Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alliance Hotel Ieper Centrum 3 stars

D'Hondtstraat 19, 8900 Ypres, Belgium

#13 of 14 hotels in Ypres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 680 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is ideally situated, just a walk from the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is ideally situated, just a walk from the square. Parking was on the street out the front. We arrived around 6pm and streek parking was not being monitored. Room was close, no air conditioning, very poor WiFi signal that kept dropping out, no television channels that worked. No tea or coffee. Apart from all that, we did not stay in the room long enough to worry as we went into town. Could be a bother for others though. Dining room is very elegant, very antique French.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, clean, lovely building .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a triple room with 3 single beds, all of which were very creaky. The mattress was hard but that was fine. The wardrobe made a lot of noises as you walked past it, as if it wasn’t very stable on the floor. The bathroom was good with a great shower, but maybe a handrail would be useful for getting out as rather a steep step down. Toilet was in an unusual position but useable!!

    Great location, clean, lovely building . Great breakfast , mmmm👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Better than expected very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good but needed a bulb in small light

    Clean and comfortable good shower good choice of breakfast central for the town didn’t need to use car brilliant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    This is a charming hotel, superbly situated and representing good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little unimaginative. Fresh fruit salad instead of tinned would have been better.

    The hotel was spotlessly clean throughout, with comfortable beds and pillows.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant Belgian Hospitality and kindness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I did have to be very picky and choose an 'even better if'...On the first day, I thought the shower curtain was a little grubby - but it was fine and useable. On return to our room on the second day a brand new shower curtain had been put up! Hahaaa...Had they read my mind?! Brilliant hitel which i can not fault, thankyou.

    Brilliant all round. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast and superb location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    good clean room , near the centre ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    earlier booking in, coffee tea facilities in the room, parking is pretty bad .

    nice, clean room , nice hotel. you cannot book in or get into the hotel until 1600 (4 in the afternoon and no proper parking , continental breakfast only, nice coffee for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Very close to town square with Amble Ticket Parking outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was OK not much space around the bed and the entrance to the room was tight

    Very close to town square with Amble Ticket Parking outside very clean and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    CONVENIENT LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE PLACE LOOKED LIKE SOMETHING FROM THE 30S. VERY OLD FASHIONED. I THOUGHT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY AT THE PROPERTY BUT THEY HAD ALREADY TAKEN THE MONEY.

    LOCATION

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location and good triple room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Triple room was substantial with three proper beds and a decent sized bathroom - didnt feel like we were tripping over each other. Breakfast substantial and location cant be beat. Price was fine considering it was Katt weekend :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold , no flannels in room. Hairdryer poor, no hot drink facilities. Room not very clean . Dirty toilet brush and holder ! However very friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast .

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Fitted my needs for the weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom did not have a heated towel rail so the towels were still damp, from my shower the day before. The rooms although cool were in the shade and on a cold day could make you feel cold.

    The location was so central for the centre of Ypres . A simple but comfortable hotel The hotel itself is off a side street so extremely quiet and peaceful. A small sunny court yard . Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast plentiful. I did not like the jam. could be much better but that's my opinion as person who make jam at home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is expensive for what is essentially a budget hotel, soap and shampoo in sachets, no T & C facilities in room, and the rooms are decorated in a 70’s style the bed throw was badly stained Parking was on the street and we were lucky and got a space close to the hotel.

    Good breakfast and very comfortable bed, and good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    A middle-class and middle-priced hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our arrival and throughout our stay the host was correct, but with a tendency of sounding like a tape-recorder. He was not very helpful when it came to answering questions or handing out brochures. He just briefly suggested the easy and expensive solutions e.g. visiting the battlefields by going on bus-trips (not the right solution for us) instead of by own car, and otherwise on all questions referred to the tourist office. The beds were very hard and the duvets thin. The internet-signal was too weak to reach our room.

    The location was excellent - right in the centre of Ieper within walking distance of everything. We payed for a 3 bed room for 2 persons so the room was big. We noted that the third bed was a real bed, not a sofa-bed (something we always appreciate when we are 3 persons travelling) . The room had everything needed: a wardrobe, a writing desk (all new, but of a cheap quality), a safe and nice big TV (we didn't switch it on) and a bathroom with a cupboard for placing toiletries. The furniture and the decorations were not the most beautiful, so the room - as well as the rest of the hotel - was without any charm, rather dark and on our arrival very cold. The buffet breakfast was okay. This was however what we expected, judging from the photos, and the price taken into consideration. Public parking near the hotel must be paid for. The owner directed us to a no-pay parking area, that could be reached within a 7 minutes' walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    The central location of this hotel in Ypres was a good start to our trip.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some cooked food for breakfast! Resident demand and a spaced breakfast period would probably not make that viable. The continental table was Ok with plenty of choice.

    A friendly welcome and explanations of the security codes for out of hours access. The bedroom was clean and fine for our 1 night stay. Breakfast was Ok. The coffee was good. We sat in the window watching Ypres wake up. We were lucky to have parked directly outside the front door. 1 euro at 5.01pm took us to 9am the next day. Car security is always my concern. We will return to Ypres.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Good stay, would go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Very helpful at reception. Good information about parking etc. We had a room in the annex in a courtyard. Very pleased with it. Breakfast room very attractive and breakfast was plentiful, typical continental breakfast, meats, cheese, eggs, coissants, cereals etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location and breakfast. Very pleasant and helpful manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I emailed the property to warn that our arrival time was to be 1 hour later than planned due to sncf strikes, the reply appeared to indicate the door would be closed at 9.30 with no possibility of a later check-in. However, when we were unavoidably delayed after 9.30, the manager was very welcoming!

    Very comfortable beds. Lovely terrace to sit and relax.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.8
    Won't be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a hotel more a bed and breakfast. Floor freezing, no shelf in the bathroom and shower handrails missing. Staff only around for breakfast and check in. Wi-Fi did not work for first 24 hours.

    Good position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing. The hotel write-up sounded lovely but it didn't live up to the description.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was more lile a hostel than a hotel. very utilitarian. Advertises free toileteries - these consisted of a small bar of soap each and a very small sachet of shower gel each that was very difficult to open. no heat in the bathroom. Notice in the room said that no food or drink were allowed in the room. DIY breakfast. Very bare and unwelcoming atmosphere

    Very good central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Not welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to property before 4pm doors locked. Called to enquire re local parking as all parking in immediate vicinity pay and park 3 hours only, advised to drive to local swimming pool and walk back with bags. Not happy to do this fortunately found Novotel underground parking 15euros at night. Doors locked at 10.00 code for door entry, seemed no staff available after this. Leave key on board in reception when going out didn’t feel secure as they were accessible to all. Water hot to bathe, bed ok, bedside shelf hanging off wall, room very small. Didn’t feel particularly welcome shame as could be really good.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.0
    I would have been very embarrassed if I had taken friends there on the strength of it's reviews etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was dirty; no kettle; room was cold with no facility to change heat; breakfast was very poor

    It was quiet and in an excellent location, with secure parking for a motorbike

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location with a hearty continental breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the fact you can’t get into the hotel till 16:00 and the room was cold when we got there.

    The bed was very comfy even though we had to settle for twins

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel. Highly recommended. Would definatly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in our room was tiles which looked amazing but was ice cold to walk on barefoot.

    Locked garage for motorbikes. Very friendly staff. Very comfortable rooms. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    we will book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    earlier check in as 16.00 is a bit late.

    Location was fantastic. choice at breakfast was excellent. We were able to park outside the hotel which was a bonus. plenty to eat, drink and see within walking distance. We will book again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay at Alliance Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Decent range of food for breakfast, beds seemed to be memory foam and very comfy for me but a bit hard for my wife, pillows also very comfortable with a choice of hard or soft. Shower was fine with steady temperature.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.7
    We liked Ypres, we would not stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep staircase, and concern about fire escape from top floor. Bedroom door also opened outwards masking light switch to staircase. Again in my view as an architect this arrangement would not comply in the UK. Perhaps Belgium regulations as in France are less rigid?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    4.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell of drains in reception. Rooms allocated outside & not clean. Dust and cobwebs everywhere and under bed. No tea and coffee making facilities in bedrooms. Bathroom & towels need refurbishment.

    Location. Lovely marble staircase in dining room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.8
    Adequate for one night only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpowering smell similar to dead rats in the drains when entering the hotel. General cleaning below standard...the bedside table still had hair and debris from previous occupants on it. Light switches were grubby. The curving marble stairs would be a challenge to people with slight mobility issues as they were open to one side and only one handrail.

    The room was nice and warm. The bedsheets crisp and clean. Excellent on road parking just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast good, clean through out, great location to local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room slightly disjointed, furniture should be moved around to make more use of the room,slightly dated.

    Breakfast good, clean through out, great location to local restaurants and easy reach of sites of interest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Value for money considering how close we were to the centre of the town.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door didn't close properly, slight smell of drains possibly from leak under the bath. Room adequate but basic.

    Staff friends and helpful. Room warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    Room was warm and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi at the back of the hotel was weak. Parking was on the street but did not cause any particular problem. Is not free during day time.

    Room was warm and comfortable. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Hotel was adequate , very well located for town centre but overpriced for the facilities offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking more distant than expected. 7 minute walk away. Not good if wet. Stair to second floor rooms exceptionally steep. Room was rather small with NO DRAW SPACE at all. Even a bedside cabinet with draws would be good. Room door opened over stairwell . No tea and coffee making facility in a THREE STAR hotel!

    Location great. Breakfast very good and plentiful . Very clean indeed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Travelled for armistice day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel in the perfect location for all our needs The lady on reception was lovely The breakfast was a good continental with a selection of meats but only one cheese However an earlier booking in time would of been better,say 1400 hrs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    A nice, handy hotel. Would recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of a drainy smell on entering the hotel but not overpowering and I'm sure its not permanent.

    Excellent location close to Museum and Menin Gate. Pay parking right outside and free to p ark overnight. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    3.8
    Poor!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Motel type room , no carpets , tatty, basic facilities, smelly drains , limited room service , poor shabby bedding and towels , inadequate toiletries .

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Great Location with friendly staff and great comfy rooms. We always try and book this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing bad to say about this Hotel.

    We have used this hotel several times and will return again. The good points are location to town centre. The distance from Ferry Ports and the Secure Parking for motorbikes. The breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Central location of this accommodation is excellent for visiting this beautiful city. Friendly hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free car parking is not on site it is at a local swimming baths approximately 20 minutes walk away from the property. There is limited street parking that you have to pay for at the meter which is not mentioned upon booking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    3.3
    Diss appointing , too basic for the price and far from comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby, out. Dated rooms , more like a motel than hotel. Poor quality , threadbare towels and bedding , poor quality toiletries, no hot water for shower on one day . Very basic facilities .

    Good convenient locstion

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    A super stay in an absolutely ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase to the second floor but I’d read on trip advisor that it wasn’t great so I was expecting it.

    I found the beds very comfy. The hotel was clean and the staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.2
    nasty smell in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nasty smell in the room. Too noisy, you can hear everybody walking up the stairs and it was too hot in the room. You couldn't easily regulate the tempature in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.2
    Ideally located, good breakfast and quiet - just needs a bit more attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was not very clean and one day it wasn't made up at all. Difficult to access the hotel from the street with a wheelchair or pushchair due to the high steps.

    The location in the centre of the town was ideal. A few minutes walk to all of the points of interest and plenty of options for food outlets. Hotel was quiet and we enjoyed a good nights sleep throughout our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing on the whole.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff was very unhelpful, the room was poky, there were no tea and coffee making facilities and we think we were over charged.

    The breakfasts were good and the location was very central.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    Very handy for the menin gate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sent the hotel an email asking if we could cancel a couple of the 15 rooms due to some of our friends not being able to travel. The hotel did not even reply to me, very disappointed in this.

    Very handy for the menin gate

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    Is a good place for a night stay over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No banister on stairs, bit dated in decoration and no coffe making facilities in room.

    Location was great, good tv channels in room and easy check in and check out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    Ypres fabulous place to stay, but hotel a bit of a let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor breakfast selection ,not permitted to take any food or drink into rooms,also no tea or coffee making facilities . Some parts of room very dusty.

    Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    Central location but dirty rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were filthy, blood stained covers, holes in pillows and bedsheets, sent to bed from the bar at 10pm for "closing up"...

    Great location for the centre of Ypres.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Motorbike club run to the Eastern Front. Fantastic location great options for restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable.

    Very central location. Very helpful staff. Breakfast was fantastic. Great that we were able to park our motorbike undercover and indeed park off road in the centre of town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    For a comfortable bed and breakfast in a very good position, this was fine, but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In mid October, the heating was still not on, and there was no parking. We parked on a meter up to 4 hrs at a time, so we had to return to feed the meter although it was not necessary to move. There is free parking outside the town walls, but some 30 mins walk away. We preferred to pay at the meter. so about 9 euros a day.

    The room was clean if a little spartan. The continental breakfast was satisfactory, and within 100 meters of the market square in Ypres, ideal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Adequate hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was good rather than excellent. Very clean though and a good breakfast. Rather cold when we got there - heating only on for short periods and no rugs or carpet on a tiled floor. No heating in the bathroom at all. Would be very cold to walk on in the depths of winter. Very convenient location and parking easy to sort. If anything I would describe it as a `bit tired` and an impression of being run on a shoe string.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    Adequate ... however probably would not choose this Hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Felt the Hotel was dated and could do with upgrading ... especially for the price charged. We would also have liked the room to have had Tea and Coffee Making Facilities .... this is usually standard these days

    The Breakfast was good ...... as was the Location of the Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Great, would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase, as I did have a few older people, it that was due to the age of the building but the rooms are fine

    Close to the main square, this is why I booked the rooms, I would use the hotel again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.5
    The stay in Ypres was nice and Ypres is a beautiful place but should have picked a better hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lift so the access to the rooms was difficult, up one flight of marble stairs with no handrail and which was open to the dining room and my friend's up a second flight which was particularly steep which made for carrying heavyish luggage very difficult especially for the older person. Also the pillows were very hard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    A one night stop on a motorcycle tour. Great location and the accommodation is very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We travelled as a group and were to pay for our accommodation on a room by room basis. However, when we went to check out the manager had taken the fee for all rooms from the trip organisers card.

    Rooms and showers great, breakfast was excellent and checking out very efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    All clean comfortable very very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not one thing that we can complain about. Felt so spoilt.

    Excellent breakfast and breakfast room. So pleasant and so so much selection for breakfast. No complaints what so ever

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    Spacious room and good bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to hang towels in bathroom. Couldn't turn heating off in bedroom!

    Spacious room and good bathroom. Very convenient location with street parking outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Handy central location, handy for nearby bars and restaurants, and to explore the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safe parking in the garage of this city centre hotel. Our rooms were on ground level by the terrace, which is a bonus, and were clean fresh and totally adequate. Breakfast was continental, with plenty fresh produce. Most enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    4.6
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An Hotel stuck in the past . No modern communication, website or email. In fact no computer at the hotel at all. Phone and fax only. Not open until 4:00pm for check-in and so had to ask a nearby hotel who kindly allowed us to store our luggage from 11:00 am to 4:00pm. This Hotel should be a last resort. Vertical narrow staircase, miniscule room, tolerable but really??

    It was clean but little else

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    Adequate for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. Some of the lights didn't work. The towels were old but clean. The cafe machine at breakfast didn't work. The staff were efficient but not welcoming.

    The hotel was very convenient for the menin gate

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable and pleasant stay no hassles and friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I've said something cooked for breakfast would be better but no complaints with what they do.

    Hotel is fine and close to main square of Ypres continental breakfast good but would prefer something cooked

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    excellent and could have been longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, apart from the parking in Ypres, but them everyone travelling there know of the problems.

    lots of variety from which to choose. ample supply of all items.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    3.3
    Horrible place! Paid for 2 nights - left after 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on motorbikes - wet and tired - at 14:30. Not allowed to check in until 16:00. Made to feel very unwelcome. Had to change in the men's dirty toilet and leave our belongings in the hall way on the floor. Not willing to even store safely for us. Uncomfortable single beds pushed together but with a gap. Dirty over blaket. Tired decor with wardrobe door handle missing. Wifi weak and kept stopping. Bathtub most uninviting and took and age to fill. Towels really need to be resigned to the bin! Grumpy and unpleasant staff. We left after the first night having paid for 2! The sign on the wall in a passageway is indicative of the customer focus!

    The location is convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    Very basic 3star hotel excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room seemed clean but when on leaving checking under the bed it obviously hadn't been vacuumed for a very long time floors need a good scrub

    Wifi ,pressure on shower ,location,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Fab stay and highly recommended , the best we have had in Ypres .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side for me was there was no lift and the stairs were a bit of a problem as we were on the first floor, having said that we only booked the night before and Ypres was full because there was a parade going on that weekend so we were lucky to have had the last 2 rooms, there were other rooms on the ground floor and the owner was happy to have changed the room for me but I didn't like to put him to the trouble.

    We had a great stay at this hotel, the staff were really nice and the hotel was in the absolute best position, just a two minute walk from the main square, I have a mobility problem and we couldn't have been closer, inside the hotel was a surprise it was marble and chandeliers , we would absolutely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    4.6
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cigarette end under the bed Dirty pillow Fan taped to the ceiling over the bath Room wasn't ready until 5pm Complaint was shrugged off "it doesn't matter"

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Adequate for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On the advertising, 'free parking' was offered. What was omitted was that the 'free' parking was half a mile away! (Overnight 6pm -9am was free outside the hotel but you had to get in quick!) Bedside light had tin-foil wrapped around it (safety hazard?) and was not working on arrival. It was two days (with a reminder from me on both days) before it was fixed.

    Good breakfast options; croissants and pain au chocolat excellent; good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.4
    Poor value hotel despite good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited check in and out times and unwelcoming staff. Entry to hotel after 10pm by keypad to a bare reception ,corridor and unsafe staircase all in darkness. Rooms reasonable size but cheerless and the most basic of facilities. Only one power socket available, t.v. of no use to anyone not local and towels that though clean had seen better days. Beds hard but pillows unyieldingly so. No drink making facilities in room and warning not to eat or drink own refreshments. The horrible plastic mugs provided in bathroom and painfully slow flow of water from the cold tap confirmed an impression that everything was too much trouble except maximising profit for as little service and effort as possible. Parking is not nearby.

    Basic clean hotel in very convenient location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.5
    Overall very good
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot No tea/ coffee facilities in bedroom, or downstairs to use except breakfast time

    Bed lovely and comfy, lovely shower, very clean, breakfast very nice. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    3.8
    Ultra basic b+b type place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ultra basic, poor rooms with no natural light, decor , only 1 member of staff on and reception often unattended. Only facility is breakfast room with ultra basic buffet breakfast..check in 4pm and check our by 10.30am and no left luggage room (bags left in corridor) .definitely not 3* and more like a b+b. TV has no English channels. Very expensive as they whacked up prices to exploit passchendaele

    Location is the only plus

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    A great place to stay locationswise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It felt a bit more budget than I would have liked. They didn't empty bins every day, though they did change them. The TV channels were not great. No BBC. It was a little bit dingy and needed some TLC in terms of presentation: shelves were dusty, ornaments and flower arrangements were sometimes packed into tight spaces. The reception could sometimes smell from the nearby toilets.

    It was very convenient as a location and the staff were friendly and always helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.8
    Despite our comments we had a good wekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no drinks facilities in the room, there was no air conditioning other than window wide open day and night and we had to request a fan as this was not provided either. Our room would not be suitable for the elderly as the stairs were very steep and narrow.

    The hotel was ideally situated, a good continental breakfast no complaints there. The beds were comfy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Not the best 3 star but adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no kettle or tea available in our room. The towels were small and having used them, they were very wet and we expected them to be changed. However, the room was not made up during the day. As it was very warm we had the skylight open and the electric fan running, the noise of which made it difficult to sleep, without ear plugs. Free car parking was a 10 minute walk from the hotel, unless you paid for metered parking during the day.

    The location was excellent and very central. The bed was very comfortable, the croissants were moist, light and delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    A good place to stay in Ypres
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Air Conditioning. pillows in the room too thick and hard, gave me a stiff neck.

    Excellent breakfast, very convenient for the centre of Ypres. secure parking for motorcycles

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Worth noting that parking isn't free during the day and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worth noting that parking isn't free during the day and the hotel locks up at 2200, leaving clients with a combination to access the hotel Even so, it didn't detract from a very pleasant stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Ypres Salient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its an old hotel, very quaint. The room was small and relatively clean, but could be better. They provide soap for the bath, but there is no place to put it down,other than the floor when taking a shower. More attention to detail needed. Breakfast was fine, but a bit rationed. Overall, a good place for a night or 2.

    Location is easy walk to the town square and resturants. The town is very walkable, and this hotel is in a perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is only street parking on a meter next to the hotel, although it is free overnight until 10am. Otherwise you have to leave the car outside the town, about a 10 minute walk away.

    Right next to the main square with its restaurants and bars: very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    ok for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee making facility in room also 10am check out with no scope for late check out

    The manager was great. We were due to arrive at 10pm but the tunnel had problems but he waited for us to arrive at midnight.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: