Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cecil 2 stars

Markt 14, 8660 De Panne, Belgium

#26 of 51 hotels in De Panne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 574 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too small for a family. As it was a very small building, no facility was available. I would have expect a 4* hotel for 134 Euro. The bathroom facility was not to the expectation. I would very much call it bed and breakfast

    I liked the staff and the location, even though there were road work was going on. It was not easy to access to the hotel from the main rd. The kittle and tea left for the gusts over night, but no water source nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    So clean ... right in centre of town and only a few blocks from beach ... restaurant and cafe so nice that a lot of the locals use it ... a few chatted to us ....a very homey feel... WiFi in rooms and reception ... very nicely decorated too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything the check in/checkout guy was excellent shower powerful and hot room comfortable close to beach and all amenities parking on street good,may be more difficult in the summer car park dug up which we were not told about

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with tea and coffee making facilities in the room although we were able to make use of the kettle and microwave which was available.

    Lovely staff and very children friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was tiny especially for 3 people, you couldn't move and the bathroom was very small. We were on the 3rd floor at the top of the hotel and there weren't any lifts so we had to carry our luggage up the stairs.

    The hotel was in a good location, only about a 5 minute walk to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They didn´t have an elevator but it will be installed in november!

    The hotell is perfect placed in the center of town. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is super. Nothing to complain about! We where staying at the 3rd floor so it was a lot of steps but they will have an elevator in november this year! The room was small but big enough for us! :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are quite small particularly the shower room- BUT this is not to detract from the positive things- just some people may prefer a larger facility but for us it was fine.

    The location is great- just by the market square and easy reach to the promenade and shops. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of meats and cheeses and regualrly topped up as well which was nice. The staff are great- very friendly and happy to help in any way. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again if in the area. Couldn't fault the cleanliness of the whole place and the rooms in particular were spotless. Lovely bar area in a conservatory- looked good for kids too with a nice play area with toys- very thoughtful. The hotel also offer a secure garage for 9 Euro per night though there is street parking available as well. The parking in the square opposite is limited to three hours and is expensive after the first hour so OK for dropping off but move after that!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea making in the room would have been nice, although the hotelier did give us a kettle and cups without charge and wish bar was open later than 8pm

    Location is perfect, hotelier friendly, garage at 9 euros per night is just around the corner, breakfast was ok & staff were very friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family suite with bunk beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower not separated from bedroom by a door and shower screen not frosted.

    Friendly staff, modern fittings, comfy beds. Nice and clean. Plenty of room with bunk beds in separate area with its own TV

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    So friendly and helpful, good choice and very nice breakfast. Used nearby garage to keep our cycles. Comfortable and no problems with noise, will stay again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family suite with bunk beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facilities in room, wi-fi kept logging out. Very noisy square at front of hotel (not hotel's fault!)

    Friendly staff, made us breakfast early so we could catch our ferry! Nice large room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small, very cramped.

    Nice and clean, breakfast ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom, small bedroom

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small uncomfortable room, could hear guests in adjoining rooms. did not sleep for the two nights I was there.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was great

    Friendly staff good location clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower/toilet room a little small

    Very warm reception. Room was clean and comfortable. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small as was the bathroom.

    Location was excellent, friendly proprietors, breakfast very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice large bed, very good breakfast and friendly owners.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evning meals on a monday

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have done with an extra pillow.

    The hotel is in an excellent position and the owners are very friendly. We thought the breakfast very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small

    Clean, easy to find, extremely nice staff, good food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean nice small place.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room (1) might have been a little bigger.

    This was a good stopover hotel for us. Easy access to the hotel after dark when we arrived. Free parking on the square overnight. Breakfast was good too.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    What a find!! When we decided to take a short break this Christmas, we decided on De panne for its closeness (not a long drive and only 30 mins from Dunkirk ferry port) and for its proximity to Plopsaland. There were plenty of accommodations to chose from but I eventually picked Hotel Cecil due to its good value and good reviews. I am so glad that I did. It's a brilliant little find in an excellent location of the edge of the market square. We chose a family room which was located above the restaurant next door. The rooms were absolutely fine and very comfortable. TV and WiFi included. Looking out of the front window onto the square is a ice rink and Christmas stalls as well and a stage with live music. There is also a shop that sells fries and hotdogs and burgers and more. We found easy free parking in the side roads adjoining the hotel. You can also use the market square car park for unloading but be aware that this is not a free car park. We were able to press the button and get 20 mins free which was ample time to unload. Be aware that there are restrictions in the adjacent side roads on market days (see pics for signs to look out for) but Mehdy will tell you where to park on these days. When we arrived we were greeted by Mehdy. He was a lovely chap and happy to chat in English. Breakfast was included which was a traditional European contental breakfast. This included boiled eggs, cooked meats, breads, cereals, spreads and fruit. Tea, coffee and juices too. It's a 10 minute slow walk to the beach from the Hotel Cecil. The beach is wide and very sandy and I would expect it to be a wonderful summer location. There's plenty of beach bars and restaurants for snacks and meals as well as you're usual arcades. Plenty for all the family. The town itself has some lovely shops. With specialist bakers and butchers and gourmet food shops. There are lovely chocolate shops also.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and cleanliness of the hotel. The bedrooms are comfortable and the side rooms away from the market square provide a quiet, relaxing space even if there is an event on this site in the evening. The breakfast is great!

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are basic, and there is no lift.

    Love the location in the market square but just a short walk to the beach. It's great to wake up to the market outside on a Saturday morning.We enjoy exploring towns and cities, would not suit someone who is looking to laze by a pool.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress cover on the bed made me a bit too warm in the night.

    Great little hotel right on the main square. Close to shops, bars, restaurants, frituurs and the coast. Yet also quiet at night. A family business run by a very helpful couple. We would recommend it, and hope to stay heredity again.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and ensuite quite small, television in an alcove so a little hard to see other than when actually in bed

    Friendly, helpful staff. Handy having satellite television.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noise from square ensuite and room tiny try and get a room on the side not facing main square

    staff good and very helpful, breakfast very good restaurant next door good gratis parking 4min walk away

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely owners - really helpful and welcoming Great location - short walk to the amazing sandy beach Great for kids Family room with 2 separate bedrooms!

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar/cafe closes at 8pm.

    This hotel is centrally situated for beach and tram, overlooking the main square. Friendly owners and staff. Good buffett continental breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great

    This hotel stands out for its friendly and welcoming owners. Generous breakfast in great surroundings. Clean, cheerful and bright decor.Lovely evening meal inthe next door restaurant

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Town centre location. free parking 7pm till 10am on square outside front door. Good value family room. Handy for beach, shopping, restaurants and Plopsaland theme park. Friendly and helpful staff. Good value, well kept, clean and well decorated. Toddlers playroom in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing really, but be aware that the rooms are average size by UK standards and it is a house and not a purpose built hotel.

    The chap who runs the place seems to really like his customers. He dried my towels and costumes for us after a day at plopsalaand aqua and even purchased some coffee for me as I really liked the brand served at breakfast and could not find any. He also helped with calls to P and O.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lift would have been ideal but it has a stair lift for people who cannot climb the stairs.

    The staff all speak English and make you very welcome, the breakfast that is FREE is very good with a large selection of every thing, the beds are the best we have ever slept on, the hotel is located at the corner of the marketplace and there are plenty of eating places around in a short walking distance,My Wife and I stayed there in April and have booked a week in September.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An extra pillow would have been good.

    We liked the position of the hotel and that there was free parking nearby. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We wasnt happy that they had no facilities to be able to make yourself a hot drink which would greatly improve peoples stay. First time we have experienced accommodation with no tea or coffee making facilities. This would put us off booking this hotel again.

    Good breakfast very clean great location.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The level of service and comfort were exeptional

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff and the room excellent

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedrooms v small could just about walk round bottom of bed and so was the bathroom.

    Location v good. Breakfast and staff v.good location excellent

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff went out of their way to help you. Excellent customer service and the breakfast was very filling.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea facilities in room

    Staff were friendly, location is great, in the centre.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very central to shops and bar restaurants

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    very friendly all round nice people excellent breakfast and service will be staying again 100%

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms were a little small but not complaining as ideal for 1 or 2 people

    rooms very clean and the owner was very nice easy check in

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly,polite and very enjoyabel Holiday.We all Had a Great Time,thank you.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was so friendly!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    The owner dried our towels after a day at plopsalaand aqua and gave us a lift to the other water park the next day.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Friendly people. Easy and safe parking in the Markt. Big and clean family rooms. All perfect!

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was very family friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar closed in the evening no were to go only tv channel bbc 1and 2

    Hotel v good hotel location v good

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The walls were not well insulated, so we could hear the people above and next to us.

    Very friendly staff and fabulous breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was very good. Very nice personnel. The location was very good, in the center.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    cramped bathroom

    pleasant family ambience around the place

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only downsize was the size of the ensuite bathroom,very small, but spotlessly clean.

    Very relaxing atmosphere, staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good food great wifi accommodated a late arrival too

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: