Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Melba 4 stars

Avenue Mathieu, 49-51, 6600 Bastogne, Belgium

#2 of 7 hotels in Bastogne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1254 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was large, comfortable and clean. The location good but on a one-way street so check this out if you're driving! The food in the on-site restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Although the road leads a station (in use?), being away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bathroom was modern & well equipped, with a walk in shower with a huge drencher head and "blaster" wand, with a good supply of hot water, I thought it strange that the overall size was small - such that one had to squeeze past the door to reach the toilet/shower and to be then able to close the door. I suspect that larger people, if they forgot to open the door to its fullest extent might wedge themselves between its edge and the shower wall. Didn't affect me but visitors need to be aware that the restaurant is closed both Sunday & Monday. However, as mentioned, there are plenty of others close at hand.

    Although the road leads a station (in use?), being away from a main road meant it was very quiet. Still only c100m from the main square where most restaurants & bars are.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is located within walking distance to city center,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a challenge, as was the automatic light switches in the hallways. They both took some getting used to.

    The hotel is located within walking distance to city center, the hotel is nice and we'll maintained. Breakfast was especially nice with a wide variety of choices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    We would stay again.. It was a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not so happy with the server/bar tender the one night we went down to dinner. He didn't seem happy to wait on us and Did not speak any English what so ever. He never asked for our room number so, We left. I stopped by the desk to take care of the situation..

    We really liked the hotel. It was a great location. We had the suite so, The kids had their own area. This room also had a couch and table with chairs so we could play cards in our down time. I was very happy to have a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. The one side of the room had A/C but the other side did not. But, all rooms come with a fan so we placed it in the doorway between the two rooms.. Breakfast was good. We thought the eggs could have been cooked more as well as the bacon. The staff with the exception of one, were wonderful and really very nice. There is parking on the one way street in front of the hotel and free parking the back.. WIFI worked fairly well but, forget and watching of TV.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    A good place for a short stop-over or to explore the history and many local museums and sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-conditioning, though an efficient fan is provided. Major roadworks in town are currently inconvenient.

    A few steps from the town centre, the rooms at the Melba are spacious and well equipped, with a fridge, good wi-fi and plenty of space. Friendly and helpful staff. The bar is comfortable and the breakfast is very good with a comprehensive range of fresh food, though the coffee was only average. The hotel has private parking at the rear, and lifts to all floors are a bonus for weary travelers. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but there is a wide range of places for dinner in town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great welcome, very clean and comfortable, excellent breakfast and close to the town centre for evening drinks and food. Free parking behind the hotel too. Loved this place, would stay again if visiting Bastogne.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable and clean hotel ideal as a stop off if travelling long distances
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was of a strange design as you had to close the door to get to it. The hotel advertises a bar and restaurant but we arrived on a Monday and the restaurant was closed. The receptionist was also the barman and when we went for a drink was busy with guests checking in, no drink.

    The property was near the centre and had a reasonable sized car park

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Great location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Male staff member in restaurant was poor at best! Did not clean the table or put placemats down, nor did he bring menu. He took our drink order and then disappeared. We got up and left and found another place to eat. Considering we were there 4 days, we never ate there again!

    Great location,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    A good location for exploring the centre of Bastonge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airconditioning.

    Centrally located hotel in Bastonge. Walkable to square, museum & memorials. Helphul staff and comfortable beds. Parking off street available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our overnight stop. Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did the information mention it is on a one way street. Cannot access the main entrance if you come in via Avenue de la Gare. To reach Reception you have to find the back gate to the car park.

    Outstandingly friendly and courteous reception staff, beyond their specific duties eg first aid. Our twin bed room was very spacious, with additional pillows and blankets. Excellent large shower. All the toiletries you would expect and more! Quiet central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful! Walking distance to restaurants and memorial sites. Reception staff, 5 star!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were absolutely delightful!! So pleasant and helpful with questions regarding the memorials! We absolutely loved Hotel Melba! The room was exceptionally clean and the bed was very comfortable!! The complimentary breakfast provided a variety of delicious food items as well as fresh orange juice, coffee and tea! Thank you Hotel Melba!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Great for comfort and a great location for the towns main square, all round great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real lounge area was the only drawback for me and the bar area was a bit strange as it was just part of the restaurant. Sitting to have a few drinks was a slightly odd feeling as you where part of the restaurant, not a bar or lounge area as such. Bit odd just having a beer whilst others where all dining.

    Clean and tidy with unobtrusive friendly staff. Owner lady very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was ample and of a good quality. Would recommend to other's and would use the Melba again myself if in the region.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel, great manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite warm overnight.

    The lady who runs this hotel is fantastic. She clearly enjoys her job and works very hard to make sure guests get good value for money. She arranged to securely store our bicycles in a room in the basement of the hotel and accommodated our late request to extend our stay on a busy weekend. Our room was very clean and had a nicely appointed bathroom. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    I would stay at the Melba again, over anywhere else in Bastogne.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't think there was an exercise facility.

    The room was very comfortable, the parking could not have been more convenient, and the staff was welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast selection and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast selection and comfortable room. Great location for walking into town and only about 1 mile drive to the Bastogne war museum. Overall a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended - hospitality at its best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving to come home.

    A very friendly and homely hotel - made welcome from the time you walk through the door. Location is very convenient for local restaurants and bars at the top of the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. only little issue was our room was directly above the breakfast area so we heard tables and chairs rattling....but I was awake at 6am, so it was that big a deal

    Its location. 2mins walk to McAuliffe Place and right beside Bus Station and 101st Airbourne Museum.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Loved it and I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi wasn’t the best; a little weak. Breakfast was okay-not a huge selection but enough to satisfy. Scrambled eggs were a little too runny for me.

    The hotel is in a perfect location to walk everywhere in town. The room was awesome! We had two twin beds in room 506 that were very comfortable. The room was a nice size with a really nice, large bathroom. The best thing however was the huge private terrace that had an amazing view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.4
    A pitte they do nothing with the possibilities of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Much to warm in the hotel in the room even when the window is partly open. Pillows and matras are not nice to sleep in. Breakfast is below 4 star standard, disappointing. Nothing to do in the hotel in the evening.....

    Close to the central Square and musea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Bastogne's best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were friendly and it's closeness to main square and 101st airborne museum . Great base to explore ww2 sites. Hotel is spotless . Rooms are comfortable and warm. Could not fault this hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Helpful and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful and pleasant staff. Convenient location to downtown and nearby museum. 101st Airborne museum within easy walking distance. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Super hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival I was made to feel welcome. My room was comfortable and clean, well appointed, had a good night sleep, and woke refreshed. The breakfast was super, a great choice to suit every requirement, I could not fault it. The restaurant offers a great choice of meal's, cooked fresh and very tasty. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was very relaxing, it is well located. I arrived by bus, the stop was just around the corner, no problem. The town square is a short distance away, my whole experience was totally positive and I could not recommended this hotel highly enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Centrally located, great food for breakfast and dinner- would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central location, great restaurant on site, free parking, free internet, wonderful breakfast and very polite and helpful staff make this a top spot to stay in Bastogne.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Amazing hotel in the centre of Bastogne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very nice. Large walk-in shower, comfy bed and very quiet. Just a 5 minute walk to the center of Bastogne, just a perfect location. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Hotel Melba is in the perfect location and provides very comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was great and the room accommodation was very comfortable. Additionally, we found the location very convenient for walking to the main areas of town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Great Great Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Facilities and room were EXCELLENT. Very nice hotel, staff was great, room was great and appeared newer. Only 5 min walk from main square of Bastogne.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Warmer public rooms would make a big difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barely heated bar and dining room, not helped by open plan design. Inadequate staff for bar and dining room when busy means service for dinner can be slow - though the food was excellent.

    Excellent room, close to town centre. Food v good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    A perfect location for visiting the historic town of Bastogne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV reception was a pit patchy and the in-room PC was extremely slow.

    The hotel is just metres from the town centre and it is easy to find. The ample on street parking outside is really convenient. The room was large and very comfortable with a sofa to relax on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    GREAT PLACE TO STAY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was great, the breakfast was wonderful and it was perfectly located to what we wanted to see. The beds were comfy and the staff was GREAT!! Highly recommended!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Business hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door opened in so you had to climb around it, no where to put the towel.

    The food was excellent, free parking, excellent location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything was very good. Bedrooms clean and comfortable; excellent shower. Hotel was quiet, parking easy. Staff friendly. Breakfast good. Would recommend it and come back to stay there again. Excellent value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    exteremeky good for food etc and very poor in other areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not changed at all during the three night stay even though there were marks on the sheets. This was not acceptable and left a bad impression. The coffee tea supplies were inadequate and we had to ask for more every day. Only 1 sachet of coffee and 1 sachet of decaf with I sachet of creamer.

    Breakfast was very good. Very good selection of everything. Bed was very comfortable and the room large and airey.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Bastogne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was superb! The staff was very friendly. We loved the location as it was quiet yet close to The 101st Airborne Museum, restaurants, and shopping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.8
    Good location, but a bit down at heel. Bastogne itself lacks a selection of bars for the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the outside of the hotel looks fairly modern, the interior really could do with a refresh. Just felt a little bit 'down at heel'. Reception wasn't as helpful as other places we had stayed in the week. No offer of things to do, places to eat.

    Location was excellent. Walking distance to all amenities and the 101st Airborne museum. Car-parking at rear. Does have a small bar and a restaurant on site. Breakfast was pretty decent, with a selection of hot and cold items.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    We were traveling in Europe for 2 months - and this was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were traveling in Europe for 2 months - and this was the best hotel we stayed at. The room was huge, and very clean. There was plenty of parking. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Good value, comfortable hotel with excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Comfortable, excellent accommodation. Staff all helpful and friendly. Restaurant offers good quality meals. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others and/or make a return trip

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Great one night stopover en route home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows & draft beer.

    Comfy & well equipped modern room, excellent breakfast, close to town but away from any noise & friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.5
    Excellent Hotel glad we stayed here it was purely by chance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The staff are lovely, very accommodating and helpful. Room very nice a good size & spotlessly clean, the breakfast is great with a wide choice of cold & hot food Hotel is a quiet side street not far from the square an easy 5 min walk also just over the road from the Airborne museum. Parking is excellent even when busy there's places in the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable Hotel in Prime Bastogne Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel next to bus station, walking/biking path, and just a few blocks from historic downtown and 101st Airborne Museum. Excellent breakfast included, and staff spoke enough English to always be helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel to rest in Bastogne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities need little renovation - elevator for example. Not very simple to find the parking - that's not the hotel problem - there is one way street, need to know how to reach it.

    Good place for night rest during the trip

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    Very smart and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was relatively expensive but you are paying for the additional facilities this hotel has.

    The hotel is near the old railway station (there's no railway any more) where there is a donkey farm with cute baby donkeys. Location of the hotel is a short walk out of town (but near the American museum) but that suited us as it was very quiet and peaceful. Breakfasts were very good: amply supplied with a wide choice of foodstuffs. Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom had a powerful shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the staff varied between charming and helpful, to surly and indifferent. The 'new' computer system in the rooms was so out of date as to be useless.

    The hotel is in a good location, close to the main square and within a short walk to a couple of museums.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The desk clerk gave us wrong information regarding the opening time of a nearby museum. We wasted 30 mins. Perhaps she could be more clued up with local attractions.

    Breakfast was excllent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    A refreshing overnight stay in a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely spacious room, the hotel was really close to the city centre, the staff very welcoming. Check in and check out speedy and efficient. Good view of the hills from the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location, quiet but within 2 minutes walk of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, quiet but within 2 minutes walk of Bastogne centre. Friendly staff. Clean, modern room, excellent shower room with rainforest showerhead, excellent selection of food & drink for breakfast - breads, cereals, continental and english. We would definately stay here again if we returned to Bastogne

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Easy access to the town, comfortable hotel. Nice to visit a town with important history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fried bacon that actually more boiled than fried. Stick to the cheese and cured meats / cheeses and fruit for breakfast

    I liked the photos re ww2, breakfast balcony. The town is interesting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Great stay at Hotel Melba
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    The room was a good size and the bed were comfortable. There were tea and coffee making facilities (extra supplies were left at reception to help yourself to as required). There was plenty of storage space. The bathroom had a walk-in shower and was very modern. Rooms were very clean. Only hotel on our travels that offered continental or cooked breakfast, which were both buffet style and eat as much as you want.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    If touring by motorcycle a must
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made very welcome after a long journey by motorcycle , room fantastic , walk in shower. Balcony very large but unable to use it due to weather conditions, staff very friendly and helpful , food very good. Would highly recommend to stay here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Bastogne,mega Motorcycle friendly !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot,maybe a little more sugar and Tea in the room is all.

    Everything.The Lady on reception in the morning even gave us a run down on the weather situation !! Biggest surprise which I feel needs a mention,we walked up to the town centre and found to our amazement,large steel lockers on a Motorcyclists only parking area,these enabled one to put Helmet and jackets inside in the dry and a very strong looking chain secured to the locker which you could use to loop through your wheel and back to the locker to keep your bike safe !! Amazing,come on England is all I can say !!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't think the staff were particularly professional

    Nice room, bed comfortable with a good shower. The hotel had plenty of parking and was in a good location for visiting the sights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel but let down by waiter/bar man
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Manager was happy to accommodate us in the restaurant 10 minutes after last orders as we had been travelling all day and only arrived - waiter was less enthusiastic about our late arrival. Waiter was also bar man who made a point of looking at clock in bar when we ordered drinks 15 minutes before bar closed - put a sour taste on an otherwise lovely hotel.

    Lovely local hotel with a modern touch to it. Would be happy to stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little. Sometimes difficult to use cash at the bar. Normally drinks just go on the room tab.

    Location. Cleanliness. Excellent staff. Breakfast. Free parking. Local knowledge. Very professional yet family run hotel. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel well situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the hotel was fine just what we wanted.

    The hotel is in a quiet area just off the main square in Bastogne just a couple of minutes walk to a good selection of bars and resturants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Satisfactory but not a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was expecting a 4 star hotel and this felt like a 2 star hotel. The shower didn't drain. The baby cot seemed dirty and the furnishings were very basic. Everything was fine, it was just not as luxurious as a 4 star hotel which is what I was expecting.

    Breakfast was good and had a nice variety. The family room was spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Big room, big bed, good space and beautiful bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the service at all, breakfast was good, especially the lady we met in reception, she was fantastic.

    Big room, big bed, good space and beautiful bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Amazing staff-great property-centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fitness center could have been more robust.

    The staff was absolutely wonderful along with a grand breakfast. The restaurant was very good and had a great selection of beers and wine. Great service all around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    You Can't Get Better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the only problem was there was no evening meal, because the chef who happened to be the owner, had an accident and cut his finger off, and couldn't cook, I did offer to cook for them. But thankfully it was declined. But this did not deter from the excellent stay.

    Every thing was good, room ,parking breakfast, the owner was friendly,but the real bonus was the receptionist she was brilliant,spoke good English,very friendly,and helpful, a real Star.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Great spacious hotel in downtown Bastogne but away from noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower seal seemed off and when we showered it leaked around the tile but the front desk staff was super apologetic when we informed them as we checked out.

    This was a great hotel in a great location. It was down the street of the main drag with all the restaurants and the tank in the town square. The family suite was huge and even had air conditioning and a four person dining table and sofa. It was more than enough space for a five person family. The front desk staff was also very friendly and spoke English as well as French.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Good headquarters location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems at all

    A modern, clean hotel in a great location. We were pleasently surprised by the value for money. The staff was very helpful in providing directions and information for all of the sites we wanted to see.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent 3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant was closed for our first two nights Local eateries. Only 200 metres away

    Reception very helpful!!! Room very spacious Private onsite parking FOC!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was great - just off the Place General McCauliffe. Private parking. Lovely big room (311) and delicious breakfast. The receptionist was very nice too! Right opposite the 101 Airborne Museum.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Great service in Bastogne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast with unlimited cappacino and tea. They loaned us bikes to access the local WWII museums. Staff was very helpful with us finding bus connections to Luxembourg.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Outstanding value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    Very nice room that was spacious and a bathroom that had a bath. Nice little touches with a pillow chocolate and sweets. Very welcoming receptionist who was helpful with sightseeing suggestions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Three guys on a WW II tour from Normandy to Bastogne spent their best nights in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was designed a little small for a family suite. Restaurant was a little pricey over surrounding options.

    Friendly staff, great location, excellent value and terrific breakfast. They even upgraded our room with no extra charge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Superb stay at Hotel Melba
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our group of 5 had an outstanding experience at Hotel Melba. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable, and the entire staff from the front desk, housekeeping to the restaurant and bar were friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the Bastogne town square where there are numerous restaurant and bar options. Our last night there we were tired from touring so we decided to have dinner at the hotel. Surprisingly, it was one of the best meals of our 10 day trip. If you are travelling to Bastogne, you can't go wrong with this hotel. Price is reasonable and the accommodations are superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Centrally located, very helpful staff, well equiped comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only, very minor, 'moan' would be that for morning tea the water needs to be piping hot !

    Location was quite central and easy to find with free on-street parking + parking within the hotel compound. The family room, for 4, was larger than expected - 2 roomed, very well equipped with wifi & modern TVs in each room with a good range of channels. Breakfast offered a very good choice. Staff were exceptionally helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Quiet and safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Excellent World War Two Museum (esp with its connection with the Battle of the Bulge) is too far to walk. Need own transport or a taxi.

    Comfortable room. The main square nearby had a great variety of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    A Wonderful Hotel in Bastogne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative comments

    This hotel is a wonderful option to consider when visiting Bastogne. Clean, modern. comfortable and very up-to-date. Easy, secure parking on-site. We stayed in Room 506 which had a nice balcony area. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful... and the breakfast was superb! Can't say enough good things about Hotel Melba.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Modern, well-run hotel in the heart of Bastogne
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor issue: TV didn't always work and didn't have BBC World News.

    Great location, 100m from Place McAuliffe. Very comfortable rooms. Good buffet breakfasts and good beer selection in the bar. Mix of nationalities amongst guests. Small hotel car park, but plenty of free on-street parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Excellent! Nothing short of excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing about your hotel that was not excellent, my sole regret being the marital status of madam la concierge

    The shower, the coffee and all the breakfast, and the reception all were excellent. Thank you! For your superb work and hotel, and making our stay in Bastogne so great! Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    3.8
    Great location / good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small, but good for a hote in Europe.

    The location was fantastic. The room was efficient and very clean. Staff was very accommodating and the breakfast generous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Great Hotel in fantastic location for Bastogne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable-High stanadard. The breakfast was fantastic so much choice both hot and cold.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower holder was broken and although staff promised to fix it, this was not done.

    Great place to stay within 2min walking distance of main square and also a decent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    A huge bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the hotel would have let me buy the 3 paintings (band of brothers)!!!!!!

    The wonderful paintings (band of brothers) in reception, after a long drive it was great to walk into a very impressive hotel, great breakfast ,great room, great value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Excellent Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent. Rooms were spotlessly clean, staff were friendly, food on offer for breakfast was delicious. The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from the square with shops restaurNts and bars.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: