Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Central 1 stars

Markt 30, Historic Centre of Brugge, 8000 Bruges, Belgium

#57 of 101 hotels in Bruges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 871 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Very goond for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - breakfast is good, but could be more varied - the window can be opened only for a littlebit

    - nice staff - perfect location - good view to the Markt and the Belfort tower - cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    First and foremost the location is simply excellent, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    First and foremost the location is simply excellent, and rather surprising, even with a front room overlooking the square - it was very quiet. Although the room was fairly basic, (which we like), it was finished to a very high standard. No TV, which again didn't bother us in the slightest. Both the evening meal and the breakfast were very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, very helpful and taking care for guests.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise in the early morning in the street can be an issue, while the garbage is collected, but the view worth it completely.

    Great staff, very helpful and taking care for guests. The food in the restaurant is fantastic, the service is one of the best I've ever received. I felt like at home. And the view... it is amazing! Having the breakfast there is one of the best experiences ever.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    The view was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small. Terrible smell from the bathroom. No parking at all! That was terribly inconvenient - as we had to walk at least 20min with our luggage.(quite a lot of luggage, as we were travelling Europe for 3 weeks) There is no reception, so you have no idea who to turn to for anything.

    View from our room was fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    Minimalist's would love it - I didn't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No TV in room, No tea or coffee, fridge or chairs in the room (two Ottomans/Poufs), No air-con - I didn't need it but it would be a problem in summer, Thin walls (noisy), No public area for sitting (just the restaurant downstairs), Hard to find - It's above the Central Restaurant. It feels like someone said, "Hey we've got a restaurant in a great location, let's offer some rooms too", and that's where the thinking stopped. Let's face it, the location is so strong that most people will overlook all the above.

    WiFi was strong in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable 4 nights. Met all expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise into the night was disturbing. Couldn't close windows to shut noise out as no air conditioning.

    Super location. Ideal for getting to all we wanted to do for a short visit. Plus an excellent view from room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Just go here if you want the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No airconditioning - The staff at the bar (who also happens the person who checks in guests) was not really accomodating. When asked if they have a fan I can borrow (bec the room was bloody hot), he said they only have one and he is using it. - We were told that check in time was 2pm, we had lunch and left the luggages there. After we returned, we checked in, in our horror that the room is still dirty from previous guests.

    The location and renovated bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very warm during our stay and the room does not have air conditioning. Leaving the windows open at night meant dealing with mosquitoes and listening to the patrons at the restaurants below. If you're looking for a cooler and quieter room, ask for one in the back. Would love to see a fridge provided in the room. Room amenities like toilet paper and plastic cups were not replaced daily so we had to ask for more.

    Fantastic location! Can't beat the view we had from our square-facing room. Comfortable beds and large bathroom. Generous breakfast buffet. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Separated mattresses war a little bit uncomfortable for a couple.

    Mainly Location. Besides this I have to mention the quallity of the products from the room ( water closet made by Villeroy & Boch and faucets of good quality (Hansgrohe or Hansa). This suggested that the owner invested in the location and didn't do rabat from qualitty. Besides this everything was branded with Central Hotel (from sheets to cups ) and this in my opinion also lead to invests in quallity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Gem! Great value and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound carries, you can hear doors etc from other patrons and restaurant.

    Location is amazing. No transport needed, everything is walking distance! The breakfast is wonderful and included in the price!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location but poor bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift to the room and I had to carry my heavy luggage via staircase to the room. There is also no TV set in the room. I was staying at the room above the restaurant's ventilation system (i.e. the hotel itself is on the upper floors of its restaurant) where it was smelly sometimes. I stayed at a room where two-single beds were put together which was not too great for a lone traveller like me.

    The hotel is located right in the middle of the Markt where you could get nearly most tourist spots within minutes of walk but it also means you have to walk for a bit time if you arrive Brugge by taking train. The room was clean and well renovated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Amazing location and staff but zero privacy or quiet making it impossible to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A better mention that the hotel is actually located on top of a restaurant and you have to cross the establishment everyday you want to go in and out would be really helpful. The worst point of all was the complete lack of privacy. The walls are paper thin - not actual walls- and you can literally hear EVERYTHING that is going on the neighboring rooms, corridors etc making it impossible to have a decent night sleep or any kind of privacy. Moreover, the rooms don't have windows. That means no natural light or proper airing and it feels poky and dark- this is not mentioned on the hotel's description. I wouldn't go back for those two reasons. Also, value for money didn't feel right with a charge of 100e per night for lack of comfort, decent sleep and privacy in a small room. There is no mini fridge, telephone or any other 'basic' features, no TV or lift either although the hotel let its clients know about it so it's not a big surprise.

    The staff was really helpful and nice! Ask for recommendations as some are local and happy to help if you have a smile on your face. Complimentary breakfast buffet although quite basic was accompanied with wonderful fresh croissants and bread brought individually to each table. Great touch to starting the day! Very large bathroom and brand new shower, very comfortable as its size almost equals that of the whole room. The location is incredible right in the middle of the most central square in Bruges, absolutely wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Great Location, Breakfast fail
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No TV, No cups or glasses in room, no tea or coffee making facilities. Mix up over breakfast, you HAVE TO BOOK it the day before as even though it is a buffet they will NOT let you pay 9 euros on the day to have coffee and toast.

    Location. Clean simple room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Great location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Basic room provided most things that are needed. Beds very comfortable. No lifts in hotel so if mobility issues do not stay here. Staff very friendly. Location is superb close to everything in Bruges. Easy Taxi ride from train station less than 20 minutes. Good variety at breakfast and restaurant at evening had a wide choice of meals. Service and food were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    i requested for a room with a market view (and then found...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a tv would be nice, but not a big deal

    i requested for a room with a market view (and then found out i booked for a room that didn't) and was refused. i was surprised upon check in that i did get a room with a market view without paying extra!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    This hotel has the Best location in bruges right on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inside stairs are a little small and the main entrance could get confused with the restaurant since they both have the same entrance

    This hotel has the Best location in bruges right on the square it is a small hotel with a small restaurant and a fire place in the lobby The staff are very nice, friendly and welcoming even more very generous they offered us a free breakfast that was not included in our room reservation, This hotel is very clean and the rooms and bathrooms are like new and spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea & Coffee in room would have been OK. No TV in room either but since I dont speak Flemish and wouldn't want to pay any extra for the joys of UK TV that was fine ...Got my entertainment people watching from the window.

    Small but spotlessly clean rooms ..large bathroom with fantastic shower.. Booked a room over looking the market square which had amazing views = Breakfast was typical continental cooked meats breads eggs and coffee. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. We had a room on 1st floor no lift but no issues as informed of this at time of booking. Fantastic value for money. Other reviewers have commented how much street noise they heard ...not sure exactly what they expect when they book a room overlooking the biggest tourist attraction in town !! The beer festival was on during our stay and we slept soundly ...probably to do with the beer !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall a pleasant stay, but wouldn't come again because of thin walls / poor noise reduction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very thin walls / poor noise reduction. Could follow next door conversations without effort. Sleep disrupted several times by neighbours talking / entering their rooms. Room could have done with a safe to store valuable belonings.

    Friendly personnel. Check-in was very fast. Breakfast was simple, but good. The bedroom was fairly small, but sufficient for a short stay. Large bathroom with a very nice shower. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Good enough for sleepover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, but Bugg is so small city that even if you woud live on the other side of the city it will be close to everywhere anyway.. We had great breakfast, bathroom and the room was clean, bed was comfortable room was small and you could hear everything what is going on in the other room as walls are made of plasterboard. I didnt like that the room doesn´t have window, but we could choose beteen with the window and without so it´s our fault that we didnt notice it. We didnt eat in the restaurant because we red on tripadvisor, that ou can be cheated so we prefered to eat in Cambrinus restaurant which was close to the hotel and it was realy good idea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Great place to stay, very close to the public parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could slightly smell cigarette smoke coming into the room

    Great place to stay, very close to the public parking. The room was immaculate and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    Great location, the rooms are very clean and we found the beds comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have liked somewhere to sit rater than in our room, the restaurant would only let us sit on the tables if we we eating, which was the same in all the restaurants, it is difficult to just sit and have a drink which was not in a bar.

    The location was fantastic we also liked the open fire in the restaturant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Brugge Christmas Markets
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The location of the hotel was brilliant overlooking the square. The rooms were better than we expected. Published photos always look good but these exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Very good indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This isn't necessarily what I didn't but more as advice. The Hotel has no lift.

    It's a nice hotel, it has a great location, market square, the staff are friendly and helpful, The rooms are clean and comfortable. It also has a great restaurant, And would not hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    A romantic stay at Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was modern but kinda small.

    The building itself was amazing, with the view of Bruges plaza. I really appreciate the staff, it was so nice and kind. I felt at home.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful location, would visit Bruges again but would not stay at this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed has no support, very uncomfortable. The lighting in the bedroom and bathroom is very poor. No tea/coffee making facilities in room. No window in the bedroom made it feel a little oppressive, and when we opened the bathroom window there was an awful smell of sewage. No full length mirror anywhere, the mirror in the bathroom is too high up to be the only mirror available. Our second night in the hotel there was an overpowering smell of cigarette smoke which came right into the bedroom, I opened the door to the hallway thinking one of the other guests must be out there only to discover it was traveling up from the restaurant below! We would not have stayed at this hotel if we realised smoking was allowed. The walls must be very thin, we could hear other guests talking at a normal level in the room next to us.

    Fantastic location, friendly staff, good breakfast options, good heating, lovely shower. No noise from restaurant below.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location, couldn't get more central.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like having to go through the restaurant to the hotel, it took us a long time to find the place because it's a restaurant, which we weren't expecting. Staff are working the restaurant so were always a bit busy/distracted to help us straight away. There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room!!! You could go downstairs and get them to make something for to you but this was a hassle, need to have it in the room. The shower always ran out of hot water. Also bit weird to not have a TV in the room.

    Great location, couldn't get more central. Beds were comfortable. Good bathroom with modern fittings. The heater in our room didn't work (-1C outside) the staff tried to fix it but it didn't work so the next night when the hotel wasn't full they moved us to another room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Good for a weekend stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No TV! No view - frosted window overlooking a courtyard. Property is basically a Cafe/restaurant with a few rooms upstairs.

    The location. The room, while basic, was clean & tidy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall the stay was wonderful esp because of the Christmas Market right in front of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe we booked a non-smoking room but it smelled so bad in our room from smokers outside (can’t tell if within the hotel ot outside). It’s not as sound proof as I hoped for a hotel room to be (could hear next room (talking, footsteps, etc).

    The location and the room with market view are awesome! Though there is no parking at the property, the nearest parking structure Biekorf is near enough and affordable. The restuarant staff were wondeful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent service. Breakfast included (continental) easy check in and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rain. Not the hotels fault!

    Location is perfect for exploring brugge! staff were lovely and funny (i rate that highly) rooms are simple but exactly what we needed for a couple of days. Beds comfy, bathroom lovely! what more do you need! if we are going to brugge again would definately stay here. wonderful time 👍🏼

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    It was a very good chois to stay at Hotel Central!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building works in front of the hotel were a bit loud.

    Location, facilities, the restaurant is not expensive but good. The property was very clean with friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Central hotel with good bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows in our room couldn't be completely opened because there were two sets of windows in a row so the inner windows prevented the the outer windows (of the original building) to open fully. When we entered the room, we felt like opening the windows for a bit because the air felt a little thick but this was not possible. It wasn't a real problem for us but I can imagine it being a problem in summer. The breakfast was a bit limited and the fruit didn't really seem to be fresh.

    Excellent location, right in the center of Bruges. The hotel was a lot better than expected for this price. We had a room with a view of the Belfry, which was very nice. The room was clean and looked nice. The bathroom was the best part. I loved the shower and the long mirror, and there was a very good hair dryer available.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Perfect. Cannot wait to go again and will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not eat here (as we just pick things up along our way) so cannot comment on the food. the restaurants around the area can be expensive but that was expected.

    My sister and I stay here for 2 nights on a city break in Bruges. The location could not be more perfect, right on top of the Markt and right across from the Belfort Tower. The room is small and basic but this was expected so there was no bad surprise. Everything was so clean and staff so helpful. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful stay in beautiful Brugge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of a challenge, and you must come and go through the restaurant, so every one knows when you leave.

    Very nice location in the center of Brugge!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    The Market View room was everything I hoped it would be and I want to come back one day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant, very much in line with other restaurants in the area, was very expensive. I think that is a fault of the touristy area, not the individual place, but we decided to get a little outside of the city center for better prices.

    I booked a room with a Market View and was absolutely blown away by how great it was. It had windows that opened right on the market square and we could hear the bell tower chime every 15 minutes during the day and evening. The room was large for a European hotel. Even though we had to take two flights of stairs, and my mom has some mobility issues, they were large stairways and we didnt have any trouble. Staff was very friendly and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    perfect location on brugges main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the morning staff were kinda offish, no real biggie though.

    perfect location on brugges main square. room very modern convenient and clean. my room had a wonderful view of the square. enjoyed my yummy local morning breakfast. price was very fair for location. i contatced the property before i arrived about parking and they gave me great instructions to a parking garage less than 5 mins walk away. and as its in old Brugge, such a pleasant beautiful walk to car a few times was actually a treat. i was also amazed at how accomodating the night staff were esp considering that they were maintaining a FILLED restaurant on ground floor when i arrived.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Only stayed for one night, will make it two next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drinks in the market square are expensive !

    We had a lovely room with a view over the market square, great to sit by the window and people watch. All very clean, fluffy towels, comfy bed !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Worth every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big bathroom with large opening window and big shower but no window in room. Had to leave bathroom door open to let light and air in. This was not however a big problem and room had lots of lights

    Location. Actually on the square. Rooms all new furniture and modern. Hotel old and room layouts strange for this reason. No mossies. Worth every penny and would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location, lovely staff, very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin so you could hear your neighbours talking, opening/closing doors.

    Great location, lovely staff, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Made us feel like family just a wonderful experience with them
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Place was the bomb, very nice rooms very clean,staff outrageously excellent,very helpful and one of the few places I've stayed that was worth it all....would go again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Loved Bruges, had an amazing stay in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a tv, which we knew when we booked but the room could do with a few pictures to make it look a little less clinical, but that really is just a minor gripe. Only one drawback of being directly on the square was it was pretty noisy in the early hours of the morning with people coming out of the late bars/ clubs. That said, would definitely recommend.

    Fantastic location and out room on the top floor overlooked the square - amazing view. Staff were very friendly and our room was very modern and spacious with a lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    A fantastic holiday only marred by our room having a mosquito problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiny room with thin walls, no pictures or tv, also no tea or coffee . Although the weather was inclement the room very hot overnight. we could not have the window open because of mosquitos. We were still bitten to piece

    fantastic location, you are in the centre of a beautiful medieval city with shops restaurants and museums with very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    Excellent location, rooms not romantic at all, like easyjet rooms but hugely overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea/coffee in rooms. Very bland no pictures on walls, no TV, no information leaflets, no character. Lots of Mozzy bites, obviously not the hotels fault. Off site NCP tye parking 10 euros a night

    location, was fantastic as my mother is disabled. staff were helpfull accomodating this with a 1st floor room. Dont get a view of the square as its noisy at night despite quadruple glazed window

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Good Option
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bring your own mosquito repellent, all around bruges at night you will find mosquitos

    The staff was really friendly and professional, this property has a restaurant that is part of the hotel and you will enjoy a really good meals (ask for MARK the best waiter), the breakfast is included we loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    Very nice, if a little basic. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 2 or 3 at the back, I can't remember, but bad smell of drains and bathroom sounds from next door very obvious.

    Nice simple room layout with everything needed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Great location, poor cleaning and bug problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    serious mosquito problems in the room, including dead, squished mosquitos on the room walls that had not been cleaned off. Hotel provided bug spray in each room, but cleaning was questionable. Literally dead bugs and blood smears on the walls. Size and quality of rooms varied greatly despite charging same price for the rooms. Disappointing generally.

    location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    3.3
    Avoid at all cost - this is not a hotel and can never be one. A hotel needs to have basic ammenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beware - this is not a hotel - there are no facilities of a hotel room - our room had, - No windows - We couldn't sleep due to lack of air circulation and no natural lights into the room - No Phone connection / no service in the room - Bad bed mattress - Mosquito problem - Bad pillow set Avoid at all cost - there are better and proper hotels to stay in Brugge. We regret staying here for 2 nights, we got pulled into by reading other reviews. The only plus point is this place is on the square - but trust us - all the other hotels are very close to the square - better off selecting another hotel. This place is not a hotel - I wonder how Booking.com can include them as hotel - their rooms don't even have a window for ventilation - worst experience ever.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Staff superb, food superb, location superb,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived early before 10am and were given coffee and pastries which were superb. We were allowed to leave our bags prior to checking in which was great. The staff were superb throughout are stay and the manager was very nice to deal with. the rooms were modern and spotlessly clean. We ate at the restaurant and all the meals were superb, the waterzooi was one of the best fish dishes i have ever eaten. The whole experience was PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Brügge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy at night from the square and restaurants, but that is to be expected. We did get mosquitoes at night so use the spray!

    As the name implies, it is very central, right on the market square. Room and bathroom were modern, clean and comfortable. Wifi worked well. Great buffet breakfast with so much choice. Very helpful staff. Motorcycle parking was available not too far away down a side road. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in a central hotel with the friendliest customer service!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The square can be very noisy. This is not the fault of the hotel. But, if you are a light sleeper it might not be the best place for you. Or bring earplugs!

    The staff were so friendly - it really made for a great stay! They couldn't have done any more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Center of Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes in the room so couldn't leave windows open. And no hairdryer.

    Breakfast was plain but good enough. Located right on Market Square the location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    It's a good location if you want to be in the centre and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a good location if you want to be in the centre and close to everything. I did not find it too noisy and had no trouble sleeping. Rooms are small / close to the next room so you can hear the other room. We were out of the room most of the time anyway. For the 2 nights we had it was perfect for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy people upstairs who seemed tot be walking around the whole day.

    Great location, nice and clean room, seems to have been renovated recently. Including breakfast even though it was mentioned in the reservation breakfast was not included. Friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Great central location, friendly and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really may be tea and coffee facilities and a hair drier.

    Perfect central location. Everything within walking distance. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Exceptional service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no AC and an awful smell from gas backup coming through the shower drain. Not sure if it is like this in every room, but we were in room 10. Regardless, the exceptional service made these problems bearable.

    The restaurant staff also run the hotel and they provided the most friendly and helpful service I've ever encountered.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Perfect location( it's right on the center) perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were so thin that we could hear ALL the noise from the room next door

    Perfect location( it's right on the center) perfect breakfast, clean room, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Bruges is a lovely city, excellent for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room with a view of market square was spectacular but the large window would benefit from double glazing. The noise of late night (early morning) revel rousers watching football in the bars nearby reverberates around the picturesque square and the square seems to be a general meeting place all night. If you're a light sleeper take ear-plugs or join the action in the bars. A kettle for coffee/tea would be a simple and welcome addition.

    The location of this hotel is perfect, and the price paid very good for a very pleasant room with a nice bathroom and excellent shower. We pre-booked a room at the front with a view of Bruges Market Square and we were not disappointed, the view was excellent. Ask the staff for a hair-dryer. The buffet style continental breakfast was included in the price and a great start to the day From this central location it's an easy, flat walk to all of the attractions and restaurants. Restaurants on the square are expensive but delightful and off the main square there are plenty of interesting cafes and small restaurants. The local bus service covers the town and makes the trip from the rail station easy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    Great location but nothing else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was hot and stuffy. It was 2nd floor up, with no lift, which was a struggle. The windows overlooked the staff court yard and kitchen vents so it was noisy, even early in the morning. Smoke came in from the courtyard, which was horrible as we don't smoke and I was bitten alive by mosquitos. There was no fan, no TV, not that we really wanted to watch it, but my husband likes to check results etc and there was no tea and coffee making facilities. There were squashed mosquitos and flies on the walls and ceiling, which was really unpleasant.

    The only thing we liked about this was the location as it was right in the square.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Stag Parrttaayyy.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lack of A/C or a fan meant the room was very hot in the night and made it uncomfortable and Bruges itself is VERY expensive, which is a shame.

    The hotel was in a great location, the staff were great, the rooms were clean and a good size , we had a great stay....we had a brilliant time in Delaneys, the Irish bar, and the next day we spent a lot of time in 2be bar, with 1700 beers...enough said!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Comfort is sacrificed for location on this one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Musty smelling bathroom and no air conditioning during a heatwave a detractor from our stay. Room had no views or television. Economy room.

    Proximity to all major attractions, restaurants and shops can't be beat. Included breakfast was of good quality and sufficient to start the day. Staff was courteous and helpful throughout our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Modern and clean room with spacious bathroom, friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No iron available at the hotel; bad room acoustics so quite noisy.

    Modern and clean room with spacious bathroom, friendly staff, very good value for money, perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    The best localization in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The brilliant point of this hotel is definitely localization! Just in the heart of the city! Clean, comfortable room, good breakfast with delicious croissants and good coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Amazing location and view from a renovated and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because this is a renovated but heritage listed building, the double windows were awkward. They could only be opened a few centimetres, and once they were, the blinds couldn't be used. Hence the room was floodlit at night from the square if you wanted some air. There was no air conditioning. We were there on a warm day in early June. I wouldn't want to be there in midsummer, when it would/ might be hotter- you never can tell in Bruges. Having said all of that, the view was so amazing that for one night I didn't care if I couldn't sleep!!

    Amazing location, right on Markt Square. We were upgraded to a room at the front it's a view of the square, so we had an amazing view- there was some downside though. Newly renovated well equipped room, small, but well designed, with an excellent bathroom. Wifi was fine. Breakfast cost extra- about €9.50 from memory- but was worth the money- fresh fruit, cereal, toast, croissant, cold meats, juice, coffee, boiled eggs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No windows in the bedroom.

    This hotel is above a busy restaurant on the Market right in front of the Belfry - amazing location. The rooms are very small, no windows! The shower and bathroom were bigger than the actual room but location made up for it. Great value for money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Good value, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no frills at all, like no hairdryer in the room, not even a Do Not Disturb sign to put on the door!

    The place was right on the main square! Staff were really nice & friendly. Room was good size, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Somewhere to sleep and take a shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Somewhere to sleep and take a shower. Bedrooms stark with no decoration. If you are sensitive to the noise of other guests then sleep is impossible. Staff extremely pleasant. Breakfast acceptable. Location couldn't be better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.3
    Good location in the center of Brugge, but not in the noice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, a minor smell of food because is a restaurant- hotel

    Good location in the center of Brugge, but not in the noice very close to all attractions. Fare enough breakfast, very clean and big enough room for two people with comfortable bed.worth there money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flooring in the room

    Location, staff and cleanliness. The wifi was strong too which is always a bonus and the beds were very comfy. Rooms were modern and spacious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Epic place to be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't be aware of this hotels bad reviews from the bast. The hotel is reconstructed, its absolutely new, clean, comfortable with very friendly staff and good breakfast. Location is absolutely epic, I can really recommend this hotel, try it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Exceptional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing. it was more than I expected. After coming from some pretty average places from the previous days this was just lovely. The staff are wonderful the rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast was amazing. We couldnt happier. Will definitely be back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Great stay at Central Hotel in Bruges
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no full length mirror in the room; just the mirror over the sink; a full length mirror would have been nice/helpful. I'm a very light sleeper and was on the 1st floor above the restaurant facing the square. It was not terrible, but it was a little noisy; I'd recommend a room on a higher floor or off the square if you need more quiet. The bathroom had a bad sewer-like smell when I first turned the shower on, but the smell vanished in a couple minutes and again, all was very clean.

    Location was excellent; right in the central Market area above a restaurant across from the bell tower. Outside this is a historic old building; inside the room was recently remodeled; looked like something out of an ikea store. Nicely appointed, decent sized room with plenty of closet/shelf space for luggage and clothing, comfortable bed/mattress (I was in a 2 twin bed room; I assume they have larger beds for a couple or larger person). Bathroom had a very hot shower (no tub) with excellent water pressure. Everything was very clean. Unlike a "real" hotel, there was no true front desk to get information - you walk thru the restaurant to check in with restaurant staff - but I was given a map and a discount coupon for local spots and the staff was very accomodating and friendly (thank you Peter! For all your help). There is a row of several restaurants; this one is in the middle; there is a tourist information office across the square. (Unexpected) free breakfast in the morning was delicious; bread, cheese, meats, eggs, croissants, coffee, fruit, juice, yogurt, lox. Strong dependable wifi signal throughout the hotel. I got an exceptionally good rate on the room too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.8
    loved brugge always do but a better hotel next time poor value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had to wait till 4pm to get in room also next day had just got in at 4pm after a day out when they decided it was time to clean the room not good enough. no plug in sink told to just let the water run

    position of hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Great location in the main square!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing it was as expected.

    Great location in the main square of Brugge! Rooms appear to have been recently remodeled, along with bathrooms. Small but very clean rooms, some with excellent views! Room does not have TV, but there is no need for one with this excellent location!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Market View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was hard to find. It is right on the main plaza but the name is not clearly shown. Look for restaurant Central. Entrance to hotel is within the restaurant entrance. Could hear people out partying late at night and also hear the delivery and garbage trucks early in the morning for the restaurants. Didn't prevent us from sleep as we were so tired but could be an issue for some who are sensitive. I assume a room off the plaza would avoid that noise, view is good but would be ok to give up for the quiet.

    Excellent location. Staff was very friendly and food was good. Close to everything in Brugge. We took a taxi from train station for 7euro each way to avoid hauling luggage over cobblestone roads. Cute little traditional Belgium restaurant and hotel. Large bathrooms and comfy beds.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Good located hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    Excellent modern room , wonderfully powerful shower in a spacious cubicle . Friendly , hard working Staff, full of character who went out of their way to be helpful .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.3
    Great little hotel with an amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This hotel is excellently placed in the town square in this beautiful city, the view alone is worth the stay. The bed was comfortable and the room cosy. Staff were warm and helpful and the meals downstairs at night amazing, breakfast it good. Parking, although not at the property is conveniently located nearby, affordable and secure.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Central traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: