Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Keyser Hotel 4 stars

De Keyserlei 66-70, Antwerp District, 2018 Antwerp, Belgium

#52 of 65 hotels in Antwerp

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4005 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening staff ignored the fact that the a/c was broken when I complained that it wasn’t turning on and just opened my window to cool it down while I was out. This let mosquitoes in and they tried to devour me in the night. The staff moved me to another room after I complained about the mosquito issue. The second room was recently renovated and had a new a/c.

    Great location! Day staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Superb breakfast and great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could be more light in the room.

    Nice, large rooms, very comfortable bed, friendly staff, superb breakfast, air-con works perfectly and it's about 25 meters from the train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Not quite an imperial stay - Een niet zo keizerlijke ervaring
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was given a noisy room on the city side, while I had deliberately asked for a quiet room. Beds not overly comfortable. Again one of those ridiculous showers that cannot be closed properly, so you involuntarily wet the entire bathroom. Extra charge for (unimpressive) breakfast buffet much too high. Overall, an unfavourable price-quality balance.

    Fairly large room. Plenty of space in the cupboards. Hotel looks pretty sleek and modern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not ready at 3 pm , 2 minutes turned into 45. Staff acted like it’s normal, go ahead and wait in the lobby ... I had to ask them to check if ready otherwise probably they forgotten already.

    Clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Never had such as noisy hotel room before
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy during the whole night because of very poor noise protection of the windows. I recommend everybody to avoid rooms on the front (road) side. My colleague stayed a the silent garden side but had no wifi signal in his room. Room change was not possible.

    Good breakfast. Good location. Clean. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location and pleasant hotel let down by minor room issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell of drains in the bathroom and plasticised mattress cover made a very sweaty night, no plug in bathroom sink to block the smell. Extractor didn't appear to be pulling any air out of the bathroom.

    Excellent location for Metro and city centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    We will not be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected much more comfort for a 4* hotel. The beds were too soft and 2 single beds pushed together. We could not sleep together without falling throuht the middle. The airco switched on and off every 5 minutes and the lights turned on by themself whenever you moved while nasleep. We paid €20 pp for a very simple breakfast. Too expensive for what we got.

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly welcome at the reception area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, although good, a bit expense at 20 euro. Some of the furnature was damaged (loose tabletop)

    Very friendly welcome at the reception area. Good value. Perfect location for overnight stay in Antwerp

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Not really a 4 star hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange policy about a 4 star hotel not allowing a guest up to his room whilst eating an ice cream! Shower excellent but slippery... A disaster waiting to happen. No floor covering at all in the room... double atrocious pillows...

    Próximity to Station. Good breakfadt

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good venue next to the main railway station and city...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet was bad all days i was there in the room on 5th floor. In the lobby was working well. Very crowd at the breakfast.

    Very good venue next to the main railway station and city center. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.5
    Overall, sufficient for a night stay, but not more than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room disappointingly worn, dated and looked nothing like the spotless modern room pictures. There was a chip in the bathtub enamel showing rusty iron underneath and bathroom ventillation was poor. There was a hole on window drapes and stains on carpeting and upholstry. The wall & ceiling also seem to need a fresh coat of paint. Bed was comfortable and clean.

    The lobby and general hotel areas were nice. The location is convenient right next to train station. Breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Loved the location loved the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar is small, and was not open one of the nights we were there

    The location of this property is excellent, literally a few steps from the station, right near the zoo, surrounded by shops and restaurants. Honestly we could not have asked for a better position. The staff and friendly they always smile and nothing is too much trouble, really interested and really helpful. Antwerp itself is gorgeous, well worth a visit or two or maybe three and this hotel is the perfect place to stay, and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.6
    Good location but not worth a stay. I will NOT stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet a lot actually. The reason we choose this hotel is because they advertised to have a fridge in the room. It is very important as my mother is carrying her insulin with her and should always be in cool condition. Unfortunately, the mini fridge is broken and surprisingly they knew about it actually but still they put us in that room. So annoying! The room itself is quiet dirty. See proofed pictures. People who work in this hotel are not really approachable, just maybe happy to have a job...

    Its in a very good location. Thats it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff very helpful, great location, nice and clean place,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast selection was only fair. There was no bacon and the sausages were cold. For the price being charged for breakfast it should be better. Also no food available (other than breakfast) in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.2
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom Poor value for money Location Bed and pillows uncomfortable

    Hotel was not to the standard it was advertised, bathroom was dirty in places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    Noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have assigned 2nd floor. It was noisy at outside and something construction noise every day. Just 3 nights but I should ask to room change. It was regrettable.

    It looks too traditional and old but room is renovated and nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    I had a room not overlooking the front, generally quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast coffee machine failed to work and the alternative involved queuing for an espresso machine, which took ages. No coffee in rooms. Would have liked an iron and ironing board in the room.

    I had a room not overlooking the front, generally quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location, good personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast for me was medium but the kids likes it cause they could make their own waffles

    The location was very good as we travelled with our children and the zoo and comic station were foot distance. Also Mac Donalds was just next to the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing. Overpriced for what it is.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given cards the day before to establish when guests would go for breakfast. Desperately understaffed - total chaos at breakfast, no staff to clear tables, people everywhere. Had to eat breakfast in the lobby as there were no tables. On the Saturday, 10 minutes into service and most of the hot food was not there. No staff in the bar in the evening - asked at reception if the bar was open: answer - she will be there in a few minutes; she is outside having a cigarette. Significant management issues in this hotel. Most definitely not 4 *. Rooms were decorated budget-style and in need of renovation. Damp and musty smell on the 8th floor when exiting the lift.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.8
    Awful
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's definitely not a 4 star hotel.Old-fashioned dark rooms with stains and scratches on walls. Dirty bathroom facilities, blankets with someone's hair. Very limited breakfast. Stay away if possible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice and central hotel, with room for improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice, clean and basic, the bathroom however was in desperate need of a make over: bath tub plug, missing power and light of shaving mirror gone, power to towel heater gone, joins between tiles damaged, toilet seat loose, paint damages. Nothing critical, but in strong contrast to the rest of the hotel and not what I expect from a 4* hotel

    The location is perfect, I decided to take the train up and down to Brussels instead of a hotel in Brussels and the location is perfect and central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the dishes at the breakfast had not been washed properly. Also our room could have been cleaned better . Coffee cups were left unclean The shower had no container for soap.

    Spacious room , warm welcome good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Have stayed here many times - excellent location near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really - this is good value for money

    Have stayed here many times - excellent location near station and good restaurants and bars. Just a 20 min walk to centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    3.8
    Horrible.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    though I had called up in advance the receptionist had no idea I was travelling with dogs and let me know that the room wasn’t ready. We had to wait another hour though it clearly stated that check in was at 15. We accessed the room at 16.05 which is a great ask after a long trip on the train with two dogs in kennels. No compensation or even excuse was offered. The receptionist was rude, very rude even. Several things in the room was broken such as the button for the air conditioning, meaning you could raise the temperature only, not lower it, which is brilliant on a day when it’s 23 degrees out and attempting to lowering it would have electrocuted you. What was by far the worst though was the cleanex dispenser was loose resulting in it falling down hard and landed right on one of my dogs noses, leaving him with a very visible cut on his nose. This was ignored by the receptionist altogether when pointed out. All in all it was hugely disappointing. I’ve stayed in a lot of hotels and this was by far the rudest. And to quote the receptionist who claimed that the hotel was “pet-friendly” when I called ahead is simply laughable. Never again.

    The room was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    For a convenient and comfortable stay in Antwerp
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is absolute plus and the hotel is very comfortable, clean with right sized room and bathroom. The breakfast was good too and the best thing was fruit basket at receoption which speaks for the courteous staff 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Good city experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no indication of pet fee. Booking.com is highly advised to somwhow factor in if/when accomodation offers pets. Paying unexpected €30,- extra at reception was not what I would like to experience as a guest.

    All was good. Hotel is hygienic and neat. We booked a room with a big bed, but instead we at first we received a room with two beds next to each other. Was very easy to change rooms. Personnel is polte.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    3.3
    Extremely Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Careful !! The room we had was definitely not the one in the pictures. It's not the standing of a 4 star hotel. Our room was unclean, the breakfast was awful, the hotel is super old and untidy. It's definitely not a 4* and it's not worth your money.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Short but I was quite happy with the property and would consider staying again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was poorly designed because you couldn't use it without the head being handheld. The wood floors glaringly felt out of place with the design of the room

    I liked a window that opened and the friendliness of staff and location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.8
    great location, bad interior falling apart
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to change rooms 3 times = 1st time ==> I had booked the room for 1 person, yet I had 2 BEDS and it was not possible for them to make the 2 beds into 1 bed (housekeeping had left for the day) = 2nd room : the heater was not working ==> the actual remote for the heater had holes in it (you could see the circuits) = 3rd room the window did not close - someone had to come and put a screw through it to close it (which meant I then was not able to open it again but by this point, I was tired of changing rooms) ==> also the toilet water flush was on all night ,,, and the shower drain got overflow to the bathroom floor (no bath tub, just walk in shower and when the water was running fast, the drain couldn't cope) None of the rooms had ANY information at all ==> like how was I going to call Reception, for example? or any room service or breakfast in room - NO INFORMATION AT ALL IN ROOM. In the mornings, I had about 4 times housekeepers trying to get in despite saying I did not want any cleaning at that hour (I indeed did NOT put the 'Do not disturb' sign on the door, so maybe that was my fault) Next morning the housekeeping on the floor were so loud I couldn't sleep until later like I wanted to ... Apart from the location, and the nice receptionist, this hotel shoul dnot have any more than 1 star.. :(

    location was excellent staff in reception were very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.8
    Rooms clean, bathrooms newly renovated.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location across the railway station is a bit noisy, especially if room facing the street. Breakfast room small and noisy, breakfast quality ok, but not special.

    Rooms clean, bathrooms newly renovated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    decent stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was busy; noisy ventilation in the room

    very close to the central train station, thus, it perfectly met my needs; about 5-10 minutes walk to the main shopping street and the older part of the town; comfortable bed; room towards the backyard was quiet (but had a poor view)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location and very nice personnel, recommended for a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisy and WiFi did not work properly in the room (not very comfortable when travelling for work)

    Perfect location and very nice personnel, recommended for a business trip in Antwerp!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location and room, tasty food but bad cleaning in the room left a lasting impression on us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After a long walk, being actually inside disappointed tremendously. We had more time to look around, touch things and sit down on arm chairs that felt too light for my taste like they were not stable enough. Same as for chairs at the round table. The worst thing was that I discovered a nail on the carpet and some rubbish on the floor downstairs, and an empty shower gel tub at the jacuzzi like it wasn't cleaned... And the rooms weren't warm enough. The air conditioner couldn't warm it all up, so that our first evening in was quite cold... The cold wind was mostly coming from the windows.. Those above are the most disappointments.

    Stayed there for three days, an the end of February. First impression was very good: close to the central station, everything you'd want is nearby, friendly and helpful receptionists, nice room (best apt. on the last floor with a jacuzzi, amazing view out of the windows). Checked in around lunch time, dropped off the baggage and left for a walk. Among the good things were some great (!!) breakfast (included), the jacuzzi (if you manage to stop thinking of that if it's clean enough or not), the view, the location. I would come over for some breakfast again but wouldn't stay in that apt. recalling what I had found in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    For the 1st time Visiter to Antwerp !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to Development of the City Center Area, getting to the Hotel by car is bit of a task for a first time visitor to the city. Have to use the public parking @ 18 Euros per night. It is not calculated on the hrly basis. In case you park of Friday night at 8pm & take ur car out on Sunday Morning 9pm, ur are charged for full 2 days charges of 32 Euros, do add to your Room Stay Budget when planning to Stay in City Center. Hardly any worthy Satallite channels in English only CNN & BBC, and u get bored after u have absored all that u can take of news. No Provision of Light Snack in the property as they have no Full Time resturant for Lunch & Dinner. For Breakfast they use their resturant but not for Lunch & Dinner.

    Great Location, Shoppers Paradise in the Heart of the City. Open the Hotel Door & just look right Central Station is just 1 min. of walking distance. Tram runs in the front of the Hotel & can be fun ride if u want.. Staff was co-operative.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    The initial set up of the room was exactly how I asked with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In terms of cleanness, it's a hard one, It was extremely clean walking in, but after the first few hours it was changing it's appearance, the bed was just two single beds shoved together with a thin large mattress on the top to make it a double, this is not what I paid 400 Euros for. After sleeping one night loads of dust appeared (From the mattress itself) and the bed sheet just completely kept unravelling itself, the pillows were yellow/stained and extremely thin as well as the duvet feeling uncomfortable with a similar issue to the bed sheet, the duvet cover was much too large for what they actually have and there are no buttons or even a fold over so the duvet just went ballistic along with the bed sheet, you have to spend time sorting it all out in the morning. A large quantity of Rubbish was under the bed that sometimes appeared, there was random dust pockets scattered around the corners of the room, we had no spoon to make our tea with despite me asking for one off a staff member as well as asking for other things which I was told I would get. I don't believe I got my money's worth but the staff were nice that kept me being okay with the hotel.

    The initial set up of the room was exactly how I asked with roses and a theme, as well as all the staff being lovely and friendly when speaking English to help my queries. The hotel is really quiet too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    The beds were extra comfy actually.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our keycard expired a day earlier than it should. I guess they didn't calculate correctly all the days/night we'll be staying.

    The beds were extra comfy actually. Really amazing hotel for this price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    3.3
    no heat in the room with -3c outside !!!!! one of my worst hotel experience ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no heat in the room with -3c outside !!!!! It took them 2 hours before to come up with a "solution": another room !. Standard room are also very different from the pictures. One of my worse hotel experience !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Hotel very near to the train station, good breakfast, although the facilities a little bit old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities were a little bit old for the 4* standard. Sometimes it was a little bit cold inside as the heating wasn't enough to compensate for the leaky windows.

    The room was large and nicely cleaned. The staff was always nice and helpful. The breakfast was very good. Overall, it was a nice stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.0
    Location in the center close to the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn't look like the pictures and was outdated. Not sound proof. Old airco made a lot of noise. Room wasn't clean at first site it was, but if you looked closer it wasn't. The toilet was nasty. Breakfast was very simple. Overall you would expect more from a 4 star hotel.

    Location in the center close to the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.8
    A freezing stay with amazing location & Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no heater in the room. It was freezing outside and I had turn on the AirCo to 30 degrees but it wasnt enough.

    The hotel is located right opposite to Antwerpen Central and on the main street Keyserlei. You have many restaurants nearby and on foot you can explore Meir and Groenplats which is 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel. The breakfast was superb. Waffle machine to prepare waffle exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable room and view of the streets of Antwerpen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't choose the breakfast, because it was just too expensive. Besides that we hardly eat that much for breakfast anyway. A cup of coffee or hot chocolate milk can be found outside of the hotel witout a problem. And there are plenty of supermarkets around the hotel voor bread, jam, cereal etc.

    Very spacious room, beds on one side and plenty of chairs at the window for a small living room experience. I requested a view to the city and that was met. The hotel is next to Antwerpen trainstation, very convient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    I didn’t like the choice of food for breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the choice of food for breakfast. For 20e I could have had a much better breakfast in one of the places close by. Also, eggs and sausages were cold!! Not recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Good value and will stay again if visiting Antwerp
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No room service but plenty of restaurants close by but a late arrival could give you an issue

    Clean and comfortable and location just next to the Central train station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    Least good experience at this hotel in two years.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During check in, the staff was very uniterested, hardly any word, she seemed more interested to go out smoking in front of entrance (not done for staff). TV receipt was very bad, so bad quality (not 2018). Noisy room at 9th floor.

    Staff during check out was friendly and helpfull. Location is always great. I visited this hotel at least 30 times last year, this time was the least good experience. I did have a nice spacious room this time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast and very clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very basic without any extra amenities

    Good breakfast and very clean hotel. For the price and so central location it was the best value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    It was nice and could be much better since hotel was in much better state since 2012
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most of the Staff are new and don't have enough experience to deal with situations Hotel need maintenance we face many unexpected problems since day one All notes mentioned in Booking.com were not taken into considerations (corporate invoice details, room details, requirements

    Location Facility Room size Clean rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.0
    Good location, but overall too little value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hard to warm up, there was a draft and the heating/AC didn’t really work well. The lighting in the room was weird, bedside lamps were way to bright (one didn’t work). When we got to the room the TV was hanging half off its wall mount, which was later fixed when we reported it. The shower partition would angle out causing the bathroom floor to flood. Breakfast was good enough, but quite chaotic and noisey.

    Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.3
    Staff were friendly especially Natalie and Robbie at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was given seemed a bit bare for a 4 star and the ergonomic design wasn't the best for example the shower's drain hole was where you would normally stand so was uncomfortable showering. Also the external windows didn't seem to have been cleaned in a long time. The rooms also don't seem sound proofed enough so was kept awake all night due to some rowdy guests in room below - however manager Robbie made it up to me by letting me check out late.

    Staff were friendly especially Natalie and Robbie at reception. Breakfast was ok - a lot of eggy options, could have done with baked beans and hash browns. Very central location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.3
    I expected more from a 4starr hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During checkin i had to pay for the stay. Had to pay an additional €15,- for A baby bed. Oke fair enough. Then they told me I didn’t have to pay for the baby bed that it was oke. Thereafter after successfull payment during printing of the receipt they decided I had t pay again for the baby bed. Room was clean, but the quality of the bathroom was poor. It was old, clean but there was mold in the sealing kit. And bath and equipment old and simple not really matching the interior of the room. For breakfast you had to decide in advance which time slot you were going to use. Due to limited capacity of the breakfast room. Also no power of usb connection near the bed.

    The location is excellent. And staff is willing to answer your questions

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Easy and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com ask if you would like a double bed but it's not confirmed by hotel. Expectation was to have double bed in room. Booking.com should clarify it is not confirmed.

    Location great. Staff were excellent and super friendly. Thanks a lot!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.2
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water in the morning to shower and staff didn’t care They had a sensor detector for the lights which came on and switch off with a timer You couldn’t pay cash The beds were hard It’s smelt like cigarettes It was noisy Long waits to check in and out The air conditioning was loud and harsh I wouldn’t recommend this hotel It’s definitely not a 4 star hotel at all.

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I would rate Natalie at reception a perfect 10. She was an absolute gem. She was kind, friendly and most helpful. She was vibrant and welcoming. She made our stay most enjoyable. Thank you Natalie

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    This is a great place to stay in Antwerp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great place to stay in Antwerp. In the center of the city. I enjoyed it so much. Lots of Thanks... Next time I will take this hotel again! 👌🏼

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.4
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move to a different room due to problems with hot water. Therefore late at the new years eve dinner, also a much smaller room.. Definitely not worth the 4 stars

    Location was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Antwerp is beautiful, this hotel made it even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The organisatie of the breakfast: much too crowded, not enough staff for what they had to do, staff was (understandable) unfriendly and unsupportive. No wastebins on the tablet made the table look shabby.

    Fabuleus room, perfect location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Totally recommended: good price and good quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only two things in which I was a bit disappointed was the bad WiFi connection and the fact that the heating was not as effective and it was a bit cold at times.

    Comfortable spacious room. Friendly staff (one of the receptionists even spoke Greek which was a pleasant surprise!). Great variety at breakfast, delicious pastries. Ideal location for my everyday commuting to Brussels via train. I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.2
    necessary, but next time rather not
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk employee was not good in communication. Could be seen as rude. Same for the hotel lady at the breakfast buffet. It seems they don't like their job.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.1
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom windows - are very dangerous. They can not open like that.

    I liked where the hotel was. Very near the central station, in an avenue with shops and restaurants. To the city center it's about 20 minutes walking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.7
    Although well situated and staff curteous I would not stay there again. Improvements much needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was situated at the back and the noise of the air conditioning unit outside kept me awake all night. The curtains do not fit the window so let light and cold in. The window hasn't been cleaned for several years? The air 'evacuation' in bathroom is really dusty and horrid. The hair dryer was missing and I had to go and ask for one. The toilet rolls were not replenished and the soap disappeared! That hotel could be so much more if housekeeping staff and management made an effort!

    The room and bathroom were large. The staff was very helpful. The situation just next to the station is ideal so you don't have to drag your luggage a long way on arrival or departure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.7
    The lady was racist, I entered without telling here that I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady was racist, I entered without telling here that I ha a reservation, she asks me for who I want the hotel for, I said for me, after she asks me where is my luggage, I said I don't have, after she said .we don't have room for you. I'm a black guy. We are in 2017 not 1017. There for I give a 0 to here

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of noise, because the room was near the elevator. But that's about it.

    A fabulous, grand room. Lots of space. Great beds and a big, spacious bathroom. A delicious breakfast. Located next to the train station and near shops and restaurants. Friendly staff My second time in this hotel and I'll definitely book this hotel again when in Antwerp.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    ok if you by train !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was standard and limited, not very luxerious and fresh. a walk to better restaurants was about 20-25 minutes which isnt great but also not dramatic. parking was ok for about €18,00 but very small parkinglots

    central located in the city however not close to the cousy city centre. practical next to the central station. the room was tidy and quiet. Also the staff was polite and well organized. Also a lot of shopping possibilities nearby

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.8
    Good location, but not worth the 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too expensive and not really 4*. I actually wanted to cancel this booking, because the concert I was supposed to go in Antwerp got cancelled last minute. I was only 5 min (!) later for a free cancellation. I asked for an exception, but they would still charge a cancellation fee of 60% of the total amount! Not even less. That is weird for a 4* hotel. I decided to go, because 60% is too much money to just give away like that. The simple room was not clean and very simple. Not so much tv channels (movies), but they do have 24/7 porn. That is not really nice if you travel with small children! I left dirty tea cups on the table for the maid to refresh. She put the same dirty cups back on the tray. This is just not 4* service. They should lower their prices or fix the rooms and cleaning.

    The reception staff The bed The bathroom The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    Everything just feels kind of cheap.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms really really needs some maintenance and updating. All the walls in my room had scratch marks; brown and black stripes I assume from where luggage stood against the walls during many years of neglect. Honestly it kind of looked like a bad motel from a movie. The tissue dispenser in the bath room was completely rusted as well. Also no separate shower, it's not great to stand in a bathtub to shower. The lobby played annoying music and had some kind of parfum-blowing system going on, giving me a big headache when I had to be there for 5 minutes. Everything just feels kind of cheap and tacky. Breakfast was okay, just not a lot of choice. No beans or sausages for example. Too expensive for what you get.

    The bed was comfortable and the room pretty quiet. Friendly staff and the location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    the air conditioner in the room (810) switched on twice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the air conditioner in the room (810) switched on twice during the night despite powered off (and waking me up..). There is also noise coming from outside (ventilation?) that is not 'filtered' by the old windows. however, the hotel has also good rooms and I will use its service again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.3
    Rather Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being bitten in the bedroom by mosquitos in November ( this affected both of our rooms)

    Breakfast and location were good. Hotel itself a bit dated - busy tourist hotel basic facilities but a good base for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast is really good and the rooms were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small mirror in the bathroom was broken

    The breakfast is really good and the rooms were comfortable. Hotel is very well located, just outside the central station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    2.5
    Filthy, do not stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was dirty, old and decrepit. You did not want to touch a thing, let alone sleep in the bed. Breakfast is also a disgrace (and a complete rip off). It felt like a place that you rent a room by the hour.

    Nothing - absolute disgrace

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.0
    Unpleasant, largely unfriendly/unhelpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast especially for a four star hotel, when requested orange juice to be refilled was met with a 20 minute wait, when requesting more coffee in room we were told to wait for housekeeping.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    2.5
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise.. the building work going on in the room next door.. worst hotel stay EVER. Have stayed in many hotels, but this was the worst experience of my life to date

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    :(
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast late starting. You have a meeting as from 8am, and You need to leave hotel 7am, or before 7am, and breakfast are only from 7am. It have to start earlier..

    Bathroom and location ( i mean forr dinner) a lot of restorans arround.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    perfect stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    the location is fantastic, near the central train station and all facilities, supermarket is 2 minutes walk. Breakfast was perfect. Antwerp is a very beautiful city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    3.8
    2-star service at a 4-star price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was given a basic room (Room 904) lacking several of the amenities promised on the booking website: hairdryer, safe, radio, minibar. Most annoyingly, there were neither soap nor shampoo. I haven't been to a hotel in the past 20 years that did not provide soap and shampoo, so I didn't bring any. By the time I discovered there were none the shops had closed and I had to ask at reception. The concierge dug out the last 2 mini-cakes of soap from a box under his desk . There was no shampoo to be had (why? nobody has access to housekeeping?), but he promised to deliver it the next morning. This did not happen, so I had to do my presentation at the conference I was attending not looking the way I would have wished. The water pressure in the bathroom was either so low that it was difficult to rinse off or came in hot-cool pulses. The bathroom had a hole in the ceiling, the curtains only closed two-thirds of the width of the window, so the room could not be darkened or made fully private. In view of this I was grateful for the window being absolutely filthy. The light only worked after insertion of the key card - common enough but the slot on this one was difficult to see at night, so I had to fumble around in the dark each time. The furnishings, devoid of any colour, decoration or soft textile, rendered the room as welcoming as a prison cell. This being a 4-star hotel costing 150 Euros per night for a standard single room, I would have expected a few more amenities like a kettle and coffee and a make-up mirror. The breakfast buffet is large and varied. But: I sat at a freshly set table and the coffee cup was dirty. I picked up a plum and it was half-rotten. Tried an orange next and that was mouldy. This is a poorly managed establishment and a rip-off. You are asked to pay for the full stay upon arrival, which I found slightly surprising then. I don't any more, because guests would be justified in demanding price reductions.

    Breakfast had a good choice of food items, bed was comfortable, free wifi was fast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was little be with insufficient light, but doesn't bother me to much further to i was spent little time in the room.

    Clean, good breakfast. Staff was very nice and ready to help me .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Everything is great , personel are always very helpful and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee , this is a 4 star hotel and they should serve good quality coffee.

    Everything is great , personel are always very helpful and location is very good .

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse De Keyser Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: