Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avalon Hotel 2 stars

Waversesteenweg 329, 3090 Overijse, Belgium

#4 of 4 hotels in Overijse

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 308 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice if there had been tea and coffe facilities in the room.

    A nice personal greeting from Nick on arrival,the food was excellent especially the Avalon burger.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though our check in time was 4pm, the room still wasn't ready when we arrived at 5:15pm. the hotel isn't based near a choice of restaurant's so are quite restricted from eating from their menu, out of perhaps ten items available on the menu only 3 were available, and took the best part of an hour to be informed of this! the food when it did come was very nice.

    The staff at the hotel were really friendly and went out of their way to ensure our stay was as pleasant as possible. Because our room was not ready on arrival they gave us a complimentary late check out, the hotel is situated in a very quite but picturesque area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reached hotel midnight. The owner of the hotel was there to help me. The next day I had to go for a meeting about 5 kilo meters from hotel. He dropped me and refused to take money. Very kind of him and all the best for him and the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For its price, nothing to not like except bath needs a safety mat when having a shower. Very slippery bath. Main road is close by - double glazing is very effective against noise but it means you cant keep window open while you sleep unless you dont mind traffic noise.

    Good location with easy access to Wavre, Overijse and e411 autoroute and with easy parking . Nice modern decor in room with plenty of storage. Breakfast fine - great pain chocolat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really liked everything.

    Nick - the owner is a great guy and an excellent chef. You should try his cousine. Also, the hotel is full of amazing details e.g. a nice saloon with billiards, old globe and old book shelf. Offcourse, not to forget excellent belgian beer. Defenitely a place to visit again ;)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were upstairs and there is no lift/elevator. .

    The rooms were comfortable and the bathroom fairly new and worked well. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff had gone out to the shop when we turned up so hotel was closed. Man stormed off when we asked for food to be cooked.we had to walk for over an hour to get a sandwich as there was only one shop and that was closed.we had no tv after complaining twice.we were stuck in our room the whole time with nothing to do.awful place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Breakfasts were great, room was clean, every day new towels. Owner-young man was very helpful and kind and he made us fantastic steaks and offer us garage for my motorbike for free. Stuff of hotel were also helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An outstanding welcome ,amenities ,delicious breakfast in a charming little town.Room are nice too. The hotel owners even gave me a lift to the city center when i waited for the bus which was late.Any times again.Thank you so much again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was really good, with ham, eggs, cereals and fruit. My only difficulty was that I am gluten free and no gluten free bread was provided, I had my own though and they were quite ok with me using it.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful, we were late getting there but they waited up for us. The atmosphere in the hotel was really good, it was quiet, a kettle and hairdryer were offered free of charge & the bathroom had bath and shower.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would be nice if there was tea/coffee facilities in room

    it was a great place for a stop over and has a great restaurant and the steak was very good would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had some road noise, but then its right on a main road, which I knew when I booked it.

    Room was extremely comfortable - the bed especially so. Had two really great nights sleep there. Room and en suite was spotless. The restaurant and bar were great - you must try the steaks, especially if the cook has the outside BBQ running: out of this world! Lots of parking.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotels on a main road so ther is some traffic noise,

    good hotel and very friendly and helpful staff, good food and breakfast,will go back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is in very small village but i had a car so it was okay. parking is free

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good music, great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude hotel manager, dirty bathroom, no housekeeping done

    Quiet and nice location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad (thermos) coffee, limited breakfast options, room felt like a prison cell, road noise in the room

    WiFi was fine

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is so kind, goodly !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More heating

    Good breakfast and games room plenty parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath had a terrible smell. The light in the room was very low.

    Good for one night passing by

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    owner went the extra mile and provided a lift as no taxi available, very kind

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, friendly staff,comfortable room and bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great overnight stay-manager stayed up past midnight as we'd told him of our later arrival- good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simple, confortable. Good value for money. Great food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather old Hotel, rooms rather dated and you could hear other guests

    Friendly and helpful owners/personnel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third time stayed in this hotel. Old owner was much better than new one which is his son! Pure breakfast, not very good stuff...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better lighting. Rugs on the cold floor. Chair to sit on. Some coordination in decor.

    Food OK but cheerless atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing specific.

    The person at reception was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verouderd en basic qua accommodatie.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accessing the hotel is a problem.

    Location is good. But only problem is reaching the place. Accessing only through taxi. And it is costly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Couple

    No tea / coffee facilities in bedroom. English speaking TV channels was somewhat limited.

    Nick was friendly and helpful. Needed extra pillows due to personal circumstances. Only fault was not having tea/coffee facilities available in bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Would have been nice to have a kettle and/or coffee/tea making facilities in the room

    Easy to get to, easy-going staff, a nice home from home stay

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have been a traveler for more than 40 years. The most important object in a hotel room is the "PILLOW". Some hotels have handkerchiefs as pillows !!! I exaggerate a bit but it comes close. AVALON failed here.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place was very clean, the restaurant was lovely - great surroundings. The staff were very friendly, and we arrived late, but it was no problem. A brilliant place near the motorway. When we left early, we had no problem finding the motorway, even in the dark.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    spoke English,& very accommodating. it was good value, far better than staying downtown Brussels. good access to airport if have car, but must allow lots time for bad Brussels traffic. front rooms have wonderful views valley but road noise at peak times . windows open which is necessary in summer because no AC.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    De motor kon in de garage

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Handy position and friendly multilingual staff! Excellent value for money 👍🏻

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Personnel very friendly and helpful, and very good restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Group

    Nowhere accessible without a car

    The staff were very helpful and friendly The food was amazing and cooked freshly on request. Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved the friendly staff and the excellent meals. Definitely try the steak on the bone. Up there with some of the best steaks I've ever had.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms were a bit basic but comfortable enough. Based on the price,excellent vfm.

    Really good, helpful host. Couldn't have asked for more.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: