Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Castel 3 stars

Koningin Maria Hendrikaplein 9, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#25 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 701 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is simple, although have hot omelette.

    Nice old building with the atmosphere. Location is good, accessible from train station by foot and just few minutes away from the very center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains let in a lot of light and would have been better if they were of a heavier material.

    Clean and comfortable room and bathroom. Good location directly across the road from St Pieters Station and main bus and tram stops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st room they put me the door didn't open with the key card. Staff had to come open the door for me instead. This room had a comfy bed, great view, but it had no safe or mini fridge and the TV didn't work. Bathroom was ok. WIFI was horrendous and this room (#215) was in separate building. They then put me in another room (#401). This room had a key instead of a key card. The view was great. The TV worked, but had a bad picture. There was safe that couldn't be opened, nor was it bolted down to anything. The mini fridge didn't keep anything cold. The bed wasn't as comfy. The bathroom was ok, but water pressure in the shower was very weak. The water also took awhile to warm up. The WIFI was also horrendous in this room. The staff were really awesome though and friendly. They agreed to refund me my second night, though I haven't seen the refund show up in my online banking app yet. It could still be processing though as this was only done a day ago.

    Great location, staff were awesome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water sink in my room number was not functional, the sink plug was blocking the exit of water and it was impossible to take it out.

    The staff ladies were really nice and always tried to answer to all the demands. The room is rather spacious and very clean For the breakfast there was not to much things to choose but it was very tasty, so I enjoyed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Middle of the road great accommodation

    Location is perfect across from train station, shops and restaurants as well as a train ride away to attractions. Clean comfortable and the service was wonderful. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I can think of is that I could hear the door banging in the room next door!

    The customer service I received was friendly and overall brilliant, and I was made to feel at home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom were slightly dirty.

    Super location, across the train station Gent Sint-Pieters. Employees at the hotel were friendly and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were grains of dry rice in the bed? I'm not sure why they were there, but it was kind of strange.

    It was very cozy with a great location. The room was pretty and had a nice view, with a nice spacious shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception desk was not attended on my arrival (even though I already wrote to inform them of my expected arrival time ahead of time). Had to wait for 15-20 minutes for check-in as a result.

    Very convenient - less than 5 minutes' walk from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty parking Curtains should block out more light

    Friendly service. It was difficult to find a parking space and I wasn't charged for a glass of wine while I waited

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far to walk to centre but metro is 100m away.

    Very clean and comfortable. Bed and pillows very nice. Good value for money. Will stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was really just two twin size beds pushed together. They were very comfortable but it was not possible to cuddle with my partner as we usually do, because the beds would move apart.

    The location was amazing, right across from the train station, and the young lady who checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful! The hotel itself was very clean and neat - no complaints at all! Breakfast was lovely too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy due to the train station concourse being opposite the hotel and also the trams. Bathroom was quite small, as was the shower cubicle.

    Good enough location for our needs. Free parking within a few hundred yards. We didn’t buy breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom towels very worn and would be used as floor cloths if I had them at home.

    Great location for the train station with a short tram ride to the city. Very friendly and helpful staff. Local guidance and maps supplied when we checked in. Rooms very clean and tidy. Good supply of soaps, shampoo tea and coffee. Beds comfortable with good quality pillows and linen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very close to the railway station and tram station. The staff is very friendly. Wifi very good. Very cheap hotel for what they offer. I stayed here already several times and I always come back ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is a bit expensive

    Cozy hotel with very comfortable stylish rooms. Very good bed. Reception staff is quite friendly. Location is perfect, right near the station. There is a restaurant in a hotel itself

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few hangers and no drawers, so if you’re the sort of person who likes to unpack their case, you’re out of luck. The room was very warm, even in February with the heating off - there’s no air conditioning, so in summer you’d probably need to sleep with the window open, and, as hotel is on a busy square with trams, this could be a problem for a light sleeper. Breakfast was okay, and plentiful, but I have had better.

    Comfortable bed, excellent shower, room furnished in attractive modern style. Family who run it are very pleasant. Nice neighbourhood, very close to station so ideal as a touring base. Also close to the art galleries and the city museum. On tram route to city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not that clean. The radiator was with lots of dust and the ventilation slot was even filthy.

    It was very close to the tram & train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan in the bathromm was very noisy

    Very pleasant staff, good and very clean room, lovely bed, extra’s (toiletries, coffee & tea). Two minute walk from the trainstation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A variant with good price/quality ratio to spend a night in Gent. The hotel is located very close to the main railway station, which is convenient if you are travelling through the country, but a bit far from the main sightseeings. It's cool that you can fine tune the heater to warm you up in cold February Belgium :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some rooms can only be accessed via a seperate door a short distance down the street. The breakfast was adequate although a bit expensive. Rooms at the front could be noisy in summer if you have a leave a window open due to lack of air-conditioning. However I appreciated being able to control the room heater to keep the temperature as I liked it. (I stayed in February). The hotel advertises a specialist beer bar, but I saw no sign of one.

    My room was large, airy and very clean with a good-size bathroom containing shower and bath. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Location opposite main station was convenient, although it's a long way from the city centre. Tram number 1 is frequent and convenient - once you have worked out how to get a ticket. (Tip: The ticket machine at the tram stop at the railway station sells a full range of tickets with instructions in English. Other stops don't necessarily have one and buying from the driver is discouraged). The last tram back is early (at 2310) but there are a few later night buses.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My first room had an awfully "organic" smell to it. Upon request, the room was changed but even that room smelled terrible. The breakfast was rather minimalistic and the apparatus was rather close to its doomsday. The sheet were most probably clean but advanced in age and the bathroom was only superficially cleaned.

    Personnel was friendly (even if one of the employees smelled of liquor) Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water one morning, the owner refused to compensate financially for the cold showers. Noisy, you can feel the tram going past, you can hear the other rooms. The owner was doing works in the restaurant which is adjacent to the hotel.

    Close to the train station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi connection was a bit poor sometimes.

    The hotel is very close to Gent S-P Station and you can get to the city centre in about 15 mins by taking a tram at the station. They offer really good breakfast, not too large selection but high quality dishes (pastries, warm meals, some types of cold cuts, fruit juices, cereals, ...). The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is convenient, but couldn't find many good restaurants nearby.

    The property is very clean and the staff is really friendly and helpful (and speaks English!). The wifi was generally good in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    need renovating, old furniture with specific smell, smashed mosquitoes on the walls, expensive for the what offer

    Friendly and helpful staf, close to the train station, spacious room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the smell of the place upon entering. It is a combination of curry and incense. It even reaches the room. The internet is slow to non-existent. There is no blow dryer.

    The toiletries are so cute and complete for a 3-star hotel. The location is perfect. The bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good relation quality/price, at an excellent location at a 2 min. walking distance from the train station. The building is not new, but the room was proper and clean. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lock on the outside door! Rather an obscure way of touching certain parts of the device before typing in code..

    Staff helpful Location excellent Very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed linen and sheets had stains on it. It was probably washed, but stains were still there NOISE: my room was turned towards railway station, you could hear a lot of noise until 23 oclock (trams,people bypassing), in the morning again same story at 5 oclock (trams, delivery of goods to nearby shops and restaurants), it was really not a location to have a good sleep. Probably the rooms on the other side of the building are more quite, maybe they should change the window glasses on the front side BREAKFAST on the 2nd day of stay: they state the breakfast starts at 7.30. There was 5 of us waiting for the breakfast hall (restaurant) to be opened at 7.30, but the doors were closed. When they opened it, nothing was ready (except the toast bread, jams, cheese spreads), it was seen also other guests were suprised and dissapointed. I had to leave for my meetings at 8.00, just at the time when the sausages and eggs were delivered and finally breakfast was prepared. This happened first time to me, usually you can take the breakfast even couple of minutes earlier at other Hotels, but here it was not as stated. I was also suprised nobody from the staff was bothered by that and tried to excuse us for the delay. Probably the staff slept longer and the food was not prepared at the right time ;) I believe it was my first and last stay here

    Located just oposite to main railway station restaurant on site - with good vegeterian lunch/dinner options

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Uncomfortable pillow -Questionable soundproofing, you could hear the busy streets/trams.

    -Hotel right next to the station Sint-Pieters, easy transportation (10-min from historical city center) -Helpful, kind staff -Quiet hotel, relatively modern rooms -Adequate variety of breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - cover on bed and pillow have dirty sign - not good breakfast (eags and bacon taste very bad) - internet connection had a lot of time lost lost connect

    - very close to the railway station and bus stop - large bed - fridge in the room - very nice service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Very strict check-out time, no possibility to stay (or pay for) a few extra hours (eg when catching an evening flight)

    - Very friendly and helpful personnel - Excellent location just opposite of the train station; close to a supermarket, night shop, restaurants, and public transport into the city (10 minutes by tramway) - Very quiet at night, even the rooms facing the train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed there for the third time. Last two times it was very good. This time I had a very noisy room. I would recommend to ask for a room in the second building or for a room in the higher levels of the building. Otherwise its very loud until 23:00.I Asked for a water heater twice, but didn't get one.

    Friendly people and very good location if you arrive by train. It's directly at Gent-Sint-Pieters train station and you can leave your luggage there. To city center you walk around 20 - 25 minutes. Additionally, there is a tram station direct in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival to our next hotel in Ostend my son realised he'd left is designer white shirt on the bed, so I immediately rang the hotel to see if it had been handed in by the cleaner, the man who I spoke to said he would have a look so I left it for a short time and when I spoke to him again he said he hadn't taken a look yet! So I left it for a short while and then rang back, he said he'd found a white shirt but on describing it to me I said it dosent sound like my sons! So he asked for my email so he could send me a picture of it, still haven't received an email that was Sunday evening and it's Tuesday now! So I called back again to day twice I spoke to a woman this time she described the shirt she had but it isn't my sons, so I said it was on the bed so therefore it could have got mixed up in the bed linen and sent to the laundry! She said if it was sent to the laundrette it's very un likely it would be returned to the hotel! Sounds bizarre to me! We both know that shirt was left there! And it's either been kept by a member of staff or the cleaner! My son and I are very upset and angry with there response as it was a very expensive shirt!!!!!!!!

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I stayed there for 5 days and it seemed like they vacuumed the floor and dumped the trash in our room once in two days which is OK for me but would be nicer if they could do the errand every day especially we stayed there in summer. They did change or replenish the toiletry and towels every day so nothing really can be complained.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful! They solved my request about the room in one day and next day they even remembered to ask if it worked. Very nice family-running hotel & restaurant. Breakfast is nice too at least if compare to other hotels with the same price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm room: a fan would be helpful Fridge not very cold/safe hard to use Noisy (bars, trams, cleaner dragging tables at 6 a.m.)

    Friendly,helpful staff Excellent food and service; beautifully presented vegetarian choices and stunning 'Dame blanche'; coffee from a pot. Fine art gallery nearby with original Van Eyck 'Mystic Lamb' altarpiece (not the copy) Station + info opposite; tram to centre round corner Not too far to walk to historic centre Pleasant fountain area with trees and benches Good toiletries Able to leave luggage at reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was modest. Expected more to be honest for a hotel on this very good location. It looks very promising but does not quite live up to expectations. No parking, had to park in station parking, which was really expensive. Earlier I wrote the hotel with question about were to find the best spots to park. No response. Bedroom was good. But no airconditioning. And... no curtains... Roll shutters. Standing on the outside I good see every room had roll shutters AND curtains. But not my room. Sleeping in a very hot room with only metal roll shutters and no curtains is quite difficult. Checking in was incredibly difficult. The person attending me could hardly speak the language. She good not find me in the system. Then got me confused with someone else. I paid, but then it turned out to be much more expensive than the room I booked. Turned out I paid someone the room of someone else. When a colleague was called in the problem was solved quickly. Got a refund of the money I paid to much and turned out that my reservation was there. To be honest that was a very poor start of my stay in this hotel. The staff is really friendly and the hotel is located perfect nearby station and city centre. Restaurant menu has great variety, but oriented on Asian dishes, which are very well prepared and served. But expected more of this hotel. It seams that they have just started and need to learn a little bit about how to get some things done and to do check ups about facilities in the rooms. I have been in *** star hotels which were a lot better. Really hope that they will improve because all the possibilities are there and the staff is hardworking and friendly.

    Friendly staff, restaurant & service was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room at front of hotel is right on square outside of the main train station. Between trains, pedestrians, outdoor cafes and noisy squeaking trams and NO airflow in the room, there was no sleeping. Also...must pull luggage up some stairs, but staff offered to help.

    Reception staff was helpful and nice. 10 minute ride on tram to city center. Reception staff gave us all info. Tram stop around corner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from the street (one day very early in the morning), no air condition (during hot summer days the window should remain open - which I like - but there may be problem with noise from the street). Internet connection in the room was available only one day, after that only in the lobby.

    Good breakfast, tasty coffee, friendly staff, hotel is easy to find, perfect location for me (I participated in the workshop held in the Flemish conference center opposite side of the street), clean and functional rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioner in the room. Although hot weather is unusual in Ghent.

    Located just next to the train station. You can take a tram to the old town easily. The staffs are very friendly. The restaurant on the ground floor is tasty but quite expensive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing - we had only one set of towels, and since we came so late we could not go downstairs to get more - but it is nothing. We enjoyed our stay.

    The hotel is localized right opposite the train station and about 15 min walking distance from the city centre. It is run by a very nice family. The reception is open till 11 p.m, and since our flight was late, we were a little late. But still were very nicely welcomed and checked in with not a problem. There is a Indian restaurant downstairs (we didn't have a chance to try the food, but it smelled very nice), and there is a Carrefour supermarket next door. Our room was not on the street side, so it was really quiet. It was also very clean. The bed was comfortable. There was a fridge and a tea making set in the room which was very convenient. A good breakfast with a nice choice of bread, cheese, cutlery, croissants, cream cheese, cereal, fresh fruit, good coffee and juices is served in the restaurant downstairs. The staff is very nice and helpful, there was no problem with storing the luggage. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unusually warm weather and the room got quite hot at night while I had the window closed to keep out the city noise. The bar fridge was barely cool.

    The location close to the train station was very convenient. The staff was very helpful and provided a city map with directions how to get to the historical city centre by tram or on foot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was broken and the room was very dark, needed some better lighting and I didn't find it good value for money as it was far cheaper than as it appeared in the pictures.

    The bed was fairly comfy!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor matras; room furniture is outdated.

    Good location; friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit cold in the room, but we had extra duvet. Another con, we misjudged the distance to main tourist attractions, so or you go for a 20 minutes walk, or take a tram ( there are a lot of choices just in front of the hotel)

    Very easy to find, just in front of Sint Peters train station. Good breakfast, very friendly staff. Lots of facilities, more than you could expect for a 3 star hotel. Our room was not facing central train station, so it was very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative thing was the WiFi connection in the rooms, it was intermittent.

    I was at Castel Hotel in cold december. The hotel and rooms were warm and comfortable. The staff was absolutely nice and helping. Breakfast was good and other foods in the restaurant delicious. Location is good if you need to be near the train station; city centre is a little far but you can walk, it is only 20-25 minutes away and you can take a beautiful stroll by the canal.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very comfortable and room clean and spacious. Hotel well situated near the train station so safe car parking overnight. Long walk into town centre but knew that when booking, however trams on the doorstep if you don't want to walk. Staff very welcoming and pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Early start. Promised packed breakfast to be left outside my door did not materialise. (Forgotten or taken?) Arrived after 1500 but room not yet cleaned so had to relocate one floor up.

    Location, window view onto the square.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Morning staff could not produce an invoice when we left showing that we had paid. We were not able to arrive on the 18th be- cause Eurostar had cancelled so we had to pay for that night we weren't there.

    Location perfect for arrival by train. Not far to walk in the rain. Front desk young woman extremely helpful and apologetic for having to charge for our first night. Said we should have called but our reservation said we must cancel 2 days prior and Eurostar cancelled our crossing and returned us to London.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you have to use stairs to access your room, taking up my luggage and then down was hard. far from center. the hotel is very old.

    the staff were helpfull

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Trams early morning Lift was sometime noisy Breakfast was very simple but delicious.

    The location is really ideal, was near by the Flanders Expo, secondly my room was really big, king size bed, breifly was comfortable. WI-FI connection was fast so I could work fast and easily. Further staff was very friendly and helpful from reception to the lady who served me breakfast excellent. I really recommend it for business clients should u do not want to be too shiny. Guys, will see u surely soon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hazel was very welcoming and sweet, our room was lovely and the location is great if you want to see the WWII beaches and Mont St. Michel. Breakfast was yummy and there is a great supply of British tea!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You hear all the noise and chatting voice from the corridor. I needed to use ear plugs when I slept.

    Extremely kind, helpful staff. Close to the station. Many restaurants and cafes nearby. The Nepalean restaurant of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not working fridge Very weak wifi. A bit expensive for what you get, overall is 2 star and not 3 star hotel

    A family-run hotel and everyone was friendly and helpful; convenient to public transport - hop on a short-tram-ride to go to the historic city center and next to the train station

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is ideally located, the staff is very helpfull and nice. All facilites are very clean and the breakfzst is complete. I WILL DEFINITELY COME BACK !!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location - just a step from the railway station. A little bit noisy place but with closed windows the noise was eliminated. Would definitely reccomend for one night stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Definitely noisy with some rooms facing the square even with windows closed. But clearly not much else to do. Noise starts at about 6 am.Perhaps advisable to ask for back-side rooms. Bathroom, some more shelves would be nice.

    Location is very central near the train station and from there the public transport system allows easy movement. Staff very nice with the adjacent Nepalese restaurant. Room was OK, not very large but enough for a few days stay. Rooms well equipped with sufficient plugs, good functioning wifi (free), good functional bathroom and elevator up to the 4th floor. Breakfast gives a wide choice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    100% okay

    Their food is super

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Location was nice, easy to reach the center. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was spotty at times.

    Very close to train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the bathroom was terrible and it was very loud at night. Furthermore there was mold in the bathroom.

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fruits salad was good. Few of the juices were good. But very limited items to have it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty. They cleaned it when we asked them to and gave us free breakfast to apologise.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good locatioin, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the center

    The owner offered us a coffee to wait for the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location near railway station and tram stop to go everywhere in Ghent. Big and light room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Nearby to the train station and the tram also

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well located very close to the railway station and local transport hub, quiet family run hotel with very nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is between floors so it would be difficult if you could not manage stairs

    Comfortable bed . Tea and coffee making facilities in room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the way to the room from elevator using stair !

    The Hotel location in front of train station,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Nice and clean room, clean shower. The building is old, but they're doing a good job keeping it clean and well-maintained.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi barely working in my room. Very limited and disappointing breakfast.

    Good room quality for the price. Bathroom and room were clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Castel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: