Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ambassadeur 3 stars

Wapenplein 8a, Oostende Centre, 8400 Ostend, Belgium

#30 of 34 hotels in Ostend

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 396 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One big bed is two single beds put together which kept falling apart the whole night, dust in many places, and cleaning should be given more attention, lights are too dark, even 2 Ikea lamps didn't save the situation, the towels had very(!) weird smell.

    Little later check-in than stated in the booking.com (though a call was needed) was a plus, spacious room and bathroom, quiet rooms and elevator to the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't very clean. At 8am on a Sunday morning, we were woken up first by someone entering our room without knocking and second by drilling and hammering in the room above us. Apparently there was a water leak somewhere so I understand that work was necessary. But not on a Sundaymorning at 8am, without any notice upfront.

    Very dog friendly, not at all a problem to bring our dog with us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it. Booking.com booked parking, charged for it, none when we arrived. Staff did not want to be there. Rooms damp and unkempt. But clean. Towels not clean. Fag butts outside window, we do not smoke, been there for a long time. Beds very soft. They could not care less.

    Close to where we needed to be

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for money. Hotel a bit run down, the elevator is a major safety hazard. Entry is through the restaurant so awkward when there is a queue. Room not very clean (we found someone's leftover McDonald's...) and beds so soft you sunk right in. I wouldn't stay here again.

    Close to the beach. Hotel looks over a big main square.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a three-star hotel, more like a two-star. The room was dark and very bare with no decoration. It looked out on a fire escape and a dreary yard. No extra facilities in the room. There was no telephone and no wake-up service. Reception lent me an alarm clock which didn't work so I could have missed my train. Often there was no one at reception.

    The location is central and the room, at the back of the hotel, was quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit cold in our room. We put on the heating but it only got a little bit warmer. You can't really choose your own room temperature. But that was not such a big drama. It was not freezing cold either... The temperature was ideal to sleep in, but if you wanne hang out in your room it would be nice to have the room slightly a bit warmer. There are not that many good working channels on tv. I would prefer to have a little bit more choice. When you enter the hotel, the front desk looks really messy and not very hotel like... Or inviting. You think 'oh no where did I end up' but the staff is friendly and the rooms are descent. So no need to worry! There is no mini bar or fridge in the room, that would have been nice. You only get one card to enter your hotelroom, it's easier when you get two. Our room was more a small room (which I didn't mind), but because you can't really move the beds around I did notice that it was dusty under the beds and around the bed... That is something the hotel keepers need to take a look at. It didn't bother me that much, but it should have been taken care of...

    The rooms are renovated. It's quiet, no noise. You have everything you need (tv, wifi, spacious bathroom, storage space, a little desk, warm water, soap, hairdryer...)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a couple of "stalls" in the lift. But we were never stranded in it.

    Large room, with soft mattresses on the beds. For me personally, I don't like soft beds. But my wife thought it was fine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the elevator , was broken down , and a couple of times just stop while going up, they need to fix that.

    we were able to get a room in a very busy time , every thing went smooth , the room was pretty clean , the view was amazing right on the main place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location,right in the heart of Ostend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator kept gurgling all night.

    Bathroom was large and shower good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Unfortunately the restaurant is closed on a Wednesday the day we stayed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was impossible to get inside even when we informed about the late arrival

    Price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed

    new beds clean but very very soft and no back support

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awfull. Old and soft matras

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    have stayed at this hotel 3 times now love it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive

    Location is perfect right in the square lots of shops cafes restaurants pubs. Near to beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower cabin was broken The bathroom door did not close The room was dark Service was hard to get up

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff, facilities in the room, too expensive

    Location

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Convenient location. Free wifi. Good size bathroom.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Browse Hotel Ambassadeur traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: