Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chalet sur Lesse 3 stars

Avenue Batonnier Braun 1, 6852 Maissin, Belgium

#2 of 2 hotels in Maissin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 189 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    A good central location to visit lots of pretty places and villages within some 25 km.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking was OK, but situated rather dangerously with the traffic coming at high speed from behind the bend.

    The interior of the breakfast room and of the bar was exquisite and unequaled ! Breakfast was the first highlight of the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Warm reception.
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm reception. The overall feel of the hotel is very cosy, if you like overly decorated interior with a super warm touch, old dogs and rugs (I do). Third bed was a proper and comfortable bed (rare), breakfast was excellent too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant location, quirky feel to the hotel with various...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No evening meals available, only B & B which could have been clearer in the write up.

    Pleasant location, quirky feel to the hotel with various 'mascots' around the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Stayed for just one night whilst watching the Belgium 🇧🇪 GP at Spa-Francorchamps, brilliant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliest, warmest welcomes awaits from the owner Thierry. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Even down too our extra early departure on a Sunday morning. If you are thinking of staying here, you won't be disappointed as it gets 11/10 from us

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfy bed and lovely breakfast in a slightly remote location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite remote. If you didn't know the area, or have a car, you might be stuck for something to eat out of season.

    Super comfy bed and quality bedlinen. Slightly quirky but all the better for that.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    Nice, remote location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant in the village. The room doors can only be opened from the inside with the key - This wouldn't be allowed by fire safety regulations in many countries, and you therefore can't leave children in the room (They'd either be locked in, or in a room left unlocked). Plumbing was a bit basic.

    Nice spacious rooms Wonderful bar area with soft furnishings - like out of a 1930s film setting. Nice views and in really nice countryside

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Very kind hotel manager, good breakfast, very comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge inside our room.

    Very kind hotel manager, good breakfast, very comfy beds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.8
    Lovely staff and really dog friendly, highly recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff and really dog friendly, highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    8.8
    Nice cosy hotel on pittoresque location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine. Good value for money

    Nice spacious room, good beds

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    10
    Chalet Sue Lesse Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault

    Lovely rural location beautifully run hotel. Some lovely paintings and furnishings.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.3
    Location, type of hotel and its owners
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unappropiate bed blanket for summer weather

    Location, type of hotel and its owners

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    6.3
    Bar and restaurant are nicely decorated and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Service was very poor, no staff at breakfast. Room was cold with no way to turn the heating up or down. There was no internet service. Restaurant expensive.

    Bar and restaurant are nicely decorated and comfortable. Pleasant view.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.0
    The building itself is fine, with good-sized clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They don't seem to understand customer service. The most important thing is that if you don't book half-board in advance, you will not get an evening meal under any circumstances! We had said when booking that we would arrive early evening. We rang during the drive to say we would be later, but would want a meal. We were told that the restaurant closes at 7.30 on Friday, but Saturday would be OK, and there was no mention that we needed to book ahead for Saturday. So we got nothing to eat except the remains of our lunch picnic Friday and had to find a restaurant elsewhere Saturday, despite being very tired. Very annoyed about that. Breakfast does not start till 8, so that was money wasted. We wanted to check out at 7.15 and the proprietor seemed astonished and had to go and get dressed, but 7.15 isn't that early. Lastly, the hotel dog wanders at will which can be a problem if you have a nervous dog. Manageable of itself, but at one point it stalked us down the road for about a kilometre - and I do mean stalked; head down, shoulders raised.

    The building itself is fine, with good-sized clean, comfortable rooms. Pet friendly, but see note under what I didn't like.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    The owner/ head chef was a wonderful host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner/ head chef was a wonderful host. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and immediately felt at home. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable and included a lovely terrace, where we relaxed with a cocktail before dinner. Sunday supper was extraordinary, a three course meal, including a smoked salmon salad, a fish entree and a lovely bowl of ice cream and fresh strawberries for dessert. Our host wore many hats, at first welcoming us to the Chalet, tending bar, and then reappearing with our meal. I would highly recommend the Chalet to anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing getaway.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    10
    Owner = super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    room wasn't very sound proof. Bathroom noises from upstairs were a bit annoying.

    Owner = super friendly. Very pet friendly. Very clean bathroom and everything you need. Nice comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.2
    Friendly multilingual host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No evening meal and remote location made finding somewhere difficult

    Friendly multilingual host

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    10
    Staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff is very friendly and helpful. Did not eat there, so will not know about the food, but the room is VERY spacious and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    9.2
    The lounge room, with pool table and eccentric decorations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wi-Fi a bit hit and miss.

    The lounge room, with pool table and eccentric decorations.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18