Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ambrosia 2 stars

D'Hondtstraat 54, 8900 Ypres, Belgium

#4 of 14 hotels in Ypres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 680 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    A good nights sleep and a very good ,included, breakfast,in a hotel near to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was at the top of the building and an offer of help with our bags would have been gratefully received.

    I like the fact that the breakfast was included and not only that there was the offer of a freshly made English breakfast if wanted.The Hotel was in a very handy spot. The Owners were welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Great value Wonderful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much only minor things: curtain let too much light in in the morning. Steep narrow stairs. Sl. musty smell in top room

    Nice friendly welcome. Great position near main square & Menin Gate. Good size room with nice bathroom. TV had many English channels. Breakfast was amazing with SO much variety & lovely lady (Pebbles) who was so friendly & efficient. She is a gem! They even had Vegemite - enough to make an Aussie’s heart glad! Great value & would highly recommend this neat little hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, lovely friendly proprietor Vincent and...
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there is one thing that I would seek to improve it would be to have a double duvet on the bed as opposed to two singles. Two single beds pushed together are never as comfortable as a double ... I would recommend the double bed room if it is available

    Excellent location, lovely friendly proprietor Vincent and his staff. This family run business is very well run and all amenities on hand. Room and linen lovely and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The owners were very friendly and gave us useful information...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only down side was our room which was up two flights of stairs, however the owner insisted on carrying our case up to the room.

    The owners were very friendly and gave us useful information and the girl who made the breakfast was very pleasant and the breakfast was lovely. The location was perfect as we could park the car and walk to all the amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    One to remember for future visits to the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really,being picky the shower room was small,however not much you can do about that.

    Comfy beds,great location,friendly efficient staff,lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Super location with lots going on in the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access for dropping off luggage etc.

    Excellent choice for continental breakfast. (Cooked breakfasts were available). Food in restaurant was also excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    The Ambrosia hotel is ideally situated for easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Ambrosia hotel is ideally situated for easy access to the centre of Ypres, and a great base for touring ...staff were spot on and very helpful & knowledgeable of the local area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Second visit and enjoyed both of them
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is in a side street very close to the main square in Ypres with its famous Cloth Hall, and the Menin Gate Memorial, both just a few minutes walk. The hotel has friendly and helpful staff who all speak good english. Breakfast was good, with a good selection which would suit most taste. The local shops and restaurants are all close to hand and most are within the market square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Overall our stay was very good & would certainly stay here again
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    myself & both friends only had good things to say about our stay,

    friendly prompt service,Vincent very helpful nothing too much trouble, excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Reasonable size room for a single, comfortable bed, UK...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable size room for a single, comfortable bed, UK television, friendly and helpful staff, freshly cooked breakfast; all at a reasonable price. Short walk to square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little noisy with cars outside going over the cobblestones.

    Staff very friendly. Location was excellent in relation to town square and Menin Gate and there were paid meters for parking. Breakfast was excellent - fresh bacon and eggs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Centrally located with friendly hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been lovely to have a kettle in the room to make a coffee or tea rather than head downstairs to the coffee machine in the foyer. Otherwise our stay was perfect thanks.

    The bedroom was quiet and roomy with a good-sizes ensuite. Breakfast in the breakfast room was ample with a good range of food and drink. The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    A friendly and central base for visiting Ypres and Belgian Flanders
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The twin room was a little small. Parking could be a bit tricky with no parking specifically for the hotel. Parking was on street and there are odd times for free and paid parking.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful with eggs made just the way you like them. The hotel is well placed near the centre of town and only a short walk from the Cloth Hall and Menin Gate. The room was clean as were the amenities. A nice base for visiting Ypres and the WW1 sites of Flanders.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic fantastic and fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property was in a fantastic location close to all amenities very clean and well maintained. The breakfast was excellent I would definitely stay at the Ambrosia again. Many thanks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs to reach room, could be an issue for the less sprightly- to be fair the owner carried the bag of our least mobile friend up the stairs!

    Welcoming throughout, very comfortable and great location.Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    An excellent place to stay to enjoy Ypres and the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None of these were big issues but worth noting for other travellers. - Room size ok, bathroom was only small. - No coffee making facilities in room but there was coffee facilities in the foyer. - No bar fridge (although doesn't seem to be a common thing in Europe anyway). - Stairs only to room so make sure bags not too big to carry, although staff were happy to help.

    Room was comfortable - not huge but more than acceptable for what we required. Great breakfast (bacon and eggs available - not just basic continental) Great location close to the market square but far enough so away so as to not get too much noise Most importantly, excellent staff. Would easily recommend this to friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    It was everything we Wanted in a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I would change x

    The owners were so helpful and very friendly x pebbles was very cheerful serving breakfast x it was a very homely stay x

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    A very welcoming and comfortabel place to stay in Ypres and we look forward to our next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good for us.

    A very comfortable and well-run hotel, with very helpful and friendly owners and staff and located in a very convenient position for exploring the city. We look forward to staying there each time we go. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    200m from grote markt, quiet in the evening, breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no tv in room , room small but just enough room for gear i had with me

    200m from grote markt, quiet in the evening, breakfast was good, vincent friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in the centre of Ieper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine although parking is at a premium on the street. Paid parking during the day but free in evening and on Sunday.

    Great hotel in the centre of Ieper. Close to everything. Vincent was a great host who provided directions and other helpful hints. Wonderful breakfast with lots of choice. Definitely recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Poignant visit to Ypres
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A tad lacking in character. Who needs character?

    Fresh clean, central hotel in Ypres. Staff friendly and helpful. Room well appointed clean and comfortable. Great cooked breakfast. Everything on the doorstep. Secure bike storage in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The man on reception was very helpful and polite. I had the misfortune of having a car crash on the way to the hotel, and I only just managed to get the car driven to the location. Nothing was too much trouble for him, he rang garages, came to help inspect the car and was very understanding of our situation. Throughout our stay he was always ready and willing to help out with any queries or requirements we had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, very convenient location, lovely staff and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the pillows could be more comfy. No single rooms on ground floor so our disabled son have a hard climb up the stairs. Staff very helpful in trying to overcome that problem

    Breakfast was excellent and everything very fresh. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location at a reasonable price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs but they we’re manageable.

    Hotel is located a block from Hall of Cloth and the market square there. They recommended the Kline Stadhuis(?) restaurant next the the Hall, real good dinner of Flemish stew.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Easter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no problems but very tight steep staircase, so if you have any one who will have an issue with this, ask for ground floor room .

    Small and compact, good parking , and close to every thing in the city. Very nice family run property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location easy walking distance to shops and bars , Hotel very clean and Staff very friendly Breakfast was excellent.. We had the perfect weekend Thank You

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Had the best time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Outstanding hosts....fab u lous breakfasts.....hotel just as described...brill location....would definitely re book..made our first visit to Ypres so memorable x

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Very welcoming owners & lovely breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred to have tea/coffee facilities in room

    Very welcoming owners & lovely breakfast. Very good location, close to main square but far enough away to be quiet. It's an old building so creaky floorboards etc but that's to be expected & overall the ooms were very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    I could not find any faults with the hotel or the lovely family that run it: Vincent and Iwona
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike. It was perfect!

    Very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great, and there was no reason to start the day off hungry. The best thing about the hotel was the family and staff that greeted one very morning with a nice smile and a "Good Morning". I felt quite welcome there. The personal touch is always the best.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would love it if France offered more for vegans (generally poor wherever we went). Some soya milk would have been great.

    The room was immaculately clean, lovely breakfast made to order, kitchen in view and again immaculate. Shoe cleaning cloths in the room and a polisher in the foyer. The staff were very friendly. Wonderful stay thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    A great hotel for central Ypres,/
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bottles of water in room A kettle to make your own hot drinks

    Great location for central Ypres and the Menin Gate Small hotel with the personal touch Very helpful staff Good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Lovely place we had the family room children age 13 and 20.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely place we had the family room children age 13 and 20. Which for plenty large enough. the owner was lovely and very helpful. I would recommend this to anybody visiting yreps

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really friendly staff, very clean quirky place, really nice comfortable room and excellant position for visiting Menin Gate and main square-cant recommend this place highly enough!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Very happy with Hotel Ambrosia; would stay & again & recommened to other.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked it all.

    Absolutely nothing to dislike. Lovely, friendly, helpful staff. Room clean & comfy. Breakfast delicious including freshly cooked bacon & eggs. Great location - a very short walk to the main square & Menin gate. Ieper is a beautiful town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, comfortable hotel in an excellent position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of a view from our room....this didn’t really bother us too much!!Lovely comfortable

    The staff were very helpful and friendly.Rooms were cleaned each day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly staff and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of liked coffee and tea making facilities in the room.

    The location and convenient on street parking. Friend and very helpful owner and staff, nothing too much trouble!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Very nice, and only small constructive criticism needed. We will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room would have been nice, although there was a drinks machine with an honesty box in the reception area. There was nowhere to put the shower gel inside the shower cubicle.

    The rooms were basic, but very clean and the beds comfortable and the staff were very friendly and efficient. Freshly cooked bacon and eggs for breakfast along with a large selection of cold choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Centrally located small clean warm friendly loved our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit small if you force me to pick something but this is a town centre hotel.

    Beds really comfortable. Showers piping hot and powerfull. Staff really friendly and helpful. Location central to everthing in ypres. And finally the belgium people really open friendly with a good sense of humour

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Would stay here again and recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To park nearby it was on street parking (although I did know), which you had to pay one euro per hour during day. No tea and coffee facilities in room although you could get in reception area and leave money in a "honesty" box

    Central location. Friendliness of staff and knowledge of area. Choice of cooked or continental breakfast. Cleanliness. Warm and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous and interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in the room

    The staff were so friendly and helpful and all the guests were respectful and quiet! The location was awesome for everything we needed and wanted to see and a choice of hot and cold breakfast as well, not just the expected continental breakfast. Well worth a visit and we will definitely be going back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Perfect location, perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Check out was a bit hectic as the staff that was helping was a bit in a hurry. Stil after that she was very kind and also the owners

    Its a lovely place to stay as being family owned and administered they go the extra mille to make you feek better. Helpful in all possible ways and also a very nice and clean hotel. Totally recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Perfect - enjoyed visit and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location - minutes walk to Main Square, Menin Gate, Museum, restaurants. Lovely little hotel with excellent breakfast and all you need. Lovely owner/manager who was really helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints.

    Comfortable, friendly, clean. An excellent breakfast. Good town centre location. Lots of helpful information. Would certainly use this hotel again and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Ambrosia 10\10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vincent was very welcoming and informative, clean fuss free accommodation, well placed at just 150m from ypres town square. Would. Highly recommended A1

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    It was recommended to me by someone who is returning to it and I've already recommended it to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nunc

    Hotel ambrosia just off the centrum in ieper. We were able to park on the road nearby and the gaffer, a really nice bloke, loaned us (5 x euro deposit) a 3H parking “blue disc” which was rectangular. 3H was just enough because that took us to 18:00 and it was free then until 09:00 next morning and we left @ 08:00. We had a 3 x person room which was 1 x dble & 2 x singles, very clean and mattresses were really comfy. With three beds there was sufficient room to move around but you couldn’t have had a dance in there. En suite was good but no bath… …who baths these days? Reception and small lounge were together with free coffee if you wanted it and a coke can type drinks machine which had beer as well as soft drinks, very smart, B’fast inclusive in a small but smart dining area. B’fast was choice of juices, choice of cereal, gaffer cooked, per person, 2 x eggs, 2 x rashers of bacon & 2 x small squares of toast, good coffee with refill if you wanted it, usual continental stuff as well, garlic sausage, sliced cheese, small packs of boursin et c. croissants and muffins. I’d definitely use it again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, excellent host, it really made our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My friend is very tall so the rooms at the top of the hotel have low beams which he managed to find in the middle of the night.

    Vincent was so helpful when we arrived, pointing out the free parking and making us feel very welcome. Breakfast was excellent, the cooked, very tasty and plenty of continental choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    friendly staff..excellent location. great value. highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly staff. excellent breakfast. 2 minute walk to town centre. we arrived late but excellent communication from hotel about entry procedure. very comfortable clean rooms. we really recommend this hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    A lovely stay in a beautiful Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was on-street, but that’s not the Hotel’s fault. We arrived on Saturday afternoon, and it cost €3 until Monday morning, but during the week it is more expensive.

    Comfortable bed, the location was superb for our needs. A very pretty Town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Very recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room my wife and I had (no. 21) was small as was the en suite shower room, but for the single night we stayed at the hotel, this was not a problem. Our two adult children were in separate single rooms and they were very happy with their accommodation.

    The hotel was well located near the centre of Ieper. The staff were very good and everything was very clean and well kept. Breakfast (both continental and cooked available) was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    GREAT HOTEL - GREAT LOCATION - GREAT STAFF - YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs after Belgian Beers!! Seriously, not a lot to moan about, in fact nothing!!

    Great location, close to centre and everywhere you need to be in Ypres. Staff were fantastic, very helpful and pleasant. This is a well run family hotel where you are made to feel very welcome. Parking is not a problem, if the street is full there is a car park very close by. Breakfast is plentiful. Very impressed and would certainly go back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Central , lovely , warm ( much appreciated on a bitterly cold stay). Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room although it was lovely was on the ground floor and you could hear things in reception! The other negative is they would rather you book through their website and not booking.com & made us feel quite uncomfortable at first. Because they lose 15%. & you don’t qualify for any discount vouchers for museums using booking.com but that wasn’t a problem it might be if you were a large party.

    Accommodation was lovely, bed really comfy. Ideally situated easy walking distance to Menin gate and bars and restaurants in easy reach but not too near to disturb you at night. Breakfast was very tasty and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Breakfast is excellent. They will freshly cook you a breakfast and there is a good selection of meats and cheeses. The rooms are very clean. Vincent and Peebles are very friendly and welcoming The Hotel is well within walking disatance of the Train station and it is only 10 minites to the Menin Gate which is a must see in Ieper.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Really pleasant stay in a town I really love.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have no complaints except perhaps a bottle of water could be provided in the room.

    Central to the town and close to all amenities. It was great for my double stop over. The owners and staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The room was ideal and breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    A good choice,would stay again but maybe in a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in a single room which was fine except for the small sink in the bathroom over which was a shelf making it almost impossible to wash my face in the usual way.Parking can be a problem but we found a spot close by.

    Very friendly helpful staff, nice ambiance lovely breakfast.Quiet and spotless.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable, and we were well recieved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good central location, but we were lucky with on-street parking, might not be so easy in high season. There is apparently free parking a short walk away but we did not investigate.

    Hotel was nicely heated on a very cold night. The room itself was spacious but the shower was rather small, but not unreasonably so. The cooked breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money- Many thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - perfect at what it is and what it provides.

    Excellent value for money. A Really good breakfast Very pleasant staff and an excellent location Perfect for a day or two visit to Ypres

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    A lovely stay at real gem with friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything!

    Very friendly and helpful at reception with suggestions for things to see and do as well as general information about the area. Graciously accommodated early check-in. Lovely relaxing modern decor incorporating the beautiful poppies of Flanders Fields very tastefully. Cozy breakfast room with a buffet augmented with cooked-to-order eggs and bacon at the side. Convenient location about a block from the main square. Very charming and highly recommended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Excellent property and staff that helped make our stay memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    major complaint-we only got to spend one night!!!

    Super location. Helpful friendly staff. Large comfortable rooms. Lots of towels and good powerful shower.Good breakfast. Parking is on-street but plenty of places after regular shopping hours have ended. Will return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Great friendly small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing have stayed there a number of times and will always book if visiting Ieper

    Stayed several times with friends as a base for WW1 tour. It's a great spot -basic clean and comfortable rooms, really pleasant friendly staff (just three of them) a brilliant cooked breakfast and just off The Grote Markt so everywhere is a short walk Easy on street parking places available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Cosy bed & breakfast in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome. Lots of information provided on the local area. Clean room and comfortable bed. Brilliant breakfast with fruit, cereal plus bacon and eggs. Cafes, bars and restaurants within 5 minutes. Menin Gate also a 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    We had a really lovely 3 day break there, and the weather was excellent as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Everything really, the service at the Menin Gate was wonderful, very moving and emotional. The Museum at Passendale was very interesting, and the Memorial is beautifully done. The Clothhouse in the town is also excellent, and tells the story of the battles very well. It is very difficult to appreciate that the town was completely destroyed, but not captured, and was then totally rebuilt after the war, what an achievement! Iper is a lovely town, and the people are very welcoming. We liked the fact particularly that there are only independent shops and restaurants there, such a change from the UK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Hotel Ambrosia is the place to stay in Ypres.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever.

    Staff, location, breakfast & facilities. Vincent, Ywona and Pebbles are all most obliging, efficient and helpful in managing this small, well-run hotel in Ypres.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely old hotel within walking distance of everything but parking is a pain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only free parking was about a kilometre away and the paid parking hard to get. I was under the impression that there was some parking available, but I was obviously misinformed

    Each morning the staff cheerfully cooked bacon and eggs to order. Perfectly placed to walk anywhere in the old town and close to Menin Gate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    excellent choice for a short stay in Ypres
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unavoidable in a building of that age and type but the stairs to my room I didn't like.

    Friendly knowledgeable owner. Excellent location. Clean. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Nice little Hotel, clean rooms with comfy beds, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice little Hotel, clean rooms with comfy beds, lovely breakfast and great staff, especially Pebbles who is a very friendly and lovely young lady and a very hard worker. Great location to Ypres town centre, Menin Gate (where the Last Post is played each night) and the war memorials, cementaries & museums in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great value for money so in that respect nothing could have been better. There was nothing not to like.

    Location to the centre of Ypres was excellent (2 minute walk) yet it was also very quiet. Friendliness of owners and staff with lots of advice given on where to go and what to see.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Another fantastic stay.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    The Ambrosia is always the first hotel I try to book when I stay in Ypres. Always a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and fantastic bacon and eggs in the morning before hitting the road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location and easy access,the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic,no draws to put clothes in and not enough clothes hangers.

    We had a ground floor room,so no stairs. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Location good but noisy neighbours
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got woken up in middle of night by party in courtyard behind hotel very disturbed night. Would stop me booking this hotel again unless I could guarantee a quiet room.

    Location convenient for market and men in gate. Parking good. Nice selection for breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    To keep it short, I will be in area in a few months and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a coffee in room, I did not ask or look to see if I could have got a coffee downstairs .

    The breakfast was good value and offered a choice. I intend to visit area in few months would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Great little hotel, would recommend for a short visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower room was a bit cramped

    Very friendly and helpful staff, advised about car parking (on the street outside was best option) and suggested good restaurants and bars. Our room was basic but very comfortable, and there is a lounge area at the reception where you can have tea/coffee. Breakfast was really nice, with cooked options available. Good location, very near the central square and Menin Gate in Ypres.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Room didn't live up to the expectation set by a brilliant location, friendly staff and fab breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a shame but the room could really have done with a make-over. One of the lights on the wall didn't work, and the beds were only just comfortable. The furniture was dowdy and old-fashioned.

    Fabulous location and very friendly welcome by Yvonne. The breakfast was amazing with a lovely cook who was friendly and full of fun. English was spoken and easy to understand and of 8 different locations we stayed at during our week of cycling, this hotel was one of only 2 to offer us a cooked breakfast which when you face a day ahead of cycling many miles this was most welcome! We were also able to leave the bikes in a locked room securely overnight.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Perfect location for exploring the town and beyond.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Warm and friendly reception - answered all my queries with courtesy - free map always available to direct us around Ypres and surrounding countryside . . . loved the warm family continental atmosphere and the fact that it was not a hotel chain and that you knew that you were in Belgium - a few minutes walk from the town square and the Menin Gate and the ramparts. The breakfasts were brilliant, served in a cheerfully bright room with friendly staff - beds were very comfortable. Able to park freely outside the hotel overnight with free parking nearby during the daytime. Thought it all quite brilliant and perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel, fabulous breakfast, with a short walk to the town. Delightful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    absolutely nothing.

    The staff were so welcoming and helpful, the breakfast was great and cooked to order. There was plenty of great advice and recommendations and bikes to hire. It was the prefect place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location,ideal for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. The bedrooms are a bit small and the facilities are extremely limited but we really only wanted a bed for the night and the bed was comfortable.

    Hotel staff were very friendly and the location was excellent. Car parking was easy to find on the street just outside the hotel. The breakfast was first class.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: