Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Charme Hotel Hancelot

Vijfwindgatenstraat 19, 9000 Ghent, Belgium

#18 of 42 hotels in Ghent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1198 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can not find any fault at all with the hotel or staff

    The building and furnishings are wonderfully antique and the service and facilities are up to date. We were welcomed on arrival and throughout the staff were helpful and friendly. The old town is about 15 min walk or there is a tram stop just round the corner. Thoroughly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building, so a bit noisy, you could hear everyone climbing up the stears en getting in and out of the rooms. Squeeky floors.

    Very friendly staff, flexible. Nice old building, good atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel occupies a beautiful mansion from the beginning of the last century, but the conservation is limited to the ground floor. On the upper floors, the carpets are worn, the walls are cracked, the paint on the doors is full of marks, and the curtains are torn. The balcony of our room was not swept for many days.

    The recepcionist was a true tour guide, telling us everything about the city. The breakfast was very .good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe there was a little bit of noise when others returned to their rooms at night, noise from the wooden floored common areas - but this did not last long and you could find it in any hotel.

    I was made very welcome right from the first minute, after I checked in I was provided a cup of black coffee, cream, two biscuits and a traditional dome shaped sweet. The breakfast was very filling and yummy, bacon eggs toast coffee etc. This hotel is only for people who love "old world charm" if you want modern then maybe look elsewhere. The Hotel is early 19th Century (so I was told). I was in room 3D, top floor with sloped ceilings - it was great and very traditional. The bathroom was nice and modern and the bed was great. Timber floors and timber ceiling and timber staircase. The gym and sauna were flooded the day I was there but who uses a gym anyway? The free wifi worked well and the staff were eager to help me - a silly Australian tourist. I hope to stay there on my next trip to Gent (Ghent), maybe in 2 years time. I liked the location and enjoyed the walk from the center and other parts of the city but maybe it is too far for some to enjoyably walk. I am 52 and I stayed for one weekday night. I guess part of the charm of the Hotel is that seems to be a smaller hotel - in the scheme of things.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I was very disappointed from the room. Nothing from big, high rooms and large windows shown on the pictures. The facilities was old, not just old fashion, old with damages on the walls. Difficult to find as a location.

    Friendly stuff and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom not as grand as it first appeared. Curtains needed rehanging and it could do with a lick of paint in places.

    Beautiful rooms on the ground floor (reception area, dining room). Excellent breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some milk for a cup of tea.

    Old world charm. Nice to have a proper key for the room door. Well thought out and designed interiors reflecting a Belle Epoque era. Extremely helpful and friendly service at the arrival desk, which included a glass in sparkling wine. Would stay there again without question.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay at Charme Hotel was incredible, the hotel is incredible and the staff super lovely. The breakfast offering was really good the only thing that lets it down is it's location, it's not as close to the city as I had hoped (my fault) there is public transport not far from the accommodation which will take you into the city once on it within 10-15mins.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not apparent from outside! It could do with a Sign saying HOTEL !!!

    Inside the front doors you will be presented with an old Charming Hotel , The Charlston Feeling with Grand Piano and Fire place in the Reception area. Its just over 5 minutes walk to the wonderful Town of Gent..a place you have to see at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More light from various places came into my room at night than I prefer, but I am extra fussy about that.

    Great old building, nicely turned into a hotel. I have stayed here a few times.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom without soap, wc pan wobbly and tissues ran out. Very noisy from walking on floor above, late at night

    Beautiful interior. Nice breakfast. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath turned out to be a Jacuzzi which we didn't like - don't think they're very hygienic and looked uncomfortable. Hotel in need of a little maintenance - quite a few lights didn't work.

    Old world charm. Spacious room. Very helpful staff. Good choice at breakfast. Walking distance from centre but also close to tram/bus stop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the adjacent guests can be heard walking on the floorboards, and this does detract from the peacefulness of the room's situation. The owner recognises this and while she would like to maintain the originality of the old wooden floor, she is considering putting down carpet., This would be a pity as the floor is beautiful, but obviously the noise is intrusive.

    The very warm welcome and information given by the owner along with a complimentary drink. Very spacious room with seating areas etc. Big bathroom with huge bathtub, which was an extra bonus. Beautiful old building with original features, located in a very quiet area. Secure closed parking in big garage adjacent to hotel for only 15 euros a day. Great buffet breakfast with big choice of hot and cold foods, coffees, teas, juices etc., fresh fruit, cakes, croissants etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traditional wooden building so not the best insulation

    Antique decór and comfortable foyer. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Tram stop to/from the city centre just around the corner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast it was ok-ish as options, atmosphere is wery nice (the haven't serve not even one vegetable in 2 days, offert is extra limited and the same both days). From 6 am in the room (we stayed at 2nd floor) it was a smell just like we were sleeping in a bakery but down stairs....if you enjoy cereals and a few stuff, you are lucky.

    Nice atmosphere, good location if you also make a few steps up to centre. Despite a helpful, nice attitude the hotel have a lot of issue to improve

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately as with all old buildings, the hotel had its share of problems. The main problem was the noise. The walls are quite thin, and you can hear everyone who passes the room/in the neighboring rooms. Our room was next to the staircase, and every time someone went up or down the stairs it was like they were almost walking through our room, noise-wise. The floor was possibly the squeakiest floor I have ever encountered, and two of the windows did not close all the way, as the latches were broken. The bathroom door did not close completely, and relied on a chain to keep it shut (but even then stayed a few centimeters open. There was no fridge/minibar present in the room. Most of the problems seem to stem from the hotel's age, so if you would like an authentic old fashioned experience, this hotel is great, but I was expecting something a little more comfortable to stay in.

    The interior of the hotel is a gorgeous old fashioned style, quite a surprise when you enter compared to the outside. The welcome drink was fantastic, and the staff were quite helpful. The room itself was also quite fancy, and the free room upgrade was appreciated. The bed was super comfortable as well. Everything was impeccably clean, which for such an old building it was surprising to see the absence of any noticeable dust.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit 'rustic'' - very noisy radiators and water system. Lots of stairs, no lift.

    Nice buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. Nice reception area. Great location two minutes from tram stop. Nice sandwich cafe around the corner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique venue with historic background, that has its own style and feel to it. Only 12 rooms here so it means, there will never be a big crowd in this place. Staff are friendly and passionate, knowledgeable about the history that surrounds the venue. If you are looking for a non-mainstream hotel that has a feeling of home away from home then this is the place for you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parts of the room could use maintainance.

    Good breakfast, great location. The Charme Hotel certainly is charming. Friendly and helpful personnel. We got an unexpected upgrade room, great service! We had a great night and a good rest, didn't hear any noise from other guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although it was possible to get drinks in the evening (up untill 10:00) there is no actual bar. Creaky floorboards.

    Short walk/tram to city centre. The car was very secure within the premises (15€ per day matches other less secure city parking). Good buffet breakfast with unlimited coffee/tea/fruit juice, scrambled or boiled eggs, croissants, pastries, local bread, ham, cheese etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not good and room on top floor with luggage and 6 levels of stairs with zero person to help with it. Everything was too basic and little dark.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a very friendly hotel with excellent customer service. The rooms were really comfortable and quiet. There is no lift so you need to be OK using stairs. Breakfast was also very good. We had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took a really expensive superior room, to stay in a comfort conditions... The room was noisy and cheaply decorated (plastic lamp imitations). Sauna was out of order! Shower was broken... :(

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room on the top (third) floor which was really the attic, very cosy with skylights but I would not have liked being without a window for more than the couple of nights we spent there.

    Location, extremely close to bus and tram stop, which gave easy access to the city centre and the train station. 1840s mansion house, cosy reception/lounge area with fire. Good welcome from owner, who was also happy to provide information, other staff we encountered were also pleasant. Room was cosy and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very good and dining room very elegant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - we had to look for and pay for city parking although the website says " Private parking " as facility. - the floor is a little bit noisy (but maybe there is nothing to do about it as it is a historical building). - - - the room was not warm enough and the heaters make noise (they need to take air out from heaters). - the breakfast is a bit too simplistic

    - good inside atmosphere, old, historical building, nice ambiance, chimney is very cool. - staff members are communicative and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very nice and friendly. The “style” of the hotel was very beautiful. From the room to the reception area. Having an option of a shower and a bath was a very nice surprise. The option of the breakfast was satisfying. Would love to come back again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom are very very small, outdated and absolutely not according pictures. Not luxurieus at all. Really disappointed and no value for money. Room is like an old student room. Many noise by guest from other floor at 03:30 and was for half an hour. No staff at night so no control. Hotel asked for a review by e-mail. I would be called back but nobody called anymore.

    Lobby and breakfast room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great and they served with a big smile. Checkin and checkout was smooth. The building seems to have historic value. Beautiful royal house with an equally royal hospitality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had two two twin beds and they were unfortunately quite uncomfortable, the mattresses were really bad and I had awful sleep :( No soundproof - one can hear everything the neighbour room is doing.

    The staff was very friendly, the rooms look charming and the building itself was gorgeous, well decorated with a nice fireplace in the common entrance room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Very charming (lobby and room) - Excellent and helpfull staf who make you feel welcome - comfortable room (well equipped) an bed - Breakfast was great, fresh fruits!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The croissants were rather bread-like and the pain chocolat could have been more flaky

    The general ambiance was relaxing and the staff were extremely helpful when our arrival was delayed until the small hours of the morning!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not as good as other comments- only hot offering was scrambled eggs- and this is not great when the hotel runs out of butter/margarine for the rolls and toast-breakfast room was good-and the comfort in eating breakfast was fine- staff over keen to remove empty plates and rubbish from the table whilst still eating.

    Period property- aiming to be classical hotel- need to concentrate on the fine details and match the rooms to the photo's they have stage managed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is an old building and comes with old building noises. We didn't mind at all, but don't expect not to hear your neighbors.

    We booked a comfort room and arrived a bit earlier than the check-in time. It was no problem at all to already use the hotel’s parking lot, very convenient. During our arrival, we got some great tips & tricks from the staff concerning “must sees” of Gent, plus where to find shops and nice restaurants. Very helpful, they took the time to make us feel welcome. Room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was exactly what we needed, different types of bread, croissants, meat, cheeses, eggs and several types of cereal and fruit. A good way to start your morning when you are getting ready for visiting the city. City center is about a 15 minutes walk, you can’t miss it! We didn’t use the tram at all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfastscrambled eggs were a bit cold; other than that nothing.

    Charming hotel with period fittings. Staff (particularly the man on the front desk who greeted us) were really helpful. Also really nice to be offered a welcome drink and a "Ghent nose" on arrival. Excellent overall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The state of the room where we were staying could be improved. We booked the economy room at the very top and at times, there was some weird smell coming from the drainage. Also, one wing of the sliding door around the shower was broken and as a result did not sit properly in its rail. I was little worried about this part of the door smashing onto the ground and shattering glass flying all around. But luckily that did not happen. :) And the last detail - the old mattresses with classic bedsprings. Some of us like them, some don't! (For me as a light sleeper, the paper-thin walls at the top of the building weren't especially great either but I'm not complaining about that as economy rooms usually come at this price.)

    I really liked the atmosphere of this place - the old furniture and decor, the wallpaint. Lovely! Staff was very nice to us too, even though we checked in at about 9:45 pm. I appreciate the possibility to park the car in the hotel garage and to be able leave it there for the day even after check-out with no extra cost. (I'm aware this wouldn't have been possible, were there other guests arriving by car on that day, but still.) The hotel has a perfect location, it's a 15-minute walk right into the city centre or a 5-minute tram ride from the corner of the street. The breakfast was great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because it's an old building, you hear everything, when guests walked in their room above ours, the chandelier shook hard, which was a bit scary. Also I got bitten on my arm and legs (I don't think it's bed bugs but I am sure I was bitten in the room, just strange!) The floor was not really flat. But considering it's such an old building, all this I can tolerate. But the room was not really super clean and the curtain was broken, which I don't think it's OK. The management should shaken up this details.

    The hotel is in a nice location which has the possibility to park, also the decoration and interior is tasteful(classic). The room is just beautiful! The stuff was really helpful and friendly, they were really trying to make me feel comfortable and welcome. The breakfast is acceptable, the WIFI is good enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit old-fashioned and not very soundproof

    Hall and dining rooms are awesome Next to tram stop, walking distance to center Excellent breakfast Staff is welcoming Good value for price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really friendly. We were offered a free welcome drink upon arrival and received a free upgrade to a deluxe room! The atmosphere is great and our room was huge! It felt like residing in an old Château. Breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent all round. Nothing to complain .

    Beautiful original mansion converted into a charming hotel. Lots of original architectural features and huge spacious rooms. Excellent staff, very friendly and professional. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always available to assist.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was available but we chose to access the nearest underground car park which was some distance away. The reason for this was that check in was not until 4 and we arrived in Ghent much earlier. However this was not a major problem at all.

    Very warm welcome from the owner. Coffee/tea and biscuits by the fire on arrival. Staff very friendly and helpful with local information. This hotel is full of character and charm.It certainly lives up to its name. We will definitely use this hotel again when we return to Ghent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initially couldn't find the location, more signage perhaps. Top floor might be a struggle to anyone that isn't particularly fit.

    Staff couldn't do enough. Felt very welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a criticism but just advice - the hotel has off road parking facility but only for about 4 cars. So one is advised to reserve this parking when booking particularly during peak periods.

    Bohemian elegance 5 mins walk away from the centre of town. Service excellent - run by man/wife team. Old vintage building with original features but still very comfortable. Ghent is a much more approachable town than Bruges (too touristy and chocolate box-like) and although just as beautiful it still has the soul of a city with working people living in it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was ample, but home-made conserves and fresh, un-packaged butter would have made it excellent. Fresh, not machine-made, coffee would have been good, too. No drink-making facilities in our top-floor room.

    Welcome was excellent and the staff engaging. The building is unusual and quirky with an interesting history - anything but a bog-standard hotel. (Not suitable for those who expect a bog-standard hotel!)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side was long climb of three stories to our rooms, but because of the age of the hotel, they can't install a lift. Staff was helpful carrying our luggage.

    Perfect location for seeing Ghent's historic area. Staff was absolutely the best. Breakfast was outstanding! Our rooms were spacious and comfortable. Charming historical hotel with lots of character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no blanket - the room was slightly cold at 4am; the (heavy) bed cover then made us a bit too warm. breakfast slightly soulless, could have been a business hotel (except for the surrounding !)

    Feeling of luxury - Louis Quinze style breakfast room, at reasonable prices. Helpfulness of staff in all regards - explained history of the hotel and also where to visit/eat in Ghent. Tram ride from the door. Quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1/the location is not so "city-centre" as expected. 2/no lift, and we were allocated a top floor room.

    A house with long history. The ground floor, i.e. the lobby, is well decorated with comfortable sofa and a piano. Decent breakfast with fresh fruits including figs and kiwi. Staff are really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not really sure .... maybe that the door handle to the garage almost broke off? But I got what I expected. Price is maybe high ... but it is Ghent

    Breakfast was good, Staff very friendly, tram at end of street takes you directly into center. Hotel is kind of shabby chic, but that's its charm!! Bit run down, not all polished, has character, fun to be in what used to be someones' mansion!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation in a listed building with loads of history behind it. A very detailed brief by a member of staff on that subject as well as local attractions. The place is up to its name indeed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Faded elegance - needs a make-over. No proper curtains.

    Chose this hotel based on peoples' reviews. Well, what is quaint and charming to them is unfortunately old-fashioned and in need of an upgrade to us. Very helpful staff. Breakfast was good. About a 15 minute stroll into town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to leave

    The quiet professional way that everything about the hotel was organized. The building and the interior are fabulous, very elegant and understated, it stands in a quiet side street within 100 yards of the tram and bus stop but also within easy walking distance of the main area with its bars, restaurants and shops. Charming hosts further add to the whole experience that I would fully recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A climb up three double flights of stairs to our 'garret' room. Maybe I didn't read the small, print but hard on my new hip! Also the rain on the skylights was deafening but luckily it didn't rain at night or I would have had to request another room

    Lovely comfortable bed Attractive building inside

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is still being refurbished and in places can appear as a grand old lady in later years. Nothing disastrous but illustrating previous owner's neglect. I guess whether you like this depends on your preference for a hotel. If you like ultra modern, sterile and conformist, this won't be for you.

    This hotel has the feel of Agatha Christie. From the piano and lights in the reception areas to the traditional furniture. You could happily sit a 1920's re-enactment. Once a masonic hall, it is full of interesting pieces and has an atmosphere of a late Victorian or early 20th Century club. It is a short walk to the historic town centre but if you want the tram stops just outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked the room with the understanding that the hotel offered on-site parking. They do not; they have limited street parking made more limited by construction. We had to park at a public lot about 18 minutes away and take public transport back to the hotel. (It was dark, so we ended up taking a taxi.) Even more inconveniently, currently the hotel does not take any credit cards. There is an ATM machine around the corner, but we were not comfortable using it at night. Finally, the hotel has no elevator and our room was on the fourth floor. The staff who checked us in did not offer to help us with our bags. It was quite a hike up to the top floor with our bags, then we had to find the public parking lot for our car. We were not happy. I would advise finding another place to stay unless you are traveling by train with very light luggage and lots of cash.

    The property has charming features, such as chandeliers and wrought iron. Our bedroom had sky lights, a chandelier and a small private balcony as well as exposed wooden beams.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The luxury bedroom had no courtains and was noisy. I expected something more for that price

    Very charming and romantic atmosphere; lovely breakfast; very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited car parking on site. Staff member was very obliging and managed to squeeze me in as I didn't book in advance. Our room was on the 3rd floor and no lift which was a pity but we survived. Heating was on in the room when we arrived and it was still 25'c outside. No aircon so hard to chill room.

    Very central location, short walk to the centre. Old style hotel hidden away on a small street. Very secluded but opened up to a large hotel once inside which was very alluring. Breakfast was good and was also included. Staff were very obliging and very helpful which was an added bonus. On a very quite and safe street

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we were informed cards could not be used for payment, cash only despite the availability of that facility being specified on booking form. What is more annoying is the fact the hotel contacted me via email before we left on our trip, surely that information could have been given then. I therefore had to withdraw cash from ATM, which has resulted in charges thus increasing the cost of the contracted rate agreed for our room! The owner was not contactable and the staff were not authorised to reduce the cost of our stay This I find totally unacceptable a complaint was made to the staff who did apologise for the inconvenience but would not move their position. I do not object having to pay with cash but do when it incurs a personal cost for which I have no choice.

    Querky hotel staff were very helpful Private parking in secure area easy walk to centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be aware no lift

    Lovely welcome, highlighted key things to see and how to get there. Very helpful with booking evening meal. Beautiful building, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sauna was not working and there was a lot of dust on the stairs.

    We got a welcome Champagne on arrival, the staff was really kind, and the Breakfast is supreme.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance hall very dark We had to pay cash which was a surprise. Difficult to find as it doesn't look like a hotel from the outside

    I liked the old architecture that hasn't been changed, the history of the building and the ambience. Lovely wooden floors, daylight upstairs , fresh air, quiet. Bedroom very comfortable, everything worked. Excellent breakfast in a splendid dining room Charming proprietor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is very old and needs a rennovation, especcially wooden floor and canalisation in bathroom. But i am sure it will be done very soon with new owners, which were very kind:)

    Very helpful and nice staff, perfect BF and location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was really beautiful, located on a quiet street just steps from city center. It was a lovely respite to come back to at the end of a day. The breakfast was fantastic, guest room was spacious and atmosphere relaxing. I especially loved having classical or old jazz in the background while enjoying my breakfast by the window in the gorgeous dining room each morning. I can only imagine the glamorous history of this old mansion back in its day. We'll be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Externally hard to find as the signage is poor. A bit old but it adds to the experience

    It was a lot nicer inside than what you saw from the outside. Very pleasant staff and very clean. A very traditional old style hotel so if you want a modern hotel this ones not for you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners Jamila and Laurent were fantastic and extremely accommodating. Our 3rd floor bedrooms were very warm due to the heat wave and they provided an extra fan for one room and moved our friends downstairs to another. They bent over backwards and were lovely hosts. The breakfast was also delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only small glitch is that our wifi didn't work in our room, but it worked in the lobby.

    The hotel is run by a super helpful and friendly couple that really care that you enjoy your stay. It's also a beautiful historic hotel that is deceivingly nondescript from the outside, located just a short walk to the heart of the old city. The wifi didn't work in our room on the top floor, but it worked in the lobby. The room was really nice, with comfy bed and huge bathroom, a hairdryer and extra pillows and kettle. We'd definitely stay here again when visiting Gent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is super friendly and impressive. Location is not crowded and not noisy at night. The room is spacious, feel very historical, and decorations in room and lobby are gorgeous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all. I liked being slightly removed from the bustle of the centre. For some a 15 minute walk can be avoided by using the tram which is just round the corner

    One of the best! I loved everything from the decor, the delicious, breakfast, an atmosphere of calm and sophistication through to the delightful couple, our hosts and their discrete, efficient and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our one night stay. The only thing we missed was cups to go with the kettle in the room. Also I could imagine that the rooms in the top of the house get quite hot in the summer but this was not an issue when we stayed at the beginning of May.

    The hotel is in an amazingly beautifully decorated house all in early 19th century French style. Very high ceilings, chandeliers, lavish fireplaces,ornate furniture ... A joy to look around and a pleasure to stay there. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also great. It offered everything we expected and a lot more. Location is also great for exploring the amazing centre of Ghent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it's an old house there is no lift. We are young and only had small cases so getting up to the third floor was no problem but anyone with mobility difficulties should request a room on the lower floors. The only other tiny negative was that it doesn't have a very big sign so we almost missed it when we arrived. It's clearly numbered though so common sense saved the day.

    We received a very warm welcome into the beautiful reception area. It's an old house which has been lovingly restored and the owners were pleased to give us a brief history of the building while we sat in front of the cosy fireplace. The rooms are clean and spacious with a modern shower room. We really enjoyed chatting with the staff, who were keen to share recommendations about their beautiful city. We wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything.

    We were very pleasantly surprised by the charm of this hotel and by the very warm personal welcome. We wished we could stay longer. Charm Hotel Lancelot is a hotel one would love to recommend .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could better. Our room only had roof windows but room was not small it vas really good. And it was a little chilly in the room.

    Staff was amazing! They gave us a mini city tour on the map just ee entered the hotel. Everyone welcomed us with a huge smile. Breakfast was really beautiful too. I mean you can just sit at that breakfast hall all day... While we talk about the building... Oh the building... You just need to see the ancient decoration. It's like ure staying at a little mansion. Don't be afraid when you see the building on the outside, just enter the awesomeness.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room but comfy bed and nice bathroom.

    Friendly, helpful manager and staff. Beautiful historic building full of charm. Good location with private parking which we booked in advance. 15 mins from main sights and lots of advice about where to go in the time we had available. Felt very relaxed and at home.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Potentially late check in(4pm).To be fair we were accommodated early,but could be a long wait. Dismal lighting in room.Noise from room above.

    Breakfast excellent in nice dining room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the whole building needed some attention, there wasn't a bar, the description said there was!!

    the location and the secure parking, breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise carried up the stairs, and our room was located on the first floor right at the top of the stairs. Although we had been given an upgrade I would have preferred the room we had originally booked as this was on the 3rd floor, and hopefully would have had suffered from less noise! We weren't bothered by the floorboards as others have commented on, but the general noise of other guests coming in late, and up and down the stairs.

    Hotel is a few metres from a tram stop, so very easy to get to from the station with luggage (20 minute journey from station). We had booked a comfort double room, but upon arrival we were given an upgrade to a superior double room. Very friendly & helpful staff and we were offered a drink on arrival, which was appreciated along with a map of the city centre and an oversight of the main sights to visit. We were made to feel very welcome and the hotel has a lovely homely feel. The room was enormous with a very comfortable bed, and a huge bathroom, with a fantastic shower with body jets as well as a huge bath. Excellent self-serve breakfast with a good selection of cereals, meats, cheese, yogurt, bread, pastries, scrambled eggs and lovely fresh fruit all served in a lovely dining room with original features. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel after we had checked out until we were leaving Ghent, which was really handy. We didn't use the sauna or gym, so can't comment on these facilities. It took us about 10 minutes to walk to the first attractions in the centre.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved staying at this Hotel, it's worth it :) loved the style and the the staff, i got to enjoy one of the rooms that had one of the 100 year old bathrooms, the bath was like a little personal swimming pool. Will recommend it to anyone. Unfortunately I was alone, but if you are going with your other half it is very romantic.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Charme Hotel Hancelot traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: