Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Amaryllis 2 stars

Koning Albertlaan 44, 9990 Maldegem, Belgium

#5 of 8 hotels in Maldegem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 288 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking out of sight for motorbikes behind the hotel. Large clean room overlooking the rear car park. Very nice choice (continental) for breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is approximately 20 minutes from Bruge- in a great location. The staff were amazing- I didn't catch the name of the receptionist - but she and her colleague are great hosts. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was excellent. Our overall experience over a 3 day stay was amazing- we did not expect such high standard at a 2* hotel. The only downside was the price- overpriced at 520 euros - 2 rooms for 2 nights. We found that you can find rooms in decent hotels in Bruge for the same price- however it was Easter weekend and we broke last minute.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the hotel was virtually empty, we were put on the top floor - not handy for lugging luggage up all those stairs, especially at our age (!) Also the water pressure was very low, there was no shower screen around the bath and the entrance light to the room came on automatically when it detected someone walking by. This was annoying at night time when one of us had to visit the loo as it woke up the other person. The "feature" couldn't be switched off.

    Very convenient location for visiting Brugge (about 10 km) or Gent (rather further). Breakfast was quite standard for this type of establishment and there is a bar for an evening drink which is handy when one person has to drive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a slight issue with the water pressure. Nothing to really complain about - more of a suggestion of focus.

    Really nice and clean hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and the staff there were very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not actually walking distance to shops but we had bikes so it wasn't so much of an issue for us. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you're visiting Bruges unless you have a car or some form of transport as it's in a residential area about 12km outside of Bruges centre. However, the district is peaceful and picturesque, so no loss!

    For a 2 star hotel the standards here are more like 4 star. Attention to small details like bathroom cosmetics, a hairdryer, bottled water etc. The bathroom was amazing - I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere with such a nice bathroom - everything working perfectly and spotlessly clean. The staff are super polite and nice. We went with bikes and they let us keep them in their bike shed. The room was attractive, extremely clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room

    2 minutes from highway Excellent beds with extra pillows Clean bathroom with toiletry included (toothbrush, facial cloth, shoe polish) Delicious breakfast Good parking Very friendly owners

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is not great, in the middle of nowhere, but if you are on a road trip (as we were) it's just great (and has free parking!). Ah, and make sure if you are arriving late you let them know!

    Rooms were really comfy and cozy. The staff was really nice and helpful. Great value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar available and no resteraunt despite making no reference to this on the Web site or when we made the booking. This was the real negative point of the stay.

    The hotel was very nice, clean and welcoming. Comfy beds,nice bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could do with a fan as it was very stuffy. Also, don't provide external smoking facilities near to rooms - smoke smell was unpleasant and so was the noise the smokers made very late at night.

    Good sized room. Wifi doesn't really work but connection via cable was excellent. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming Host! Lovely clean Room and amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks machine Quality of tea

    Good as stop over hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They treated me perfectly, very kind and everything is perfect. Many details throughout the hotel, with great taste and delicacy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing negative about our stay.

    Nice hotel, easy to find and small enough to care, just under 10 km of Brugge but really eay drive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent facilities, Great customer service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra facilities (toothbrush, paste, facial cloths, female sanitary products) also the owners are extremely friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator But the owner called me About it and sold the problem

    Comfortabel bed clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ....

    Very Friendly staff... Very clean... Fantastic small Family run hotel...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi, tv screen (prefer bigger screen)

    Private parking, hospitality, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Great little family hotel. Quiet surroundings. We had a view to the garden. Helpful and nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    now 25% more expensive than all the years before.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, friendly and Tastefully decorated. In a good location between brugge, antwerpen and gent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit simple

    Very clean and nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would be better to have a double duvet and not two single ones (for a double bed). No conditioner in the courtesy kit. The variety of the breakfast could be improved (e.g. more fresh fruit, natural yogurt)

    Nice large room. Friendly staff. Convenient location to visit Bruges and the coast. Large (but mostly savoury) breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    As the hotel is very small, there is no restaurant facilities so nowhere to eat if you arrive late in the evening as I did. Also, I had to rush there as they do not allow check in after 10pm, which is just unfeasible for a lot of business travelers.

    A sweet little hotel that is perfect for a nights stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners, the Ryckaert family, were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is very clean and the room we stayed in was a good size, with table and chairs, wardrobe and a good sized en suite. There was also a mosquito screen over one of the windows which was very useful to let air in but keep insects out (everywhere in Bruges should offer this). It may be a few miles out of Bruges, but it was a great base for cycling to Bruges, Sluis and even Ghent. Lots of information was available about the local area. Although near a main road, rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is not really a bad experience and I knew about it when I booked the room, but it is worth mentioning that the hotel bar closes at 8 pm and there are no restaurants or bars nearby; yet the hotel has a list of places that could be reached by car or you could drink your own beer in the hotel's yard.

    The hotel is very close to Bruges, the rooms are big, they have bathroom with bathtub, breakfast was good (though some veggies would have been nice to have) and the owners are very reactive, nice and helpful with info.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although wifi worked, signal was relatively weak in our room. Breakfast was good, but the coffee not so much.

    Extremely friendly staff, very clean and comfy rooms, and a good location near Brugge.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi did not reach my room. Breakfest is really weak. Shower was hot but could be hotter.

    Brand new rooms. Very clean. Cool staff!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems.

    Staff charming and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast very good. Owner friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was a bit cold at night

    it was a very nice small hotel we would stay again

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Hotel Amaryllis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: