Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Callecanes 3 stars

Callicanesweg 12, 8970 Poperinge, Belgium

#14 of 19 hotels in Poperinge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 302 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Went to visit Ypres for remembrence weekend, was fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find as you had to go through a petrol station to get to it, however this is because of council permissions and a new access and sign to hotel they said will be done next year.

    Lovely decor , beds comfy, fridge in room, nice view out of window. Lovely pool and gym and sauna facilities. Friendly, good breakfast, cheese and meats or croissants, gluten free bread was provided on request, hot bacon and omlette for choice. Great coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel located in the heart of Flanders fields with good facilities. Staff are very welcoming
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking.com need to update the post code as our navigation device did not recognise the address. Therefore, we had to telephone the hotel for correct directions. There should be another post code added to the site especially if you are arriving from UK. I suggest to use the following post code, 8978 Ketterstraat? It's actually very close to the French border, i.e, heading towards, 'Watou'. Poperinge town is about 6KM away. We have no complaints about the hotel.

    Fantastic hotel offering excellent facilities such as scrumptious breakfast, the swimming pool is a fairly good size and it is great way to relax at the end of the day. The hotel is beautifully decorated especially the large sofas suites where you can totally relax and put your feet up by the fire place. It is not as near to Ypres as we thought but Popringe town is about 6KM. It is a little out of the way but we managed to attend the Remembrance service at Menin Gate. The staff are very helpful and friendly who kindly guided us to the hotel as the Garmin Navigation device was unable to find the hotel. The restaurant's menu offers a good choice of culinary dishes but only one dish for vegetarians. That said, the staff were happy to accommodate and offer alternative food dishes to suit a vegetarian. We enjoyed staying at this hotel and would consider staying in this hotel in the future.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    The hotel is run by the family who have developed it, and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a double bed instead of the twin we booked, but I didn't notice until later; I'm sure they cold have changed the room if I had asked!

    The hotel is run by the family who have developed it, and it shows in the care and attention to detail in the design and maintenance. Everyone is charming and friendly, the food is excellent. The swimming pool is beautiful and perfect. The shower was thoughtfully designed and easy to use.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable, restful and peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had reduced choice when we went at 09:15 when it was open until 10:00. On the Friday night when returning to the hotel it was being shut up for the night and the bar was closed which you would not expect for a hotel at 22:00.

    Nice pool Clean and modern Quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    One of the most relaxing and comfortable stays we have experienced in a hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very pleasant, accommodating and extremely helpful. The hotel was comfortable, very clean and well maintained with a calm and relaxing atmosphere. The meals were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    A lovely swimming pool and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely swimming pool and friendly staff. We stayed in the quadruple room, which is a good size with two separate spaces, perfect for travelling with older children.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit difficult to find but wasn't a problem with locating hotel on GPS.

    Great place to stay with friendly staff. Loved the dogs and family vibes. Comfortable beds and fantastic pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.0
    Good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee in the room was the minimum, we had to ask daily for more milk. The restraunt menu was a bit limited but understandabley so for the amount of guests who dinned. It was however fresh and very well cooked. It was a bit of putting to have to choose when you booked and we felt, overpriced .

    The hotel was very pleasantly furnished, the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The food was good quality well cooked (breakfast).The staff were helpful, a very friendly family run hotel. I would recommend. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent rooms and facilities, with a fantastic selection of continental breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap in bathroom ( holder either empty or broken ), however complimentary body wash/shampoo provided so used that instead.

    The rooms were clean and massive, the beds were very comfortable and the owners were really friendly, helpful and accommodating. A good location - quiet and out of the way, yet convenient for lots of interesting places ( e.g. Ypres and Poperinge with Talbot House ). Very good selection of continental breakfast available. I would definitely recommend it if you wanted somewhere off the beaten tracks and I look forward to staying there again. J

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Serenity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool was not open till 12 noon. Breakfasts sparse.

    Lovely clean rooms, comfortable beds, very nice swimming pool. Good location. Very friendly family run hotel. Nice evening meal. Very peaceful location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    A great hotel for touring the Flanders area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was slightly concerned to find the hotel closed when we arrived, but not a problem having to return at a later time to check in.

    A really nice hotel with great facilities, especially the pool and breakfast. The staff (family) who own and manage the hotel are extremely helpful. Breakfast was really nice. We had room 13 and parents had room 14 - these are upstairs and have balconies and excellent views across the fields.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Nice Place - plenty of personal attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get the TV to work which was just as well, read a book. If you can, book a room facing the fields instead of the road you will have a great view and less noise - not that it was enough to bother me.

    Included buffet breakfast was very good. Dinner was excellent and I recommend the duck! Service was excellent but the hotel was maybe 15% full but the Owner and a waitress served well and the chef gets high marks (or euros) from me.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred to have all gym facilities in the same place.

    I loved everything: the atmosphere, staff's attitude, the location, the food. Makes me feel like I was at home.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna is not located in same area as pool. There is an extra fee (reasonable) for the sauna. They have not had their spa for a while, and are working to get that removed from the "facilities" list.

    This feels much more like a Bed and Breakfast than a hotel. Welcomed by the owners, and their two dogs. They're also your chef and server, always accommodating and cheerful. Wonderful pool included in price. Located near Brouwerij St Bernard.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.9
    Well-placed base for visiting Ypres and Poperingue and other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing coffee for breakfast.

    Well-placed base for visiting Ypres and Poperingue and other similar sites. Very comfortable bed in spacious room with lovely bathroom. Fantastic swimming pool. Convenient on-site parking. Delicious bread and home-made jams for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel ideally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say about this place.

    Fantastic place. Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent room. Clean and tidy throughout. Good location near to Popinge and Ypres. Enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.9
    4th time we've stayed here, good welcome, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel and meals we found expensive and lack of air conditioning in our room which made our disappointment more

    4th time we've stayed here, good welcome, good restaurant and very clean;

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Excellent food and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    A relaxing comfortable enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and drinks could be a bit less expensive

    The host was very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic accommodation i will book here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no comment - I was satisfied

    Fantastic accommodation i will book here again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The easy friendly staff and proprietor, and the helpful information in relation to the first war.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.9
    Good friendly atmosphere, welcome and excellent indoor pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only omelette available, would have liked a choice, say scrambled egg.

    Good buffet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Helpful staff, nothing too much trouble
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Helpful staff, nothing too much trouble

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    The food in the restaurant in the evening was very basic and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant in the evening was very basic and rather expensive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Would stay again and recommend to friends
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly family run hotel. Food excellent, very clean and well run. They couldn’t do enough for us

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.4
    adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar closed before 10pm, night entry only,no access to vending machines

    good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Great position for exploring western battlefields
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful & rooms lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Well located to explore WW1 history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found nothing to criticise

    An excellent all round experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Interesting visit to Ieper
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was a bit isolated and not so easy to see from the main road as the front of the hotel is on a back road

    Good facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Quiet and clean, helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and clean, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Excellent and attentive service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent and attentive service. Great pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in Belgium
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No issues whatsoever.

    Great hotel. Wish we'd have had time to try out the pool. Variety and preparation of the gins was superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    A superb weekend stay with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    An excellent comfortable stay, with friends that all enjoyed it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, was a very good hotel

    Staff very helpful, very high standard throughout

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea / coffee cups too small ; mugs would have been more preferable .

    Owner and staff very welcoming .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    Airy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airy room. Modern and clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    We liked the style of the hotel and the family attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the style of the hotel and the family attitude. We loved the swimming pool.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    A weekend visiting the battle fields
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were all great. A fantastic family run hotel and the location was brilliant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.6
    Yes, I would most definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit out of the way for a 'pub crawl'....by foot.

    You could not have asked for more kindly, helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    10
    Lovely relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family run hotel. Made to feel very welcome by all staff. Loved the swimming pool and roof terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.6
    Good property to stay at with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little out of the way for my particular trip

    The facility was very clean, and the service was very attentive

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was clean, well run, Staff great, We enjoyed our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The automatic continues sink tap was annoying, other then that the facilities were spot on.

    The hotel was clean, well run, Staff great, We enjoyed our view of the open country side from our room, and after a long journey, the peace and quite was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.3
    staff is lovely & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is rather expensive and the location is not great at it is 30 min from Ypres and between fields and the old border control. Feels a bit out of the way.

    staff is lovely & helpful. Hotel is nicely decorated and very clean and has a brilliant pool.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    5.4
    The room was small but yet comfortable, with a fine bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was rather poor, max. € 5 in value. The price-level of the menu card was extremely high, and the items on the card were rather misleading. As a result I had an unpleasant argument with the owner about the extreme dinner price for three persons. Therefore, it was clear to me why next door restaurant Terminus was fully booked with guests for dinner and the Callicanes restaurant was almost empty.

    The room was small but yet comfortable, with a fine bed. The hotel was clean, with several facilities.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    10
    The staff were top class, the cleanliness & hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A minor point - The swimming pool is only open from 1100, so a pre-breakfast swim is not possible.

    The staff were top class, the cleanliness & hotel condition were superb.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.2
    The quality of the hotel - rooms, fixtures, fittings and all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It had a swimming pool but it was not open until 1.30pm which was not acceptable, although they did make an exception when requested. The signage and road access to the hotel was poor.

    The quality of the hotel - rooms, fixtures, fittings and all round accommodation was excellent. The staff couldn't have been better. We had a difficult couple of days before we arrived due to a misunderstanding and incorrect assumption by the hotel but this was quickly addressed and the staff were very apologetic when we arrived.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff were attentive, courteous and made sure we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were attentive, courteous and made sure we were well looked after. The hotel and beautiful pool were immaculate. The restaurant was excellent, I have rarely had such a perfectly cooked steak, the accompaniments were superb, the Haut Medoc was one of the best mid range wines I have tasted for a long time and very modestly priced. We finished our meal with the best Irish coffee I have ever tasted. How the Chef managed to get the cream floating on the coffee that in turn was floating on the perfectly clear Irish whisky, completely baffles me. Breakfast was a triumph of superb home made preserves, a very comprehensive range of cold meats, pastries and even omelette. I will never look at a "continental breakfast" the same way again!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    9.2
    Really good welcome with complimentary drink from the owners...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only booked in for 2 nights! We hope to return in the near future.

    Really good welcome with complimentary drink from the owners who gave us all the info we wanted. They were most attentive repeatedly asking if all was OK, without being in your face. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Excellent indoor swimming pool. Meals in the restaurant were exceptional particularly the scallops and canard.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Very warm welcome, excellent service, very good room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very warm welcome, excellent service, very good room, well-located after a long drive in England, great food. The building has been tastefully and imaginatively extended and redeveloped.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    3.8
    Decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant is poor and not worth using. If you dare to complain you will have the Wrath of the owners to deal with !!! When I challenged the quality of our food I was told 'That's how we eat it here ' After I said I was not happy as we had waited 1.5 hours to be seated even though we had booked and my food was cold due to having the steak re cooked but my veg was not re heated so I left it and a fly in my wife's starter. So was offered a dessert . We declined as we were not after something for nothing but challenging the service and quality of our dinner. The hotel owners operate as chef , receptionist , waiter complete disarray . When I checked out and challenged my dinner bill as I felt a gesture of good will should have been offered . I was faced with a woman shouting at me and blocking my exit and a husband who I thought was about to assault me !!! They thought I was looking for a free bee!! No just recognition that they had not delivered on what they had offered and charged for.

    Decor

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    Stylish modern hotel with lots of individual touches and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stylish modern hotel with lots of individual touches and loads of facilities. The room had a great bathroom with a bath and a beautiful view across the fields.The food in the restaurant was excellent and the best steak that we have had for a long time. Good choice of hot and cold food at breakfast and fresh bread and fruit.Family run, and they could not do enough for you. We liked it so much that we will definitely come back. If you like the Ariane in Ypres you will definitely like this.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    9.6
    Great staff, great food, nice bar, safe internal bicycle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Advertised as Poperinge, nowhere near the town centre

    Great staff, great food, nice bar, safe internal bicycle storage, unbelievably pristine hotel looks and feels a day old

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    10
    From the moment we walked in we felt so welcome and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cannot think of a single thing we didn't like

    From the moment we walked in we felt so welcome and relaxed. Greeted with a lovely refreshing drink which was much appreciated after our journey. We were shown to our room and given a tour of the facilities. Our room was immaculately clean as was the entire hotel. The family room was spacious with good wi fi and English TV too. All staff were very obliging and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was beautifully laid out with plenty of choice. We had an evening meal on our first night and it was so impressive. Location is perfect for travelling about and the lorry park and security is certainly not an issue. We felt homely and safe at all times. We all fell in love with the dog and cats/kittens :) The swimming pool is brilliant, again so so clean. It was lovely to refresh with a swim at the end of a days site seeing. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. We will certainly stop there again when visiting the area!!! Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    What a lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No......still can't think of anything bad!

    What a lovely hotel! From the warm welcome we received (including a drink on arrival) - being personally shown to our room, good selection of food & drink in the bar. Breakfast - again, a good selection of items and friendly service. The management were very helpful in looking after us, my wife is disabled, but the room we were allocated was good, and they offered help with breakfast to the room etc if we wanted, advised access to door right next to car park etc. The pool was great - I had a quick swim each evening and had it to myself! Excellent location, literally on the border and ideal to get to from Calais and then explore into Belgium.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    The hospitality was fantastic,the evening meal(steak)was...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    The hospitality was fantastic,the evening meal(steak)was very good,and as we were heading to Calais early in the morning they even packed us a takeaway breakfast.Another lovely gesture from the host was to give us a empty Poppies gin decanter was now takes pride of place on my welsh dresser

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Very very friendly and nothing too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little hard to find but no great drama.s

    Very very friendly and nothing too much trouble..pool clean and warm..food excellent..views of fields and surrounds brilliant

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    We were made very welcome by the owners upon arrival and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were made very welcome by the owners upon arrival and enjoyed the refreshing fruit drink as we checked in. There was ample parking and the Hotel is delightfully screened from the road and surroundings, but with lovely views to farmland to the rear of the building. The bonus to us was the indoor swimming pool area opening out into a secluded garden. Wonderful. The whole hotel was very well decorated and spotlessly clean with everything you need. The evening meal was very good as was the breakfast the following day. All in all an exceptional last night stay in Europe before heading for the tunnel crossing.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    The location close to Dunkirk/ Calais, Poeringe/...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location close to Dunkirk/ Calais, Poeringe/ Ypres . Menin Gate. Very peaceful and lovely location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely modern rooms a little gem I want to keep to myself but that is being selfish so I will share. Will recommend to friends and family

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    9.2
    The owners are most helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's right beside the major truck stop. It used to be the old customs house hotel. Some may not like the views at the front. Ignore that. This is a really hospitable great place

    The owners are most helpful and friendly. The location is really convenient for Cassel and Ypres and the battlefields. The rooms are spacious clean quiet and comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Views to fields at back. Very close to motorway. A great place to stop.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    Lovely hotel run by a charming family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    Lovely hotel run by a charming family. Beautifully appointed room and tasteful decor throughout the hotel. Wonderful pool which we were lucky enough to have to ourselves. Proved to be an excellent base for a pilgrimage to Flanders.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    Easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Can cope without an English breakfast but a toaster at breakfast would be a welcome addition. A double bed is preferable to the 2 singles pushed together. A shelf in the bathroom would help.

    Easy to find. Pool was lovely. Management social. Dinner great. Room more than adequate.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, easy parking free wifi, quality of meal at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was a little sparse. Waited a long time for meal at dinner

    Friendly staff, easy parking free wifi, quality of meal at dinner once it arrived

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    Warm,friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm,friendly welcome. Family owned. Nothing too much trouble.Attention to detail.Lovely hotel,clean,modern.Fabulous swimming pool,cosy lounges. Delicious food. Heartily recommend.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    8.8
    Such a lovely and clean hotel, very modern and up to date,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is in a remote location and not anywhere to explore around it unless you travel out.

    Such a lovely and clean hotel, very modern and up to date, very good Wifi reception in the rooms and the staff very pleasant. Breakfast lovely (fresh bread lots of jams etc) although a it bit limited Swimming pool very nice!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    10
    Comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not able to connect to Wi-Fi but did not ask for help.

    Comfortable hotel. Friendly hosts. Good food. Good facilities like the swimming pool and parking.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    9.5
    easy to find from the channel ports.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    easy to find from the channel ports. If you are at the old border post you are there. Good springboard for the Ypres Salient and Poperinghe. Excellent breakfasts.and evening meals. Rooms and showers warm & clean. Family managed and very welcoming. The boys loved the pool after 'doing' WW1 all day,

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    5.4
    Good location, nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smallest rooms we've ever been in this price bracket, water boiler cable too short to plug in

    Good location, nice pool

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    9.6
    Super relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing although you need a car to get to the hotel

    Super relaxing hotel. Very quiet with room overlooking peaceful fields. Family run and friendly

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    Sauna and pool were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sauna and pool were great. Very nice restaurant (breakfast and dinner) and interior design.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    The food quality was excellent,Dinner was superb,Breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited opening times of the pool and leisure facilities could be extended

    The food quality was excellent,Dinner was superb,Breakfast plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.1
    bedrooms, cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Early closing time (11PM) of the bar area

    bedrooms, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    8.8
    The hosts were excellent, the hotel was very clean and smart
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

    The hosts were excellent, the hotel was very clean and smart

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.3
    Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Comfort Quiet Good food

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Callecanes traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: