Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Theater Hotel 4 stars

Arenbergstraat 30, Antwerp District, 2000 Antwerp, Belgium

#31 of 71 hotels in Antwerp

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3182 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    GReat place for staying in central Antwerp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was small, no extraction fan.

    The hotel is very central and convenient, in a nice part of Antwerp. The room was generous, the bathroom roomy. There was lots of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Great choice for staying in Antwerp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, we were quite satisfied.

    Great location for the city, plenty of underground parking, large market nearby at the weekend, friendly helpful staff, large airy room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    Excelent Stay, Thank all the hotel team for the experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only bathtub in the bathrooms. Only problem that I've found.

    Good accomodations, excelent breakfast. Excelent location, quite near the Rubens House, some restaurants and Plazas. I'll would book again easily. Amazing Hotel Crew!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    i was working 2 days at the meir, the hotel was 5 min. per feet, perfect for me.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is perfect, quiet, central, near museims and good restaurants. The meir was about 5 min. per feet.

    sleeping room really, street really quiet during the night. Unfortunatelly the air conditioning is old and noisy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    Could be great hotel, but they forgot the essence of what hotels are about. Peace and quiet, rest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No need to put your alarm clock, the cleaning ladies start their rounds early and you can hear them coming from the other side of the corridor with their irritating knocking with their key on the door shouting insistently “room service”. If you have a jet lag, don’t count on sleeping outside the strict hours. Walls are thin, you can hear people talking in the next room, so turning in early does not work either. - There is an extra charge of 6€ if you order room service. Good pay for just bringing the food up two levels. - This hotel - contrary to the industry norm is 11.00. Don’t try more time, reception and cleaning ladies will be calling and knocking on your door reminding you insistently.

    Friendly personnel trying to navigate bad organizational policies.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable bed, great breakfast, attentive staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't find it too bad, but my room was next to the elevator shaft which made noise at every hour day and night - that particular room location could be a problem for sensitive sleepers.

    Liked the firm bed, kettle was provided, mugs, wine glasses, fridge. Enjoyed access to the roof top balcony from my room (6th floor). The on-site restaurant serves delicious food (I was there for dinner). It was great to have 2 types of eggs for breakfast and a variety of cold cuts and cheeses.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel in a good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a pain as their regular park garage couldn't be used because of odd Sunday hours and they didn't provide the parking stipend for another park garage a block away. Parking was 18 EUR per day, otherwise it would have been 14/day.

    Good breakfast and nice sized room. The WiFi was efficient and consistent, especially for Europe. The excellent Saturday market is 100 meters away!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Reasonable, but spoiled by broken air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed at Theater Hotel at a particularly hot time of year (late July, 2018), and discovered upon checking into my room that the air con in (I assume) the entire hotel was "not coping" with the admittedly unprecedented heat and/or the high demand on its system. Even on the coldest setting in blew hot air only; it was broken. I spoke to the desk staff, who at first told me that the problem was worse because I was in "a standard room", which I don't think should be relevant, and in any case I was staying on the 4th floor "Executive Floor". In any case, the staff member was sympathetic and explained that the owner is/was planning an upgrade of the system, but of course this doesn't matter to me since it was broken when I was there. If you are considering booking, it might be worth phoning ahead and asking if this "upgrade" has been completed if you are concerned. I was provided a fan to try and help cool the room down, but ultimately I was very disappointed with Theater Hotel. I chose this hotel, knowing it was more expensive than other options, because I wanted to stay somewhere comfortable and luxurious near the end of a month-long trip, and I did not get that. I wasn't offered any form of upgrade or compensation. Location-wise, it's about a 15 minute walk from Antwerp central train station, and 5-10 minutes from the main shopping strip, with a good number of restaurants within a 1-2 minute walk from the front door. Reasonable, but personally I'll be considering other hotels if I visit Antwerp again.

    Were it not for the broken air con mentioned in the other part of this review, Theater Hotel could have been a very nice place to stay. My room was large, clean and, other than being almost unbearably stuffy, comfortable. The staff were very professional, friendly, and helpful. The breakfast was nice enough, but not particularly noteworthy or memorable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Central, all the staff were lovely
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no free parking nearby - I took my car to the excellent big free car park near the river but it was 15-20 minutes walk away. Also, for me, it was an expensive hotel.

    Central, all the staff were lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Location of the hotel excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel excellent . We only had one disappointing experience at the hotel at breakfast on the 18 th July there was a man on duty he was extremely busy trying to attend to his clients needs he appeared to be on his own however occasionally a female waitress appeared then disappeared when she finally decided to do some work it was without good grace a pot of coffee would be plonked on your table no eye contact and certainly no smile . Breakfast at the hotel was until 10 30am at 10 15 this perticular waitress started to clear away all the breakfast food not good when you are on holiday! Apart from the above the staff were excellent .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Very pleased with this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel offers evening meals but the menu seemed very limited and no-one appeared to use the restaurant.

    Location is excellent. A ten euro taxi ride from the central station or a twenty minute walk. Hotel is situated in a quiet street but an easy walk to the old town. At the weekend there was a wonderful market just outside the hotel. Staff were very friendly and efficient both at reception and at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Antwerp is a nice town for a city holiday :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the breakfast is not meeting the expected standard of hotels for business travel.

    I could have an extension of stay for 2,5 hours at the departure day without extra charge. However my room key card was not updated accordingly when entering the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    The best hotel in Antwerp.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    none.

    This is a very nice hotel, all of the staffs are friendly and kind. The room is super clean, even some of the equipments are a bit dated, such as hair-dryer, but nevertheless, it is still a very nice hotel for personal or business travel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    The location was really good, within walking distance from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco in the room. It is literally the first hotel that I stay without an airco in the room. A ceiling fan was there but with 26 degrees I was melting... The pillows were too small. No plug next to the bed.

    The location was really good, within walking distance from the shops and a garage next to it for parking. Breakfast was very tasty but not a lot of choices. All the staff but one, was very very polite! Good wifi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Restaurant and bedrooms are very suitable for a trip where little time is spent in the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC was a little noisy and struggled to keep room cool. Corridors/common areas a little shabby. Few facilities.F

    Location was very central. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed with the room when pictures seemed promising
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was falling apart. Breakfast was of poor quality and they were keen to charge 2 Euro extra for an expresso when breakfast was included. Tv was at a strange angle attached to the wall The toilet was in a separate room to bathroom but it was so small that it was claustrophobic

    staff were friendly Room was very big

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location, but the hotel is not that good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all the staff members were polite. They were a bit rude during check-in and -out. The hallway and the elevator is smelly.

    The location is great. It's very central. The room is just fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value for the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However, the twin bed had two single duvets which made the sharing of a bed a bit fun! There were a few stray hairs in the bath and shower upon arrival, but we just brushed them out of the way. There was no ventilation in the bathroom which made the whole room steamy after bathing, however all in all good value for money.

    Fabulous location and great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    good value for money, decent place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hard to set room temperature somehow (could be me)

    everything it should be for a decent business stay (although also stayed there for leasure in the past), it's no nonsense everything you need,, good value for money (nice breakfast),

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Excellent find, great location and had a good deal on the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Milk available for my tea in the morning, in my room rather than the coffee cream pots

    Arrived late in the evening, reception were very efficient and got up to my room swiftly. Restaurant closed at 22:00 but were still happy to take my food order at 21:50 and the quality was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money in the heart of the historic city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a little tired and could do with some fresh paint and update in the bathrooms. However, it is a really good value for money deal and thus would stay again. Only negative thing was that our room wasn't ready for check-in at 16:30!

    Excellent location close to the old city center and easy to reach by car. Clean rooms even if rather sparsely furnished . Parking nearby at walking distance. Breakfast is good value for money and in a brightly lit room. Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast is really good, location is great and the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price is high compared to the facilities

    Breakfast is really good, location is great and the hotel is Ok. I would think is a bit pricy for the quality of the facilities, but satisfaction is overall okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    City centre four star at very competitive price
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes it is closer to a three than to a four star hotel, but the competitive price smoothens the difference. Old linnen and pillows in some rooms, could do with some refreshing..

    We stay quite often is this hotel. Personnel is friendly and professional. The place is very recommendable for a visit to Antwerp, in the city centre and close to shopping, restaurants and musea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    3.8
    A 2 or 3 star hotel:If you dont care about comfort and want to be in the center, this is your hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in this hotel to relax a night/day. The room was really old, white plain walls with faked-leather old fashioned furnitures with poor light setting! More annoying was the bathroom:dirty, badly repaires holes...my intention to relax in the morning in a nice bath stopped straight away! Moreover: i have been woken up by a cleaning lady who tried to oprn my door at 8.30am! Finally: It appeared that i was given one of the rooms that was not renovated...that’s what the cleaning lady yold me! This is just unacceptable and this should be announced to customers begore hand. I would have rather spend 20 euros extra to spend a nice evening and day rather than paying less and being frustrated!

    Location close to the shopping area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Close to transportation , restaurants and shops ,,, staff...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room looked freshly renovated clean and comfortable, if I had to question 1 thing it would be ... who decided to put the bedside tables down on the floor , they were so low to put anything on them you’d fall out of bed trying to lean down to reach them

    Close to transportation , restaurants and shops ,,, staff are all very friendly, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    Ok, but nothing supreme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first offered room had a smell like someone had just smoked inside - however, it was changed rather quickly.

    It was kind of neutral stay - from a four star hotel you could expect a bit more

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.8
    A bit dissapointed for a 4*hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given this is a 4*-hotel I expect the service of a 4*-hotel. The check-in was less friendly than I'm used to. The room was dated and very brown/yellowish. The hardwood floor is nice..but again brown. The lighting is sober (2 lamps facing downwards on the bedside and 2 tiny spots in each corner on the windowside). The airconditioning unit needed cleaning, the unit to control it fell off the wall. The bathroom had some carpented "shielding" under the sink where you could see a lot of dirt behind it. I suspect it's hard to clean behind such carpentry..but why not close the entire gap? The bed wasn"t very good either. Dated and the matress wasn't thick enough. I didn't sleep very well either...

    Spacious room with an airconditioning unit you can control yourself, which is very rare these days in hotels. Fairly large bathroom with a power hose...err shower. Everything was relatively clean. The curtains darken the entire room, which I find very important. There was a fairly stocked minibar with beverages of all kinds and chocolates!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Watch out for the parking !
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their beds are very small :(

    The hotel is located in a good location and just right in front of the weekend local market which is very nice to take a walk around. But you have to know if you come with the car you can not get a parking easily and if you park your car in the pay parking so you can not get out on SUNDAY before 5pm !!!!! because the street are blocked by the weekend market !!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent buffet breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel restaurant closed on weekends. Although public areas of hotel were warm, room itself was chilly; raising the temperature on the thermostat didn't make a difference.

    Excellent buffet breakfast. Great location. Good sized, very clean room. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Food not from minibar is also considered as that as from minibar :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't know this hotel is quite old and in my room first a shower started to leak and then hair drier became out of order and smoked my room. But I do not complain much, in overall all was solved. And price is very reasonable.

    People are great, always willing to help. Great staff at the reseption + cleaning lady!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    fine and quiet hotel downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when arriving on saturday staff forgot to tell that leaving the advised parking 'arensberg' was not possible on sunday because of the market. shower changing from hot to cold too often.

    nice hotel downtown. very spacious and quiet rooms, with a comfortable seat and goods beds. very clean and even a coffee- and theemaker. breakfast was good with a lot of choices of bread, eggs, fresh fruit salad. friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Classy hotel, well priced, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit of noise at night time from the car park next to the hotel, but generally OK.

    Spacious bedroom and bathroom with comfortable bed and a bath. Excellent breakfast selection!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, excellent staff, great non smoking room and breakfast was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic locality with excellent staff. Great choice of breakfast - cooked to cold. Overall - a great weekend break which could not have been better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    the room was big, the beds were fine, the location really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some carbidge in the litter bin in the bathroom when we arrived, so we doubt how well the room was cleaned before we arrived. But for the rest it looked neat(ly).

    the room was big, the beds were fine, the location really great with nice restaurants and lots of stores. The staff was gently and we were allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel after checking out ( while we went shopping), which was very handy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    really disappointed. I had a double bed who was not fixed. the bed was constantly moving.. I told them at the reception when I left but they didn't even said a sorry. First time this happen to me ... I had a really bad night

    property and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Not worthy for a four stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the toilet was not well cleaned; and there was a dirty hand towel. Reception girl explained me that the cleaning lady was new and probably her superior didn't check properly. Heaters didn't work in our room. When we arrived the room was cold, we set the heaters at maximum, but at night they were off. The description of the hotel says rooms have shower and bath (the last important to bath our little girl), but that is not true. When we ask for a change there were no rooms available so we had to stay. They offered as courtesy drinks to compensate though. The baby cot linens were actually from single bed, and the pillow was a towel folded. There were large spider nets on the roof. Finally, we stayed at the first floor, next to a parking place, and it was really noisy during the weekend, the room don't have good noise isolation...Too many issues for a 4 stars hotel

    Kindness of the staff and great location, you can easily walk to the old town. Great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Good to enjoy the city again where we used to live
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfasts are expensive if you only want a coffee and a croissant but you can eat a lot more if you wish; We preferred a coffee, orange juice and porridge at Le Pain Quotidien round the corner at similar price but for two!

    Excellent central location, comfortable and good value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.4
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room felt like a 3 star room at a 4 star (or more) price. The corridor leading to the room had a strange musty smell, and when I entered the room it looked nothing like the bright, neutral toned ones in the photos. It had dark walls, dark furniture, few lights, no decoration, cheap flooring. Big metal framed windows covered in condensation and mildew around the edges. Worryingly, the smoke detector was covered by a plastic bag. It was evening when I arrived, and the room was cold and unwelcoming. Fortunately, once I turned the heating on, it did eventually warm up. Why didn't the hotel turn it on? I booked weeks in advance, and told them I would be arriving late. One of the reasons I chose the hotel was because I wanted a bath, not a shower. There was a bath in the bathroom, and it worked, but it was quite small and the whole room seemed very dated. Again, nothing like the photos. I was on the 5th floor. Maybe other floors are nicer.

    Good location and good view from the window. The bed was very large, although a bit too soft for my taste. The room was large. It did seem to be clean, and room service came every day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.1
    Good base in Antwerp, we would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so dark .... with all lights and lamps on and the curtains open it was still cave like. I mean really dark! Came back from day out at 1645 and room had not been cleaned. Every time we went to a lift regardless of time of day there seemed to be a cleaner plus trolley in or trying to get in. Bar closed at midnight ... we returned 2 nights between 12 and 1215 and could not get a drink. This feels very early for a sizeable Hotel. Because internet is a hotspot you constantly have to re enter the passwords

    Nice location - station 15mins, historic centre even closer, Rubens House 2 mins. Huge room ... loved the size Nice breakfast .... best boiled eggs I can remember in any hotel! Good internet ... fast. Nice powerful shower Good selection of UK TV channels Fast check in and check out Loads of restaurants and bars nearby - recommend Bourla, 2mins away. Given hotel costs nowadays I think it offers good VFM.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.4
    Functional hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked double bed got twin beds pushed together. Lift got stuck in morning when in it with others. Used the shower gel (only one little tube supplied) on first night never replaced the other 2nights.

    Location central to all tourist and shopping area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.4
    Great central location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken Wifi connection and mosquitoes in the room

    Sadly, the Wifi wasn't working - it happens, but my colleague was also bitten very badly by mosquitoes. Obviously it's a known issue as there was an anti-mosquito machine plugged in (and switched on) in his room. When we reported this to the receptionist and asked why he hadn't been given different room, he said it was a problem throughout the hotel, not just in that room. What a shame as it's in a great location and the staff are nice. I hope they can fix the issue.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.4
    Staff were good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms a bit tired - bar only opens at 17.00 hrs even for coffee, although there is tea and coffee in the bedroom. Bottled water should be free

    Staff were good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.7
    This hotel has never been more
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrival from 15:00. We arrived after 15:00. We found our room not ready. The new room was halfway smaller than the previous one. There is no drawer in the bathroom. Through the windows it was pulling. Next time, back to the apartment.

    They advised me to park a big car 2.20 meters.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.7
    Below expectations for a 4* hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked very old. The bed was not very comfortable. The room temperature cannot be adjusted and it was a little bit cold compared to other hotel rooms in Belgium. The materials used in the room are not very good in terms of quality for a 4* hotel, in same cases they look overused (I.e. the lamps). The staff was ok, but could be more nicer, for instance could give us some recommendations and so on to visit the city.

    The room was big and it had a desk which is very helpful if you want to do some work on your laptop. The location is very nice. The breakfast is good. The possibility to store the luggage after the checkout was also very positive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely spacious quiet room to chill after a succesful day of shopping in Antwerp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a room with a view unfortunately. And the beds were a little hard.

    Loved the spacious room and the location. Close to all the shops but in a quiet street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Not recommended for non-smokers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room smelled of stale cigarette smoke despite being on non-smoking floor, Hotel was obviously aware of this, evedent by the number of room deodorisers plugged in to the power points! Minibar fridge was not working and shower flooded the bathroom each time.

    Room was spacious but maintenance/cleanliness could be better. Hotel was within reasonable walking distance to most attractions. Restaurant service and food were very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Hotel was a bit on the expensive side but that is Antwerp in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A rubber mat in the bath for having a shower.

    Hotel was a bit on the expensive side but that is Antwerp in the last years, it was a large room on the street side from the hotel, shower was in the bath a change from a shower unit but could have done with a rubber mat for safety (a message to all hotels)) we had booked for breakfast in the price and it has been a long time ago since I have had sausages/bacon and scrambled eggs along with the usual things to eat, but the time we had finished there was people waiting for a table but you are warned about this, location very good for the Saturday and Sunday market, it is a reasonable walk to the centre from town, reception did offer a map but coming to Antwerp for 32 years I don’t need one, all in all a good hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    MY STAY WAS IN ONE WORD, EXELLENT.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    THE FACT I HAD TO BE ALERT FOR TERROR, BUT THIS IS ALSO SAME IN AUSTRALIA.

    EVERYTHING WAS GOOD, I VERY MUCH LIKED THE CLOSE LOCATION TO THE CENTER OF ANTWERP. I WAS OF COURSE FAMILIAR HERE SINCE I WAS BORN OP HET KIEL. I HAD NO PROBLEM FINDING MY WAY AROUND.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    OK hotel in Antwerpen
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The theater hotel is a clearly aging venue. It was easy to observe that some minor cosmetic renovations had been attempted in the room to make it nicer. Overall the hotel remains dark in its style. Breakfast was a series of plastic packages to open. More fresh products would have been appreciated. The "specials" like cappuccinos are charged extra for

    Very good wifi Helpful staff Reasonable price quality ratio The room was large, quiet and confortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Affordable four star Hotel in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - A curtain is not a very hygienic solution for a shower, given the fact this is a four star Hotel.

    + wifi excellent + bathroom extra large + room comfortable + ideally located in the centre of Antwerp

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Antwerp with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy st night. There was an art exhibition showing a moving caterpillar up the road at the theatre it made a noise all night.

    Really big rooms in a city location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Comfy enough place that is worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows could be better and more of them. A little dated design. Some may not like location but we enjoyed being halfway between Antwerpen Central and the main area. The Theater Market is also next door during weekends and is fantastic.

    The superior double room was very spacious. Tons of room, good storage, mini fridge, full large bed with moderately comfortable mattress, and good air control making it easy to be comfy. Quiet area of Antwerp and rooms were decently sound proof. Nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    Theatre Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is fantastic, breakfast was really good with a lot of choice. The hotel provide a discount on the parking garage next to the hotel, was a very good place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    With the prime location, good breakfast, and good staffs, I would definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cleanliness level was not as expected. One day, the room was not even made-up when we had returned in the evening. And, even after daily room make-up service, it never was that perfectly tidy as we can expect in any hotel service.

    The best location. Very sophisticated, lively & quiet at the same time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Great location - quiet but easy to walk to main attractions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location - quiet but easy to walk to main attractions with weekend market, botanic garden and good places to eat all nearby. Good value - clean modern comfortable and friendly & helpful reception staff. Also good varied choice at breakfast which was included in our booking. We had a very enjoyable stay for 5 nights and would definitely book again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Breakfast is always lovely , staff are friendly and location...
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always like irons in the room although it's not a problem to ask for one and more pillows :-)

    Breakfast is always lovely , staff are friendly and location is great ,, close to the Meir shopping, markets on the weekend and plenty of restaurants around

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable stay without the fuss but don't expect a designer or a luxurious hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is relatively old and you can hear when the other guests arrive into the rooms, when they close the doors or walking above you.

    Location was perfect and size of the room was really big. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for a night (or some days) in Antwerp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom needs a bit of redoing and some-one came in at 9 am on sunday morning when we were still sleeping (I'm sure it is pretty easy to find out if rooms are vacant or not as all rooms use card keys!).

    A decent hotel on a good location. Rooms are a good size and come with all the facilities you'll need. We didn't have breakfast so we cannot comment on that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Good choice to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration in hotel is out of date. The door of bathroom is facing the head of the bed which is a bit annoy. There is no ventilation in room which makes the room stuffy.

    Breakfast is great. There are plenty of choices. The room is big, clean and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location, friendly staff, could do with a decor/facilities refresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ended up with a room overlooking a roof top car park which wasn't ideal. Not the end of the world but could have been better. The room was super stuffy because it was warm and the ceiling fan was broken. We called the helpful night manager who looked to see if there was a room elsewhere for us, but as they were going to be fully booked the next night (and we'd already unpacked), that wasn't ideal. Instead, we got a free standing fan which did the job. The tap/shower system was broken too - there was water from both the shower head and tap so the tub filled up when the shower was in use. I wouldn't rate this as a 4 star hotel.

    The location is great at only 10-15 minutes walk from the train station. Staff here are friendly, helpful and attentive. The breakfast selection was wide and varied.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.7
    rather highly priced for what it has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you have to carry your luggage over the stairs at the entrance (no ramp for easy access) small elevators (3-4 persons with luggage are rather crowded when turned on, lights produce a loud sound

    good location comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    I would prefer another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't ready at 2pm, we needed to wait till 2.50pm, than we went to room and realise that they still didn't begin cleaning... That is a joke, than we should not wait for 50min... Also asked before by mail where the best parking place is, did not get any answer. At breakfast we needed to wait several minutes till somebody wanted to take our room number that we can go sit down for breakfast, tables were free, just no Person who checked our room no, why we needed to stand and wait... annoying, for this Money and Service, it was too expensive. Already got much cheaper Hotels, which much better service

    good Location to City Center, wifi good working

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    old but very comfy, clean and big room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe it was my mistake but in order to connect to wi-fi, you need to receive a confirmation SMS which is a bit difficult for visitors who wouldn't like to face with roaming charges.

    old but very comfy, clean and big room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    4.6
    OK location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Infested with mosquitoes, not 1 but more than 20 in both of the rooms my family had . We had roof top rooms and there must be a health problem with standing water nearby , the mosquitoes got in with out windows being open . The ceilings were covered in ex mosquitoes so we were not the 1st guests with this problem . I will not stay here again and sadly with more than 20 bites per person we will have to remember our stay for all the wrong reasons . Staff were sympathetic and offered free drinks but sadly more an excuse than a solution.

    OK location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast and great accomadation. Location very central but quiet. Everything within walking distance. Great price quality

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Hotel would have been great if only we could have slept more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel but it failed in the very basic requirements of providing a good night's sleep. The problem is that our room was on the top floor, so it was quite hot, but the airconditioning was old and very noisy. As a bonus we had to share the room with a family of way too active mosquitoes.

    Nice room, great breakfast selection, helpful staff. Nice neighbourhood.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.9
    I'd stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for sight-seeing. We were up on the 5th floor with a great roof-top view over the city. Staff were helpful and efficient. Breakfast- basic but tasty!I'd stay there again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast, facilities good and excellent location,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a little cold in appearance and sterile, not cold temperature wise. No bath towels in bedroom, but that's an easy mistake to make?

    Good breakfast, facilities good and excellent location, plenty of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    I can't wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike here.

    The Hotel was ideally located within easy walking distance of the station and the old city sights. The staff were very pleasant and helpful the room was exceptionally clean and even the room cleaners were very pleasant and cheery on the 2 occasions I bumped into them. It was a pleasure to be greeted so warmly when going for breakfast for which you had an excellent varied choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfort and rest in the center of a big interesting city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would not point it out as negative, but all the hotel guests could not have breakfast at the same time. However, this problem is solved in a very efficient way. Those who come a bit late can wait a few minutes in comfortable seats.

    This hotel is well situated at walking distance from almost everything in the center (museums, theaters, the cathedral, the Scheldt, the shopping streets). It can be reached easily by car or by public transport and is not very far from the Central Railway Station. Underground Parking possibilities nearby. The room was large and as we stayed at the 6th floor we had a beautiful view of the city. We had no complaints of the bed, soft and large. Breakfast offered a big choice, bread was excellent, there was a lot of cheese, meat, fruit, juices, cornflakes, ... The staff was very friendly, as well at the entrance as at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location, big room, parking nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain of really.

    Excellent location in the city centre, very friendly, nice and helpful staff. Public underground parking just around the corner, with direct exit to the hotel. Big spacious comfortable room. The breakfast was great, too :) We had a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    Good location and parking. Needs some updates
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sounds infiltrate the outdated rooms to easy and elevators to small

    Good location. Friendly staff and spacious rooms. Plus the fact you receive a discount on the parking costs

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    A wonderful small hotel at a wonderful location in a wonderful town!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing which we didn't like, and next time we visit Antwerpen, we will try to stay there again!

    The room was extraordinary big. The breakfast was very good. The location perfect! The staff were all very friendly and pleasant. The garage immediately around the corner. On the weekend and holiday there was a huge market just on the corner of the hotel, which was very nice, with lots of local snacks, wonderful fresh vegetables and fruit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended,great location lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Espresso charged extra at breakfast and very poor quality Stuck to good filter coffee after that

    Staff very helpful and friendly Breakfast nice selection of food Coffee and tea very good but unfortunately I had to pay extra for a very poor espresso Needless to say I stuck with the ordinary coffee after that

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.7
    Location is their good feature.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I specifically requested for a non-smoking room with queen/double bed. The room I got smelled too much of cigarettes. When we complained, we were told that the only other available room had two separate beds. The male staff was indifferent to our request though we said that it was a health related concern. No "sorry" of any kind. Just straighforward - there are 2 rooms, which do you want? Also, the bathroom soap/shower gel dispenser was empty.

    Good breakfast. The room was bigger than the usual found in European hotels.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: