Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B&B du Lac de Genval

Avenue Herbert Hoover 21, 1332 Genval, Belgium

#1 of 3 hotels in Genval

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 282 B&B reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the bath makes it necessaary to clamber in.

    The size of the room, a suite in fact, and the breakfast. Alao, the tea and coffee apparatus. The ease of parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of a little renovation here and there.

    Friendly and helpful welcome - our hostesses booked a restaurant for us. Large room with sitting area and coffee and tea. Lovely breakfast - eggs as well as croissants and fresh fruit. Very convenient for lake and restaurants. Quiet. Somewhere for our bikes. Michaela spoke good English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s time to replace the Belgian flag and redo the sign out front for a better first impression, especially since everything else was great.

    Very nice staff. Extremely flexible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like that we have.. to leave.

    Excellent! The B&B is manager by a very nice and proffesional family. Everything was perfect: the welcome, the room, the service, the breakfast and ...their amability. The B&B is well located, close to the lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only gripe was that the smell of cigarette smoke that was in everything; towels, bedspread, room, hallway and the breakfast area. This is also a family home and I'm not suggesting that it should be non smoking but if you are someone that doesn't like the smell of cigarettes this may not be ideal place for you.

    The room was large with a separate sitting area (with kettle and coffee machine) and well equipped. Breakfast was good with Continental breakfast options and the offer of freshly cooked eggs. Check in and check out was friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in the bathroom was not working but they provided a replacement and the house was really warm so didn't matter much. Restaurants in Genval can be more expensive than Bruxelles. :/

    Amazing and huge room, in a beautiful property, but the most important thing was the lady taking care of the property, she was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The access to and exit from the shower in the bath required care at my age.

    I was kindly allowed to arrive late and received pleasantly. The bed was comfortable. The night was cold but the suite was well heated. It was also easy to turn down the radiators for the night. Breakfast was truly excellent and attractively presented. The Philips coffee machine was easy to handle. And what was there not to like about the price!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I traveled with my canine companion, and we both enjoyed our stay immensely. Whats not to like - we had the hospitality and friendliness of the hostess; our suite (large bathroom, big bedroom (huge comfy bed!))) and a very pleasant sitting room with a big window - all with the pleasant patina of the old age, so spacious and warm in the damp November weather; the tiny backyard with beautiful age-old trees; the great location of the B&B, the beautiful nature walks and dog friendly restaurants within walking distance - the value for the money was fantastic. Will definitely be back again! Thank you, B&B du Lac de Genval!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    What can I say about this accommodation and Michaela the excellent Host, the room was like a suite and had a very calming affect on us as weary travellers , we had been at a music festival (Laundry Day) and were pretty tired, so when we arrived we thought the room was excellent, plenty of Hot water and the bed was extremely comfortable, the views from the multi aspect room was excellent over the gardens. The family were at home and were bar-b-queuing which made the whole experience like a family home.. EXCELLENT will stay again. Breakfast was a traditional continental which Michaela made eggs which were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing; it was perfect

    I had a warm welcome, the room was very big and the most important very clean and really inviting. Breakfast was also very good. I will surely return for private trip with familly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As the property is old it could benefit from updating- esp the bathroom.

    The owner is very friendly and helpful. We liked the peaceful location and having extra space. The breakfast was good- well presented and ample.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in Genval to attend a conference and brought our toddler. The place is very welcoming, friendly and flexible also for families. Spacious rooms, amazing breakfast, very friendly service. Everything we hoped for. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a fan of pink baths but hey, we're being picky here!

    Like staying with good friends! Lovely location. Great value for money, half the price of the hotel down the road (where I also stayed this week) and a much bigger and better room in a lovely home. Really nice breakfast and a lovely hostess who is very welcoming. Recommended a great restaurant too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A comfortable night's sleep. An excellent breakfast with freshly baked croissants, fresh fruit, cheeses and hams and eggs prepared to your choice. We received a warm welcome from the hostess and could not have asked for more.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is purely for our case ... climbing the stairs to our bedroom ...

    Very Friendly Staff and Atmosphere. Beautiful Breakfast Room and Nice Breakfast setting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Friendly welcome with lovely quality touches.coffee & tea in room. Quality toiletries and spotlessly clean.Good area at Lake to walk our dog. local restaurant excellent and dog friendly. Only 10 minutes from Waterloo battlefield

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice property in a quiet and charming area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing of note

    Large room with coffee/tea making facilities; homemade breakfast; very friendly staff;

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    some cigarette smell in the area for breakfast

    large space ( suites very well equipped), nice location, quietness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest the property to check the mattress out.

    Cozy place where you feel like home. Fantastic breakfast and location. Totally pet friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. The room was big, clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Notv easy to find

    Nice quiet place to stay in a lovely area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    welcome, room, breakfast, location, house architecture. surrounding#price/quality

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostess is wonderful and makes you feel very welcome.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The area is quiet and very close to lake Genval. Nice walk possible and good restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very spacious rooms, good breakfast, charming owner. Set in a very quiet but convenient location, and plenty of parking just outside.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast - very pleasant owner!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We liked everything about it

    Wonderful rooms - well appointed, great location. Like a home away from home. lovely owner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast and service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Really enjoyed staying at B&B du Lac de Genval. The room was very spacious. The host was incredibly nice and had a fantastic breakfast prepared. We had a nice walk down and around the lake area from our place.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nice & friendly welcome from the host lady, large and nice room with a seperate space with sofa and a free welcome drink, nice breakfast, beautiful environment

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    the owners were available kind and helpful breakfast was tasty and rich the room was lovely clean with a small minibar coffee and tea. hot water available all the time 2 minutes walking from the conference place on the lake

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Couple

    The owner should now understand it is high time to undertake some urgent and well-needed maintenance and renovation works in order to keep up appearances as well as standards. The building starts to look run down in places.

    Above all, the friendliness and dedication of our lady hostess, who truly went the extra mile for us. Breakfast fabulous. Third stay for us!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff. They even allowed to stay one more hour after the normal checkout time without any issue or additional payment. The place is clean and the garden is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No plug in the bath. Could have done with one after 15 miles walking around the Waterloo battlefield.

    Beautiful house, garden & Genval is very pretty. Breakfast dining room very inviting with nice lighting & views of the garden & a piano ready to be played for guests! Landlady very friendly & accomodating. Only five minutes from Genval Train Station.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing it was perfect

    The room (apartment) was excellent. A lovely period house with a nice seperate and large multiple room accomodation. Our hostess was fantastic and provided a beautiful breakfast. The location was great and it was nice to picnic for dinner by the lake, we had a car, however it is close tot he train and would be convenient for travellers all.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Couple

    Superb location Extremely comfortable and spacious accomodation . High quality and varied breakfast Above all the numerous plus, the attention to personalised details from the lady in charge , her genuine friendliness and her total dedication to her customers. We have been twice already and will return again and again!

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely helpful owner, good breakfast and large, clean and comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the venue is an older place; it's obvious that some refurbishments would be welcome

    location, tranquillity, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Couple

    La beauté de la maison du style anglais cottage style. Very cosy, very nice owner. Perfect

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The kindness of the lady

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The space, found in a calm and quiet surrounding, helping staff and owner, good service, in a word everything.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous facilities and made to feel very welcome. Wonderful stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast, wonderful furniture, super atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly hoster. Absolutely clean. .

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming and kind owner, baking delicious croissants and eggs from the farm in the morning

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike it was all good.

    The little touches like chocolate in the room and a free drink on arrival.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing not to like, its a home from home

    Warm Welcome, great room and very nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quiet location. Near to where we wanted to be. Everything we needed was provided and thought of, nice breakfast and very nice proprietor.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything , Staff and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    character property with very spacious rooms (total of 4). pet friendly for our little dog. breakfast plenty and good variety.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The location is not clearly marked in the road

    Clean Large Co operative staff

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The people, Breakfast and spacious rooms

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: