Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Anselmus Hotel 3 stars

Riddersstraat 15, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#40 of 102 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 650 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had unusually good weather for the time of the year but had to open the windows so it was pretty noisy in the night until very late esp on the Sat night but otherwise very pleased and will certainly go again !

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and looked after us very well !. Also the locations could not be better !

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    We had such a wonderful stay at Anselmus Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had such a wonderful stay at Anselmus Hotel. The location could not be better, the hotel was so clean, beautiful and comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous with lots of options and delicious coffee! If we are ever back in Bruges, I would stay there for sure!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Friendly owner and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning meant we had to sleep with our windows open. I am a light sleeper so I woke up a few times each night due to cars/trucks/people going by on the road below our room.

    Friendly owner and staff. Responded quickly to correct problem (nothing major - broken hairdryer). Owner is very knowledgeable on local area and offered great input on things to see and do. Good array of breakfast offerings -- server was attentive and kept the buffet well stocked. We loved the elegant breakfast room and conservatory! Safe, coded garage parking (it is not onsite, but isn't more than 5 minute walk). Hotel is a historic building. Despite it being fully booked, we heard no noise from the other guests. We would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    4.6
    They need to either ban children or be more tolerant- felt awkward the entire stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not tolerant of children - the owner didn’t take his eyes off of our one year old during breakfast and made a fuss when she dropped a pastry.happy enough to add the hidden cot surcharge though...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the ground level on a street with quite some traffic and noise. Would have been nice to face the backyard.

    Great location! Very nice staff, and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.9
    The family room was quite big for such a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt that it was rather expensive but perhaps that is due to its location in the heart of old Bruges. The bathroom was separated from the bedroom by a folding door which made a bit of a noise when you wanted to close and open it during the night. The bedroom was accessed by staircase with very narrow stairs. The greeting was polite but not as friendly as we received in the other places we stayed on our trip.

    The family room was quite big for such a central location. We really enjoyed the continental breakfast. Everything was clean. It was very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs is pretty steep to go to second floor. I wish they have an elevator. But it's still very great!!!

    Everything is excellence. The only issue is our room was on the 2nd floor and the stairs is quite steep. Other than than everything is clean, the owner is so friendly. The breakfast buffet is excellent. The location is quite on the center and not far from bus stop either. Overall is very nice place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Kids and I totally loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clutching at straws here, but why does everything need to be mini in breakfast buffets!? Full size warm pastrys would be the icing on the cake verses room temperature mini ones. That aside, fantastic!

    Really nothing much to fault, myself and the kids loved it - magical!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice old building, good location, but not recommended for facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was in the old part of the building, this was nice, as we walked up to the very top of the building. However, all facilities of the room were also very old. Beds uncomfy, old carpets...plus no tea making facility.

    Location of hotel was within easy reach of the main squares...thats about it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    The Hotel is quiet and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is quiet and clean. Very nice decor and a cozy breakfast area. The location was excellent. We could easily walk to all the places on our itinerary. There is an excellent Italian Restaurant right around the corner - Carlito's. We enjoyed our stay in Bruges very much and would be happy to stay at Anselmus Hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    The location was perfect, Staff so attentive to our needs...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, Staff so attentive to our needs,tea and coffee facilities in our room available on request. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely central hotel for a few days in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs were a little steep and there was no lift. This was a slight problem for one of our group but didn't spoil our stay

    Friendly helpful staff. Great location only a few minutes walk it to the main square. Brilliant breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect. A room with 5 beds is hard to find, so this was great. Staff was friendly. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    There is a big bath tab in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some mos kite. There was a electrical tool in order to avoid these. However these didn’t work. I was bited by these.

    There is a big bath tab in the room. It was very comfortable. Your breakfast had a lot of dishes which were many kinds of cakes and ham. My children were enjoying very well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    nice stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady serving breakfast seemed stern initially. She warmed up as breakfast finished.

    nice facility convenient location for us friendly gentleman at check in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location provided map and gave information when checked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast limited only hard boiled egg. Our beds and pillows were uncomfortable. Rooms hot no fan or aircon. Parking expensive, overnight parking for 8 euros elsewhere in the city.

    Good location provided map and gave information when checked in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    It was a very cute hotel with breakfast included which was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very hot! There were heat warnings while we were there. We knew there was no air in the hotel when we booked it but they had no fans on or air circulating in the common areas of the hotel and we were hot the entire stay.

    It was a very cute hotel with breakfast included which was a bonus. It was also in a good location to walk to everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Very nice, comfortable, easy, pretty smart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive city - particularly for Brits at the moment.

    Well located, nice staff, good breakfast out in a lovely garden. Very helpful staff. Hotel parking. Pretty smart with character.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent - comfortable, central, quiet, charming hosts, brilliant value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a kettle in the room but as I say room service provided much better quality drinks.

    Excellent room for 3 on the ground floor, front of the hotel, geraniums in window boxes. Breakfast plentiful and just right. Soy milk provided on request. Superb room service on our first afternoon - gasping for coffee and cold drinks a tray of both arrived quickly and wonderfully fresh.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Very good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Just be aware the adjacent streets have paid and max 4 hour parking using the hotel’s parking spaces offer makes sense even if a bit costly and a few minute walk away.

    Everything except perhaps a little steep stairway. Very friendly and professionals host(s). Reliable and precise information on the very stay and tourism. Good breakfasts. Very good location. Clea. Rooms made every day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Weekend in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has lots of old world charm and is clean! The owners, Ronny and his wife, are fantastic. Ronny was very helpful from check-in to check-out. He jumped in the car with me to get me to the nearby off-site secured parking and took the 5 min walk back with me as well. The room was a decent size for four of us, the beds were great, and the bathroom was large and clean! We asked for a floor fan and Ronny promptly delivered it to our room. Breakfast was a typical European style spread of meats and cheeses, breads, cereals, etc. They also have hard boiled eggs if you want and of course, fresh made coffee! Would recommend this hotel as it is an 5 min walk to the market square. The cost was higher than I wanted to pay, but seems to be the going rate ... plus, it was worth being so close to the square and the old city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient hotel in the centre of old Bruges close to a quiet and pretty part of the canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first visit was on a busy weekend and our ground floor room on the front of the hotel was a little noisy. Although it was hot, the noise made it impossible to keep a window open.

    We stayed here twice- two nights at the start of our visit to Holland and Germany and one on the return journey. Very friendly and helpful staff one of whom accompanied us to the car park on arrival. Pleasant conservatory style breakfast room with view on to delightful courtyard garden with white roses and Box plants. Richly decorated entrance was welcoming and peaceful. Superb bathroom with the superior room we were given on our second stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and relaxing.
    • Couple
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy when handicapped to do the stairs but that’s to be expected in this beautiful centurion home.

    Breakfast was excellent all the way around. Very friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Very comfy bed. Close to all attractions. Lovely place to stay. It’s a magnificent home and very pleasing to the eye.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful owners. Good breakfast, very clean rooms and comfortable beds. In an excellent location close to the centre but quiet. This all added up to a very enjoyable stay in Bruges.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Pleasantly efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room furniture is not 'guest friendly' as there was not a single drawer in the desk and bed side tables.

    The breakfast room was very pleasant with the glass roof allowing a lot of sunshine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Location was perfect for a short sightseeing trip to Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was perfect for a short sightseeing trip to Bruges. Staff were extremely helpful (even riding with me in the car to help me negotiate the one way system to get to the parking garage).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Clean hotel, great staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was the room we were in being in the attic, the beams was a bit problematic as a few of my family members bumped their heads, and also tripping over the little step between the bathroom floor and bedroom.

    I chose this hotel, as I needed a family room for 2 adults and 3 children aged 8,5,3. Also my top priority was location, as I wanted to be close to the sights so that our kids won’t be so tired from sight seeing walking a round all day. I also love the cleaniness of the bathroom and our beds being made everyday. Beds were firm and comfortable, staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine..we all enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Charming, but needs an extra touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the owners was less friendly and seemed not to enjoy her work. Our toilet was broken and we were offered neither a discount nor a different room. The towels are due for a change: good brand, but frayed an nd discoloured.

    Nice, traditional ambien.ce. Cosy rooms. Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    A true gem in the heart of Bruge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little expensive for our average budget but totally worth given how it enhanced our stay in Bruge!

    We spend Christmas here and we loved Anselmus. Its unbeatable location in the heart of Bruges (all within walking distance), its charming/refined decoration, its excellent breakfast, its comfortable family room for 5, and the diligent attention to detail from the management. Note that they can offer you a parking box for 20 E/day just few blocks away (very convenient since parking in Bruge is hard to find and expensive). Thanks for the wonderful stay we had!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    We loved every minute of our short stay in Brugge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps breakfast could have been available earlier in the morning.

    Great hot showers and beds and in an excellent location. Breakfast was super and staff very helpful, organised and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    A noisy but very central comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sound proofing at the hotel was terrible- we could hear the children in the room next door and EVEN them running a bath- not great when you are exhausted and want to sleep.

    The Breakfast had something for everyone- fresh bread and pastry, cereal and continental options. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were nice and warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location and comfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cooked breakfast option would have been great - the only item available was a boiled egg. Parking was available but a short walk away from the hotel. We thought it was included but was an additional €40 so that was a bit of a surprise.

    It was great to find a room to accommodate 5 people. The hotel was a short walk to the main square but still very quiet. Beautiful places to walk wherever we went.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.4
    The parking of the hotel is far and is double price than other parking nearby .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lady who received us was unpleasant especially when we talked French with her. She was receiving better the residents who talk English with her.

    vicinity

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Bruges with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    my room was street level so I couldn't open the curtains.

    Ronny was fabulous! Cheerful and helpful. The breakfast was very nice and the hotel staff was extremely accommodating. The hotel has an old world charm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location, spotless property & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super steep stairs to room. Although branded a hotel - think more bed and breakfast as no other facilities on offer other than breakfast. Simple breakfast which you could get tired of after a few days. No bar, lunch or dinner service.

    Awesome location, spotless hotel, very friendly management.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful city, interesting, safe, vast array of bars and restaurants. Lovely shops too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Completely suited us for our couple of days - nothing bad to say. Food in restaurants on the expensive side and vegetables not offered as a basic component of a meal.

    Perfect location within a few minutes of main square and all facilities. Lovely breakfast room with full continental available, good selection of breads and pastries. Rooms spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and great bathrooms .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Very nice hotel if you don't mind the price difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor in the room made strange creak noises. The parking was in direction opposite from the city center - it was a little annoying. A little expensive for what you get.

    The breakfast was really great!! The food and the garden view. The stuff was also very nice an helpful. The hotel location is OK, but not more ( it's quite close to the center, but not immediately in it - maybe 10 minutes walk). The car parking is in outside car park, that is also about 5 minutes walk from the hotel, but in the opposite direction from the city center. The lobby is very impressive and elegant - children had a lot of fun there, but the rooms are just normal, not more. Stairs without elevator. Very expensive. We were there 1 night, and had a great fun, and the difference in the rice was only about 50 euro per night from even cheapest hotel in this area, so it was a good idea - but if you stay there many nights and the difference grows, I think there is no real reason to pay large difference.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Perfect in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. Have noticed lots of negative reviews re tea and coffee making facilities in your room. They are available but you just need to ask the hosts who put a tray in our room as soon as we asked.

    Absolutely loved our stay. Very close to the main shopping and attractions with fabulous hosts who were very friendly. Wonderful breakfast, constantly being replenished, with enough to satisfy all tastes. Lovely room, comfy beds and super bathroom with shower and bath. Perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Anselmus Inn is a lovely, ancient home, with contemporary comforts, that welcomes couples & families
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location! In the old medieval city! 5 minute walk from Bell Tower and central square. Charm of old building, lobby, breakfast room, garden! Comfort of room. Excellent hosts, attentive to guests needs. Many good restaurants and shops within walking distance. We’ll come back here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful family hotel and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is high, but then again so is everything in Brugge

    Owners were very friendly, the room was very nice, perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids. Very clean. Nice breakfast. Walking distance to all of the sites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Would definitely stop here again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOT the fault of the hotel as it was full of character but we were at the top of the hotel with some heavy luggage and no lift

    Lovely place to stay, large bathroom, fabulous breakfast, comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very steep steps up to bedroom, difficult to carry large suitcases up the stairs

    Lovely property, great character and so close to the centre of the old, everything in easy walking distance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Very calm place, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No elevator. Not a problem if you don't have a baby buggy. Window was very small, but that is part of the architecture in the city.

    Small family-style hotel. All clean and nice old building, well maintained. Good breakfast. Location is simply perfect to visit the city center and main attractions, but still not a busy street, so calm at all times.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.3
    Not very happy with the hotel but enjoyed Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea coffee making facilities room was basic owner/manager tried to put us in a room with two single beds managed to get a room with a double bed but it wasn't worth the £320 euros we spend on it

    Place was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Brugge at its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs to our bedroom. So if you have luggage, be aware of the climb.

    The property is run by a husband and wife duo who ensure everything is in perfect condition. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location with great rooms. Breakfast included was more than enough to start our day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hosts were amazing and great communicators. They are super helpful and would recommend to people staying as singles couples or even as a family such as us. The family room was spacious enough for our 2 toddlers and eldest daughter (family of 5).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel and room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel and room! Very large sleeping area and bathroom! The dining room had the most beautiful outdoor garden! The owners were wonderful. I would return to Brugges just to stay at this hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    Great stay in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They had a room on the top floor for 5 people which is a rarity in Europe. Clean, comfortable accommodations . Great location. The owner was very nice and helpful. I loved the history of the hotel, too. Our family had a wonderful stay in Brugge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Stopover in Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could feature more local produce. A bit non descript and old fashioned. Fruit out of a tin.

    Very quiet but central location. Family run hotel, quirky interior. We found a parking spot directly outside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Very lovely hotel, ideally located and very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight negative I can think of was to have to walk the rather tiny stairs to the 2nd floor to our bedroom with the luggage, which were rather heavy and big for this type of stairs. Other than that, it was a nice stay and the family had a very nice time.

    Very lovely hotel, ideally located and very friendly and nice staff. The car was parked a few minutes walk from the hotel. We ve appreciated the tips for good restaurants around. Our room for 5 was on the top floor, quiet, lovely, even though not as big as we thought. It was nice to have the possibility to have breakfast until 10am and the breakfast was enjoyed from all of us, included fresh waffles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Great place, not sure I'd return with a toddler
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From previous reviews I expected it to be a bit more toddler-friendly than it was. They only had one highchair (no straps to hold the child in, totally unsuited to kids under 2, especially very active ones like ours) in the dining room but there were at least 3 babies/toddlers who needed one so we all ended up going without it a lot. Great travel cot in the room though! It seemed that our child's nap time on our first day coincided with room cleaning time and that seemed to be a real issue even though I said several times that we didn't need our room cleaned. After that day we just went out and hoped he'd nap in his stroller which was less than ideal to say the least.

    Lovely place, beautiful property, relaxing little courtyard! The gentleman who seems to co-own/operate the hotel is very nice. We were given a map and directions upon arrival and were allowed to leave our bags after checking out which was very helpful. This would be the ideal hotel for my parents (70ish year olds). Quiet, relaxing place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    LOVELY FAMILY RUN HOTEL WHICH I WOULD REVISIT WILLINGLY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We should have asked for a room on the ground floor. We were 3 seniors and whilst we are by no means disabled or frail, it was a struggle sometimes climbing the steep and curved stairs up to our room at the top. We couldn't have managed our cases either up or down without the help of the owner..

    My friends and I liked the cleanliness of this hotel and the friendliness of the owners. It was ideally situated just a few minutes walk to the centre square (the Markt) in Brugges. The breakfast was good, plenty of variety and unlimited tea/coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast and breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities. A kettle in the breakfast room would have been great( especially to enjoy a tea/coffee in the lovely courtyard)

    Breakfast and breakfast room. Continental breakfast was plentiful (boiled egg cooked as required​) was eaten in the light conservatory or outdoor courtyard.Hosts were helpful and knowledgeable and speak fantastic English

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely location, clean ample rooms and yummy breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is a little bit tricky to get to unless you get to the hotel first, but the staff are helpful in showing you how to get there.

    Breakfast was lovely and varied. Very clean facilities. Excellent location, less than 5' walk from touristic points and dining areas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing hotel, very friendly staff, very clean, good breakfast, and great location.... The beds were comfortable and the size of the room was good for a family with three kids. Strongly recommend this.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were super comfy. Bathroom was clean and shower/ bath had two shower options. Room with 3 single beds was just perfect for our short stay. Location is excellent, within walking distance from historical Bruges. Breakfast was so nice, with a great choice of pastry, breads, fresh fruit, cereals, tea, coffee ect. I would highly recommend this hotel, and Ronny, the master of the house, is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    great central location and great with kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very lovely and friendly, and accommodating having 3 kids in a room! parking a bit far away but better than being on the street! Very great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.7
    Lovely city Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never smiling owners, as if your existance was creating problem for them ! Once the gentleman has been very rude to my wife, which is never acceptable !!! Parking is a bit far.

    Perfect location. Wi-fi and breakfast were good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    Location was excellent, minutes walk from city center, beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The "master bed" was two single-beds pushed together and they separated very easily, especially when you rolled over. Stairs were tight and steep, but it is an old building.

    Location was excellent, minutes walk from city center, beds were comfortable, breakfast was good, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Very Good Hotel in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What is not good: - High price (but it was New Year Eve) - steep stairs (but it is understandable - hotel located in very old building)

    What is good: - Location (in the city center) - VERY good owner/staff - Good continental breakfast - Quiet, warm and pleasant room (for 4 peoples) - parking place available (not free)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in this magical town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Door to bathroom was a little difficult and noisy. But overall not a problem.

    Loved the included breakfast and excellent location. Owners were very helpful - especially with getting dinner reservations.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.6
    Why stay anywhere else?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location while tucked away from the hustle and bustle. Lovely hospitality offered and a great breakfast after a peaceful and comfortable nights sleep.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    A charming, quiet Hotel in a fantastic location within a couple minutes walk of the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't very comfy and not sure about the size of the small square pillows.

    The location was excellent and it was a very quiet, well run Hotel. The properietor was charming and the parking facilities, although some way from the Hotel, were very secure and easy to find. We arrived late, but this was no problem, and we were given a map of the area and told where the best places to go were and where the best shopping could be found. We were also given some recommendations for meals which were very useful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negative points.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Superb location in the historic city centre and covered, secure parking available. The overall condition of the hotel was immaculate. Excellent healthy breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    The perfect place to stay in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location just 5 min walking to the central square, friendly and helpful staff, the bed is big and really comfortable. The breakfast is very good too. There is absolutely nothing to complain about!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    A gem of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift on the premises but aware of this when we booked.

    Spacious bedrooms and comfy beds, bathroom spotlessly clean. Very close to the local square and restaurants. Management very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    10
    Family friendly hotel in a fairytale city!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about the hotel and Bruges itself is a must see albeit expensive. Belgian people are very friendly.

    Everything!!!! Location was spot on. The hotel was convenient to local attractions and shops, all within walking distance. It was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was worth getting up for with plenty of variety. The owners were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    9.2
    Lovely comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sliding door on bathroom

    Very helpful staff. Tea tray on request. Impressed that they would put out fresh pastries even when breakfast was nearly over and there were only a few people left. Close to main square, museums etc.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    The owner, Ronnie is a GREAT inn owner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. Everything was great. If I had to pick something, it would be the bathroom accordion style door, which was loud to open and close and did not afford much privacy while others are in the room. That was it though! Excellent place.

    The owner, Ronnie is a GREAT inn owner! Bravo! He went out of his way to accommodate us. The location was great. Breakfast was good. Coffee great, service with warmed milk. Very efficient. Ronnie had breakfast ready for us earlier than the scheduled time for our early departure and even arranged the cab for us the night before.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Great location and great property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything regarding this hotel was excellent. The staff were very friendly and obliging. I've been using booking.com for over 10 years and this is property would be one of my top 5 places to stay. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful Place to Stay in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is a bit complicated, but I parked my car and left it for the duration of my visit. You don't need a car in Bruges as it is so convenient to walk everywhere.

    Extremely helpful staff. They have their own map with suggested walking tours that are a lovely way to discover the city. The location is excellent - close to everything. Very nice breakfast selection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Excellent location, a warm welcome, comfortable and spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, a warm welcome, comfortable and spacious rooms, and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Is a nice hotel very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a nice hotel very clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is just perfect to go around the town. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was sumptuous!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.8
    Ok but I would recommend they not advertise that room for three people
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room for three people was way two small.

    Location was great

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Anselmus Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: