Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avenue Boutique Hotel 3 stars

J. De Troozlaan 42, 8370 Blankenberge, Belgium

#24 of 30 hotels in Blankenberge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 774 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    3.8
    Never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything needs improvements.

    Croissants where? Bedlinnen not changed after 5 nights, I had to ask for it and was told this was decided by "the boss". After complaining more they were eventually changed. Breakfast was fair enough but the coffee definitely weak. Note that the rooms are really very small, no desk. Don't look for dust under the bed! Prices for the week-end are much higher than weekdays. Disappointing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Very polite and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no sound isolation in the rooms. You can hear your neighbours talking, walking, showering, going in and out. That is the only negative point about the hotel.

    Very polite and friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Location is very close to train station and the beach. The boutique style interior.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    The sweet staff helped with parking and literally walked us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sweet staff helped with parking and literally walked us through the process of using the private garage. The location of the hotel itself was very good, the beach was within a few minutes' walk as well as close to many restaurants and bars. It was a perfect location for us to drive into Brugge for a day and come back to enjoy ourselves. The hotel was very homey and comfortable. We enjoyed our time at the Avenue in Blankenberge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.9
    Great value, nice, traditional hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit soft for my taste, and the curtains & bedspread were less stylish than the rest of the decor.

    Good location, helpful staff, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful hotel, super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs or a tiny lift. No tea or coffee facilities in room

    Fantastic location and easy to find. Rooms clean and had everything you need for an over night stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was shabby, but rather comfortable. Not soundproof rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely not soundproof, I could hear people using a toilet in the next room (and I don't mean flushing the toilet, but actually the of sound peeing), you can hear every step of people in the hotel.

    Nice location, comfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.8
    Excellent staff but the heating within the rooms did spoil our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked two rooms and none of the radiators within rooms were working, it was a cold and damp night (Friday 8th September 2017). We reported the heating issue to a very nice and polite lady at the reception but we were told that this is the hotel's policy not to have the heating on during this time of the year.

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    The double bed was small & uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was small & uncomfortable. And room was tiny. Breakfast was not included in the price 321€ for 2 nights which we thought was unfair.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.4
    OK but not a hotel I would choose to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The use of the word "boutique" is puzzling. To me boutique implies special or unusual but this hotel was pretty standard. The room was relatively clean, nothing special though. Problems were spotted as soon as we arrived - the bedside lamps were not working, the bed sagged, view from room was of the wall/rooms opposite and sound proofing was poor. We could hear the people in the room next door using the loo and the people in the room above walking around. In fact, the floors squeaked quite a lot. We overcame the noise problem by buying earplugs!!

    We love Blankenburge and wanted to be near the Belle Epoch buildings and the tram station. This hotel was very convenient to both.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    4.2
    Hotel in need of renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in serious need of refurbishment/renovations everywhere. Room carpet was really old and stained and stinky, bed was uncomfortable and with worn-out sheets, bathroom not in good condition either and not well cleaned. Hotel is rated with 3 stars on your site, but that is too much. In my opinion it is 2 stars max.

    Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.2
    Expensive B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No parking on site. If you want to park your car (for additional fee) you will be redirected to nearby apartments (more or less nearby). We have traveled with 3 y/o child - additional fee of 30Euro per night was charged for a child, but nothing came with that - we have not even get additional small pillow or a towel. We booked double bed, but we got two single beds put toghether. Bathroom - very small and basic. Like everything - standard of the hotel is not very high, I would rather say simple B&B. Breakfast room is not big enough to serve all the guests.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.2
    Worse experience ever, extremely rude owner , don't ever stay at this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to severe traffic on Friday evening we arrived too late for check in. I tried to call the hotel and got an extremely bad response from the owner. He told us to not bother to come to the hotel if we arrived later than 22.30 when check in closed. I tried to find a solution since we where only 15 minutes late (2 families traveling with kids) but he hang up on my. Once we arrived to the hotel (15 minutes too late) the reception was still open and an older friendly man checked us on. I didn't thiught about it then but by mistake I booked a room for two adults instead of 2 +1 child (he is only 7 and sleeps in our bed but anyway) . The day after the angry owner saw that we had one children each and asked us to pay for them. Of course we did but no excuse from the day before!!!! So rude!!!! Then the day after when we checked out we where 10 minutes late, the angry rude owner again threatened us that we would need to pay for an extra night because we where not following his rules! It was also obviously that we was searching for things to blame us for. He used the staff in the breakfast room as spices. One last thing, during the night there where no staff in the hotel and at 4 in the morning we woke up by a couple who had extremely load sex with their window open so everyone could see!!!! Conclusion; I would never come back to this hotel and will not recommend it to anyone! The other way around! Do not ever visit this hotel!!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.2
    Don't have high expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    They didn't give the welcome drink unlike as it is advertised for genius members; they also tried to charge me more for the beer than the price which was mentioned at the time of buying, personnel was far from being friendly. Rooms are old-fashioned and not maintained properly, this is almost a hostel with private rooms rather than boutique hotel.

    Location was convenient with good access to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Great location for easy access to beach and for visiting Blankenberge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a resident cat Mary so if you are allergic to cats it may be an issue

    So close to the beach and for getting around. Breakfast was superb and the staff were very warm and welcoming.arrived 4 hours early and we were allowed to check. Secure car park although £25 is worth it, we were allowed to keep the car there after check out so we could continue with our sight seeing, thank you!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    5.4
    Genius offerings?? Really or for the cognitively challenged??
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall cost was far too high for numerous comparative nearby accommodations, which ranged from 28€ to 65€ per night compared with the extravagant 84€ we paid. The room was small, closet sized, and sparsely furnished. We received two small, uncomfortable beds rather than the single double that we specifically requested. Although, supposedly a nonsmoking room, there was an ashtray containing a sign requesting visitors not to smoke (not very intelligent). They requested we pay the entire stay immediately. The parking is nearly five times the local rates and a quick google search gives you the possibility to rent parking for as little as 6€ per day one fifth the hotel rate, and you can park freely if you don't mind a short hike of a kilometer or so from the entry to the city center. Finally, check-in is only after 15h and checkout time is at an ungodly hour of 10h30. Booking.com offered this as a so-called Genius special, they really need to rethink their policy if we are to use them again.

    The breakfast was ample and sufficiently varied the staff were efficient, friendly and polite.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    top
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dit was top

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    It was clean
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea facility or ice

    It was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.4
    The sand dunes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a very exciting place and pubs shut that should be open.

    The sand dunes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Interiour;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interiour; breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    It's a great art nouveau hotel, very old fashioned in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a great art nouveau hotel, very old fashioned in a good way!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Very Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Bathroom and breakfast is perfect. Wi-fi is good to surf.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    2.5
    Not worth the price
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not worth the price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room view

    £15 for breakfast pp is expensive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.2
    Won’t be going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of it

    Not a lot

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappoint.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over-priced in every way. We only could get breakfast if we paid in cash. Really???? BC from €50 and up...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.8
    We have seen better Hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The equipment is rather old. The rooms are loud (from the street and from other rooms).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    6.3
    Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Balcony Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room & uncomfortable bed

    Over priced ...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    The breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room are a little bit old

    The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.5
    We dont like if have a breakfadt we cant seat on the table coz of reservation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the seashore

    Close to the

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.9
    Loud in the house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Courtyard
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud in the house

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.1
    Location and breakfast was not bad room and building is...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It was not s double bed it as two single bed pushed together there is a bar which never seems to be open on both occasion I stayed I had to request heating and on this last occasion lost light in bath room

    Location and breakfast was not bad room and building is clean which is s great positive

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel, clean, friendly staff, well-equiped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can hear conversations, snoring ... from other rooms. Earplugs?

    Nice hotel, clean, friendly staff, well-equiped. Everything you can expect to brighten up your leisure weekend.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    8.8
    We have been here before and really enjoy the whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We have been here before and really enjoy the whole experience. Good room,great breakfast,but the great thing is the friendly welcome and helpfulness of the manager and the staff

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    9.2
    A really nice personel, great welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just about cleaning. When the small night lamp was on we could see a hand/fingerprint all around the back of the bed. Could be cleaner

    A really nice personel, great welcome. And wanderful breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.9
    Relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could of done with tea/coffee making facility's but no big deal really, just nice to have a quicky before bedtime and breakfast.

    Relaxed atmosphere Friendly staff Chocolate for breakfast alongside bacon and eggs :-) Comfortable clean rooms Close to seafront

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.6
    Location is very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was wonderful, but it's a standard hotel, with the usual decoration. Nothing special (but that is hardly a critic)

    Location is very close to the beach. Nevertheless very quiet room Huge choice in Breakfast!! Very friendly people who helped with a smile.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    10
    The hotel is well situated: very near the train station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is well situated: very near the train station, beach and shops. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast spread was fantastic. I was even offered freshly cooked bacon and eggs on top of the continental breakfast, which includes Belgian chocolate. The hotel has a nice art deco feel to it.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    5.8
    The breakfast including blocks of chocolate to scrape of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tiny old TV in our room was placed badly, so we hit it several times...A little fridge would have been nice as well(balcony had to do it) and the bed was 2 separated mattresses...

    The breakfast including blocks of chocolate to scrape of from was quite good. The beach and promenade are just a few min to walk...

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    7.1
    The proximity of the seashore and the famous pier;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are a bit small and not well insulated so that you hear your neighbours as if they were taking showers in your own bathroom!

    The proximity of the seashore and the famous pier; of the shops and restaurants including a one Michelin-star restaurant on the same street;

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    6.3
    Staff were helpful, convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms small no sound insulation, tiny shower area. No net curtains.

    Staff were helpful, convenient

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    8.8
    good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    soft mattress

    good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    10
    price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    parking expensive

    price

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location, great staff, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit tricky to find, even with using a TomTom.

    Excellent location, great staff, very good breakfast. Secure parking (Essential,25 Euros).

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    6.7
    It's always a difficult check-in when using booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's always a difficult check-in when using booking.com If hotels don't like it they should not be on booking.com

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.1
    The breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to check in before 10pm... We didn't know the before the owner called us...

    The breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.2
    The secure garage parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The secure garage parking. Excellent Location.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.8
    staff and management very friendly and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing all posative

    staff and management very friendly and helpfull. very good choice for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    8.3
    Location, cleanliness, breakfast and sympathy of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, cleanliness, breakfast and sympathy of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    8.3
    The Staff were great , very helpful & friendly ,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bedroom a bit dated in all aspects

    The Staff were great , very helpful & friendly , location was perfect for me .

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.5
    Friendly efficient staff and easy atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly efficient staff and easy atmosphere. Really good hotel for my needs. As one person once said " I shall return!"

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    Warm room and very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TV monitor hard to miss with your head....

    Warm room and very quiet....Excellent breakfast...

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    9.2
    very friendly staff And value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very friendly staff And value for money

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    8.3
    As I mentioned above, I liked the location of the hotel, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As I mentioned above, I liked the location of the hotel, the good room given to us and the fiendliness of the staff.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: