Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Antwerp Billard Palace 1 stars

Koningin Astridplein 40, Antwerp District, 2018 Antwerp, Belgium

#71 of 71 hotels in Antwerp

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1049 hotel reviews

5.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.5

  • Comfort

    5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    4.9

  • Staff

    6.4

  • Value for money

    5.5

  • Paid WiFi

    3.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.5
    Good enjoyed will sure go back for a few days this time.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elderly guy at the reception in the evening was not so pleasant, and i felt he was judging me especially being black person. He even told me told me i should not forget to settle my bill because he had already decided in his mind that i was the person he thought i was, unfortunately i had paid everything on line and when i told him, he said Oh!! its not you its room so and so, (UNPROFESSIONAL) and it turned out in that room was also a black lady. Its a shame that we still judge people based on the color of their skin. Overall i love Belgium, Antwerp beautiful town indeed. God bless you all.

    The hotel is in a good location for trains and buses, and there are good restaurants around. Location is excellent, the rooms were very tiny, i understand its a single room but wow i felt claustrophobic. Check in was quick when i arrived in the morning with two good receptionist.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    3.3
    Avoid avoid avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly, rude, couldn't care less staff. Bad attitude towards issue brought to the front desk, then makes it out to be your fault. Facility smells old. Dusty, generally badly kept. Broken lights, switches. Cigarette burns everywhere, on window areas, burned curtains etc. Woke up the next morning with an eye infection from the filth in the rooms. Did not feel safe leaving personal belongings as other guest could have access through the window situated by an adjoining roof. I understand 'budget hotel' however this place I would most definitely avoid at all costs.

    Located near station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    For less demanding travelers who want to rest only a few hours.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff could be more friendly, and the value for money more realistic.

    The location is good, very close to the Antwerpen Central Station, easy to get different places around the city!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    Good location, good view to the central station and the zoo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no microwaves , no hair dryers, no fridge, the doors doesn’t have the no disturb sign. So the cleaning lady’s open your door while you asleep and wake you up.

    Good location, good view to the central station and the zoo and the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.6
    If you want to fully enjoy your stay in Antwerp - AVOID!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived to the hotel we were given a small room, in which lights didin't work, and bathroom was in a terrible state - the smell of sewage was everywhere!!! We asked for a different room and were given even smaller room, but with working lights and no smell... the state of bathroom was similar. Another thing, which was the most important for us as we came by car was parking - the hotel description lists parking - MISLEADING! there are few underground city parking places for which you have to pay extra (that information is in small print at the bottom of a page, and prices are not right!!!). Furthermore, the hotel is in the low emission zone, so you have to register your car when you enter. We spoke/ complain about parking situation to two different staff members and neither mention this to us!!! on the second day a friendly women in the city information centre advised us to do it ASAP or we would be be fined.

    The hotel was in the city centre. Close to shops and train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.8
    Only to stay if you really really really have to be downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very near each other's, so you easily hear other voices, noise stuff moving, it was unbearable, I woke up at 5am on a sound of someone keep dropping something in his floor up floor!

    Location, stuff are friendly too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    NEVER EVER AGAIN!! AVOID!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The STAFF first of all... the old man or he is very unhappy in his life or he needs to see a therapist. Has no gram respect, rude as hell, his body language is irritating and his dictionary OMG! I booked a decent room for the decent price and i got the filthiest and the smalest one, no A/C, it was so cold. It stinks a lot. Also the guests are awful... very noisy and they dont do ajything about that. Crazy drunk ppl pass through the hotel from the biliardo place... and they even fought in the entrance of the hotel. The corridor is filthy as it can get... stinks like nightmare. I asked another room since is not that one i paid for... he said "u booked on saturday night and u expect to have the best room here?!" I was shocked!! I said i want another room or i wanna change the hotel. He said i cant cancel since its already booked. I got so frustrsted but j was too tired to argue... then he said he will change to another room... which it didnt happen 3days! I was freezing at night. Asked for a blanket... he refised with "all the blankets are locked... you shoukdve came this morning. Well im sorry mister i couldnt predict the weather!! AWFUL!!! I couldnt rest at night coz of the noise of drunk people in the hotel. NEVER AGAIN!!!

    The bed was comfortable... JUST THAT!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    Small hot underventilated over priced rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all a place for the summer....hot , under ventilated small rooms.......and with so many rooms opening up via windows into a common area sound from other rooms literally travel right across.....even someone snoring can be easily heard!!!

    Literally right next to the central station at Antwerpen

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.3
    No air conditioning on hotel made me unhappy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. I woke up in pool of my own sweat each morning that was NOT a good experience. Also the gentleman of the management was scary as he shouted at me to not pull the lift door. Hotel could be more luxuriously maintained for the price they charge for a room and WiFi for 1 hr a day is not as per the standard norm in hotels all over Europe.

    The receptionist lady was very sweet and smiley. The location was priceless. The bed was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Perfect location for traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My tough luck travelling in heat wave and they said there’s nothing they could do about it. Well every other hotel, they put a fan in there! Even a little one would help. Careful guys no Aircon no fan. You get what you pay for. (But the price wasn’t cheap at all for this kind of room although it was the cheapest hotel)

    Perfect location for traveller. Close to station and all. Staff was nice to me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Very good location + value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was broken but that was the only thing, apart from that the shower worked and the bathroom was nice and clean.

    Very comfy bed and it was clean with good room service who were friendly, the receptionist was very friendly and helpful aswell. The hotel is in a great location which makes the visit to antwerp much easier as the train station is only a minute walk away, the hotel also has information on local attractions in the reception. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Of you come and leave by train, the location is very good -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems like their guests often destroy stuff :( There were some pieces of equipment partially broken but still functional in the room like: light switch bed cover melted by a cigarette etc. It probably looked much better a couple years ago.

    Of you come and leave by train, the location is very good - literally 100 meters from the central station. It's about 20 mins walk to the old town square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    A regular place for one night stay close to the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The infraestructure looks old and not nice. The rooms had a very hard smell to chemical products. It is a place for maybe only one night stay. You have to pay for internet after one hour which is ridiculous nowadays.

    This hotel value is its location. Just next to train station and the airport shuttle bus stop.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    Pay at bit more and choose another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room. furniture and overall look of the room was very old. Hotel starts at the 3rd floor, on the first floor is a bar full with shady people (you cant judge a book on his cover, but that was my first impression) It didnt help that by checkout, the purpse of the woman in front of me was stolen in that same bar.

    It was close by the station. Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    it served my purpose, I was on a 4 day mercy trip to visit my mum in hospitaland that was just okay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the fact that there was no breakfast facilities and not even a minibar for some juice or something when you wake up. The room itself was a single and quite small, I hadn't slept in a single bed since I was teenager and that was a bit of a shock, but it turned out to be very soft and comfortable. I found the electric provision to the room with a little key system slightly awkward as well.

    the location is very good to get around all parts of town despite the elaborate roadworks going on everywhere. The room itself was round the back of the building and very quiet except when other guests slammed their doors.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.3
    I wouldn't recommend people to visit the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not clean and it smells inside. Shower is tiny. No internet connection. Tv remote controls don't work I tried 2... I won't recommend my friends to go there...

    Nothing is good I really regret booking in this horrible place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    location is great and the price was also great!! perfect for our flying trip needs! Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only fault was that the bathroom had seen better days with stains in the shower and toilet however did not ruin our stay at all.

    the beds were extremely comfy!! The staff were all very welcoming and kind including one of the maids who helped us find our room when we got lost. all in all a great hotel to stay in!! Would recommend and return!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Very convenient location, 100 m from Antwerp Central railway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some guests behave very loudly during nighttime - drinking alcohol, using drugs - it is not a pleasant experience. Friday night is the worst time regarding that.

    Very convenient location, 100 m from Antwerp Central railway station. Buses, trams, shops, restaurants - all is located within 2-3 minutes walk. Basic facilities, but pretty comfortable for an easygoing traveler.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money, just fresh-up and sleep, excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old building, dated interior. Contrary to website information, there is no breakfast facility in hotel en no own parking facility. Nearby Q-park costs over € 20,- a day.

    Parts are being renovated. Clean room and ok bathroom. Friendly helpful staff. No breakfast facility at the hotel, but a lot of very good facilities in direct neighborhood. Heart of the city. Complete excellent breakfast incl. coffee/tea, fresh orange juice for € 6,50 at Turkish bakery just around the corner. Hotel is opposite to Antwerp Zoo and Central Railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    Since we only stayed for one night it was totally acceptable. Would spend a bit more money next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt of smoke and there were cigarettes all over the roof in front of the window. The TV didn't have a remote and when I asked for one the receptionist made a racist comment which was not directed towards me but it was still inappropriate. The elevator wasn't working on the second day as someone had shat on the floor of the elevator.

    Great location, right next to the central station and a short walk to the Old Town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    okay but deffinitly not worth the money
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One key for 2 people... we couldn't even use the elevator or stairs because it was badge protected so if we wanted to go apart we needed good agreements. Found shaving gear from previous guests. Found drug needles behind the bed. Room cleaned very poorly. Some unfriendly staff ( not all of them!!! )

    Location. Very easy to move around and plan the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception girl is rude, the room is dirty. The elevator is horrible. The socket doesn't work and too high. Please read the comments and believe it before booking, or you only left regrets when check-in.

    ONLY LOCATION IS OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    Sleeping with bed bugs inside a smelly blanket
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room, smelly bed! Especially the brown blanket smells awful with sweat of a lot of people. And I was bitten by bet bugs! (他の人も書いてる南京虫がベッドにいる!)Very angry toilet system. Very thin walls and doors, I could understand what other customers were talking inside their rooms.

    Very close to the station and a supermarket. Most of the customers wrote that the reception wasn’t friendly, but a man I met was kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.0
    Room clean and adequate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast available but plenty of good outlets in the nearby central station. of more concern as a disabled person I had planned to use my electric wheelchair whilst in the city. This hotel has poor disability access. True there is a ramp into the adjacent Hamburger restaurant but this is very steep and closes mid to late evening. This Hotel is also sited in the Low Emission Zone for which a fee is payable. I couldn't see This information in the hotel details and as my car is exempt it didn't matter.

    Room clean and adequate. Nearby underground parking clean secure and reasonable value. Also excellant disabled access.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    Budget stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay for internet. No lock on the bathroom door. Smell of cigarettes in the room. Some rooms have extremely bad views(mine)...Elevator feels like a cage.

    The proximity to the Antwerp Centraal is the only thing good about it. And also The wallpapers in the room are nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    For one night stay ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all soundproofed! From inside as well as from outside. Transparent night curtains, absolutely don’t stop light coming in. Hotel looks tired, but rooms are ok. Lift is slow and although property is just 2min from the main train station, you need at least 10min to get there from your room, too slow lift and very narrow stars. Very small and old bathroom. The worst of all was WC electric pump which was aggressive, very noisy and scary.

    Just in front of main train station. Easy check in/out. Room was good size and clean, nice view from the room over the square. Very good bed. Ok price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    2.5
    It's better to sleep on the street than in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots and lots of noise by neighbours. The "hotel" seems more like a motel where people come to have sex. The bed wasn't worth sleeping in. There was a terrible smell in the hotel.

    Even the wifi wasn't for free

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin, so it's really hard to get sleep. The room doesn't look like the pictures, a bit dirty. Everything is quite damaged. Cleaning there is obviously not done perfectly as you'd expect it.

    The location is perfect, near the train station, near the public transports.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    Never come back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smell terrible, Smell like public bath tub and cigarette. When I left this hotel, my clothes smell cigarette.....Even I’m not a smoker, It came from a bar in the hotel And WiFi is not gratis I’ll never come back this hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    3.3
    This hotel is cheap but you still don't get what you pay for - STEER CLEAR
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was dark, dingy and smelly, with tiny bathroom, plus the electrics and the lift only worked sometimes, the hotel was noisy with surly staff, not to mention bitten to death from bed bugs - all in all a thoroughly bad experience

    Only the location and the fact I would lose a couple of hundred euros stopped me from leaving and booking in somewhere else

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    Zero value for money. I will not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked 2 double bed rooms. One double bed room was fine, the other one was like a dormitory. I have attached the photos. We had paid 59 euros for each room, which is total waste . Anyone please reject the room, if they give yo u room no 305., it is not a room its a passage where they have place a bed. None of the rooms are sound proof. If some one walks in the corridor you can hear the footsteps loudly.

    Only good thing is the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    2-3 minutes from the most beautiful Central Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price/quality - too expensive, very noisy floor. Two very small rooms inside the hotel room: one with toilette and the other with an old shower and very small sink

    2-3 minutes from the most beautiful Central Station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing value for a single room just steps away from the central station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really tiny, but if you're looking only for a place to sleep like I did should be just fine! Shower curtains were really annoying as they blow towards you as you shower

    Literally by central the station, very good value for money! Having a very early train to brussels, this was main reason I picked this place, super convenient!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    My hotel review
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small and noisy Bathroom shower was did not work very well. Television did n ot work

    Very handy for Antwerp station and other transport. Close to Chinatown district. Handy for Zoo

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.0
    Nothing bad happened to me there. Nothing good either.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything, i got used to the place a bit after my first initial negative reaction. I felt safe enough, but initially i did not feel safe. We were just trying to save a few euro, and it was not worth it at all.

    Not much to like.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice location, helpful staff, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very small and a little outdated. It's practically a bed and a shower, nothing more, nothing less.

    The location is very nice, right in the city center near central station. The hotel and billiard room/bar are open 24/7. The beds are nice and staff is helpful and friendly. The price is also alright.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.6
    Good location, but many disadvantages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of cigarettes, bathroom door not closing, shower not cleaned, paid wifi (!), loud music and people chatting all night long - at least when we called the reception at 3am they came immediately to advise to keep the noise down

    Good location - underground (paid) parking just in front

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    3.3
    Would not recommend to my friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Man at the front desk was rude. Hotel smelled of smoke! Room was not clean. Bathroom appeared as it was falling apart. bed was uncomfortable

    Close to Train station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    For a short city trip the hotel was sufficient but there are improvements!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room concept unsatisfying: e.g. only one socket in the room which is close to the ceiling, second socket in bathroom which is only working when the light is on. Rooms are very thin-walled so you can everything from around the other room which makes it difficult to sleep. Maybe they could give out ohropax for free ;) Several repairs are required in the room which makes it less comfortable (e.g. big cracks in floor tiles and in sink; only one bedside lamp worked; shower curtain needs to be replaced)

    Location is great, directly at the Centraal Station. Most of the staff is friendly and helpful. Room size is good, not too small, with a window to ventilate. Cleanliness (but with some limitations, e.g. inside wardrobe)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    3.8
    Would never recommend nor stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke filled ... felt unsafe ... bathrooms not clean ... The pictures of this hotel that are seen online must be from 30 years ago .... dirty walls, cigarette burn marks, mold, soooooo much smoke we all (5 ppl) had headaches in the am.

    Nothing ... we liked nothing !!!!!!!! We have used booking.com a lot for this family trip and this hotel is HORRIBLE !!!!!! Smoke filled hotel woke us up with horrible headaches.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    Very central right next to Antwerp Central Station and metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small rooms, central heating did not work for a couple of nights and we had to move rooms. A very intense smell of cigarettes is very present throughout the hotel. Rooms need a huge facelift. Photos do not represent reality.

    Very central right next to Antwerp Central Station and metro.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    2.5
    We went to shower was mad dirty and cost 56pound
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our flight got delayed we only arrived in the morning at 10 hour before check out asked the staff if we can rebook for Saturday night he said no and we lost the money at least give half refund

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special request was not meet making me stranded for hours. Had to check in 5am -6am because I arrived in Belgium at 4:25am but room was not available until 2pm.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    3.8
    The worst hotel I've ever stayed in
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Presence of rats (or mice?) in the room. Not a nice company to have. Strong smell of cigarette smoke everywhere, even in the room and in all fabrics like in pilows. It was like living in an ashtray. And the receptionist told me that I just have to get used to that :(

    It is near the centre of Antverp

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.8
    Location and a roof over my head.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls, noise, uncomfortable bed, smelly bed covers, bad tv connection, broken features in bedroom and bathroom.

    Location and a roof over my head.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Good location, good value, but nothing extravagant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people in Belgium weren't overly friendly in general so I found the staff a bit stand-offish. And the building could use an overall facelift, although it was pretty clean.

    The room with the double bed was get spacious with a great view of the beautiful train station and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. Also, the pool hall was very convenient for a night cap and they let us store our luggage after we checked out for several hours at no extra charge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.0
    Location is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room was small. The Bathroom/Shower was not clean. Not recommended for family. However good value for money for night stay for a person.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    Good location, and clean rooms with good bedsheets and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really horrible value for money. This hotel charges 78 euros per day for a twin room just because of its convenient location for whoever comes to Antwerp by train, but it has no other asset than its location. The building is poorly maintained, there was noise of air conditioning systems outside during the night and the matress of the bed was not comfortable.

    Good location, and clean rooms with good bedsheets and towels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    You wont get it more central
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are a bit 'overused' and the extra fees for card payments are a bit high.

    We could not travel further than Antwerp central an needed to stay a night before continuing our trip. For this purpose this hotel was perfect. Value for money, great location, a bed and a shower. A friendly employee at check-in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    We got, what we pay: One of the cheapest Hotels in the City, so we can't expect very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paying an additional fee for paying with the creditcard ist today completly inappropriate. Also the chargeable Wifi - in a hotel both points should be adapted to the modern times. The Toilet Macerator was very loud and should be repaired.

    The location and the view from the window to the railway-station was perfect and the room spacy and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    4.6
    Location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant noise of sex from the floor. I guess it's a popular location for working ladies. It felt a little shady.

    Location was good. But that's all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Nouri was so friendly and was always helpful for me and my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nouri was so friendly and was always helpful for me and my friends. The Hotel is just at the central station and directly in the city, perfect to walk with the feets. the rooms were ok, the bathroom was small and ok. Its kind of old Hotel. No Breakfast possible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    2.9
    Worst hotel ever dirty and awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to get my room changed in the middle of the night because my bed was infestated with bedbugs. I have 34 bites on my body.

    Nothing it s awful and dirty

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    4.2
    Unfortunately the reception was rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the reception was rude. Maybe belgium Grandpa's don't like tourists. The room was super dirty. Bed sheets, toilet, towels were all dirty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    3.8
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness zero... Wall are thin like paper.. Overpriced because of tomorrowland.. Internet was just one hour. TV channels not clear, as if in 1995.. They gave me a room with view of the air conditioning extractors of other buildings.. which is noisy and could sleep at night.. Window cannot be closed.. avoid room 203 No bin in the room No ac or fan.. No mirror except in the bathroom Old fashioned room

    Location..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    good location near the main train station and underground...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy, either trembling because of the hotel's washing machines or hammering because of old water pressure system, therefore no nap after lunch, no more sleep on a sunday morning at 8am

    good location near the main train station and underground parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.0
    Could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls and floor were dirty. Bed was much too soft. Shower was uncomfortable to use, it took lot of time to change between hot and cold water.

    Location is perfect, only about 200m away from Antwerpen central station. Room size was quite ok for one or two persons.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.1
    Antwerp Billiard Palace - hotel of the past century.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole hotel is a little worn-down. It needs urgently some polish-up. It begins in the lift and ends with the arm chairs in the entree and the lights in the bathroom and the corridors. A little investment can make a big difference. Look a little into some details - it is certainly not expensive to set the closet vertical and to give the armchairs a new cover. I found it a little unusual that payment with any card is charged with an extra fee - in my case 6 Euro (I preferred than to pay cash). However, a great hand for the receptionist, who arranged for my forgotten bag to be delivered very last moment at the Airport bus.

    Extremely close to Train Central Station and Airport Bus stop. Many eateries around and the city very near (less than 5 min walking distance). You can walk to nearly all interesting sites of the Old Town and to the Antwerp Zoo. And in the evening you have the beautiful view at the illuminated Zoo Big Wheel. Windows of the hotel are quite good - there is not much noise at night from the street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    4.2
    Shower head loose at the wall, leaking shower onto ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower head loose at the wall, leaking shower onto bathroom floor and hotel would only accept cash as "the card machine wasn't working"

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    6.3
    Hotel is located next to central statio, tram stops and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are old and dirty. If you sleep at the front side of the hotel you will hear absolutely everything that happens outside. Even with the windows closed. Shower and toilet where dirty so I showered elsewhere. Toilet extremely noisy when flushing (you will guaranteed wake up all surrounding rooms if you flushave the toilet in the middle of the night).Thinking about paying by card? Think again they let you pay an additional fee up to 100€

    Hotel is located next to central statio, tram stops and the international coach station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    5.8
    Wouldn't like to stay there again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The hotel resembles a cheap shabby hostel, furnished without any taste. Our room was shabby but clean and spacios. There was no light in the bathroom, the telefone didn't work, so we had to go downstairs to fetch the receptionist, who checked the lamps and after a while searching came back with a new bulb, and changed it. The toilet was not properly fixed and moved and cracked. 2. There's no parking, one can use the public parking under the square in front and get 25% off. 3. Wifi was not for free.

    The location was good and the room was spacious. The receptionist was friendly and of great help.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    3.3
    Try to see for something else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell not that great around, probably because of the billiard at 1st floor. But ventilation should work much more. Plugs in the room not nicely exposed. We avoided to plug in the tv, way too scare on possible consequences. My cousin and me we booked 2 rooms with the same surname, one for Fri/Sat night and 1 only for Sat night. They completely overlooked the booking, and thought was only 1 reservation. Which could happen. Worse was, they gave me a room key telling go and see, if it is not clean yet let us know now. Well, the room was still full of luggage from some else, so they gave us the key of an occupied room. Which means, very no safe situation. They seemed to have no clue who was in which room!

    It is just nearby the station. Bus from the airport is stopping just in front, so convenient if you arrive quite late as my cousin. That's the only reason to choose it. Room was kind of clean, but elevator and common areas too smelly, so general cleanness not that great. Did not look myself for prices around, but before to book it again I would definitely give a look around and check for something else.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    2.5
    Would not recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing like on foto, staff are rude,premises filthy from reception, corridor to room and bathroom everything was dirty. Tv if you call it TV full of dust and did not work , that was worst place I have ever stayed,squeaky floor drove me mad . I paid 50 euro not wort a 20 as far as I concerned

    The only thing I liked-location- and that it people that it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.0
    Opt for better ones unless you are lazy to walk from the train station & just need a place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Free wifi for only 1 hour. -Expensive -Cigarette smell in the room -Chip of the room key and room power switch did not function well (It's time to upgrade and renovate) -Bad decoration in the room

    The only thing good is the location. (Few minutes from the train station)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    Overall fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hall in the room, the entrance is right to your beds. Broken lamp in the bathroom and not very clean, dark shower cabin

    The stuff very helpful, nice breakfast, enough space

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    5.4
    ok for a night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a twin room, got a small single with very soft mattress, was intended to be charged for the twin but on request a correction was made. Did not like either the notice with the costs which would be charged in case you want to pay with card... luckily in the train station, there are several cash dispensers.

    Close to the train station

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    6.3
    Good for one night only
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only stayed there for one night to watch a concert at the Lotto Arena. I wouldn't recommend staying there more than one night or for a city trip, there are other, better options for the same price. My pillow was a bit uncomfortable and you could hear everything going on, the walls/doors are thin. For me that was okay since I was really tired after the concert but I think that could annoy another person. If you're just up to a concert like me and immediately leaving the next day by train then this hotel is right for you.

    The personal was really friendly and the room was quite big for just myself. It's super close to the station which is cool too. It was clean, that's the main thing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    4.2
    Appreciated, but not to reconsider
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointing regarding comfort missing in room and interior state of building, general interior, compared to price paid, really shock for me.

    Location only, but also not the safest.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedcover was not clean, the doors of our room didn't close well. The light in the bathroom was broken. The water of the toilet came out in the shower when we flushed. The whole hotel smelled like cigarretes. And we booked for €57 but at the end we had to pay €67

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    6.3
    Fine stay for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very thin walls! You can hear everything. So if you wanna get any sleep, take earplugs with you.

    Location is perfect! Close to centraal station. Lots of pubs, shops restaurants near. Great WiFi, tho you have to pay 3€ extra. Bed was ok, great big planket.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.4
    Very good location, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even if mentioned as non-smoking room, there was a strong smell of cigarettes in the room. Bathroom doesn't have very good ventilation.

    Very good location, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    A great location, a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size, too small, Bathroom, Shower head not fixed, so forced to hold above your head.

    Amazing Location, Friendly welcoming staff, Great secure parking under hotel (Q-Park). Great bar & snooker/pool room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.3
    Location is absolutely fantastic, a stone's throw away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is absolutely fantastic, a stone's throw away from Antwerp central station. The view of the square from our room at the 4th floor was a lovely bonus to our stay. Very happy with the smoking option for the room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    6.3
    Good enough for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Let's say that the cleaning personnel could be trained a bit better in doing their job. Expecially the bathroom was molded and not cleaned properly. The toothpaste and other stuff were still on the mirror and door/walls. Also, bring earplugs if you want to sleep: walls are very thin and plumbing/flushing can be heared from all the other rooms on the floor.

    Location was good. Fairly decent hotel for just one night. Nice, comfortable bed, enough room to put your stuff. Reception staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.0
    The location is excellent;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark and noise room, the telephone was broken (no contact with the reception) and no tv remote control.

    The location is excellent; close to the Central Station.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: