Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bourgoensch Hof 3 stars

Wollestraat 39, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#75 of 102 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1382 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    3.3
    Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is renovating currently. Although the room clearly needs it, we weren’t notified at any point in the booking process. Drilling and full on building noises started at 7AM!!! Staff’s reply is that we should have done our research. Conclusion: stay away, for same price one can stay in better hotel in same location with no building noise.

    Central Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.9
    We had a long weekend with friends. This was a good value in the heart of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were stuffy with no air-conditioning. The rooms facing the street had road noise, even through the double windows.

    The hotel is undergoing some renovations, but the area was clean and it was not noisy. The breakfast was continental with hard boiled eggs, meat, cheese and bread. The location was excellent and easy to get to from the train station on the bus or a 20 minute walk.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.8
    Location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently in works, dirt and wires hanging if walls The elevator doesn’t work properly and gets stuck between floors nearly every time we used it The breakfast room was old and furniture frayed and stained badly

    Location and views

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location - very helpful receptionist when we got...
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to hotel tricky with roads closed in close proximity to the hotel.

    Excellent location - very helpful receptionist when we got lost and were late arriving

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for a romantic break, recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall a really good experience, only slight criticisms I can think of are a shower curtain would have been nice to stop the bathroom floor getting flooded. Fresh pastries would have been nice as they seemed pre-packaged and a little dry, however at €6 breakfast did offer good value for money... Highly recommend this hotel.

    Had a canal side room, view was spectacular. Location perfect for old town. Staff extremely helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    6.7
    Without the disruption of the building work this would have been fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main issue was access to the room. At the time of booking we were advised that some renovation work was taking place, but the extent of that was underplayed. It was impossible to access the room via the stairway and although there was a lift, to use this we had to walk over the dust sheets with the result that dirt was carried into the lift, which was also used by the workmen to get their equipment in place and by the staff who had to service the rooms. Unavoidably dirt and dust was carried on into the bedroom. The only access for the workmen carrying their tools and other building materials was via a narrow corridor where clients were standing awaiting the arrival of the lift. Aside from that we had to negotiate cables and pipes leading from outside which prevented the lift door from opening fully. (We were in room 26 in what I imagine was the original hotel. Customers who have rooms in the adjoining old 'Erasmus' hotel would not be affected in the same way). I think it wrong of the hotel to continue using these rooms whilst this work was taking place; at the very least the rooms should have been discounted. There was a bar facility in the reception area, but the breakfast room would have provided a much cosier and less clinical atmosphere.

    Continental breakfast was good with a variety of meat, cheeses, breads, jams, teas and good coffee and plates were replenished promptly. The breakfast room was charming. The bedroom itself was comfortable and housekeeping was good. The hotel is located centrally and the public parking was less than 5 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    This is a great hotel and will be even better when all the renovations are complete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. We enjoyed our stay. Staff were very helpful with suggestions and answers to any queries we had.

    Very comfortable hotel. We had a lovely street view. Hotel is being renovated. This didn't inconvenience us in any way, but a box of chocolates was left in our room one evening to compensate for any inconvenience. It was a really nice touch. Hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of everything, but not noisy at all at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Had a great time, would definitely stay here again. Cannot stress how great the location is enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous location. Comfortable rooms for the price given the location. Staff very helpful and friendly. Ongoing construction work caused some disruption to entrance and exits but if you are like us and out and about exploring it does not impact on you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful room with magnificent view of the canal and...
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Climbing stairs with very heavy suit cases but all worth it would stay there again.

    Beautiful room with magnificent view of the canal and perfect location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    3.3
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was filthy. No aircon, the bathroom yun was very slippery (not advisable for elders), no elevator, the electric plugs does not work properly, very old hotel needs renovation.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing stay and not clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't informed about the renovation, so everything outside the room was dirty, lift not working, loud noises. On the bed there we're hairs from previously guests, so had the bathroom. Even a opened beer can in the refrigerator. Included fan was rattle-ling and the toilet door did not close at all (Room 34).

    The location was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything went as we hoped, and we were very happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Presently building work affects the hotel. Not that it bothered us at all. When it finishes I expect the hotel to be even better.

    We were in the centre of town surrounded by the main attractions. The location was very scenic and the breakfast room overlooked the canal. Any members of staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Right in the heart of Bruges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was outdated and quite dark. Since it’s so central and located right next a cafe, it can get quite loud at times.

    Right in the heart of Bruges. Next to the picturesque canal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Love this place - have been before and will definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is ok, but could have done with some more fresh fruit.

    Could not ask for a better location! Friendly and helpful owners and staff. There is some renovation going on but it was not too intrusive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    + Location - perfect location, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    + Location - perfect location, close to everything. Parking, the photo point, the square. +++ Major props goes to The Staff! Thank you Gerard, Lud and team. We had an incident and by mistake left some important documents. We only found out it was missing when we were already in Paris! They assisted in every way possible and we were able to get it back immediately.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    + Location - perfect location, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    + Location - perfect location, close to everything. Parking, the photo point, the square. +++ Major props goes to The Staff! Thank you Gerard, Lud and team. We had an incident and by mistake left some important documents. We only found out it was missing when we were already in Paris! They assisted in every way possible and we were able to get it back immediately.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not that I didn't like it, but I was surprised that the hotel was still being renovated though only effected the staircase walls. I didn't see on the hotel details that it was in this process.

    Our bedroom was comfortable and quiet. I slept well. Thereception area was welcoming and the breakfast room was full of character and overlooked a canal. Breakfast service was good, the lady was delightful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    The perfect location in Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A building during renovation. A tiny room.

    The perfect location in the most picturesque place of the town (near to 5-star hotel named the same and the biggest beer wall I've seen). Breakfast room with amazing view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, friendly staff, great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could tell it was 2 hotels joined together, up and down stairs to see my daughter on same level. Nothing serious though.

    Perfect location, friendly staff, great city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Very central location and the bed was the most comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty small (read very) and the toilet although clean had a stale urine smell. The hotel was undergoing extensive building work which wasn’t mentioned on booking.

    Very central location and the bed was the most comfortable yet. Views from the room were good and the whole place seemed well run.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    The staff were more than friendly more than great they were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquito bites. Avoid rooms with sloped roof.

    The staff were more than friendly more than great they were the best ever. Location was great. Nice canal view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    It was near the center .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no parking what so ever . We had to park about a half mile away in an under ground car park.

    It was near the center . It had lovely views ,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed every minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location. Parking not great but that's the same for all of central Bruges. Lovely, helpful staff, small but very comfy room, gorgeous city and lots to explore. Really nice mini-break and would stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel great location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not just around the corner and so er ended up finding a spot on our i own.

    Nice hotel and Even if they were rebuilding that did not make the experience bad- we can recomend the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice but could be much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The experience from staying in the hotel 2 years ago was much better. This time we've booked 2 rooms with canal view and there's several cons: * persistent smell of moisture. Especially on the zero floor. * very bad soundproofing. Especially on the top floor. * at ~7 AM there was a sound of sewage cleaning, after that on the top floor was a smell of sewage for next few hours. Even opened windows didn't help

    Location is great. Interior is quite worn but the view on the river is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    The location was amazing, right in the center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great!

    The location was amazing, right in the center! The view of the river from our window! The staff was so nice and sweet! The cafe of the hotel on the terrace where you could have a drink at night and watch the swans passing by... Everything was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Feedback
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy which came from the others rooms. No elevator for the 2nd floor but personal agreed to carry the luggages

    Position/ Personal/ Terrace/ room view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was excellent. it was close to the major attractions, restaurants and it is by the canal. The staff was very friendly and pleasant and took time to share about the surroundings and nearby attractions. The property and room was very clean, too. Would definitely stay here again when in Bruges!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Wonderfull.. I just can't wait till the next time to be there !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was no air condition (we opened the window most of the time and there were no insects at all) and there was no minibar or a small fridge and I needed it for some food that may rot or some drinks that need to be cold to drink or chocolate that would melt .. but everything else was just excellent. it's maybe a little bit expensive but I don't regret spending the money in this wonderful hotel.. it had 99% of what I wanted.

    I took the room that was right before the canal .. it was amazing Everything was just excellent .. cleanliness was excellent ..the best location ever was just beside the center and beside the canal also .. the room was huge .. with many facilities.. a couch/sofa .. seating area .. a .. even the hair drier was very good compared to other hair driers in other hotels ..the view was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Medieval charm in central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom a little tired. Handrail loose. Toileteries inadequate and not replenished.

    Large room with comfortable bed. Exceptional view of canal - living Bruges. Location wonderful. A concern about the room was resolved quickly and handled very diplomatically.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Neat clean and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.. if u carrying small lugague then 2nd floor otherwise prefer ground or at d most 1st floor no lift..

    Neat clean and great location. Helpful guy at d reception..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    3.8
    Not as Good as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should really now before you make your reservation that the hotel is being renovated. This affects the whole experience. The staff did their job but not much more. For example no one bothered to ask if we enjoyed our visit. We had a Standard room which was very small - you could not easily walk around the bed and there was no way that we could have both our suitcases open at the same time - I wander how small the economy rooms are...

    Situated in the middle of the town center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful Bruge at the Hotel Bourgoensch Hof...wonderful adventure.. chocolate, beer and ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing..It was a great value.

    It is right in the the town center and easy access to everything. We upgraded to canal view the second night and the view was awesome and the room a little larger which was nice.The most photographed place in Bruge was visible from our two windows which opened to bring in the cool fresh air. This hotel will be exceptional after the renovations are completed and will probably be out of my budget but I would definitely return to Bruge and Hotel Bourgoensch Hof.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly staff, good hotel walkable to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signage around hotel is lacking, which direction is breakfast room or toilets etc

    Great location, on a very beautiful part of a canal. Hotel undergoing refurbishment at the front to the reception and communal areas but this isn't noisy or intrusive and will loo great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Really lovely place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under construction and building noise started around 7.30am. Unable to get ‘fresh’milk; powdered milk in the room and UHT milk at breakfast. It seems to be the norm in Brussels but tastes revolting in tea coffee and cereal.

    The location was wonderful, on the canal and on the street to the market square. It was very quiet at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    It is fantastic location, staffs are so lovely, hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say , the hotel is brilliant

    It is fantastic location, staffs are so lovely, hotel is gorgeous, everything is wonderful, I strongly recommend it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay and I would stay there again at any time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a few blocks away and because of construction at the hotel we had to carry all of our bags a few blocks from the parking garage.

    Location was unbelievably beautiful. Views of the canal in the evening was spectacular! Great location within walking distance of all areas of the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Great location, very professional and pleasant staff, and extremely comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some renovation on-going, joining two adjacent properties, which made for a bit of confusion in finding our way around. However, that was very minor and did not impact us negatively.

    Location on canal and near market excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    3 days in the centre of a lively Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is a real problem although we had pre-booked in an underground car park we had to go to the hotel first to get the parking permit. The noise from the commentaries on the far too frequent canal boat tours became wearing after a while. The hotel is being extended and refurbished and is without a lift at present. Carrying two heavy suitcases up four flights of narrow stairs was not a joy . We arrived the day after the Procession of the Holy Blood and Bruges was still extremely crowded.

    A superb location in the centre with a magical view of the canals. All the main locations were within walking distance and we were spoilt for choice with many good restaurants. There is plenty to do and see in Bruges

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable space, good facilities, reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable space, good facilities, reasonably priced. Also, I confused my booking and accidentally booked for the next day (only found out when I went to check in) and the staff were so accommodating and found me a spare room on the day itself without an extra fee. Made the whole experience very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable and relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fly-screens on two windows and my husband and I got bitten by mosquitos! Had to have windows open due to hot weather - no air-conditioning in room. (Would have liked to have had a safe to keep valuables like our passports, etc., and a small fridge would be good for keeping drinks cool, especially in the summer months.) We believe there will be a refurbishment in the future which will be good. These comments would not put us off staying here again.

    A great location - close to everything. Lovely room with high ceilings. Nice to be able to open the windows for a cooling breeze. Lovely view over canal. Nice and quiet away from the street noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel in a lovely City, surrounded by lovely People.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs to the lower floor were not pleasant. Appreciate there is building work underway but we would liked to have been told of the very steep stairway.

    The bed was superb, very comfortable. The view from the room was excellent. The staff were very helpful and informative. The Carparking set up was very very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    An excellent stay in a very beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was still being renovated, but the view was worth the climb and a very strong young lady whisked my bag up the stairs. The decor is a bit tired.

    We paid extra for an upstairs room with a view of the canal. The views on 2 sides from 3 large windows far exceeded our expectations and made our stay. The room was large with comfortable places to sit. The location right in the centre of things was very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    the views from the hotel are amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the views from the hotel are amazing! I woke up and slept to the views of Bruges' bridges and canals <3 and the location is excellent, right next to market square, and very close to all the monuments, truly in the center of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Good value for a room with such superb views and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic view of the canal from our bedroom window and terrific location in Bruges - very central for everything. In this respect the hotel is very good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    A room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get rid of the old wall-to-wall carpet and keep the old wooden floor - will make the room more authentic and clean.

    Marvelous! Like living in a Flemish painting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.8
    Wonderful location, but hotel needs love, and guests need affection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired and not overly clean. Breakfast was boring. The hotel is undergoing serious modifications, with noisy construction work starting at 07:30 each morning. Had to buy own toiletries, tea bags and milk.

    Location is superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    We were given a choice between two rooms which was amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a choice between two rooms which was amazing, went with a room on the second floor with stunning views. This hotel is amazing value and it's location is incredible!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    The perfect balance between old world charm and modern comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The perfect place to explore the city Hotel Bourgoensch Hof is the perfect balance between old world charm and modern comforts. It's situated down a beautiful little alley, just off from one of the main roads leading to the market square, the centre of the old town of Bruges. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, the staff are friendly and remarkebly helpfull with great reccomendations on where to eat nearby. The breakfast is great value for money, and served in an exquisite historic dining room with a fairytail view over the canal. We are so happy we chose to stay at Hotel Bourgoensch Hof - it's a charming and cosy establishment - easy to find and hard to leave.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    The hotel staff was really friendly and welcoming, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are currently renovation works, starting really early in the morning. That was really annoying. This is something I would like to know before booking. Thats the only negative thing, everything else was good.

    The hotel staff was really friendly and welcoming, breakfast room was wonderful, the room was quite small but cozy. The Hotel is located in the center!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location to get out and see everything Bruges has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar/restaurant has been closed. No cooked Breakfast option, building work, although nothing over the weekend. Started at 8am on Monday morning

    The location was perfect walking distance to tourist attractions

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Great position, at the very center of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building in which we were staying was missing an elevator. Also, the building is being remodeled which it makes it noisy from 8am.

    Great position, at the very center of the town. Good quality of the breakfast, although there are not too many choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought the room was a bit more modern because of the pictures. This however was a minor thing and we loved the room never the less.

    Our car would not start when we wanted to leave. When we asked the reception staff at the hotel, they immediately helped us. They even drove to the parking spot to help start the car!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay, this hotel was perfect for our weekend visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, wonderful view, very comfy bed, almost missed breakfast! All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly and the room was very spacious and light and had all the facilities we required

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Hotel in beautiful location overlooking canal very picturesque. Room was so comfortable & warm with
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are renovations going on in hotel we were woken to workers banging /shouting etc.

    We had a beautiful room looking out into the canal. The room was so warm / comfortable & spacious. Breakfast was super ! Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay despite the building work but room left something to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major building work caused disturbance in early morning and other times. Fire alarm going off whilst in shower. No heating or ventilation in bathroom. No socket near a mirror to use a hairdryer. What I thought was a cosy panelled bar was in fact the breakfast room.

    Warm big room with canal view and comfy big bed. Superb location. Friendly and helpful staff. Good Wi-Fi. Good value buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants were cold when a fresh batch was put out. Room in need of a bit of attention. Bathroom door when opened kept banging shut and the full length mirror in it was a bit loose too.

    Breakfast overall was lovely . Hotel location was good and hotel quaint.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Location is perfect, you can walk everywhere from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was smaller than i expected.

    Location is perfect, you can walk everywhere from the hotel. We didn't expect much for the breakfast but it is very good and the scene from the restaurant is brilliant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Check in was so easy after a long day of travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Check in was so easy after a long day of travelling. The breakfast was perfect. Bread, cheese, fruit cereal, and lots and lots of coffee. Great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Loved Bruges and would return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so a problem if you aren’t very mobile, and shower attachment in bath, but due to height of ceiling you couldn’t stand up, fine for us, but worth pointing out to people who prefer showers.

    Perfect location, and beautiful view from bedroom window.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Seriously exceeded expectations, best hotel in bruges A+++
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the owner / manager couldn’t have done more to help, a great guy and experience

    Great rooms, one of the best continental breakfasts, very friendly and accomadating staff, stunning views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    A+
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since they are renovating overall, this room could use an update as well, but it was great anyway

    We loved: -The hardworking gentleman at the reception and the fact that he checked us in earlier. -The wonderful location, one minute from the central place and in the heart of Brugge -The beautiful view on the canal, i bet we had the best view in town. -The cleaning ladies where very kind with us and our dog (much appreciated) -Electric plugs in all the right spots (rare to find) Probably because of the low season, the price was lower than the room deserves, which made us very happy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic Hotel in Beautiful Bruges!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really - only thing could be it didn't have a stand up shower but the sit down one in the bath had good pressure and the water was nice and warm.

    Perfect location just off the main square, absolutely stunning view from our hotel window overlooking the canal and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location (city centre), Lovely staff, Clean (regular room service)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the parking (saperate from the building) Noise due to works in the bulding (but not too anyoing as we were out of the room most of the day)

    Excellent location!!!! Beautiful building Friendly and helpful staff Clean, beautiful view close to the canal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The views from the room, the warm welcome and the lovely breakfast room. Good value for money and in an excellent location for enjoying all Bruges has to offer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite dated (but comfortable). The shower was terrible (over the bath - no curtain and sprayed everywhere).

    Excellent location. Right in the heart of everything and a short walk to all the main attractions. The view from the “river view room” was great. The dining room is lovely and breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    3.8
    Utter disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old tired furniture stained carpets musty damp rooms poor breakfast rude staff. a dreadful experience, we complained about the room and were then told that we could be moved to another room, we had already paid for a superior room! The next morning we were told there were no other rooms available! After experiencing the awful breakfast we said we could not stay, and showed the receptionist the photos on the web site which states that the hotel had a restaurant and a photo of the bar which was closed in the evening also the photos we took of our very poor room, he agreed that we would just pay for the one night, he said it was very good of him to do this and intermated that we should not do a review as " he had done us a favour " Brugge is a beautiful town and fortunately we eventually found a lovely hotel.

    Nice facade lovely position.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Perfect location, really really amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in hours can be a bit early.

    Everything was perfect, great location, friendly and kind staff, beautiful scenery. nothing to complain, just perfect especially for romantic holidays.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived our room was still being made up. When our room was ready we went in and opened the bathroom door. It really stunk of cigarette smoke inside. I know that the hotel can’t prevent people smoking in the rooms, but it was exceptionally strong and I’m not sure why the cleaning team did not think to open a window or report it. We brought it up at the front desk and they said that they could not help it if some people smoke in the rooms.

    So close to market square. We walked everywhere because it was so central.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a leak in the roof that woke me up at 5:55 two mornings in a row. Even tho the staff were aware after the first night they didn't fix the leak until the 3rd day. No alternative room was offered. Free breakfast was given but the breakfast is poor and often empty.

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    A view that will you not forget for a whole life time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A view that will you not forget for a whole life time. So worth it. Oh, and the breakfast too. So much food, quality food and again the view. This is a spot on the romantic and one of the oldest and truest corner of Brugge, if you go for the canal tour, the guide will tell you about these buildings, that must mean something! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Top hotel , top staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location in Bruges centre . Extremely comfortable hotel . All the above extremely important but the outstanding front of house staff make this hotel extra special

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful, confortable and super clean hotel very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no reserved parking for this hotel. You have to park in an underground public parking 3 blocks away.

    Beautiful, confortable and super clean hotel very well located couple of minutes away from the belfry (walking)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    Very central, ideal for sightseeing, not luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only down side was settling the bill. On the PDQ machine we were offered the price in euros or GBP, we choose GBP then a fee of almost £40 was added to our bill for the conversion service, however no notice was given of this charge, while I am sure this is perfectly normal, it would have been nice to have been informed of this extra charge

    Double or twin rooms are very compact, the door to the bathroom / toilet is opaque so offers no privacy from other room occupants. The upgrade option to a river view room was worth it, huge room, massive bed and stunning view. Parking meant a drive to a public car park then a 10 - 15 min walk back but is under cover and secure, so unload then park the car. This hotel is currently undergoing improvements, while it did not cause us any issues, it is worth taking it into consideration. .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Excellent location, comfy beds, clean and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed economy room and room was lovely, clean, comfy beds. Bathroom facilities good, shower over bath, really clean, shower gel etc provided. Tea and coffee facilities. Continental breakfast included, fresh pastries, fresh orange etc. Value for money, and close to centre of brugee. Everything in walking distance. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Bourgoensch Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: