Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Best Western County House 3 stars

Square des Héros 2-4, Ukkel / Uccle, 1180 Brussels, Belgium

#144 of 215 hotels in Brussels

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 569 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, A great location for access to my place of work while there on business. What a pity this hotel is set to close down in the next two weeks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would appreciate a little room safe (as many hotels have these days) and balcony doors which didn’t give access to all the adjoining balconies. For this reason it was Impossible to leave the door open during the night when the temperature was hot.

    Excellent tram connection into the centre of the city and the main railway station. Surrounding area leafy and resid Niall but with a good selection of wonderful restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There seemed to be a reluctance to have guests remaining out after midnight!!

    I particularly liked the cooking facilities in the room and also the fridge and micro wave.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old style hotel out of city center, well served by public transport. Rooms not very big and quite noisy in the night, furniture quite outdated (hairdryer was very old and stopped working after two minutes since it got overheated). Staff were kinda rude, when I asked for an adaptor I was told 'not to forget to return it' in a pretty rude way. Breakfast and wifi were fine. Overall, old and overpriced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small. Coffee for breakfast really not nice. They should drop Douwe Egberts and definitively go for a better brand!

    Perfect location to walk to the concert at the Vorst National and to reach the center via public transportation. Room was bigger than expected,clean and silent. Also nice the sliding window and the balcony facing the square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spending the first hour of our stay getting the staff to put us in a room with locking doors was a massive pain.

    We were upgraded to a suite room after being assigned two separate rooms which had balcony doors that did not lock.So,the suite room was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad points, they are doing works in front of the hotel so if your room points to this street, you get wake up at 6am, no nice when you have to work the full day after.

    The hotel is modern and clean. The rooms are fair enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed should have been Larger bed: it was too narrow for 2 people ; room was stuffy and it was still a little bit noisy outside until about 1pm. Air conditioning would have been great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A large party of overseas teenagers were very noisy in corridors. Lots of shouting and door slamming early morning and at night. Expensive parking, tight spaces.

    Location just outside Brussels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast didnt have a lot of variety. And the air in the room is very bad since there is no air conditioning and any other air system. If you go in the summer it would extremely warm. The underground parking lot is tiny, we crashed our car a bit. So as another customer that came after us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were not comfortable. Room was small and very hot and only window was a sliding door that opened on to a shared terrace so we did not want to leave it open at night. Breakfast was very poor so we went to a bakery nearby which was much better.

    We chose this hotel as it was in a convenient location for visiting family nearby. It's also right on the tram line into central Brussels (about 30 minute ride). Otherwise I'm not sure why you would choose this hotel. Rooms were clean but rather dated. Bathroom was tiny but clean, and there was a smell of drains. However the shower was very good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning (weather extraordinarily hot! Not hotel's fault!) Free parking would have been extra bonus

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff . Easy access to centre of Brussels by tram.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning in the rooms. I was there in the hottest week of the year so far. The alternative was to swelter at night in what felt like an oven or open the balcony door- which was connected to all the other balconies on that floor - and risk an unwanted intruder walking into the room in the middle of the night. There was no mini-fridge in the room, so I couldn't even keep a bottle of water cool. The decor is clean but very tired: it is like something from the 1970s and the rooms need "refreshing". When I ordered a snack from the bar, which is next to a lovely outside terrace, I was told I couldn't take it out to a terrace table, neither could it be served there. No explanation was given and as I was the only guest in the bar at that moment, this rule seemed unnecessary and officious. I had to sit in the bar area and eat it there instead. Why? There are no little safes in the rooms either, so valuables can only be put into the safe at reception, which is inconvenient if you want to take things in and out each day. This is 2017, not 1970!

    The hotel is very conveniently located for transport to the city centre. The breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not nice. We asked for a change on the invoice (address). It was strongly refused. The room had no air conditioning or any type of cooling. The shower did not work. I had to use a glass to wash my hair.

    I could book easily

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was horribly hot during my stay and there was no airconditioning so the room was unbearable. It was impossible to leave the door/window open as there was a shared balcony with access to and from other rooms so there was no respite from the airlessness and temperature.

    It's basically what you'd expect from a chain hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really - hotel is a 15 min tram ride from the centre of the city but trams are regular.

    Nice spacious rooms. Comfortable. Good breakfast. Tram No 4 stops right outside the hotel so very easy to get back to the centre of Brussels. Value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    This hotel was not designed for the business traveler. It was never advertised that there is no air conditioning whatsoever at the hotel. Your told to open the large sliding glass door to cool the room, to a patio that at least your entire floor has access to, if not adjoining floors as well! This was not a secure feeling. The internet server would not allow VPN access to my company server due to security issues. This was the first time I ever encountered this type situation with the VPN, and made access to company files impossible. For a US based company this was not a good place for a business traveler.

    Location to my work site

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My visit coincided with major exhibition event, which meant prices were very high - in this respect, hotel overpriced. Breakfast OK but nothing special.

    Hotel basically fine. 15-20 mins by tram from the centre but hotel located right next to tram stop. Nice area. Wifi excellent. Room spaceous.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient for tram 92 and access to the centre while benefitting from a suburban setting. Good inclusive breakfast and convenient covered parking (extra cost).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have never been so disappointed. Unacceptable state of the room: the bath was dirty and there was blood in the curtains. Also very important the heating was not working so we had to ask for blankets at 4am which they brought and gave us with very bad manners. Finally, although less important, there was tea for only one person. We will never go back and recommend you never go.

    Nothing but the location since we were visiting friends living 5min away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast staff: a disaster. I arrived at 08:05. Food trays and plates for items such as cold cuts, scrambled eggs, bacon, cheese: EMPTY. The waiter was ambling about without any sense of urgency. When I pointed out the fact that nothing was there he advised me to "take it easy, it's coming". I cannot remember ever getting such a disrespectful answer from a hotel staff person. On the way out of the hotel parking facility I waited forever for the gate to open (there is a camera for the receptionist to see provided she were paying attention). I had to get out of the car into the driving rain, dance around the gate and ring the bell that the driver uses when ENTERING the garage in order to finally get the receptionist's attention.

    The evening receptionist Georges was very friendly, highly professional.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt of smoke. Breakfast was one of the worst I've seen. Coffee in room was terrible. A little room & street noise. Hotel was pretty empty so this may be a problem if full. Why can't hotels stop doors slamming?

    Budget room was a good size and desk was Good. Bed was very comfortable. Liked the I radiator and easy control dial. Meant I could switch off to sleep - and turn on while in shower in morning.Bathroom worked well. Location is great to walk to good restaurants etc in Uccle. Get out for food a must.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the room the floor was not clean. None of the doors had no thresholds. The bathroom door had no handle and did not close. The heaters worked partially and I cought a cold during my staying there.

    The breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    1 out of 2 rooms were not ready when we arrived, but fixed in 10 minutes

    - Own parking garage - Very friendly reception - Good breakfast - Metro station right in front of hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff members are professional and responsive once asked. However, the overall feeling that I had was uninviting and cold. For a solo business trip it's OK but I won't return for a stay during a vacation.

    The location is excellent in terms of proximity to the business and government/European institutions, as well as bus and tram connections.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the property was challenging even with GPS navigation. Taxis expensive and they were not easy to use for getting around the area.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff very helpful in finding a great restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Second time staying in this hotel this year and second time not working Ethernet connection (nor for mobile phone not for PC). I have informed stuff twice in but no changes. So for last time stayed 3 nights w/o connection.

    Friendly staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The underground car park is very small and can be difficult to manoevure the car when congested.

    A good hotel with friendly staff and convenient for the tram into Bruxelles centre. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rather dated,no air conditioning and was a very hot room although a fan was provided.

    Location was good as tram into Brussels was just across the road.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, smelly, undecorated from 1960s, unpleasant smell in corridors, noisy: near to tram and local hanging out point but no double glazing.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kettle but no coffee or milk only camomile tea! Bathroom old and tired.

    Excellent location. Comfy bed. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old. Expensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down. No ventilation in the rooms. Impossible in warm weather!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and worn, the busses from the busstop in front make lot of noise from early morning

    It was available when all else in Brussels was full

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no restaurant inside

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location friendly staff nice restaurants in area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage was tight fit for van but was just high enough to get in/out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom on the small side and hot water slow to come

    Convenient for tram to city centre and car access from the Ring Road

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was closed. Rooms are noisy from street noise

    Location was good. Hotel parking available

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Good service and good food in restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and friendly staff. Room was ok but out dated. Very noisy having the bus stop under the windows.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable with a good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic breakfast. Very dated rooms. Impossible to open the bedroom window.

    Only the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom too small.

    Fast checkin and checkout. Quiet area. 50m far from public transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air con, so room very hot.

    Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just what I would expect from Best Western

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kindness and the support of the people at the reception: Carolina and the receptionist from Thessaloniki.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was VERY small

    The place, the service, the location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast room is without natural light

    terrasse

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the street. Very simple breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get milk/cream for in room coffee/tea... none left by housekeeping

    Fast wifi, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff quite, not too friendly. Interior old, but clean.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price quality. Free good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too much traffic noise at the front of the hotel

    service of the reception to re book room from front to backside

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am having a gluteinfree diet, it will be nice to find something special at breakfest table.

    The hotel personal is very welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent restaurant in hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small Bathroom

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To replace the tea/coffee supply on 2nd day of our stay

    Very convenient position - easy access to center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air condition, no minibar/fridge, very small bathroom.

    Cleanliness, spacious room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffe was'nt good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be a little better.

    Very friendly staff and very efficient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Air-cond in summer

    Service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning. No mini bar. No safe for personal valuable goods. Or at least I couldn't find those...

    Location, balcony, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom. I have stayed here before and so knew to bring our own travel kettle.

    Breakfast was just right. Staff were very helpful with one or two extras we asked for. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel has not been refurbished for quite a while. Soundproofing is a problem. I woke up several times from the noise of my door opening. Turned out to be next room's door. Window was bolted. may be it was possible to open it, but not obvious how. Very slow wifi

    Very clean Location is OK - not centre, but tram stop just few steps from the entarnce.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel parking space very limited with no room to manoeuvre. Small Double bed (1.4 m).The hotel says that tea/coffee making facilities are available on each level but this is not the case. Despite double glazing can hear people talking outside.Bathroom on the small side

    Hotel well placed for public transport. We paid 74 euros for a room with breakfast which is a good deal for a room in Brussels.English television available BBC1&2...

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We thought the breakfast was fairly poor. The boiled eggs were cold, no good sausages, bacon was poor, ham was not fresh or cheese. There could be improvements here but it was passable.

    The hotel seems better than when we have visited before. Our bedroom 233 was really nice a lot better than the other side of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi not functional (could not get an IP address no matter the location in the Hotel). It was not a problem with my equipment because same problem occured with phone, laptop or tablet. Wi-Fi signal was there but no IP address meant no connectivity. Possibly a transient problem.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    - Elevator break down in the morning

    - A real double bed (no 2 bed side by side) - Breakfast with large choice - Free parking near the hotel - Personal - ...

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Walls were a bit thin

    The hotel allowed me to be on my own by having meals available after visits with my father at St. Elisabeth hospital-bus stop was right out front and they ran every 10-15 min. Also tram and lovely park with WWI and II soldiers honored. I would stay again to visit the city next time! Great value through Booking.com

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    cheese given at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Too expensive for what it was. No lock on the bathroom door. Empty beer bottles in the corridor. 14euros to park the car.. Would not return

    Not much

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    The location and the overall services

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No compliants

    Good location, clean. Parking was normal, European parking garage.

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Best Western County House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: