Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Golden Anchor 3 stars

Ridder Dessainlaan 2, 2800 Mechelen, Belgium

#27 of 29 hotels in Mechelen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 552 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot. No airco only ventilator. Quadruple room has actually one double bed and one sofa bed. In general, it’s not a 4 star hotel, but rather high 2 star or low 3 star hotel. For reasons like: - no proper lobby - small and very basic bathroom in the rooms - no proper elevator - corridor, etc done are cheap looking. ... And the price is more or less for 4 start hotel.

    The Stade was very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Came to my room rather late and the temperature was at least 35 degrees, if not more. Struggled to get the air condition working for a while but failed so called reception and got the reply that air condition does not work but I could get a fan... Did not sleep much due to the extreme heat in the room, neither did my colleagues in their rooms.

    The location is quite okay close to the ring but still at walking distance from city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn’t working. The person at the desk when I arrived didn’t explain the parking options very well.

    Good location. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to stay in a smoking room with yellow nicotine stained ceilings! The smell of stale smoke was overpowering.

    It’s in a beautiful area for walking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some problems with hot water for one day and a request of 20€ to loan a time disk for the parking... The carpet (moquette) on the stairs and floor quite dirty and old...

    Restaurant and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room and bathroom very cold... no information from reception on heating system...no one at reception... bar very limited. breakfast not very fresh.

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell of sewage in the premises. Happened to me when I was there 8 months ago. They told me then it was a temporary problem they would fix. But now again. Will avoid this hotel from now on.

    Location is good, parking facilities also. Receptionist friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price is majorly overstated for such level of stay; light in the room is not strong enough; not perfectly isolated from the sound of common zones

    Polite personnel, located right between my destination and city center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is not so quiet i mean the place is fine but u can listen everything from the other rooms on side and up side , this for me, is the only shame of it. one more thing please change the pillows are so unconfotable

    nice hotel very tidy and worm , staff very kind and funny, the hotel is very clean and prop. U feel like home. Thanks

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is in the street and can get quite crowded

    Got the room at a cheap deal. Very comfy beds and pillow, plenty of towels for the 4 of us. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Great location with lots of interesting places nearby,the town is wonderful with lots of unusual shops and good restaurants. The room was great,we will certainly go back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived one day late due to illness, i advised the hotel of this, when I get there they gave me a smoking room after I requested a non smoking room saying my room was given away. This is even after charging me for the one night i wasn't there. The lady at reception didn't seem to care of the situation just telling me they had nothing left. After some argument from my sick husband we got moved to another room. This room had no working airconditioner... we were too tired then to continue arguing!!

    😔

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hottest 2 days of the year and the air con was not working we were put on the third floor with a three year old child the windows were unsafe to open as the child could have fallen out these windows are not safe for children. When we asked about the air con we were told it had been broken for some time. I explained the room was to hot they explained all they could do is try to get an portable air con unit this they did but we then could not sleep due to the noise of this unit. Also when we booked this hotel you did not mention that there was no parking on site As we were at a local horse show we were always late back at night finding it impossible to find a parking spot.

    Very dissatisfied

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's entire air conditioning system was broken so the room - and indeed whole hotel - was stiflingly hot at night, even with the windows open and relatively cool temperature outside. Combined with a soft, cheap mattress and neck-straining pillow, I didn't get a wink of sleep. There's no sign of the air conditioning system being fixed any time soon (it will require installation of a new machine on the roof), so if you like a climate-controlled room, you might want to look elsewhere.

    Very clean room, friendly staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My phone didn't work and they didn't always leave water for the kettle.

    Bed was so comfortable but my phone didn't work and the maid service was hit or miss. Front desk staff was great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast does not meet the standard of a 4-star-hotel. Small selection of bread cover, everything short, no refilling of food (e.g. no orange juice), fright eggs ordered, scrambeld eggs served, and so on, and so on....

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After my shower, I pulled the towel from the rack & 2 used empty bottles of shower gel & shampoo had been left there by the previous occupants and fell into the bath tub. Just felt a little uncomfortable

    Close to our friends. Lady in the reception & bar on Saturday evening was superb. Bubbly & friendly with great knowledge. We had a large dinner party in the function room. The food, all courses were excellent. Chef took time with us, chatting about the menu. Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is listed as having parking. There are only 3 spaces available and they were taken.

    The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very hot and airco not working at rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a heavy trouble by mistake but staff give best cooperation to me👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing just a little bit expensive

    The location is very nice and the room is very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold

    PRICE

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was up to much

    The room as very comfortable and offers good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable and perfect location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the breakfast was quite poor for the price. No a great variety or enough quantity for everyone to have. Expensive for what we got.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite comfortable but bathroom is very small, especially the shower

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was too small

    Nice room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were great, location was good, only issue AC didn't work and it was warm in the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled quite a bit and the bed sheets and blankets weren't so clean

    Hotel is located at a very nice location and is economical as well

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was adequate, the parking a little inconvenient but accessable, the locaton of the hotel was excellent for visiting the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location next to the canal and easy walk into the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was cold in shower

    Room was nice, beds comfy staff very friendly and helpful. Very dog friendly too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom to small! It needs a bit renovation. Breakfast could be better

    Good location, quite room, helpful, friendly personal service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not very spacious appartment

    Location is very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    airconditioning did not work. reception offered to switch rooms but also in the new room it did not work. therefore very warm in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    easy walk to city centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast buffet. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The décor could do with updating!

    Good location, friendly staff, clean room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verything in good i will booking again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer was so old did not work well

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    sauna and room air con not working

    good location free parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely helpful especially traveling with children

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor parking facilities

    quite in the center of the town

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old rooms Very dark room Smelly bathroom (Old) carpet on the floor

    Breakfast was oke-ish Wifi was oke-ish

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On street parking only and card machine didn't work.

    A nice smallish hotel with friendly service.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to restaurants. B'fast was fresh and plentiful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    comfortable and functional place, near town center

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    slightly outdated bathroom.

    Nice bed, good breakfast...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Use best western to attract clients. Dangereus lift. Completely forbidden by law. It affects your website. Never again

    Nothing. Arnaque

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed for 3 days while we were there .

    Staff could not have been more helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had no issues with my stay.

    I enjoyed my stay all round. Would choose the same hotel again on my next visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The non-understanding staff to my situation for the checking out

    The location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only few parking lots available, usually you have to park on the street, thought free from 1800 til 0900.

    Very comfortable and fully equipped room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress a bit on the soft side.

    Lovely hotel, modern spacious room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioner wasn't working during our stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and depressing interior, low quality wifi, noisy equipment (washing machines?)

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    unfriendly reception. No attempt to solve your problem.

    location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Located at the wrong side of a fairly busy canal means you run the risk of an untimely wait for the bridge before being able to get into town...

    The restaurant next door was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is smoking and no smoking rooms. For start has been offered smoking room with stinky smell.The bath is little bit smaller than usual.

    The no smoking room was excellent with nice view to canal and Brussel Gate.The breakfast is very good. Staff is very nice and helpful.10min from the center and train station.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was bit pricey for the quality of the room.

    Excellent location, comfortable room and very nice breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Overall cleanliness could do with being better

    Friendly staff. Beautiful location. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy, checking out took so long

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    BETTEN

    BREAKFAST YESSSS----BED NO!!!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Walls were thin, I could easily hear what the person next door was doing/saying.

    Lovely room and food.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room noisy.

    Bathroom good. Bed comfy.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little noisy - street noise until late. Reduced parking possibilities.

    Good location for us, working in the neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was quite small.

    Excellent restaurant (although not cheap). Small and friendly place. Nice breakfast room.

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Browse Best Western Hotel Golden Anchor traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: