10 miles a day for 4 days. It was great to have a long hot bath. Alas most hotels only have shower. Highly recommended by this military historian.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyed everything about the place. Photo is the view from the hotel of 1926 monument.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had trouble with WiFi at first but when I found my error, it was good WiFi.

    This hotel is located right on the Battle of Waterloo 1815 battlefield. A resident can walk to the superb museum and monument. There is easy bus to Gare Midi when a guest needs to do other things in Brussels. Hotel has a superb restaurant (Boucher de Maximus) and a very good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    As an artist the view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only available in reception area.

    As an artist the view from our room. Th hotel kindly changed our room to one with a clear view of the surrounding landscape.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location for our visit. The hotel could do with a bit of a revamp. Staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our first room was too hot during the night. The central heating was faulty, and remained on even though it was turned off. The reception girls were brilliant in changing our room.

    We were visiting the Waterloo museum and battlefield. so perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    This hotel must have astronomical heating bills!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel must have astronomical heating bills! It was stiflingly hot in the bathroom and bedroom which gave it a claustrophobic feel. Shame. Had to keep the window open all the time. The mattress was rather too soft. The room was quite small, but clean and pleasant enough for just one night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Convenient. Good room. Nice dinner.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A light stopped working in my (first) room and I had to move rooms. Had to pay on arrival rather than at checkout so could not charge restaurant bill to my room. Breakfast was only average.

    Very convenient for the Waterloo battlefield. Nice restaurant fro dinner and also very near to several other nice restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    We did like the location and were very welcomed we will come...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was to warm in the corridor and even in the room, you have to do something about it.

    We did like the location and were very welcomed we will come again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    A basic but honest hotel full of character of the local area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of done with a kettle in the room however they did have one in the lobby and the reception made me a coffee when I returned.

    I arrived after a long motorcycle ride and was welcomed by a chap at reception who was very helpful indeed and no corporate code just a family atmosphere, I thought he was the owner but this was not the case. Restaurant was excellent on both my evening visits.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.1
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How do you rate a hotel when you reach the premises and all what you smell is SEWAGE .So now other than the courtesy of your staff what can I rate or like

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Stay in "1815" hotel in Waterloo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, just a few steps to the Lion monument in Waterloo, with very originally designated rooms - to the commanders' names of the Waterloo battle, not as usually in a numerical order. Very polite staff, clear and comfortable rooms. There is a free parking with enough places for the guests. The restaurant in the hotel offers very good traditional and delicious meals, in a traditional and in the same time modern atmosphere. Quiet area in the proximity, offering very good options for a walking around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    2.5
    dont
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wad over heated and had to open the roof window' ( the only window possible) to ventilate the room, kept it open all night' but could not sleep due to traffic noise on the main road. the water in the shower was dripping not flowing and the temp changed between cold to to hot. it took more then a hour to drive to the airport. It's a bad place!!!

    Nothing was good about this property

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel, ideally situated for Waterloo battlefield and memorial visitor centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bearing in mind that it was not high season and is right on Waterloo battlefield's edge, there is not much else nearby and the hotel itself has no bar, so unless you use the hotel's excellent but pricey restaurant or a neighbouring equally excellent and pricey eatery, there is nowhere to have a drink in the evening unless you walk or taxi a few miles. Minor point but after spending hours walking miles round the battlefield it would have been nice to chill out with a few cold beers, rather than just have dinner and go to bed.

    We booked a double room, we were allocated a small suite. The door opened onto a small seating area and a short corridor led to the bathroom then the bedroom. Everything was clean and looked cared for and had been tastefully furnished. I had intended to stay 1 night, purely because of it's location at Waterloo battlefield and then move a few miles into Waterloo proper to be near other things I wanted to see, but we were so impressed we booked a second night. Other rooms we saw were still nice, but smaller than we got.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Friendly & helpful staff in hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room requires major update/TLC or at least a curtain that fits the window, a bed not in danger of collapsing, a working safe and fridge.

    Friendly & helpful staff in hotel. Very good food in Restaurant Maximus and again helpful & friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    I would be very happy to visit Le1815 again - there's no better feedback than that !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good !

    A very friendly, comfortable and welcoming hotel - all of which made a short stay an absolute pleasure. There is an excellent restaurant attached to the hotel but owned by different people, and it serves great food and is very well run.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    The location is amazing - actually on the Waterloo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it would have been nice to have been able to make a cup of tea or coffee in the room

    The location is amazing - actually on the Waterloo battlefield - and so peaceful - unlike 200 years ago! There are three wonderful restaurants including one in the same building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant place to stay but get breakfast elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast very very overpriced. On first morning milk was off effecting coffee and any chance of eating cereal. 2 rolls and 2 croissants and 1 spoonful of scrambled egg available. No more was forthcoming. On second morning 1 roll, 1 croissant and 1 spoonful of scrambled egg available. Despite requesting more none was bought out. Both mornings we came down for breakfast at 9am and breakfast was advertised as available until 10am. After expressing my extreme unhappiness at this situation I was refunded for 1 days breakfast.

    large double bed very good. plenty of hot water. parking no problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Could not be more convenient for the Memorial 1815 museum ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Could not be more convenient for the Memorial 1815 museum , it is practically next door. Staff very friendly and helpful , breakfast was high quality with a good choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location for enthusiasts of the battle of Waterloo, as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location for enthusiasts of the battle of Waterloo, as right on the battlefield, and walkable to the Lion Mound. Rooms were a little tired and in need of a lick of paint, but otherwise comfortable. Good restaurant in the hotel and 50 yards down the road.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location, rooms could do with tidying up /finishing off again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Wellington
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated fixtures - cracked bathroom tiles and evidence that things had been in place and were now missing but not properly repaired or replaced. Noisy room with Windows opening onto back of kitchen. Breakfast was offered for €12 per person but we didn't take this up as we consider that too expensive.

    Bed was comfortable. Excellent location for Waterloo memorials and museums. Attached to excellent but expensive restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    An excellent spot for battlefield visitors who want a good quality stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issue: slight bad smell coming from sink drain. Maybe need to clean out waste drain lines.

    Room was large and very comfortable. Staff were helpful and pleasant. Restaurant was excellent in food and wine. Service was a bit slow but that was possibly due to being very busy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Terrific location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of our rooms was very hot, and the lighting was poor.

    This is the best possible location for visiting the battlefield of Waterloo. If you are coming to visit Waterloo, there is no better place to stay. And, the surrounding fields are quiet and beautiful. We had two rooms for our family. Both had very comfortable beds. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.3
    Good and bad, fantastic view and location but poor room and hardly slept.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped stuffy room, uncomfortable bed, bad traffic noise. Didn't sleep well. Restaurant expensive with limited selection.

    Fantastic location. Looked right out over the battlefield from the bedroom. Staff most helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable, quiet hotel near historic Waterloo battlefield.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Wellington
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable bed! The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was great! My son is a history nut and loved staying so close to the historic Waterloo battlefield.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    I wanted to visit the battleground at wala look and ended up staying on it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and more electric sockets

    The hotel was in the best location for the purpose of my visit and although they didn’t have a bar next door were 2 bars

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.7
    Good location but hotel needs updating
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The twin room on the second floor was very, very small. There was no airconditioning (which we knew) but there were only 2 tiny, old velux windows. In the bathroom there was one old, small, round window that was not possible to open. As it was a very warm day, it was too sticky in there. We specifically asked for a Minibar. There was one but it was not on when we arrived and once we plugged it in it never cooled any drinks. The breakfast room was again too sticky, no open window anywhere. The coffee machine was not working when we arrived and it took the staff quite some time to fix it.

    Location is good. Lots of parking spaces. The restaurant outside the hotel was very nice and served good food. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Great visit to the Waterloo Battlefield!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk is not occupied from 11 pm until 7 am the next morning.

    Hotel 1815 is located on the Waterloo Battlefield less than 500 meters from Memorial 1815, Butte du Lion and Memorial Panorama. While I had transportation, I visited not only those sites but also the Napoleon's Last Headquarters; Farm/Brewery Mont-Saint-Jean; and Wellington Museum. Would you believe while still daylight, I hiked from hotel past the Butte du Lion to the Hougoumont Farm, then to the Belle-Alliance Farm, the Victor Hugo Column, the Aigle Blesse Monument, the La Haie Sainte Farm, the Hanoverian Monument, and the Belgian Monument. Returned to Hotel 1815 before sundown. Attaching some photos including view from room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Really good hotel base to visit the Battle of Waterloo site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    If you want to visit the battle of Waterloo site you can't get better than to be on the battlefield itself, in sight of the Lion mound, and very easy walking distance of the museum . We didn't use the restaurant but it looked nice. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel to be on site for the Waterloo battlefield museum. Friendliness of staff is variable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfriendliness of restaurant manager when we enquired about just having drinks and no evening meal. Confusion at the reception desk at check-out - staff could not add bill for our two rooms and divide account by three so the three people could pay similiar amounts. Moreover, they have lost one of the credit card payments we made although we have sent copies of the payment being charged on our bank account.

    Closeness to the Waterloo battlefield museum etc.. Very deep bath in the bathroom. Very friendly receptionist upon our arrival.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant location for the Waterloo battlefield
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Although the room was very comfortable it won't be long before it requires an update as it's starting to get a little tired.

    The hotel is located on the edge of the Waterloo battlefield and very close to the Lion Mound and the new underground display area. The breakfast was superb and Marco was brilliant. The price was very reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.8
    Excellent location, but a tired hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are basic and lack temperature control - the breakfast is only adequate and if you go down to breakfast later, little is left.

    The location for a visit to the Battlefield of Waterloo is superb and car parking plentiful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    An excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Appartement Joséphine
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description of the room was not correct. There was no bath, no dressing room, nowhere to hang wet towels, no holder for the toilet roll.

    An excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    The Location Makes It
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Wellington
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy road nearby. Staff vanished occasionally. No view from room other than kitchen roof - with noise and smells - and a porthole through which we could see a tree.

    Location. Parking. Food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    hotel on Waterloo battleground
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was too warm - restaurant and bar under renovation something which should have been stated during booking process

    proximity to site of Battle of Waterloo -

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location for the Waterloo battle memorial.
    • Family with young children
    • Appartement Joséphine
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water and no working wifi.

    The view of the lion mount was amazing! The room (apartment Josephine) was spacious and comfortable for our family of five. Breakfast was just what we needed with pastries, yogurts, cereals and eggs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.3
    Great location for the market...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The resturant didn't accomodate. I would handle it as if it is a a seperate business and reservations are needed.

    Location....great resturants and the updates bakery in the old building down the road is an intersting experience before or after the market.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    For our first night, my son and I were the only two people...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. Nice place, clean and comfortable.

    For our first night, my son and I were the only two people in the hotel, however we were treated as well as if the place was full, including the full continental breakfast set-up for just the two of us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    10
    Best nights sleep ever- such a comfy bed, very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kettle, tea and coffee facilities in room

    Best nights sleep ever- such a comfy bed, very friendly and helpful staff, cosy and relaxing atmosphere, nice breakfast with plenty of choice, lovely dining area and fabulous food, perfect location for battlefield tour and museum, 10 minutes by taxi to Waterloo main town, 30 minute taxi ride from airport, 20 minutes by train to Brussels (Braine L'Alleud station has best connections which is 10 minutes away by taxi). Great!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    The hotel is cosy and perfectly situated close to Waterloo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too warm for our standards and there were no windows to be opened for ventilation.

    The hotel is cosy and perfectly situated close to Waterloo museums Butte du Lion etc. Beautiful landscape as well.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    Sleep on the British front line within the Waterloo Battlefield (in comfort)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent very polite and very helpful. Perfect place to stay for visiting the Waterloo Battle site. Visitor center and monument are only a short walk from the 1815 hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    the hotel is great location for the battlefield.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms were very warm . Warterloo 40 minute walk to centre , so a taxi trip is 20 euros eachway .

    the hotel is great location for the battlefield.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    Battlefield Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, adequate for 4 guys walking the battlefield of Waterloo.

    I liked the location,right on the battlefield,the service and the restraunt, good parking fascillities and everything close by. I would definatley stay again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    5.8
    Location great - no bar and terrible restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar and the restaurant manager (a textbook example of the miserable hotelier) refused to serve drinks unless taken with a meal. Suggest eating at the fantastic pizzeria next door or cater for your needs at the Carrefour just up the road.

    Location - perfect for battlefield touring

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    6.7
    Ok for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet did not work in the wing I was in, no real attempt to make the rooms fit the names. I was in the Josephine suite, all the rooms had a name associated with the battle of Waterloo. However, the room was just one large open room, no division whatsoever, and no feeling of being at Waterloo, not even a battlefield map or picture. They had 2 prints on the wall, one of some woman (maybe Josephine?) and the other a montage print of Rout 66 in the US! What a let down. Very plain rooms, no attempt at making them unique.

    Great location, restaurant associated with the hotel was excellent, easy parking, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    5.8
    Food was great, location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort of the bed. The large bed was pre-booked, however I got the single bed. The explanation why I did not get it was not sufficient. There were huge issues with the internet connection.

    Food was great, location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.3
    great location for the battlefield.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom looking a little tired

    great location for the battlefield. Room very comfortable and clean. breakfast adequate to good. Restaurant closed so can't comment but nearby restaurants were good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Monument 1815 Visit, again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately it was a very warm week, so the rooms were rather warm and a little stuffy, but unusual weather for that part of the country. The shower head holder fell off the wall, it probably was that way for a while, needs a little maintenance.

    The rooms are comfortable, and our desk manager was terrific, he was last year as well. Much bigger breakfast buffet than last year which was very nice. We were visiting the 1815 monument and museum, so the loacation is perfect, and besides the hotel restaurant, there are two others right next door. Josephine's is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.3
    Improved since last visit but still needs more work on rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms are still a little uncared for, although very clean, . Many bulbs are broken and some lights did not work at all. There was a reflector spotlight bulb in the bedside lamp??? Rooms are very hot.

    WiFi is the best in any hotel I have been in. Breakfast is now included and has improved since our last visit. Obviously money has been spent on restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    7.5
    A very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Appartement Joséphine
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our shower curtain was broken and held on by two bits of rope - the floor got very wet but was ok for one night. We did make Reception aware of this.

    The hotel was a stone's throw from the Waterloo museum and monument. The apartment was really big and very clean. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed but I would recommend the restaurant on the corner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.5
    Great location for tourists visiting Waterloo.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant & bar was closed when we visited (except for the last day of our stay). Perhaps a note can be added on booking.com when a hotel facility is not available.

    Great location for tourists visiting Waterloo. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    6.7
    Overall, the hotel met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike, just felt that some areas needed "refreshing"

    The location is excellent for visiting the battlefield, and the terrace was a wonderful location to eat on a warm evening. Food from the restaurant was very good, and the service was comparable with that received elsewhere in Belgium

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.4
    Adequate for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are not very spacious and ours wasn't cleaned after our first night as they didn't have a spare key to get in apparently? Location is a bit out of the way if you are after food other than that available in the restaurant. Breakfast was ok but limited in choice. Door handles to the outside of the hotel were removed or loose for some unknown reason.

    Close proximity to the 1815 exhibition allows easy access to historical sights. Restaurant food was good but a bit pricey. Staff were pleasant enough.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    4.2
    Really poor, scruffy hotel in a great location. Avoid, whatever the offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel, in this location, should thrive, however it's a disaster. Fixtures and fitting a are worn, or broken, the lovely grounds facing the battlefield are neglected. The room was tatty, curtains hanging off, chipped furniture, tv not working.. I could go on. The front of the hotel has been converted to a restaurant (closed in mid Aug!), so no bar, and reception stuck in a rear hallway, so a poor first impression

    Really handy for the Waterloo battlefield, the closest hotel, and some 2 mins walk from the Lion and memorial

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.1
    Great location but use supermarket for food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was in need of upgrading. The restaurant does not open on a Monday but we were told the Italian restaurant would be open at 6:30pm. Luckily we decided to walk about 400m up the road to the supermarket and buy stuff for a picnic as when we returned at 7pm there was a queue of people outside the Italian and it was still closed!

    Excellent location about 100m from lions mount. Comfy beds and decent sized rooms. Lovely and clean. Good parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    8.3
    great place for visiting Waterloo battlefield etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Napoleon room and bathroom a good size.Very hot,quite noisy with windows open. Some rooms were small. Old hotel but very good for visiting the Waterloo museum and lion mound. Good breakfast and all you need for a couple of nights. staff very helpful. Excellent restaurant next door.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Epic European history right on the hotel door step!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    (A damp smell in the bathroom but as the windows were open this may have wafted in from near by.)

    Excellent friendly, helpful staff especially at breakfast (which was plentiful). Good hot shower and plenty of room in the Wellington suite. So very close to the battlefield sites - a short walk away. Great value for money, I would have no qualms about coming back. This hotel is set in an open countryside setting - infact a stones throw from where the Duke of Wellington commanded the troops in the battle that we know as Waterloo.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.6
    Waterloo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of places to go in the evening but more then compensated for by location

    Fantastic location highly recommend open window looking over a field and battle site of waterloo

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.1
    Just the ticket is Waterloo Battle is what you are after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was closed in the hotel in the evening for a week's holiday! There are two restaurants next door, but again, one night all three were closed. The rooms are not air conditioned and in a hot July, this can lead to an uncomfortable night. The N5 road is 100 yards away and very noisy into the small hours.

    The hotel is right on the Battlefield, probably 50 yards from Wellington spent most of his time. The rooms are comfortable and the Breakfast good continental variety.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Waterloo Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to give any criticism it would be the pillows were very lumpy.

    Great location and very friendly staff. Very clean throughout.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel which could do with a little tidying outside and a bit more attention to interior detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, but met my needs.

    Great location. Right on the Waterloo battlefield.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Location, Location, Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, Location, Location Plenty of free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    To visit the battlefield, this location is ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view, room very dark

    The location, for an amateur historian, there could be no better

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location for visiting the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks like it needs refurbished and the restaurant was closed when we stayed.

    The location was great for visiting the mound and museum.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Large clean bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    very good for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast is a bit poor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Good for a night
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm.

    Room was comfortable and it was suitable for a nights stay

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: