Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau D'Hassonville 3 stars

Route D'Hassonville 105, 6900 Aye, Belgium

#1 of 1 hotels in Aye

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 158 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the visit was excellent and unable to be faulted. The owners and staff could not have been more helpful, the quality of the food was top notch, and the relaxed atmosphere and lovely grounds made the stay a real pleasure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was very nice but so expensive it hurt!!! Meal was more than the room. Good but not superb. Kind of out in the middle of no where.

    The hotel was beautiful. Very old rich feel. I wish they could have had a tour to see more of the Venue. Staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Strange and awkward staff, everything is impossible and too much asked. -Breakfast (at 20€) served starting from 9AM (way too late if you have the Formula One at Spa. -Gates of the hotel close at midnight so it feels like a monastry. (So you better not go out for dinner too late) -Rooms old and not very clean. -taking a shower in the bath -Serious prices for outdated hotel.

    -Beautiful surroundings -Nice old building -OK breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave, could have stayed for two hours enjoying breakfast on the terrace and the views.

    Friendly warm welcome upon arrival, efficiency, lovely chateau - interior very clean, hygienic, exterior with huge grounds to wander around, excellent breakfast, helpful and efficient staff. Regret evening meal was not booked, menu excellent, fully booked on Saturday night. No doubts about booking again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast to expensive for value breakfast place, rooms and corridors needs renovation

    nice scenery, the park was faboulous restaurant was top prices normal very friendly host

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service in this hotel was not good! I never find someone at the reception desc and the room was very old and not clean... In three days they never changed the sheets and never bring the shampoo... the room also didn't have a freezer!!! I payed a lot of money for bed condictions and dirtyness...

    The only good thing in this castel hotel was the Landscape, greenery and quiety of the nature around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit disappointed with the dinner. Too long and taste not as expected regarding the price. But excellent breakfast.

    The vue, the calm, song of the birds. The property in general.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms (at least ours in the old building) are a bit run down and lack some facilities (e.g. no mini-bar, no shower curtain, etc.). But for us this was not a real problem since the place is truly amazing. The WiFi signal inside the room was very weak, only worked by getting close to the door.

    The building and the location are just unbeatable! The personnel is very friendly and helpful and the beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great calm location lying in a huge park extremely well maintained. Warm welcome of the staff and manager very friendly and caring. Cosy large bedroom in the annex of the castle itself giving a view on the forest. Great restaurant with fine cuisine. Rich breakfast buffet with quality products in green veranda. Altogether we were really satisfied and can only recommend this exquisite destination if you are looking for something out of the average places. Don't miss out the restaurant where you can already book a table in advance whilst booking the room. We shall certainly return in the near future.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Historic building in a wonderfully rural and tranquil setting. Interiors are a bit faded and dated (lots of chintz) but not lacking charm or comfort The evening meal in the dining room was excellent. The staff friendly, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the fourth chateau / castle we've stayed in, and this one was by far my favorite. The property is beautiful, we had a hot tub and beautiful bathroom, the breakfast is wonderful, and the staff are lovely. There is a great village nearby with shops and restaurants too. This property also has lawn seating and patio seating. It's an unbeatable experience for couples.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom has a good bath, but personally I prefer a shower. Good quality food for breakfast, no doubt about it, but it is quite expensive.

    Very nice owner and welcoming staff. Lovely large room with large, comfortable bed. Beautiful building! Nice and quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything is just perfect about this place. We will diffidently come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An unique experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely beautiful surroundings, the castle looks like it came right off a postal card and the private park is huge - we spent an entire afternoon in it. Staff is very friendly and courteous, you almost feel like you own the place.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a magnificent old house which is very interesting to explore. The grounds are beautiful with a lovely lake to walk around. The restaurant was closed when we visited but we got takeaway pizza which we were encouraged to eat outside on the romantic balcony whilst being serenaded by an unknown flautist somewhere out in the garden! There was a great selection of food for breakfast which we were also able to eat outside on the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The host showed us to the room and left abruptly when realising we may not be dining there that evening. We returned at 9pm and the hotel was deserted! We wanted some drinks but there were no staff to be seen. The property itself needed money spending on it. Period features were very nice but the wallpaper in the room was stained and there were cobwebs in the bathroom.

    The location was very peaceful with a wonderful view from our bedroom overlooking the grounds.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi in the bedrooms could be improved - I never got any connection. The breakfast is a bit too poor for its value - perhaps adding fresh fruits, omelette, saumon would be a good idea.

    The castle and the property are fantastic, really pretty and grand. The owner Alexandre and the staff are uber friendly and easy going. The surroundings are peaceful and dreamy like. Ideal for people looking for rest and walks in nature.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owner can an issue as he is not very social or accommodating ....he had no staff other then his wife and we only saw her at breakfast...she was nice.

    The venue and grounds are fit for the King it was built for really great.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows too soft

    The staff was super

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to dislike.

    Very relaxing stay in peaceful surroundings. Humorous host.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somewhat expensive dinner, however as expected in a place like this.

    Beautiful place and good service. Nice gardens and walking paths around the area.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Couple

    All of it......a Fairytale.....back to life without stress, heaven would probably be jealous if they had been tghere......

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large room vid nice interior The best breakfast of our whole 4 weeks of holidays

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A fabulous place to stay and really great food.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: