Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Boterhuis 3 stars

Sint-Jakobsstraat 40, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#35 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2194 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Huge room under the roof with spacious bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space could be much better used, with nicer furniture and decoration, to make a great room. No bed tables and lights, mattress not very comfortable.

    Huge room under the roof with spacious bathroom. Perfect location central Brugges with easy to find paid parking on the street nearby. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Easy walking into town, comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow staff, checking in. Room not ready. Could easily hear other residents in next room. Lots of floor walking noise from wood floors. Tap loose,

    Bed huge and very comfy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Bathroom bigger than my first apartment
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hallway super dark at night (with unattended desk) can be creepy.

    Polite and helpful staff. Our room was enormous and had a handicapped bathroom (room #16) on the ground floor. Nice quiet street, lovely breakfast, and very very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed one night and the location at the back of the hotel was acceptable, as the hotel is so centrally located. However, it is just that - perfect for a short stay, but possibly a bit dark if you'd stay longer.

    The room was very comfortable, with airconditioning and a very nice bathroom. The small window looked out onto a courtyard. The breakfast is plentiful, with staff constantly replenishing the buffet and preparing individual orders of eggs to perfection. The dark brown bread was sublime; fresh fruits, cold meats and two types of cheese were all very tasty. The breakfast was served outside in a beautiful courtyard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    OK for us but stairs difficult and no elevator.

    Fantastic unusual room - not your usual standard hotel room but had everything we needed. Breakfast was also fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    A charming hotel for all generations and travellers.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The picture on your web page does not show this hotel.

    It was a huge room and bathroom on the ground floor - absolute comfortable with a dog. The garage was a street away but I was guided by the receptionist. The breakfast place is neet, also in the backyard. The hotel is centrally situated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location. Cute & small, seems like family run hotel. Amazing, lovely and super helpful staff. I hardly met anyone so nice and helpful lately. Also breakfast was very good and I was given plenty of gluten free options. Room was bit smaller and shower had no curtain so all bathroom got wet, but it wasn't problem at all for me. I would definitely stay here again, its nice please and such great stuff is priceless.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Very good location which is near the center square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the top floor and there was no lift (we knew about it thru the website though). We had heavy luggages and was difficult and not easy to bring them up and down.

    Very good location which is near the center square. Reception was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. I love our room (top of the building).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    The location of the hotel is very close to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not very fulfilling.

    The location of the hotel is very close to the centre. The staff was great, cheerful and nice they helped us with everything. The room was very clean and big. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Great short break and our Australian guest enjoyed every minute..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 of our guest were in their eighties and nineties and they found the stairs a little dark and difficult

    The closeness to the centre. The helpfulness of the staff. The adjoining rooms so we could check on the elderly members of our group.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely B&B , good value, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was direct on the front road, it was extremely warm and the pillow were terrible.

    Great location, size of room, good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Good fun lots of beers to choose from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good and and peaceful. You are with in a very short walk of the main square main square with a big choice of restaurants. Traveling by Bus it not far from the square and easy to find. We found it easy enough to be our own tour guide and find the restaurants we went on google maps, there Wi-fi in most places

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, lovely landlady, gorgeous room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You do need to pay extra for car parking and city tax as it’s in the centre. It’s 10-14 euros for 24 hours parking and about 6 euros per person city tax

    Excellent location, lovely landlady, gorgeous room, wonderful breakfast, loved it. Very relaxing and well appointed room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    It's was very clean and staff where very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite dark. They could use better lighting. Especially in the bedrooms

    It's was very clean and staff where very attentive. The fact they had gf option for breakfast was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Lovely time in Bruges, we loved the hotel and the staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor point but the bathroom door tended to catch on the floor when we tried to close it.

    We loved the central location, my husband is disabled and they found us a ground floor room- a great walk in shower, it would have been ideal for a wheelchair user. The breakfast was lovely, tasty omelette each day, the staff were super-obliging and spoke great English. We wanted to go to the Twin nature reserve, the receptionist got the website up for us and rang her mum for extra local information.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on a very warm weekend and the aircon wasn't working particularly well

    Great location and breakfast was very nice. The staff were lovely and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows could have been better.

    We had a very pleasant stay at Boterhuis Hotel, we were allocated room no 20, beautifully decorated and very spacious, very clean, pleasantly smelling, surprising for a smokers room :) We also travelled with our miniature dachshund, and a fridge was provided upon request to accommodate the dog's dietary needs. The buffet breakfast offers a variety of continental meats, cheeses, croissants, brioches, jams, butter, so on, a very good variety for different tastes, eggs cooked on choice, coffee, orange juice, so on, all included in the booking price. The staff was very welcoming and friendly and always there to help, informed us of the upcoming cultural events upon our arrival and offered a city map. The location is excellent, close to the city market, in the historic centre, there is an abundance of shops, restaurants, coffee shops, all surrounded by the beautifully preserved historic landmarks and residential properties. There are so many things to discover in Brugge, and you can drink the best beer in the world. I would return anytime.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location, very courteous staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the evening the room is dark and there is no good lighting. The bathroom is very large and uncomfortable, there is not even a shelf to place the objects. The room is large and simply furnished, there is no kettle and no minibar.

    Excellent location, very courteous staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wall ...we heard all conversation of the couple next to door... but when I stayed at the first time, very calm. Depends on the room?

    Breakfast! And all the hotel staff were good and kind. The restaurant one of them recommended was nice too. I stayed this hotel twice and both were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    We really enjoyed our stay in Bruges and at the Hotel Boterhuis. We would definitely book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a little difficult to access with 2 x narrow, steep, dark winding wooden staircases. Fortunately there were buttons to turn the lights on and we are both able bodied so had no real problem. I just needed to concentrate a lot going up and down them! You would definitely need to ask for a ground floor room if you have issues walking etc. Fortunately it looked as though there were a number of ground floor rooms available though :-) The stairs and main hallway by reception is very dark.

    The Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were always very friendly. We had a family room which was quite basic but very clean and comfortable. The hotel is right near the Markt, Restaurants, Attractions & Museums. Excellent value for money too, considering the location. We would definitely book to stay here again, but maybe request a room on a lower level.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Excelent!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Draining from the shower was very slow.

    Position is close to the city center. Hotel is clean. Breakfast good. The personal is very nice and helpfull. I will gladely come back here!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.8
    Location is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit old and bad air circulation in the room. There is no window to open, the air conditioner is not working. The hair dryer in the room is broken. The front door is difficult to open.

    Location is awesome! Staff are super nice !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    That Hotel ( with the capital letter H) worth recommending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That Hotel ( with the capital letter H) worth recommending. Great location. In the historical building, walk to the center of Brugges, it is only 5 minutes. Breakfast tasty and is enough to start the next day of sightseeing. Service sensational and helpful. Such a hotel is a treasure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel to use as a base to just get your head down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt a huge problem but only had one pillow which was a bit thin. Other than that, no issues at all

    Great location, staff were friendly especially at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and neat hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room is at the outside. It has double doors. The outside door opens to reception area. When we open the outside door, we always worry that the door may hit somebody outside. It is better to put a warning notice on the door to ask the people not to stay too close to the door.

    The room is big and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is good, close to tourism attractions, public transportation, and self-serving laundry. The breakfast is also good. We are happy with our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Where to stay in bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and cozy little hotel in the center of bruges. Staff very helfull and good and clean accomodations in a charmfull old building. Very good breakfast. Highly recomended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    A good, functional, very well priced hotel in a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front entrance is pretty dark - it could use a bit of an upgrade to make it more welcoming.

    Excellent location. Good breakfast which wasn’t expected - so that was a big bonus. Very cheap stay. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Great stay in a lovely little hotel minutes from the town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I appreciate listed buildings cannot make major alterations. The bathroom facilities were great but a curtain would have been nice

    Lovely breakfast. Helpful staff. Nice room, although a curtain around the bathroom area would have helped privacy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Couldn't fault anything. Hotel, Bruges, eating out and weather all perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My travelling companion complained of a very lumpy pillow and the replacement was, apparently, no better but mine was fine.

    Lovely warm room. Comfy bed. Excellent shower. Delicious and filling breakfast in a pleasant room and free to take our time. The location was perfect - very central - and the staff were all friendly and helpful. They spoke good English which, given our total lack of Flemish, was important. Very pleasing hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Great location, good breakfast. Room a very good size. Very pleased would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Large room for the. Building had plenty of character. Friendly hosts allowed us to store our baggage on day of arrival and day of departure so we didn't have to carry our bags all day. Fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Many thanks - a fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If there was a communal room/that the bar area was open later so that guests in different rooms could chat together

    Friendly and helpful staff Good facilities for my sister in a wheelchair Clean and functional room Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    A great characterful old hotel. A complete contrast to the chain hotels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A minor issue, but maybe useful to others. As the building is old, parts of it dating back 500 years, it is not possible to install a lift, so climbing stairs - some of them spiral, is NOT optional! A price well worth paying for staying in such a place, but if you cannot manage stairs, you should be aware.

    Lovely old building, characterful, and sizeable rooms, with modern en suite bathrooms. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast included is good and fresh, usual continental buffet, but with eggs cooked fresh to order. Very close to Markt, so everything in Bruges to hand.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heard guests in floor above footsteps and creaking floorboards in early hrs of the morning Pillows were lumpy and not very supportive

    Staff-amazing, very helpful and friendly Rooms-stunning. Very clean, luxurious, cozy and beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    The location was ideal just a short walk to the market...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was ideal just a short walk to the market square. The rooms were nice and clean with modern bathrooms. Breakfast and coffee were really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, comfortable and safe environment, polite and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed linen didn't smell fresh, pillows had a sort of stale sweat smell.

    Staff were helpful and polite. Location was excellent. Rooms were comfortable and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was good. The room and overall property felt safe. bathroom was clean and modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    I enjoyed my time here and no real complaints, but would stay south of the city next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are better locations.

    A quiet hotel not far from the market area, shops and restaurants nearby etc. The single room (#6) is small and being on the stairway to breakfast, the stairwell echoes with your fellow guest morning chat. This room needs a little attention (leaking radiator in the bathroom, dents and chips in walls etc). The breakfast staff are a little grumpy, but plenty of options in a continental style and plenty of food which is good, because Bruges is pricey for food and drink. Plus its served 08:00 - 10:00 which is very reasonable, if like me, you need a little lie in after a night on the crazy beer ;).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    The room itself was very presentable and clean upon arrival...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the bed to be very uncomfortable and only one small pillow available.

    The room itself was very presentable and clean upon arrival and the breakfast was nice. Location was great walking distance to all shops and not far from Bruges Station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Great room (even got a small terrace outside ours),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A full height mirror in the bedroom would have been good, the only mirror we had was above the bathroom sink.

    Great room (even got a small terrace outside ours), breakfast was nice and the staff were all very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay in a cozy hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very delicious. The staff made fresh omelet for the guests. The location was perfect, only 2 minutes walk from the main square. The room was spacious for 3 of us and our dog. The bath room was very tidy and spacious. If you are traveling with a dog, be sure to inform the hotel in advance because not every room can have a dog.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    Although we only had one night Stay we really liked the room the breakfast and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the owner placed us on the ground floor and allowed us to leave our luggage with them until room was ready at 2.00pm. Very friendly staff Breakfast was excellent and very varied. Clean comfortable and in a great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    location, breakfast, hotel was quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i wish the hotel had provided soap and shampoo. only one tiny, tiny piece of soap and a small sampler packet of a gel provided. i stayed 3 days and my bed sheets were not changed in the time.

    location, breakfast, hotel was quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel really quirky great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quirky room the same as out previous visit staff were very accommodating in arranging the same room and let us check in early and leave our bags at no extra charge. Breakfast was lovely we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable historic hotel near the heart of Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lower of the two breakfast areas felt confining. Breakfast was nice but not great - eggs were overcooked both days.

    Location was great - quite central while still being peaceful at night. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    A very traditional building full of the elegance and charm you expect from Bruges. Efficient service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t exactly cosy- the beds were a long distance from each other. The decor made it a bit dark.

    Very well located and easy to find. Exceptionally clean and very quiet room. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and scrambled eggs to die for!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.0
    A real shame great location but poor sleep due to noise and cleanliness is reflected in rating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness pillows were disgusting stained and smelly when I asked room service to change them they changed case... really! I complained to manager and he apologised and replaced them with clean ones that had been washed so many times they were just lumps and balls poking through... due to poor sleep had to go and buy our own pillows... also all night long people above us were running around heavily on the floor and with no sound proofing kept us awake it was that loud we thought there was a party going on.....

    Location was fantastic very close to everything... breakfast was really great with lots of choices and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Very convenient and central location, easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite dimly lit in communal areas Average breakfast Quite expensive

    Very convenient and central location, easy to find Lovely big bedroom and bathroom Tea and coffee making facility Staff were helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff and a hotel full of character in a great city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking spot was a little tight , but manageable. On the other hand can appreciate there is very limited inner-city parking, so still good to have a spot.

    Excellent staff, very helpful, polite and friendly. Breakfast was great - they offer you eggs so not completely cold. Asked for a top floor room which we got with a nice balcony. Excellent location - 2 mins from markt , and a great pub is just next door! Ideal spot for taking in the sights of Bruges

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely. Bruges is beautiful and the hotel is in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows weren’t very comfortable and the first night was quite cold until I bumped up the thermostats on the radiators.

    Staff were very friendly and couldn’t have been more helpful. The room was very nice ‘boutique like’. The hotel is in an excellent location. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    First trip to Bruges with 2 young children and what a fantastic experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff - gave us tips on restaurants and activities in the local area. Breakfast was fantastic and very filling for the day ahead, especially for the children. Accommodation was wonderful and what a gorgeous bath to soak in after a day of sightseeing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Lovely, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were very thin and could hear next door speaking (luckily it was other members of our family!)

    Great, friendly hotel. Fantastic location right in centre of Bruges. Very clean. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were a little lumpy and the bath was slippy when I got in on the first day but it didn't stop us having a nice time!

    The staff put a breakfast pack together for us as we were leaving at 4am - really sweet! The room was lovely and it was really close to the main square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel, friendly atmosphere & the whole experience was 100%
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything, there were no negatives!👍👍

    We loved the whole experience. The room was big, plus the bathroom was absolutely fabulous, breakfast was amazing, so much choice. Our little well travelled dog Freddy was happy at the hotel! We will be going back to the hotel for many visits through out the year! The owner & her daughter were so welcoming and nice! We loved,loved,loved the hotel! Also the staff were very friendly & helpful! Best wishes Simone & Peter Watling & not forgetting Freddy🐶🐶

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, great room and friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had a x4 piece toaster, as I waited for hubby to do his when the eggs arrived my eggs were getting colder and vice versa. And also a little more selection for a warm breakfast e.g not just eggs

    Was very quirky and different deco

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.8
    Don't stay in room 17, trust me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in room 17, which opens right in front of the reception desk, which is very awkward when there is a line of people checking in/out. Not to mention this room is on the ground floor right at the front of the hotel, meaning your windows are like shop windows on the street. Limited privacy.

    Good location, walking distance to most tourist spots.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location with secure parking with knowledgeable and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows too small & lumpy Stairs quite steep

    Good selection of food for breakfast Staff really helpful & informative Secure Hotel Parking close by Fantastic Location 5 mins from main square

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic Location, Really Helpful Staff and Great Value For Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were fully booked for the next night so we couldn't extend our stay............. :-)

    The man greeting us on arrival was brilliant, he helped us in with our luggage and directed us to the nearest multi-storey car park - barely two minutes walk away, before checking us in. He gave us a map of the city and marked where the "high-lights" were. Our room was the one "over the archway" in the photographs and was superb. The location is perfect with all of the main tourist attractions within easy walking distance. Breakfast was buffet style with some waiter service for eggs which arrived swiftly. There was a good selection of items to eat. We would definitely stay there again if we come back to Bruges.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Staff were amazing from the first day to taking us to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were amazing from the first day to taking us to the secure parking personally. Room was very big and bathroom. Really clean plenty of storage and tea/coffee and hairdryer in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Love brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Location, room is very large. We have baby and we were so relax and happy in the room. Breakfast was amazing. We ate eggs, cheese, bread, jam,fresh fruits... personel are so kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was excellent. 8th trip to Bruges, but our 1st with our dog, the staff could not have been more helpful. Rooms were lovely, large, nicely decorated and very clean. Breakfast was great, coffee fresh and strong. There is a park within 5 min walk from the hotel where you can walk your dog. Will be returning soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    We staid here 5 or 6 years ago and place is as good as it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe just not too clean, but nothing really bad.

    We staid here 5 or 6 years ago and place is as good as it was. Comfy bed, very good breakfast, helpful staff. Great locations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay, but don't end up with room 17
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put us in a storefront room which was noisy at night and had people literally walking and looking in through the huge storefront windows in our room. The room also only had two tiny chairs so we could only sit on the bed if you wanted to sit comfortably. Just make sure to request a room that isn't room 17, unless you're ready to be the window display for passersby.

    Very close to shopping and restaurants and sites of interest. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was delicious and the courtyard is charming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Likes:
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tho only thing they could improve on is... Fitting a few movement activated light switches on the public landings and stair areas as that would make it safer and easier as the corridors can be dark.

    Likes: Room - very good Breakfast - Very good indeed Wifi-Link - Very fast & free Location. Very good - about 200 mtrs north form the NW entrance to the central market place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows were very uncomfortable.

    Central location. Amazing room in the old part of the building with mezzanine level in the roof with single beds. Massive bathroom and roll top bath. Good breakfast included. Friendly staff and able to store luggage after check outs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    The hotel was in a perfect location just outside of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in a perfect location just outside of the Markt. The staff we efficient and friendly. We had a room on the top floor for 4 adults, it was clean, beds comfy, temperature just right with facilities too. The stairs are steep so rooms on a higher floor wouldn't be suitable for people with walking difficulties.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    So near and so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you don't like stairs tell them!

    Service, breakfast and location are excellent. It's a maze of a place, which gives it such an interesting feel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money in a prime location in beautiful Bruges. Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a few mosquitoes in the room, but once advised, the staff supplied electronic repellent devices immediately.

    Bed was very comfortable. The room was a good size and the two basins in the bathroom were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location very close to the central square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was not so close and in a building where you can be blocked by people waiting for a park to come free even though the hotel have booked the parking for you.

    Excellent location very close to the central square. Very friendly staff. Room was very nice and spacious and the bathroom was excellent. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    A fine hotel for a few nights centrally located. The breakfast was excellent the waitress wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite noisy due to its design - not the owners fault - I could hear people on stairs closing doors talking in corridors and everything magnified ... had to wear ear plugs to sleep and I was told no 13 was a quiet room! but everything else was very good esp the breakfast cleanliness etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Gentleman at Reception was extremely helpful with restaurant choices, organised trip to Flanders Fields and printed out Timetable for Train journey. Staff in general very courteous and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant stay at a comfy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Supplies of coffee and shower gel / shampoo were limited

    Location is perfect, short walk to Markt square. Good buffet breakfast, friendly staff and comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location and friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Building work going on outside the hotel made the road narrow and difficult to negotiate at times.

    Rooms very comfortable and clean. Ideal location for visiting Bruges.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    It is a beautiful querky hotel in a listed building. We had a lovely big room on the top floor with a great shower. The breakfast was great, you are offered eggs made to your liking and l had a delicious made to order omelet. The receptionist was great on our arrival and very helpful and informative.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    A go to place that must be visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A warning that Bruges is a nightmare for foreign drivers and some very clear directions on how to get to the hotel. But then booking.com must take a lot of the blame for this failure.

    A good location and a nice hotel. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. great bar just around the corner (Volkswagen saint Jacobs) , turn right, and a lively ribs restaurant just down the street, turn left.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building next door was being renovated and we could hear them hammering at 8am.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was amazing, it was large and well furnished with a huge comfy bed and tea making facilities. Great bathroom. The car park was a secure garage just round the corner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is great, just a few steps from Belfort. The buffet breakfast was good, nothing special but was a good fuel for the day-start. The room was large as well as bathroom and very clean. the staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Boterhuis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: