Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B Apollonia

Tieltsesteenweg 49, 9880 Aalter, Belgium

#1 of 6 hotels in Aalter

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 164 B&B reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Quiet farm stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room situated in a quiet farm with open space and garden. Located perfectly for both Gent and Brugge. Hosts were great and provided a wonderful breakfast. Would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place, beautiful room with minibar on the countryside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been perfect to be able to have an earlier breakfast, we had to skip it since we had to travel a bit early.

    Lovely place, beautiful room with minibar on the countryside outside Aalter.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Very engaging, professional host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can hear the constant noise of the highway nearby. The beds in the twin room are very squeaky and shaking, while the mattresses are very soft and thin, sliding of the wooden frames so it's impossible to sleep on them with all the noise and amplified movement. What a pity!

    Very engaging, professional host! Extremely clean place. Big, comfortable shower. Very high standard toiletries from Rituals. Rustic surroundings (animals in the backyard). Veggie breakfast and personal lunch possibilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Had a really lovely time visiting the Christmas markets and accomodation just topped it off
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    my only slight niggle would be that the owner has the track too the B and B filled in and better signage for dark wintery nights xx

    The location is a little out the way but not far off the main motorway between Bruges and Ghent. This is what we were looking for lovely quiet a serene, the B and B was exceptional with lovely beds rooms and food, we were made very welcome. Ample Parking. with many a choice of local restaurants to choose from for a meal out if needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Relaxed countryside house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, clean rooms and toilet. Our room had a big window with access to a balcony - very relaxed space with a view to the countryside. You can also enjoy a filled fridge with different belgian beers (and also wines) to choose from at a very reasonable price. Definitly recomend it, if you are looking to stay around dont need to search more this is the place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Great unique and comfortable B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little bit off the beaten path but worth it for a nice experience. The train station in nearby Aalter (4km) is a short drive away and you can get to Ghent or Bruges very easily.

    Bed was softer than most hotels and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Bathroom was perect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window. Just window. Located at the roof. Remote control allowed operation.... but just a view of the sky.

    Bathroom was perect. Breakfast area/ reception area/ hall were nice. Matrace quality was nice too. TV channels available. Fridge at the hall was of drinks, mainly beers. Staff friendly and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing countryside stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Inconvenient double bed with two separate mattresses.

    Very friendly and helpful staff! Convenient place to use as a homebase to visit Bruges and Gent. Breakfast was rich and delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stopover or longer stay base for exploring the area.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Nothing not to like! Beautiful, quiet location, perfect to unwind at any time. Close to Bruges and Gent and generally exploring an area that many people ignore to their detriment, I feel. B and B itself is very clean and provides an excellent and varied breakfast with freshly cooked eggs available, too. Good choice of beers available on a "self service" basis from the fridge downstairs and a well stocked minibar in the room. Overall very highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    You feel like home - maybe even better :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt home from the very beginning – even during my call that I will arrive (very) late. Beautiful house where you can have your private atmosphere and connect to other guests – whatever you prefer. I especially liked the virtual tour (homepage) prior to my stay. So I already knew how nice this place is. The rooms are beautiful and the bath is outrageous. I never ever saw a minibar with such fair prices. Unfortunately, I had to leave very early so I had no chance to enjoy the breakfast – I WILL COME AGAIN!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check-in Very high price based on the facility and breakfast isn't included

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and with a friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were very steep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Alles was in orde
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles was in orde

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    The house is very nice, and the breakfast is delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is very nice, and the breakfast is delicious. We were very relaxed and we recieved a such a good attention.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice people quiet location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    It is a small breakfast for the asked price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a small breakfast for the asked price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Nice place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place! Very helpful staff !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, great furniture, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs were steep and narrow - more suitable for someone younger than me

    Very comfortable bed, simple European breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Nice B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed super confy, nice bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were abit squeaky but otherwise everything was great

    It was very clean, great shower, Good wifi, great location, friendly owner

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Everything was exactly like we were waiting for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was exactly like we were waiting for.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    Great place...kid friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was great

    Very kind staff. Even mad a dinner reservation for us.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.2
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the weather

    ok

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    9.2
    The welcome was warm the room so comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little difficult to locate though this could have been a fault of the GPS operator.

    The welcome was warm the room so comfortable and quiet.A bath not a shower luxury! The breakfast fresh and plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic B&B with very friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I would prefer smaller cushions (ie not the large square ones) for beds, but not a big issue.

    Fantastic B&B with very friendly owner. Lovely decorated with spacious bathrooms. Comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    10
    The room was perfect for myself, my husband, and his mom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was perfect for myself, my husband, and his mom. We all had our own room, shower/tub, and toilette. Andy and Ann were excellent hosts. Everything was extra clean, well furnished, very cozy and comfortable, and yummy breakfast-with made to order eggs. Great beer in the fridge too!! Everything was better than expected! We will return!!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    The host (Andy) was very kind, the property is located very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The host (Andy) was very kind, the property is located very conveniently and the rooms are great and spotless. At breakfast we had fresh eggs, croissants, meats, etc. We stayed for only one night and loved it. One day we visited Bruges and the other Gent and Antwerpen, so we were right in between.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Very warm hospitality, absolutely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unless i travel driving my car, I should have called at Aalter train station on the first day i arrived. It might be a lot easier and they were really willing to pick me up. It takes only 10 minutes from train station to the B&B.

    Very warm hospitality, absolutely!!! They provided extended helps when i get to my friend's wedding place (20 minutes by car) and train station as well. As a single traveler and first time to Belgium, i felt safe thanks to thier great arrangements. Breakfast was also very nice, particularly pastries and chesses!! Very clean, cozy, and peaceful place. I must come back next time!!!

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    10
    Friendly welcome and spacious clean comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly welcome and spacious clean comfortable room. If travelling from the UK this is a great first/last night stop. We'll stay here again probably for more than one night to explore Ghent and Brugges.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The turning off the main road onto the narrow part-gravelled access was difficult to spot. Slow down because there are 2 small flat yellow signs either side of the road that show the way.

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Quality at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quality at a great price. Excellent bed, shower, breakfast and choice of beers! Close to E40 so ideal for a stopover but at the same time very quiet area. Perfect hosts, thoroughly recommended

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Fully purpose built as a B & B and very close to the N37...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked it so much I changed my return schedule to be able to stop there on the way back.

    Fully purpose built as a B & B and very close to the N37 (good for access) but far enough to be very quiet and peaceful with secure car parking. Lovely bath and a good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.6
    Very nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We found the mattress not very comfortable( to soft) as we were falling to the middle between all night! But I guess it is a personal thing and for the couple I would suggest the one large mattress. But it did not spoil the overall impression.

    Very nice place to stay! Very friendly and welcoming hosts, especially Max been very entertaining and informative! The place itself tastefully done, with attention to details! It really has a feeling of a 4 star hotel, but with attentive staff if it was a 5 star hotel. Our daughter has enjoyed the little zoo:-)) Hidden gem in belgian countryside, but close to Knokke, Brugge and Gent. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.6
    Cozy atmosphere although spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Because of rain, my kids are not able to play outside. That's the only thing what we're missing.

    Cozy atmosphere although spacious room. Owner is quite friendly and attentive. For me, the bath is very nice so we felt comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    Very kind friendly owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very kind friendly owner

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    10
    A very clean and comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A very clean and comfortable stay. Andy was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good with a great choice.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    9.2
    Friendly host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly host. Excellent breakfast. Everything spotlessly clean

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.2
    The owner was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owner was very friendly. The house was pretty decorated. Very nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    Very clean and the owner was personable, helpful and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean and the owner was personable, helpful and very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    Friendly owner, very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly owner, very welcoming. The room was spacious and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    10
    Outstanding accomadations, great breakfast, fabulous B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outstanding accomadations, great breakfast, fabulous B and B

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.2
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely location

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    this place is well worth it, ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    this place is well worth it, ,

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.8
    No bad comments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bad comments. You have to travel by car to optimise the trip. Its a 20min drive to either Bruge or Gent.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpful owner/son.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful owner/son. Lovely & clean. Easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    9.6
    Great place, wonderful rooms, very welcoming and hospitable...
    • Solo traveller

    Great place, wonderful rooms, very welcoming and hospitable host. Extra marks for the honesty bar stocked with unusual (Belgian) beers!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and welcoming host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly and welcoming host. Perfect location for Bruges, Ghent and Ypres.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    10
    Clean, comfortable and well located for Aalter
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean, comfortable and well located for Aalter

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: