Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aparthotel Castelnou 3 stars

Kasteellaan 51, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#8 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1604 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was exceptionally helpful through out our stay and allowed us to check in early. We booked this the day before check-in because an AirBnb apartment we had booked had falsely claimed to have air conditioning. Gent is a delightful town and a great location to visit other areas in Belgium. We preferred this area over the much busier and more expensive Brussels. There is a 15-20 minute walk to Old Town but it’s so quaint you don’t mind. You can take the bus from across the street. We had travelled in Europe for 2 weeks and had stayed in a mixture of AirBnb’s and hotels. The overall experience was the best. We had a room on the back and I loved opening the windows to hear the birds in the morning. But in the warm afternoons and evening really enjoyed having air conditioning-a hard to find amenity in Europe. 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing about the hotel that we did not like.

    The entire hotel and rooms were clean,, this is a functional hotel which provides good accommodation at a good price, the staff were helpful and friendly and only too keen to help. Hotel rooms were well ventilated and where we were facing the back nice and quiet, the hotel is situated slightly outside the City Centre although walk into shops and bars is not a problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tea and coffee provided for the room. The suggestion is to purchase more! Boiled eggs for breakfast cooked too long...

    Hotel was very comfortable and only a short walk from the centre. Staff were very helpful with every aspect of our stay. Breakfast was good and the dinner we had at the hotel was very good value. All in all, this was a nice place to stay and is a good base for a stay in Ghent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular comes to mind.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Everywhere was very clean. We ate in the restaurant one night and enjoyed the meal there. The walk to the centre of Ghent was 10-15 mins walk .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Can only comment from a leisure point of view Ideally located 20 min pleasant walk to city centre. Would highly recommend this hotel. From my point of view the hotels excellent car parking close to the city centre was an added bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Left Blank!

    If in Ghent, this is a pretty good choice of place to stay. Super efficient staff, roomy accommodation and quiet location. Facilities were excellent, even BBC television! Breakfast was very good, Continental in style with decent coffee. Evening meals were also good value. We walked along the canal to the centre of Ghent - pleasant on a sunny day. Private car parking - secure and covered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was disappointing is the shower . I know pressure is not always good on top floor, but it also was the angle where it is fitted . You can’t actually stand directly under it .

    Fantastic place to stay,staff really helpful. Brilliant location. Apartment amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What’s not to like? The staff were really helpful and friendly and explained beforehand the best way to reach the hotel from Sint Pieter’s station (number 70 - 78 buses). They took the time to explain the best places to visit in the short time we had available and how to get around the city. For us this was the perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: Restaurant doesn’t refill the hot dishes. Serving bowls were empty.

    Cosy apartment at a convenient location with good connectivity to public transport and even walking distance from city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception is closed in the evening. There is no restaurants cafes or markets nearby.You have to walk to the old city center for everything. Everywhere is closed on sundays .

    Breakfast was included and was really good for variety. Coffee machine was really nice we also had in the room. You can cook in the room there is a small but functional kitchen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't love the location, especially in freezing weather (about 15 minute walk to center). But still very much enjoyed our stay.

    Nice staff, very comfortable rooms, breakfast with eggs, bacon, fruit, etc. Very baby friendly also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    This was our first visit to Gent and I don't think we could have chosen a better place to stay on our budget. The pre-visit emails were promptly answered, we found the staff to be friendly, very helpful and informative, our room was spotlessly clean and the included breakfast was plentiful. In addition, our car was securely parked onsite in the hotel's own car park; a reassuring factor for many holiday travellers. As the hotel is located near the Gent ring road (Heernislaan), it makes for easy road and motorway access, yet it was still positioned well within walking distance of all of Gent's points of interest. We are already making plans to return here for a longer stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to be negative - It's quite a long way to the shop if you want to pick up any provisions

    Quiet location. Easy Access to town centre. Spacious comfortable living space & bedroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Waited for ages to check-in and wasn't made to feel welcome by the receptionist. After a four hour drive was quite stressful to have to wait for so long before we could go to our room

    Very nice apartments with lots of space. Nice and clean too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electric kettle was not washed for ages with fungus at its base ! A tad farther than a hop to the city centre

    The space of two rooms at the cost of one

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is spacious, breakfast is good, very delicious and have a lot to choose! Near the river, where take the New Year's Eve fireworks. Location is good (near dampoort station)and the neighborhood is beautiful and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish we had a double bed instead of two singles which we pushed together. Also daily cleaning could have been beter for example dust was not cleaned on the tables ( and you could clearly see dust). Scrambled eggs in the morning not great, and boiled eggs were almost always cold at 9am.

    Apartment was comfortable with everything we needed. Good location to walk to center. Receptionist very friendly. Breakfast was ok. Pastries were great. They prepared very good travel cot with proper mattress and bedding for our toddler.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place. Close to Dampoort station, so easy to get to. A tiny bit out of the action, but that made it lovely and quiet. Excellent staff. Very good breakfast, mostly continental. High spec bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creamer powder instead of milk for my tea was bad for a tea lover! Distance to city centre is nice walk but slightly further than expected.

    Loved the space and cleanliness. All the staff were very friendly and more than helpful. Very peaceful and restful. Impressed by the cooking facilities and range utensils!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is amazing. I travel a lot. Great location walking distance to the old town. Spacious room, very modern decorated. All kitchen equipment is there. Very comfortable bed and sound proof walls that you don't hear anything. On top very friendly staff and EXCELLENT breakfast. If I go to Ghent again I will not bother searching for a different hotel and directly go to Castelnou 👍

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit of a walk to the city center, but I thought that was also reflected in the lower price. Make sure to go a bit earlier for breakfast and not last minute :)

    Had everything needed, nothing fancy but all the normal amenities of a small apartment. Very convenient and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious, very well planned, comfortable rooms. All staff very pleasant and could not be more helpful or thoughtful. Very good choice at breakfast - first two mornings coffee out of machine not wonderful; however new machine on third morning - coffee delicious. Easy 15 minute walk to old part of city. Easy 20 minute bus journeys to and from St Piter station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on the Sunday was a bit chaotic, with little room to move in the buffet area. The rooms were too warm in early December, even with the heating turned off and near zero temperatures outside.

    Almost everything is excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing actually I could complaint about. Really good experience.

    Very comfortable and clean rooms. The property was very quiet, which is highly appreciated. It gives you the chance to have a good rest. Breakfast was very good, with a wide variety of options. Staff was very helpful and had our room ready even before the check in time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just an all around great stay. Facilities were top notch, the apartment I stayed in was very spacious considering the price, and the location was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had and amazing view to the city. The hotel room was big and confortable. The breakfast offered a vast variaty of food. The attention was also really good, we booked on advance a parking place and it was also really convinient and secure inside of the same building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast very poor, hardly any staff around. Dark, untidy restaurant. This hotel is for worksmen that work for a couple of days on their building pit, rather then for business purposes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    One bedside light missing and one flickering.

    Bus numbers starting 7 pass the hotel, stop at Eendrachstraat str, and walk back 200m. Reception staff welcoming and helpful. Apartment clean and tidy; kitchenette very useful. A Carrefour supermarket at Dampoort station (2 bus stops) or 20 mins walking, offered a range of food. Easy access to the city centre on foot, but public transport excellent. Breakfast plentiful and a takeaway provided for an early morning departure. We would happily return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, air con, fantastic staff, spotlessly clean, fab location, 12 of us stayed, not one negative comment!! It had the Wow factor, nice bar!! Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor of the elevator was squishy in places and caused a bit of apprehension.

    The rooms, the breakfast, and especially the staff were wonderful. The town was really interesting and a fun place to be and visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had 3 people per room and the additional bed was a bit too small for adults. This was not unreasonable given the cost but worth knowing if you plan to have 3 adults in the room.

    Excellent accommodation and a very good price. Rooms were clean and big with a seating area separate to the bedroom plus cooking facilities for those that want them. Friendly staff and not too far from the centre of town - probably a 15 minute walk to the centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacious apartment with unbelievably cozy and comfortable beds. The women at the reception were exceptionally nice. Within walking distance to all landmarks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff at breakfast

    Good value for money, parking was good, staff at the reception was firs class, staff at breakfast was disappointing (not friendly nor helpful), room was as expected, relatively close to town centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not in the most attractive area of the city and you must be prepared for a reasonable walk into the tourist spots - we didn't mind that as we like walking, but it may put off others (there's always taxis).

    The apartments are roomy, spotless, and with useful facilities for cooking simple meals if required. Having air conditioning was a real bonus during a hot spell of weather. Secure parking on site/underground very useful and not bad value at £9.50 for 24hrs. Onsite restaurant was used for breakfast which was varied and plentiful. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had a spacious and comfortable apartment suitable for a relaxing stay. It is walking distance from the station and the main sights of Ghent. There is a good restaurant on site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is clean and comfortable, facilities are new, hotel facilitator is quite friendly and open to talk. Introduction to the city from the hotel is very excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very helpful and welcoming. They were very customer oriented. The room and the bathroom was very clean. I liked that the room had a kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff could have been a bit more enthusiastic, might be just a cultural thing! Reception ladies we met were both very good.

    Nice modern hotel, easy yo find. Safe car parking but they charge for it. Room was a good size, nice bar area and breakfast was good. Reception staff were excellent. Easy walk into town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not that great (varied, but not that tasty). They don't have real coffee just a coffee machine which gives more water than coffee, but maybe other people like this kind of coffee. Anyway they have a coffee machine in the apartment where you can have a way better expresso. The "pain au chocolat" was stale, probably from previous days.

    The appartment is nice, well equiped and spacious. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there were any negatives, it would be that the clay-colored decor was a bit drab and masculine. Our twin room was a bit small for two to really live/cook in. We met in our second, superior-sized room for family meals.

    The staff was really nice. We enjoyed having our own little kitchen. We had a room to the back, so it was very quiet, and we could sleep with the window open. The superior room was very spacious. The room was spotlessly clean, new and modern.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just wish I was staying longer than one night!

    Friendly welcome when I arrived. Large clean room, seperate bedroom and bathroom also exceptionally clean. Secure underground parking (as travelled by motorcycle). Bar service was also very quick and polite. Breakfast in the morning was fresh and delicious. Plenty of choice and all very well presented.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the last day I ordered a take away breakfast. It was very generous with two croissants one pack of juice, a banana, an apple and a cheese and ham sandwich. It's good for the whole day for me. I am thankful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning was not working during our stay - room was quite hot. Receptionist was very apologetic about it and waived our parking fee which helped.

    Allocated car park space. Breakfast provided in the morning. Clean and good sized rooms. Property is about 20 minutes walk away from attractions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our 3 year old child could easily open the apartment door. We had to drag the table to avoid her leaving the apartment on her own.

    The kitchenette and table for meals were good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't recall if this was the place we stayed that had two-tiered WiFi, in that the free level was much slower and if you wanted faster you had to pay for it. It wasn't a big deal to us, but might be to others. Like I said, I can't recall if this was actually the place that did that. It seemed every place we stated on this trip the WiFi was much slower that we were used to in the US.

    We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was great and we wish we could have stayed longer. We did not use the kitchen facilities, but that would be nice had we stayed longer. The breakfast was very good, the staff was very helpful with all questions, especially in helping us figure out the bus system (which stops near the hotel). We would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can not fault anything!

    Superbly equipped and immaculate apartment with all the benefits of hotel service. A good restaurant with a generous breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position was brilliant. A short walk to town a short walk to the train station which allowed such easy access to Bruge Brussells, Antwerp and other places. Did not use the car while in Ghent Fabulous. Staff were great and helpful breakfast was excellent a great place to stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we entered the room,the window was opened.So there were 5-6 mosquitoes in the room and they were so annoying that I could not sleep all the night.I can`t understand why the window was opened.

    Breakfast was good considering with the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bathroom smelled like smoke. The covers/sheets and bed were lumpy. The TV would randomly turn itself on when it sensed motion. Breakfast was free, but really not good. We asked the front desk where to go rent bicycles, and they told us, but did not recommend bus options and tell us which bus lines / where to go ride the bus until we specifically asked.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV always came on when the card activated the electricity in the rooms.

    Large rooms; ours had a kithcenette and living room area with a desk, two chairs and a sofa. Great shower, all staff were helpful, and location was near two bus stops and was just a fifteen minute walk to the old town center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    We stayed for the second time at the aparthotel and it was just as good as I remember from our first visit in 2012. The Parking is very secure to the rear of the property with your own fob to come and go as you please. Our room was facing the street and I thought there may be some traffic noise but we had no trouble sleeping. We will be back to stay again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great,

    The room was great. Perfect for 3 people. Would have stayed longer if we could. Close to downtown and train station. Restaurant in hotel was great too. Enjoyed the breakfast. Everyone was very helpful and answered questions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could not find anything to dislike. except maybe all the cobbles which of course add to the character of Ghent. Just wear comfortable shoes.

    A clean friendly hotel. Excellent choice at breakfast. Desk staff very helpful. Could walk into town centre of Ghent. Nice canal walks, boat trip, and interesting places to visit. Stam museum a must, for the history of Ghent. City travel card very useful,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hairdryer was a bit weak and there where no more rolls available at breakfast time after 9 a.m. on Sunday morning, only bread

    There was nothing important unpleasant, except details you will always find anywhere. The recpetion was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit off the city center. But nothing special. Just 15 minutes walk

    The room was very modern, spacy with perfect design, very clean and fully equipped. We even had an espresso coffee machine with free capsules to use. The front office people were very kind and willing to help. They helped us and gave us very exact and helpful info about the city. The breakfast was also good with many options. An overall good choice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything I could really criticize about the hotel.

    Fantastic location, great staff & breakfast, brilliant large & comfy rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little slow and apartments are some 15 minutes walk from city centre

    Really comfortable stay. These are nice big roomy apartments that are well laid out and have all the necessary facilities. The staff were very helpful and answered all our queries. They are reasonably priced.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - I didn't like the fact that the bed was opposite the door, while the whole room is quite big. - We lived on the upper floor (the only room, I suppose), but it was noisy in the morning because of some staff activities.

    - The hotel itself is very nice, modern and comfortable - Kitchenette is well-equipped, there is already some coffee for the coffee-machine, tea, sugar,etc. - Bed is super-comfortable, had a wonderful sleep - I liked their ventilation system a lot (heating, conditioning). A must-have for every modern hotel! - Breakfast is very good: eggs, meat, fruits, pate, desserts and so on...Pleasant restaurant interior also. It's included ;) BONUS tip: strongly recommend "Het Trappistenhuis" place just near the hotel - the most pleasant and cozy atmosphere we experienced in Belgium pubs, also perfect beers.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tap in the kitchen area was wobbly and it was a bit too warm, even when the lowest setting on the temperature control was selected.

    The receptionist was very friendly and really helpful. We arrived early and our apartment was ready so we were able to check in without delay. We had a one bed apartment and a standard room, both of which were well appointed, with the apartment being very spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking access is rather obscure - you have to find somewhere in the street and go to reception first, then drive carefully down a narrow entrance - the barriers are a bit awkward too. But this is a minor complaint, as the parking itself is safe handy and secure

    Friendly, helpful staff. Well fitted room. Handy location with secure off road parking. Breakfast was fresh tasty and plentiful. The bar is well stocked and features excellent local beers.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast could have been better. Particularly the fruit.

    A very good sized room, comfortable room. Good location within walking distance of the centre of Gent. Secure parking. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit further from the historical centre of Ghent (about 15-20 minute walk). Nothing really nearby the hotel. We were in town to see the Ghent 6 and t'Kuipke is also about 20 minute walk away

    Breakfast was good - continental plus some eggs and bacon. Free wifi which worked well. Spacious room. Handy if you are travelling with a car because you can park here and avoid driving in the city centre (trams!!)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but the bread rolls were very poor quality and the staff were slow to replenish empty dishes- notably the scrambled eggs and bacon. The hotel could not supply any fresh milk for tea in our room on our arrival which was disappointing.

    spacious rooms with a lounge and kitchenette.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked about how to go by tram to the university and the guy at the reception told me he would check it out for me. When I came back from dinner there was a map with all the information I needed written on it and it helped me a lot. Perfect service!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant. A la Carte food not worth the price. meat poorly baked. When we said that: no reaction at all. Only the remark: "" Belgians like that"". I know the belgian kitchen quite well and this was ""NEWS"" to me. Service in restaurant not up to standards. rest service personal OK.

    Rooms and cleanliness.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast rolls ham and some fruit could have been replenished, but there was plentiful choice otherwise.

    Friendly helpful staff. A bit difficult to locate as most of Gent had roadworks. Finally made it to hotel and received a warm welcome. Comfortable room with fridge and hob should you require. Lovely little market shop just around the corner. Great stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Iwould have liked it a little nearer the town only because my husband and I are not able to walk very far

    the food was excellant the staff very pleasant and very thorough cleaning the rooms never stayed anywhere so clean before so impressed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Would have liked more variability in food provided at breakfast. Couch was uncomfortable. A little far from the city center (took ~20 minutes to walk to Korenmarkt).

    Staff was excellent- very helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing for us

    Location excellent for city. Walking only 10 mins. Information from hotel excellent. Looking forward to staying again at this hotel. Breakfast could not be better.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment had everything we needed and was perfect for travelling with our 16mth old. The staff were incredibly helpful providing us with maps and information on the town and letting us know the easiest way to get to the centre.The location is only a maximum 15min walk from the centre which as we prefer not to be right in the centre of town was ideal for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not enjoy the breakfast and the apartments were a bit more expensive than other places we stayed in the area.

    The apartment is in a good location and the staff are very friendly and helpful.There is also somewhere to lock your bikes safely. The apartments are clean and comfortable but a bit generic and lack personality.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in that neighborhood is dicey.

    The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, the bathrooms perfectly acceptable. But the staff is tremendous. We wrongfully were ticketed by Ghent parking enforcement and the desk staff took it upon themselves to fight it for us—and won! What's more, the gentleman who checked us in remembered we had been there from some months previously. Very impressive. I like this hotel, it's nice and quiet, forces you to walk a bit to the center, yes, but this is a positive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A perfect location at walking distance of the touristic area, and in a zone where the daily fee for parking is very low. Rooms are wide, modern, immaculate, and the king size bed is perfect. Breakfast are very good. The very friendly staff recommended 2 restaurants, which were gourmet ones at very decent prices.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the place is a bit dated, a bit dull. It needs to be freshened up a bit.

    The place is not too close to the center of town but a bus runs almost in front of the hotel. Although the place is nice and clean, I did find it a bit dull. It is a bit too basic BUT regardless it was a nice comfortable stay. The breakfast was basic but good and the people were VERY nice. The cappuccino was great!! Thank God they all speak perfect english as it made directions so easy to follow! Although it probably would not be my first choice if I were to visit again, I still think it is a NICE enough hotel to stay there and recommend! My mistake and not the hotel's mistake was in staying in Ghent and not staying in Brussels and traveling to and from to visit Ghent. I think that since the town is quite small it would have been a way better choice but given the decision to stay in Ghent this hotel is good enough!! Blessings to all and I wish you a glorious travel experience! If you find this review useful, by all means please give me a thumbs up so that i may know it was helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. It's exactly what I was looking for.

    Very comfortable apartment with sofa, dining table, kitchenette. Great food and friendly staff. Easy parking on the street outside (they have a garage but I didn't use it). Lots of cupboard space. Very quiet. Good air conditioning. Lovely stairs to walk up and down.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Aparthotel Castelnou traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: