Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B An Officers House

Carmersstraat 122, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#113 of 148 B&Bs and Inns in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 196 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room - the marionette room! - and Marie-Christine was an excellent hostess. Great breakfast, everything really comfortable. Shower was great too. Very nice place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing everything was great!

    Location is great pretty close to the city center. The owner Marie-Christine is an awesome person, always ready to make you feel at home. Breakfast is great, with the chocolate fountain! I will be back for sure!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably should have double bed or easier way to join the twin bed into a double bed.

    Room and breakfast were quite good. The bathroom was great as well. Overall great experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay by cash. This was not made clear before we arrived and resulted in us having to find a cash machine and pay £10 to withdraw money. I was not impressed as for an amount of money of over €75 I think a place should take card.

    Very warm, comfortable, cosy, quiet place about 10 mins walk from Market square. The landlady was polite and made us feel very welcome. You can have chocolate fondue for breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we really can't find any faults

    The property was curious, quaint and comfortable. The landlady couldn't have done more to help us feel welcome. Our room was warm, comfortable and had everything we needed, including a mini bar, a gigantic on-suite bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits and chocolate

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to rent the parking space. Advantageous not to pay the parking meter

    The breakfast was excellent and substantial. The room was clean and the personal very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice quiet location; even the church bells from the monastery opposite were discreet! Great bar/restaurant at the end of the street. Longish walk into the city centre but a pleasant one.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very special and very nice. You do not feel like you are staying in a hotel but in a comfy, homey place. It even has a small garden behind the house where you can enjoy a quiet coffee in the morning. Breakfast is very nice. You have (in my opinion) everything you might want : yogurt, cereal, cheeses, ham, sweets, eggs etc. Perfect breakfast!! The owner was supportive to our request and always very nice. When you first arrive it seems a bit far but it is actually not. It's about 15 minutes from the city center on foot and it gets even better when you get to know the shortcuts. I would definetely recommend this location for people that look for a nice, clean place close to the city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds in both rooms were a little soft.

    We enjoyed the warmest of welcomes in this delightful family run B&B located inside the city walls in Bruges. There are two en-suite guest rooms. Ours was a good-sized double; well equipped, with tea/coffee making facilities and wifi. Our friends' room was a little smaller. Breakfast was just outstanding in terms of the range and quality of food choices - there was even a chocolate fountain! The owner was charming, very attentive to our needs and offered good advice on parking & sightseeing. We enjoyed our stay very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking may be an issue for some although a garage is available at extra cost.

    Property is in an excellent location, just a short walk into the city. Very friendly owner, serving an absolutely fab breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our claim will be only for booking.com-we never use B&B before and had no idea that it is not possible to pay by card and the were no information in booking .com for me about it,so we had to go to the Bank and withdraw cash with tax

    Very cosy and special atmosphere in the House.We coul even heard the bell from English church from the opposite site of street.The Breakfast was really different and wounderful.We had even fondue every morning and were eating among Christmas decoration small houses with illuminations,Santa and others moving figures.Beds are comfortable,the were also small fridge in the room ,coffee,tea and chockolate.Owner was very attantive to us and every day gave recomendation what else we can to see.Thank you very much! I'll never forget the New Year in Brugge and deffinately recommended this Guest House!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little things only. The location was not as central as we were led to believe. It took us 15 minutes to walk into the centre. We have no mobility issues but Booking.Com describes this hotel as being in the "old centre" which is not entirely accurate. The TV only had the basic channels. A Freeview equivalent and/or satellite service would have been useful. For instance, we got no news channels in English. We also did not like the toiletries in the sachets as they were fiddly to open. We felt that we did not get value for money bearing in mind what we paid for the room. However, we are aware that Bruges is an expensive city and that Christmas markets were open!

    We liked the fact that there was a kettle in the room with some tea bags, coffee and soup. There was even a piece of chocolate for us! The breakfast was good with lovely fruit salad. The room and bathroom were clean. There was a working fridge. The Owner, Marie Christine is also very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    An Officers House is a lovely place to stay. The room was comfortable, clean and had a good sized en-suite bathroom. I also found that the figurines (although a little odd) were a nice touch. The property is roughly 15 minutes walk from the main square and is in a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle. The host made us feel very welcome and I believe this to be the first time i've ever seen a chocolate fountain on a breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower is rather old one, as a hairdryer also. Motor in toilette produces shout sounds after each flushing. But all of this just minor remarks, nothing serious.

    Located in a very quite place, but easy to get to the center by foot. Feel like at home - owners are very friendly and careful. Breakfast is great (even a chocolate fountain there!). According to average prices in a Brugge - great price! )

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely host. Very comfy beds. Very clean. Great breakfast. Very helpful. Marie-Christine let us book in early and on day of departure let us leave our cases until the afternoon which made it a lot easier. The location is a little bit out of the centre of Bruge but well worth the walk as the little side streets are so pretty. Very comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, walkable to the town center. Fantastic breakfast with fried egg, homemade jam, and a chocolate fountain with fruit. Friendly and helpful landlady. Private one car garage for an extra fee.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not a fan of trolls so the troll deco wasn't my thing.

    The owner is lovely. Kind and very accomodating. Speaks a few languages. Great breakfast! Lacked nothing. Hotel amenities at someone's home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far from the city centre (Belfry), around 15-20 minut on foot.

    Breakfast with fresh fruit and chocolate fountain, historical building, nice view from the room, distinct design of the room, hospitality of the host.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A place with a lot of charm and welcoming hosts! Big comfortable room, clean and spacious bathroom. I was familiar with Bruges but the hostess was ready to give me advice, maps were also available. The breakfast was outstanding, even a little chocolate fountain was waiting for us!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in a great area and the owner was very kind and prepared a wonderful breakfast with plenty of choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The lady who runs it could not do enough for us to make our stay most enjoyable...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic breakfast. Causy atmosphere. 10 minutes away from center (on foot). The owners were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The correspondence of staff was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighter wall decor at stairs would be good

    Welcoming, friendly, comfortable, secure parking a short walk after dropping off luggage at front of house.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing and very cozy room! And very hospitable host!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent and the owner was very friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    - Marie Christine is a great host. - Walking distance to everything. - Parking on street is available.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Silly decorations in room.

    Lovely breakfast and host.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was very comfortable,bathroom very clean and the breakfast was excellent! Everyone was very kind and the place is very quiet,perfect to relax.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room, nice window view of quaint roofs and greenery, awesome breakfast, close to wimdmills.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not be better

    Super friendly host warm welcome

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not connect to the wi-fi. Not a big issue because we were only there for a night

    Breakfast was wonderful. Host very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and comfortable with lots of tourist information leaflets and maps

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A wonderful place where the atmosphere is extraordinary and pleasant. Our room was on the second floor and was facing the street. The entrance, the staircase, the dinning room, our room itself was nicely decorated. The house is a hundred if not more years old, but very well maintained. I would highly recommend not to miss the breakfast. there was almost everything, even Belgium chocolate, which is superb!

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely traditional house. Very cosy and warm. Very friendly owner who gave us lots of good advice about what to see/where to go and also what to avoid. Absolutely fantastic breakfast! Amazing choice and delicious! About 15 minute easy walk into the centre of town. You can park on the street outside the B&B but make sure you observe the signs which mark the areas nearby where you can't park (due to narrow parts of the road). The owner will give you a permit to display in your windscreen.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the owner of the hotel was really nice and kind to leave some brochures and a map of Brugge. the room was big enough and really clean. beds were comfortable. but the breakfast was the best of all. it was unexpectedly extensive including homemade jams and chocolate falls. we will definitely stay there next time.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Delicious breakfast, especially the home made jam. The atmosphere reminded me of my granny's house.Unique style and the Lady who met us was really nice and helpful. Love every minute there.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    BnB has great location. Just near the center but not on a busy street. It's really calm and beautiful place to live. And it's really old and nice building. Breakfast was magnificent. Homemade jam is outstanding! I will highly recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner was very friendly and helpful. She made all the things by herself, like the breakfast, the decoration, etc. Good location, within walking distance to the city center. Everything was great. Breakfast was the best in the whole trip. The room was very big and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a major negative but we found the B&B a bit hard to find as the streets all look quite similar. Became pretty difficult after a load of pints. But no negative against the B&B, just have your directions worked out

    Wonderful hotel, the landlady was very friendly and welcoming. Would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The hostess is the crucial element in the success of this B& B, Marie Christine is superb in this role Two units, quiet, within walking distance to everything. Parking on street is available and MC will watch your timer for you. A return visit just as wonderful as the previous.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A great place to stay within 15 mins walk from the centre of Bruges. Very clean and comfortable and an amazing breakfast. The landlady was helpful and gave us ideas of places to visit and sorted out parking permits for on-street parking.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I can't find fault with the place.

    Great place, the owner was a gentleman. The location is very good and really quiet. It's very much a homely setting, with lots of personal touches. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    İt is not as pretty as it is advertised.the bed was too soft

    Accomodating house owner made the things easy

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    15 mins walk to city centre. Noisy rooms. No credit card accepted we paid cash. They could inform before.

    Breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Charming B&B with character. Fantastic breakfast with chocolate fountain!

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Clean, comfortable, good food, very pleasant lady host.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - nice, spacious room and bathroom - kind host

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfy and clean

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    amazing place, warm and welcoming. amazing breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner made sure we were well looked after. Very friendly and accommodating lady.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Delightful B & B with wonderful hostess. Close to everything and with street parking.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great location lovely breakfast and a wonderful host

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location, excellent attention

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: