Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau De Hodbomont

Hodbomont, 4910 Theux, Belgium

#3 of 13 hotels in Theux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 168 apartment reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are a little like Basil,and Polly from Fawlty Towers. At moments superfriendly and then suddenly a bit weird. The friendliness prevailed though.

    It's a chateau. The breakfast is amazing! Location is great as well. Even on a hot couple of days, the room stayed nice and cool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Electronic payment was not possible due to some hardware issues, and although this is being worked on, the nearby village of Theux has ATM's which were used to settle the bill.

    The effort to ensure a pleasant stay is worth mentioning. The environment is easy-going, you are free to wander around and enjoy the interesting elements the chateaux has to offer. The location offers a pleasant unpolished experience where it is easy to interact with the owners and other guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet signal was very weak in our room.

    The owners were very friendly and you felt almost as you were invited to their home. The hotel has a very personal style, far from the large chains that all look the same. The breakfast was excellent, the table was meticulously prepared. Also very nice if you bring your dog.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unique place! super quiet, charming and great hospitality of staff. Great for walking in the surrounding forrest. Really worthwhile for a good weekend rest!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful historic Château, very friendly and knowledgeable hosts (pro-tip: the owner is active in the antique business and can tell a story about each room and object). Breakfast is highly recommended, due to its huge variety and the fact that they take dietary requirements into account.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't clear that we were actually at the hotel. Spent an extra 20 mins trying to find it even though we had arrived. The giant moth flying about, and the little mouse that at 2am decided to eat our chocolate that appeared through the floorboards under the bed wasn't a great experience. I know it's a chateaux, but it didn't provide a good nights sleep

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with 2 Bathrooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to to leave earlier due to My other personal Bussines I hope they refund the money charged as I booked for one week but I stayed one day The host was excellent

    Great host

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that I couldn't stay any longer

    Breakfast was an magical treat and the setting was like a fairytale. The Host is the most lovely man and you feel the love joy and energie he has put in every detail from fine China, antique interior to lit candles in the morning! It was a dream

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast is amazing and the host is very friendly and kind! The interior is beautiful and the surroundings are perfect for a relaxing holiday with nice walks in the woods and the beautiful landscape. The host makes you feel welcome and we can warmly recommend this beautiful chateau!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I actually can't think of one thing.........

    The location was perfect for my special needs that weekend. The host Hubert, was gentle, caring and provided me with everything I needed....even my morning espresso. His love of antiques was evident in the time and care he has put into this unique and historic chateau, a masterpiece not often seen. The sleeping room was quiet and was equipped with anything a person traveling could need. I especially liked the nice firm bed mattress. The bathroom was nicely modernized, including a coffee machine and small refrigerator.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shampoo and shower gel in daily portions, thats all.

    Hospitality, great room and view, quietness, cat, superb breakfast, nice walking area, art deco style (and all to be purchased..)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host was amazing, very friendly and hospitable, we rented a beautiful and spacious apartment at the property. Big rooms with views of the park. Very tasty and rich breakfast. Lovely and quiet surrounding area, very close to bigger towns. Our host gave us a lot of advice on local dining and activities and gave us a tour of the château that still preserves some original pieces. Will definitely go back.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have realy nothing bad to say. The chateau was perfect and the service as well. So no bad things to say

    The location was stunning. It is very romantic, the views are excellent, the room suited the chateau and the owner is very friendly and his service is Just perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with 2 Bathrooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL... please read why as follows; We booked for 3 nights in two rooms as a group of friends were visiting Spa and were charged the full booking amount the day PRIOR TO ARRIVAL on the credit card used via booking.com. In the past using booking.com we have always paid on departure via credit card. As we wanted to add an extra room to the booking, for weeks prior to arrival emails were not answered and telephone contact was almost impossible. The only language the "owner / manager" speaks appears to be German - very odd for a facility in French speaking Belgium. We stayed one night and when one guest suffered an attack of BED BUGS we left the "Chateau" immediately. DO NOT stay at this facility - be warned that an infestation of insects (bed bugs, mites or spiders) and the bites that result are very uncomfortable and can be very difficult to cure! On return to the UK we immediately sought medical advice. Of course the hotel owner denied this was possible... I can assure all future guests this was not a joke! We have read the rather glowing reviews for this hotel in Hodbomont on booking.com (which is why we booked initially) and can only assume they relate to a different accommodation. The owner / manage was very odd to deal with... even on arrival. This is NOT the 5-star "Chateau" as advertised and is actually a large private residence where they seem to have carved out rooms for guests. Beds and Bed Linen were, with hindsight, suspect on arrival... but we did make the big mistake of actually agreeing to stay that first night. A hugely troubling and medically distressing experience and one that we wish on no-one else!

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really Nice place to stay !!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tub in bathroom

    Nice big breakfast! The property and of course the building itself was very beautiful and interesting. Room was cozy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking under the trees makes car filthy

    Style and History of the place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was amazing! The chateau is beautiful with a lot of authenticity and charm!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THIS BREAKFAST OMG !! The hosts are CHARMING ! They speak English moreover !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremly warm and carefull attention, grate atmoshpher, nice environment, beautifull location, fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Charm of the Chateau and location (if you are with car) are the strongest points. The host is very nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothings

    all things

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast us were absolutely gorgeous

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very spatious, very hospitable, beautiful location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wonderful people who run the place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No television ??

    Old world charm the host is perfect location perfect for SPA race circuit interesting abode...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with 2 Bathrooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic surroundings, lovely breakfast and super friendly host Herbert! We had a great stay and would recommend it to everyone!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Amazing breakfast, spectacular rooms. definitely going back there very soon. everything is just perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really hard to find the location.

    Wonderful Château!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Is was raining all day.

    Breakfast is great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was absolutely amazing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hats off to the people who keep this charming historical establishment running.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    These are really small points but need attending to in order to obtain a perfect score. Great to have a coffee machine in the room but the water trap at the bottom was dirty and insufficient milk capsules. On one occasion our cups were not cleaned. The grounds need more attention with too many weeds, grass not cut properly and without that attention the place will look more like faded grandeur. Other than that an outstanding place to stay

    Location, personal service that felt more like sharing someone's home rather than staying in a hotel , excellent breakfast, very comfortable beds, beautifully furnished. If you enjoy staying in a place that is different from the average then highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    We stayed for one night at Chateau de Hebdomont and I believe we were the only guests. Our host did everything to make our stay more pleasant. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, in an almost royal setting. The best part was the castle setting, with large rooms decorated with antiques. It felt like we had a small private castle for the day. The host allowed our friend, who is a professional musician, to play the antique piano in a separate wing of the castle. A glass of wine next to the fireplace in the lounge was great, too. Very special indeed. Recommended without reservation.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is absolutely nothing negative !

    3 years ago we paid the chateau a visit and it always remembered us as a wonderful stay. Everything is perfect and a specially the hostess mrs Anke! This last week we booked the same apartment again for 4 days and it'was wonderful again. The breakfast is an absolute to do thing, carefully selected fruits, cheese and croissants a true feast. The area is also lovely and peaceful. For a romantic weekend away we can absolutely recommend the chateau

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Anke the chateau's host (and owner) is perfect, the best host ever! She makes the best breakfast, with a lot of care. The location is perfect and the appartments are the best equipped I've ever seen, all filled with antiques!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is not a five star hotel. You have to adjust your expectations about the level of comfort and attention you would get with a fully staffed establishment. This is like staying at a friend's place. And what a royal place this is!

    The place is renovated and furnished with so much love and attention to detail that you feel like you have stepped back in time. The hostess is friendly and extremely helpful without being intrusive. The breakfast is a royal experience. We are coming back.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dogs where left to roam free. At one point they barged into the breakfast area, on another occasion one wiped his drool on my evening clothes.

    Very friendly staff. Beautiful and romantic atmosphere. Very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints.

    We had a wonderful two night stay at Chateau de Hodbomont. On arrival we had a warm and friendly welcome from Anke, always cheerful & helpful. The room we had was airy, comfortable and fresh, the bed and a bedding super comfortable. The bathroom was large with good light and mirrors, the towels and toiletries very nice and of good quality - as was the coffee machine and coffee supplied. the chateau and grounds were wonderful to stay in and around, very well kept with a strong feeling of it's history, not and easy job to maintain a building of this size but the owners have done a great job with great decoration throughout. We didn't take breakfast but I'm confident it would've been good value. Our dog Boris was welcome, which is important to us, receiving a bowl of water and treats in the room. The surrounding countryside is beautiful to explore, full of history and interest. We had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay, all passing far too quickly. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A fantastic place to stay at in the Ardennes. Large and comfortable rooms, drinks available if required, and a warm and gracious host. Also a must is the private dinner at the house of Mme and Mr Loix.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really nothing...

    Peaceful place with wonderful atmosphere of old times. Nice exteriers with large garden as well as beautiful interiers. Moreover very kind people (Anke - thank You once again) and tasty breakfest - again served in extraordinary atmospere. There is nothing more to say, simply great. Hope we will come back again.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Natural look of rooms. They do not look like perfect copies of rooms from production line, but you have a feeling of a real chateau (imperfection is in the right place) - Anke - the best host ever. Thanks to her you feel like at home - Interior - in every place in the chateau you are exposed to fine antiques - Breakfast - every day different and delicious, served as a piece of art

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Wonderful hospitality from Anke, the owner, who spared no effort in making us feel at home and helping to make our stay a success. Lovely stylish apartment with beautiful furnishings in an elegant and atmospheric old house. Terrific breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    What a beautifull castle, great scenery and adorable hosts ( including friendly dogs and cuddly cats).

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts are the pieces of art and the best events of the day ;-)

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location,beautiful building,great food friendly owner,peaceful, idyllic.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was amazing. Location amazing, great for walks also fantastic nearby restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing really except a weak wifi signal and no Belgian Tv Channels

    Very nice hotel in a quiet location, beautiful rooms, excellent Host

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: