Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Velotel Brugge 4 stars

Handboogstraat 1, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#83 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1561 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location if you want a slightly cheaper quality hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was cold first morning, when you're paying €15 each that's a bit disappointing, but wouldn't put me off staying again.

    Great location if you want a slightly cheaper quality hotel walking distance to bruge market square (20-25 minutes, pretty straight forward though so you won't get lost!). Breakfast was cold first day but we were down just before they closed (to be fair most breakfasts we had were cold at various hotels over the 2 weeks!) Room was nice, staff very friendly and helpful on reception. Hotel will sort a taxi and give vouchers so you pay a fixed price to centre if you don't want to walk. Hotel prices not too bad to eat in restaurant. Had fixed 4 course menu for €49 each

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Overall nice, tidy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conditioner would be nice for the bathroom. Longer walk to the centre of the city than anticipated sadly, but taxis were fine to use

    Rooms were neat, clean with good amenities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Great, clean, friendly staff yet slightly far out of downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location implies a 15 min bike ride, not ideal if you want to prioritize beer drinking (which makes sense in Belgium).

    Great staff, great service, great option if you are OK staying out of downtown Bruges. bike rental is convenient and flexible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    My sixth stay at Velotel, it continues to be the best value for Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening restaurant served excellent food, but were overrun with clients, only two serving 30+ customers

    Friendly Staff. Tried one of the new upgraded rooms with walk in shower, excellent! Breakfast selection is stunning. Taxi to and from town with pre-paid voucher works brilliantly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Internet needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was very slow. Car would be useful to reach the center. Not value for money but probably in bruge not so expensive

    The hotel was not something special, what is expected from a moderate 3star hotel. You would need a car to get to the centre. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent well equipped hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little further out of the town centre than would have been useful

    The property was clean and had good facilities, the staff were also very friendly especially Geert a member of the reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    peaceful and v comfortable hotel;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for a hotel selling itself as a' business' hotel a USB port in the room would have been useful

    staff were helpful , good reasonable bar, good parking, quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.0
    The room is nice with a very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very remote, far away from the city center and given the terrible connection with the public transport we had to move always by taxi. The hotel in general is nice but for sure it doesn't worth the value.

    The room is nice with a very comfortable bed. Staff is also friendly and willing to give advice/info, if you are a tourist.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.3
    Staff attitude cleanliness awful shower rotten bed toppers...
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude cleanliness awful shower rotten bed toppers no grips kept sliding of bed not good for disabled plus coach loads of people's cases left in corridors no room to pass in WHEELCHAIR fire hazards no exchange available had to drive into city centre plus 100eiro deposit taken never been asked before when booked through bookings.com

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    The room was a good size and modern in design with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would never have found the hotel without our sat nav. The second floor hallway was not very clean. Although there was a modern coffee machine in our room there was no facility for making tea and no tea bags.

    The room was a good size and modern in design with lots of space for cases and clothes. The receptionist gave us a helpful map of Brugge, although we were making a one night stop and had no time to sightsee.( we had already visited this lovely city) This fairly new hotel has a good restaurant and serves a varied choice of meals at both dinner and breakfast. The edge of town location is in pretty wooded gardens, so was quiet. There is a large terrace and play area for kids.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value hotel with good location outside of the main square area so quiet and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower wouldn't stay in position so slightly annoying but not critical!

    Very good location slightly out of town but the hotel has a great deal with a local cab company so paid 10 euros for 7 people into the Market Square. Don't miss the buffet and cooked breakfast - really good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    It was our wedding anniversary so we got a free upgrade to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from the centre of Bruges but don't let this put you off.

    It was our wedding anniversary so we got a free upgrade to superior room. Very comfortable and clean. About an hours walk from centre of Bruges but can get a taxi for €10, just ask at reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely fabulous and will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small problem was access as the main road was being renovated/ repaired at the time of my visit but the hotel, staff and the facilities more than made up for this small problem 10 fold.

    Everything from check in to check out was fabulous. The receptionist made me laugh, he was very funny and friendly. Everything was explained in detail comprehensively and perfectly. The facilities were 1st class. The bedrooms were nice and comfy. Everything was included in the price, even the breakfast which, by the way was an excellent buffet all you can eat breakfast. Overall a fantastic stay. They even organised a taxi to get all 4 of us into the city centre and back. Absolutely brilliant stay and I waill definitely be booking this hotel again when I visit Brugge again in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    3.8
    Unprofessional staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed for sure cannot be classified as a 4 star hotel. They mentioned there are better rooms but of course for extra money. So be-careful what exactly you are booking. The biggest problem were the staff. I believe they didn't do their job properly, not informing us about a construction blockage of the "normal" road to reach the hotel. They forgot to inform us also about the planned all day event - cycle race which closed even the "deviations" to reach the hotel. And instead of apologise and do something about it their reply was "You should have called us". I didn't want to argue right there that we traveled more than 400km that day and for unfortunate reasons our phones were dead without batteries used for navigation to reach Bruge. We are guilty to not charge our phones. But if you know that your hotel is unreachable via normal roads, and further more accessible streets are closed due to ongoing bicycle race that same day and not to inform your guests upfront, and pro-actively for me is unprofessional. We do not expect to enter dead end streets and roads with signs "Closed for constructions" drive on grass and on the sidewalk. We were grateful to find a local person who led us through the labyrinth path where we had to enter dead end street and street in the wrong direction with a sign "do not enter", and all this took us 2 hours to figure out.

    The free parking, the beds were good, and the playground of the hotel is a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Very, very nice hotel to stay in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very clean and cozy room! Nice staff! Easy to get to the centre! The hotel even gives you the opportunity to buy a €10 voucher for a trip to the centre with a taxi which is more than a good price, otherwise you may pay much more! Very pleased with my experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Very hospitable,clean and perfect for a overnight stay to explore the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wood floors in room Although front desk staff very funny and helpful the innuendo could be a little too much

    The covered parking and excellent restaurant staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness to be improved both in the rooms (under the bed, on the bathroom heater) and in the sauna. This is the single thing that makes me give a 7 rating otherwise it would be 8 if properly cleaned.

    Great coffee machine and free coffee for the morning! Great bikes quality, even if they are not rented for free but quite expensive... Nice comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.5
    When I left, I paid in cash.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I left, I paid in cash. In this case, I was promised that the money blocked on the card will return to the account. Three days passed, there was no money. Is this a way to earn extra money at the hotel? The impression is spoiled.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.0
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location from the town is far if you do not have a car. Also Taxi and buses cost almost the same so you are looking at 10 euros a trip or 20 round trip back to the hotel if you do not walk.

    The sauna was a bonus and very good when you got back to the hotel and wanted to relax a bit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    ... will probably come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    elevator with two doors was not working properly, it was going only after several tries ... rotatory door in lobby was difficult to start when exiting building (maybe sensor malfunction) ... breakfast too expensive (15 euros) ... room needs refurbishment (specially bathroom)

    Geerd was a crack-up ... he made our day ... glad to have met him

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    ENJOYABLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    BRUGGE IS NOT A PLACE TO GO IF YOU ARE NOT PREPARED TO PAY OUT . YOU PAY FOR EVERYTHING OVER THE TOP . ITS DEAR TO EAT OUT

    THE STAFF ALL ROUND WERE EXCELLENT

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice, big hotel with helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The renovation of the road leading to the hotel made the access challenging. Luckily some information signs were posted, so after some practice it was possible to find the way.

    Very friendly and professional staff. Benoit, the concierge was really helpful and informative, gave very good suggestions visiting the city, where to park with the car. The breakfast was quite good, very good variety of breads, excellent orange juice, good coffee. The hotel and the room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money for short stay in Brugges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road outside the hotel is under construction so a little challenging to reach the hotel

    Bed was comfy. Not sure about breakfast since we didn't take that option. Location is convenient for people with cars.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    The bed was very comfy but would have preferred a double bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds More coffee/tea/sugar available as on first night there was insufficient supply we only had two coffee capsules and three sugars

    The bed was very comfy but would have preferred a double bed rather than twin beds next to one another

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    My 4th time at Velotel, it continues to put other big brand Hotels to shame.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only a little niggle, but the new car park was muddy because of the snow and rain, would be nice to have the edges paved.

    Rooms updated since my last visit. More space, nicer furniture, excellent TV with good mix of channels. Great coffee in room. Fridge & Safe. Geert on reception made our stay, he's priceless. Excellent room service, great food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was delicious and plentiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The room was clean and well-equipped (tea, coffee, coffee maker in the room). There is a supermarket and bus stop close to the hotel, therefor we could easy access to the city center by bus

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    An enjoyable last minute overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is over 30 mins walk to the centre so be prepared to walk or use bus or taxi. The hotel can help you arrange a taxi using a voucher scheme which worked well but taxi's on the way back are very hit and miss. The one we booked failed to tune up and we couldn't remember the bus number so we had a long, wet and cold walk back in the evening

    Helpful and friendly staff. Hotel is modern, clean and practical. Good onsite parking. There is a really pleasant bar and restaurant onsite, we had a drink but didn't eat as the restaurant was fully booked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely little bar area/restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small gripe, but you find it often in europe was the fact that we had a twin bed and not a double or king. As a married couple u dont want to be laying in a seperate bed next to your partner. Another small thing but just a genuine mistake was that we were given a room key and nunber when we checked in and went up to the room and peoples belonginga were everywhere. Someone could have been there luckily no one was in. Lucky we're genuine people too. Things could have been stolen. Not a biggy but something to note. We got it sorted and she apologised.

    Lovely little bar area/restaurant. We arrived late 11pm but the bar was still open and we enjoyed a much needed bottle of wine until 1am by the lovely warm open fire. Bar man really friendly. Cost was as expected too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel for a few days or weekend visit to Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roadworks outside on the street at the time hampered car access a little bit but not the hotels fault at all, and alternative walking access was through a lovely little park.

    The hotel was excellent, and quiet and away from the hustle of the tourist areas and a little outside of the main Bruges town centre, but we booked it for this reason and enjoyed the walk past the canals and local houses into Bruges centre. Facilities excellent, comfortable and clean. Great staff on reception as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the road leading to it was in construction so difficult way around and a bit confusing.

    friendly staff and very helpful. Not close to center but the hotel give you taxi vouchers which is perfect to go to Brugge

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.9
    Very helpful staff, a pleasant welcome by Geert and the reception team. Room adequate for our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More staff on duty in the restaurant at night. The food could have come out hotter

    We only went board only as we had been to the area before and knew the places where we could eat nearer the old town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is a 30-45 minute stroll from the centre of Bruges...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a 30-45 minute stroll from the centre of Bruges with ample free on-site parking. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room with coffee making facilities. Reliable Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Free use of the sauna.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    Nice Hotel, But Difficult To Access Without Wellies Or Walking Boots
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road approaching this hotel had been completely dug up. It was extremely muddy with many large puddles, which made the walk into Bruges challenging. We had dinner at the hotel, which took over an hour to produce, and on the whole the restaurant seemed understaffed.

    Reception staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was adequate and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay, terrible taxi service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfy, reception staff helpful. Food was good .... only one negative would be the taxi token service. Great idea as allows you to pre-pay taxi at hotel BUT..... we phoned our taxi and was told it would be 20 minutes we went to our taxi pick up point (egg market) and waited ... after half hour I phoned to make sure the taxi was on it way. Another 20 minutes theee more phone calls before the taxi arrived over and hour after it was supposed to arrive.... this led us to miss our Eurostar and have to buy a second connecting train ticket when we arrived in London. Very disappointing. Also the taxi tokens can not be used from hotel to train station strangely ... so we asked to be taken to a cash machine, the taxi driver said we could pay with visa, when I arrived he said the minimum spend was €15 so we had to pay €15 for an €8 trip. We had a lovely time in bruge but this really did ruin the last few hours. Essentially great hotel but don't bother with taxi tokens and book your taxis well in advance (we thought we had).

    Bed was very comfy, spacious rooms, nice restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Hasle free, easy to find and very convenient. Will go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it exceeded our expectations. Good parking, well positioned and a nice place to stay.

    Really helpful staff, nice hotel, clean and modern. Slightly out of main town, but worth the brisk walk back in! To be fair the pleasant walk did us good and easy to do.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall great experience. Will definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress could have been a little firmer.

    Good selection at breakfast. Very helpful friendly staff. Easy walking distance to market square. Adequate rooms with good facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not easy access to the hotel due to road works, it would help if the sign allowing access to the hotel was in more languages

    Large carpark, helpful staff, clean comfortable room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    It's a nice hotel and when i booked was the best price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi signal could be better Expensive breakfast 2km from city center You should 50 euros as deposit

    It's a nice hotel and when i booked was the best price vs rating but it's expensive. Park to the car.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful weekend in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road under construction near the hotel. Bathroom's door requires renovation.

    Lots of respect for Nespresso coffee machine in the room!!! Excellent parking! Very helpful staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.3
    comfortable but nothing spectacular
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    hotel wasn't able to provide a room with a double bed, instead there were two singles. Being one person the second was simply taking up space. Express clothes washing took 2 days, certainly not what i would deem express. Wifi would constantly disconnect and require the password to be re-entered. Warm food containers at breakfast had lids which would fall down. Holding the lid in one hand and a plate in the other means a 3rd hand is needed for spooning food.

    helpful staff, easy parking, generally comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Visit Bruges!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not comment... Nothing I disliked.

    Staff was great, Room was very comfortable. Bathroom was very nice. Coffee in-room was the best! Also great...parking included. Great 4 Star Hotel ...highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Bruges, Belgium.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Just what we needed as a base to launch our exploration of Brugge during our short time in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A French Breakfast could have been included for the price of the stay but this was not a deal-breaker for me as there were plenty of great local bakeries to sample instead.

    The facility was very functional and clean and the front desk staff extremely helpful and accommodating. They even took the time to point out several old city restaurant options for us even when we knew they were trying to recommend their own in-hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good except it needs bit more walking to get to the center. However, walking was very enjoyable

    Quiet, friendly and staff are very helpful. very good facilities, good wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    3rd time in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast items where cold and had to keep asking for things. but that's just being picky.

    The location and staff are friendly. The location is good, a supermarket just down the road. breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice modern friendly hotel would highly reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that we noticed

    Lovely hotel, modern stylish excellent restaurant / bar, Lovely helpful staff, comfortable well appointed room loved the coffee machine in the room, while about a 30 minute walk to the center the hotel specialises in cycling (you can hire cycles) which would take about 10 min there is also parking on the outskirts of Bruges, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    A rather pragmatic decision
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was neglectable. There was an event on, no space to park.

    The reception staff is brilliant, friendly, helpful. Rooms are clean. Hotel is a bit away from the centre in a quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    4.2
    It’s my mistake :-/
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) THEY BLOCK 100€ ON CREDIT CARD FOR DAMAGES, BUT ROOMS ISNT IN PERFECT CONDITION... 🤦🏼‍♂️ RECOMMEND YOU MAKE A PHOTOS OF DAMAGES IN ROOM AND SENT TO HOTEL ADMINISTRATION BEFORE GIVE YOUR CARD FOR BLOCKING MONEY. 2) Sauna doesn’t works (+38’C) and they doesn’t give a winter jackets for visiting sauna. Because very cold inside.

    Parking is really free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money, staff is friendly and helpful, free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowadays, almost everybody charges the phone by the bed side. Not at this hotel as there is no power socket near, that was a but frustrating, but you live. Hotel is more than fine, I would not rate it a 4 star however. We had to pay a warranty on top of the room price. It was returned upon departure.

    Good value for money, staff is friendly and helpful, free parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the bus trips that came and went were noisey, and seemed un thoughtful to others. making lots of noises. road to the hotel being part dug up, it was hard to find the hotel.

    the staff were all friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, Lovely staff! Little far out but a pleasant work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFi wasn’t great in our room; think we were a bit of a way from the router!

    Staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Hotel was clean and modern. Great facilities in room and at the hotel in general Breakfast was good - didn’t eat evening meal so can’t comment. Nice location - even though it was further out than other hotels. Nice neighbourhood! Loved that we could hire bikes!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel, even better price, superb staff, plenty of parking and short walk in to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. I really enjoyed my stay.

    I really liked this hotel. The staff on check in were really friendly and nice. Nothing was too much trouble and they were keen to help with directions to tourist sites etc. The rooms were really nice and clean, comfortable beds and nice, big windows with nice views of the green spaces round the back of the hotel. The hotel is located around a mile or so outside the old city centre and is perfect if travelling by car with plenty of on site parking. I don't understand people complaining about the distance to the city centre and touristy bits, you should be aware of the hotels proximity to things on booking. It is a pleasant walk along cycle/footpaths in to town and barely takes 30mins (and I'm a slow walker). Despite the fact the hotel is just off a main road, it is in a nice, quiet location with a little water way and public green spaces out the back. I didn't eat at the hotel as I prefer to eat out but restaurant seemed very nice and popular. All in, a great hotel and superb value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Fully recommend Le Velotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road access was a little tricky but its in process of being rectified :)

    Wonderful staff, great rooms and delicious dinner , good price , fabulous sauna; what a terrific bonus, perfect parking and helpful taxi voucher

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel but not very central
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, good facilities and parking was great.

    Quiet location down a dirt track road, very relaxing and it of the way but a little drive into the centre of Brugge. 10 mins drive in taxi, 30 minute walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Hidden hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really swanky hotel on the outskirts of brugge down a dirt road which was a bit disconcerting but the hotel itself was a hidden gem. A very late check in (0030) went ok - the doors were locked but ringing the door bell for their attention. The room was spacious, the coffee pod machine was a nice luxury. BBC 1 and 2 available on the TV. The bed was spacious and comfy. Bathroom large enough to party in. The breakfast buffet, although pricy, did set you up for the day. Overall a 10/10 hotel. Will defnatlt be back if I am passing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Geert is the best! Heart and soul of the Velotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of coaches of tourists cluttered the entrance hall up!

    Geert! He was there to check us in. What a lovely, funny, helpful and nice man he is! It was the perfect start to our short stay to be greeted by him.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great place in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place and ideal for cyclists :-) The rooms was clean and for one night absolutely OK. Coffeemachine in the room ! For going Downtown we took a taxi and the friendly staff recommended a spectacular Seafood Restaurant ! Thank you very much .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel on edge of town but that's where we wanted to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like but if you didn't have a car it's about 3 km from the middle of the old city so very easy and cheap to taxi there

    booked into this nice hotel and met my new bestie Geert. He checked us in and had me in stitches then when we went to town I asked him about parking in there he said they are very strict and will take your car I said will you come and save me if that happens. Wait he said, I will ride to save you and ran into his cupboard and came out with his bike. Now that's dedication to the job. The hotel was quite new, very clean and comfortable the price was excellent and all the staff were helpful and polite restaurant was excellent too so I would be happy to recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    QCD - Quality - acceptable. Cost - OK. Delivery OK - service OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room was not ideal. The breakfast was very basic - but acceptable.

    The value for money was reasonable. Room was comfortable. But no bottled water. The hotel is in a very quiet area of Bruges.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.1
    Value with drawbacks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought place looked tired - parts excellent parts tired. I thought the food was expensive & unexceptional so unjustified. The hotel is a 20 Euro return trip to the market place.

    Staff / Air con

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Clean and pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is clearly a lot of building work to be finished on the grounds which let it down a little. There were works going on at the entrance to the hotel which didn't help with the first impression especially as we were driving and it is down a rubble road but im sure that will be sorted soon.

    The room was perfect for our one night stay in Bruges. Staff were polite and very helpful. Hotel was clean and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed wasn't overly comfortable but didn't disturb my nights sleep. The shower temperature regulation was poor, you were either scalded or frozen. On my booking there was no mention of a 50 euro 'safety' deposit on top of your room charge, there is something somewhere in small print but not on my booking confirmation. Needs to be changed on this website and highlighted to those unsuspecting.

    The room served it's purpose - we were only there to sleep and shower in it! Staff where friendly and polite. Didn't use any of the facilities (fitness / restaurant etc).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Would highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was lovely and the staff were so friendly,helpful and cheerful! We were driving, so they had ample parking which made everything so easy. They have an excellent taxi service set up into the town centre which meant there was no problem being outside the town. The facilities were spotless and everything was so easy to organise. So easy we ended up staying an extra night. I have to say all of the staff here are brilliant and made the whole experience that much nicer! Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative points at all.

    We were travelling, therefore hotel was just a stopover. The hotel, itself, is in a quiet location. The staff were very good,considering our arrival was 3.30am! Our room was superb! Very clean, well presented, air conditioning, a coffee/tea machine was in the room too. Spacious, very clean bathroom with toiletries provided.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant hotel. Would book it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls of the room would need a re-paint. Still the room was clean. Very noisy mini bar but I switched it off and was ok. Dont open window - lot of mosquitos.

    Wide variety of choice for breakfast. Friendly staff. Possibility to rent the bike directly at the hotel and than ride to the city center as it is a bit further away but still reacheable with the bike. Coffee macine in the room. Fitness and sauna for free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    Very professional and kind hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very professional and kind hotel staff. Location not the best for lazy people but we just enjoyed this walk to the city center 😊 free parking and Wi-Fi is a big plus 👍

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.4
    From outside the hotel looks pretty modern and newly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From outside the hotel looks pretty modern and newly refurbished but when you get to the rooms they are old fashioned and have a huge constrast regarding what you expect from outside

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect room, amazing staff, taxi vouchers very helpful. 100% recommended!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when we arrived at the hotel, we couldnt get in at first because of the road works. None of the taxis we got knew this issue, so I would recommend that you indicate with signs the directions to get until the road is ready again.

    The bed and all the facilities in general were amazing. The staff was available at every moment, which was very helpful. Bedroom was perfectly clean and even if we arrived early at the hotel, we could do the check in. One of the best things this hotel has is the taxi voucher", I thought it was a wonderful idea and it really helps tourists not to look for taxis all around the city. Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Birthday treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road works around the Hotel it takes longer for taxis to come to the Hotel and the cost of the fare goes up!Its a half hour walk into Town. Not suitable for the Elderly.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall they could not do enough to make your stay more welcome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Good clean bedroom,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, no fruit salad, poor choice of cereals, bacon was fatty and hard, eggs lukewarm, no marmalade, too expensive Duvets too hot for June

    Very good fish dish on the evening menu

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    very nice and modern hotel but far away from the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    too far away from city centre

    we should to pay for a brekfast 15 euro per person - the brr=ekfast was good. Hotel very nice, in the park but far away from the city centre and we should to go by taxi to the city centre . taxi cost 10 euro per one side to the city centre hotrel is modern, very nice, everyone was speeking in english

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really if it's good for parking , is not so good for going to the city. The bathroom was not a high point (not for a 4 stars), but it works.

    The hotel is nice. The breakfast and restaurant excellent. Good for who comes to Brugge by car because is out of the old city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    2.5
    Advise Travellers to Book Elsewhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff was so rude, particularly the manager. Location of this hotel truly is very inconvenient, I really would advise not to book this hotel unless it's the last option available (which is our case cause we booked pretty late to our travel dates). The bus to the city center doesn't always run, on the way back to hotel at night you'll most likely have to take an expensive taxi since you have to go through this dodgy road (seems like it's in the middle of nowhere). Heating and aircon didn't work in the room. All this could have kind of been looked over, except for the fact that we paid a sum of money that could get us a really nice hotel/airbnb somewhere else instead of here :/

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    New, very nicely appointed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a walk into town (40 minutes to market square at ordinary pace) which is interesting and fine in the day. We did not try the bus which is about a ten minute walk away. We took the €10 taxi vouchers from reception for an evening visit. The taxi came very quickly but we had to wait an hour and make three calls for our return trip.

    Very clean, good sized and comfortable room and bathroom. Hotel in a lovely environment out of town and in the countryside. Easy to reach from motorway. Still working on the grounds and will be even lovelier when these are finished and mature. Nice park/playground nearby and even sheep with lambs. Also a retail park with Lidl, Hema etc and some eating places 10 minutes walk away. Hotel restaurant was pleasant with outdoor terrace. Food was good, but a little expensive, and the one waitress was not very attentive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.5
    There is a park like around the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is sauna service in the hotel, but the bath rooms in the sauna room were not working well. The water was either too hot or too cold, not easy to have it controlled. It is a pity there is no steaming room. Also, the hotel is quite far from the city center. Have to walk <10 min to reach the place if you took bus there and seems only 1 bus running between train station and that stop nearby. It is not convenient if you stay there without a car. Of course you can also ask for taxi service from the hotel, but you have to wait around 15min for the taxi.

    There is a park like around the hotel. Nice view, fresh air, quiet. The room is clean and comfortable for 2 persons. Kettle to boil water, coffee machine is available. worth the money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    One day visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction around the hotel but not too disturbing.

    We just went for a short visit of the city as we drove there it was better to stay a bit out of the center. The hotel has a taxi service to the city and back, it was very comfortable. The room was big and nice. The staff is extremly helpful. Breakfast eas good but extra cost.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Velotel Brugge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: