Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chateau de la Poste 3 stars

Ronchinne 25, 5330 Maillen, Belgium

#1 of 1 hotels in Maillen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1615 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the website, we found only 1 single offer for the menu in the restaurant at a price I wouldn't expect to pay... We managed to have our dinner elsewhere ; not easy to find around. On the website, the breakfast was at such a price we couldn't imagine how it could be : served at table or buffet ! We didn't take breakfast. When we arrived, we found an uneven gravel parking place - parking at your own risk on display ! 100 m to walk with your cases/luggage to reach the entrance ; hope you are traveling light ! No trolley available ! The entrance is not even sign posted... you have to guess in which direction you must walk. We had to walk through dark corridors and stairs to reach the room after a lift up which seems never safe each time we have hit the button. Decoration upstairs ???? No comment but out of style with the building. The bedroom was ok but the bathroom wasn't at the standard for such an hotel to compare with the ones we had visited before. The bedroom price at the back of the door was just over priced, thanks to Booking.com for it's real price. To resume : an over priced hotel which prices only go with the outside of the building.

    From outside the Château De la Poste is a lovely building and the ground floor is pleasant. The staff were helpful. Not sure I have liked anything except the price I paid through Booking.com

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small with low-end finishes, which was a sharp contrast to the exterior

    I loved the Castle architecture and beautifully landscaped grounds, with trails all around to enjoy nature. The staff were very friendly and the bar and patio were open late.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend a new interior decorator, it does not do justice to the facade of the building. Feels like being in an army Bunker. Everything is painted military green. So much potential wasted.

    The outer building and grounds were nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had only a very small window in our room, which we could not even look out of (very high up). Unfortunately our bathroom smelled very bad of mold and the shower curtain was completely molded through. The bed was very hard and the size of the room was small.

    The grounds and entire building were stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had warm till hot water from the cold water tab, we had to keep it running for more than 5 minutes before we had cold water. The handle of the second window was broken off. We stayed after a few warm days (25 degrees) in april, with thunderstorm and rain at night. The room was very warm, opening the (modern) window was difficult and we needed to keep the curtains partly open to get the air in. I had read that the restaurant was very good, but it was closed the first evening. The second evening it was only possible to take a fixed menu after reservation. The mountainbike route we took on the terrain was not maintained.

    Very nice view, beautiful castle. Nice atmosphere, modern furniture in old rooms. Breakfast was good, self-service with a lot of choice. The minigolf terrain was funny, though old and grown with moss. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great country side location the birds were singing and the area was so green. The Chataeu was perfect. We so wished we had booked for a longer stay. Have the breakfast everything so tasty fresh and pure tasting. The grounds are wonderful to walk around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Microsoft Conference people on terrace until 2 am comparing notes on who did the best juggling. In French. Only got 4 hours sleep. Magical place until then.

    Views, location, accommodation, breakfast all good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dependance does not have a lift, and there were a lot of stairs: if you have heavy luggage, it is not fine. Parking lot is quite away the buildings.

    Very nice staff and a peaceful and quiet location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant in the hotel doesnt always work which is very strange , there was no room service and no where to eat anywhere around the hotel. Breakfast was very poor and the hotel is in the middle of no where

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One particular member of staff was particularly welcoming, friendly and helpful in the evenings, and went out of her way to ensure we were well looked after. We do not know her name, but she had dark, medium length hair and was on shift until 2am Fri night/Saturday on 4/5th May.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since we were not staying in the main building, we didn't have access to an elevator and had to take suitcases up several flights of stairs and through a bit of a maze. It was fine, but would have been nice to know ahead of time!

    The Chateau de la Poste is a surreal but successful blend of architectural and design styles -- at once very traditional and hyper modern. We enjoyed our short stay thanks to the friendly staff, beautiful grounds (even after a bad storm), and comfortable common areas!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast. There were no hot dishes at all. The only option was to boil an egg by yourself...

    Very cozy atmosphere. Beautiful natural landscapes and views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, this place highlights get tainted by the urgent need for infrastructural investment, which you will see from the moment you enter the property. The main road leading to the main building looks like a pothole minefield impossible to cross; the interior decoration and the food service; which fall short of the "Château" mindset. In regard to the food service, although we have only tried breakfast, we were not impressed. Although delivering a variety of options, we've found that, having in consideration the price asked, it fell short of the expectations. Waffles were mouldy, the coffee machine delivering random drinks, and most importantly: a (*) management which, when told about this, was ready to blame the customer ("waffles are supposed to be toasted" - well... not the mouldy ones, I'd argue!). Worthy of mention is that the lack of confidence in the catering services will leave you with limited options, due to the fact that you'll be far from the nearest city, so this is an important limitation important to have in mind. In summary, we felt that the Château de la poste is an extremely promising venue, but falls short on its delivery. For these reasons, I don't feel I can recommend it without extensive caveats.

    Château de la poste is located at a beautiful setting, away from the busy crowds of some of the Belgian cities. The views are breathtaking, which - if you are as lucky as we were - may be as close as opening the curtain of your own room! Service is generally (*) good. The casual approach goes well with the upbeat and contemporary look & feel of the main building. They are personable, helpful and available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise of the group of about 30 conference people at the dinner. This took the edge off a great meal.

    Dinner and breakfast were both fantastic, Grounds were lovely with nice walks. The room was very comfortable, quite, clean and with a good shower. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant works on an as-you-want buffet basis but beware because at 45€/person standard it's a bit of a catch with no menu (that I saw) indicating the price. Food-wise, it's rather expensive for what it is. Otherwise though very pleasant with good personnel.

    Bizarre Victorian pile on a hill, but very well arranged with pleasant, helpful personnel. Gorgeous situation on hill at foot of Ardennes. Landscaped park with magnificent century-old trees at their best in this early Springtime Very comfortable room with view at relatively low price (special deal). Good quality food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being an old building, sometimes the plumbing wasn't all it could have been.

    Lovely location, beautiful building and grounds, amazing views. Rooftop terrace and the outside bar with firepit were a nice surprise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows could be improved, little uncomfortable, gives neckpain.

    open space, quiet at nightime, general surroundings. Staff are multiligual, down to earth and correct.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A blocked sink and the rather unsympathetic staff. A pity for such a wonderful place. The coffee was weak and tasteless.

    The beautiful setting, the views, the mirror pond and the outside fire at night on the terrace. Sitting in the drawing room enjoying a glass of vine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed at one of the out buildings of the castle. the rooms weren't too big but everything you need is in there. the bathroom was spacious and clean. the location and the decor were amazing. we received the best welcome by a new employee. The hotel has a plentitude of games available to guests, there is a bar area and the ability to roam the estate was just lovely. The hotel is pretty new (2009) but the character of the older buildings is very well respected. you have a great view from the terrace. the bed was very good. we loved our stay! the price we had to pay was really low for the amount of comfort received.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the castle is very demanding. We stayed in a building next to the castle (no idea that would be the case when we made the booking), the rooms are a bit creepy - poor choice of colors and there is something about the atmosphere that just made it a restless night (brrrr).

    The castle is beautiful from the outside, and the location is gorgeous. It’s clean and the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We wished the restaurant was open at better times, 7:30 dinner was the earliest and that is too late for little kids. Since there is so much about the hotel that caters to families, this seemed like a big miss. Or, at least be able to order snacks/appetizers from the bar.

    A truly gorgeous property, it is like staying at a castle. Cozy, classic and modern decor and vibe. We loved all the accommodations for kids and that the family room we had came with a separate bedroom for kids. The dinner we had at the restaurant was amazing. Yay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family room had two separate sleeping areas, but no door in between.

    Beautiful Chateau! Great playground and beautiful surrounding grounds for children to play in. The bartender was friendly and knowledgeable. Lots of nooks and game rooms for families and friends to relax and play in. Dinner and wine were fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The resort seems to host a mix of couples and families. Because of the age of the property (thin walls, etc.) noise could be a problem for those looking for a quiet getaway.

    A beautiful property. Our room was spacious for 3 people with a lovely view. The breakfast had lots of choices and the staff gave us great beer recommendations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is AMAZING! I definitely felt like a princess staying here. The property is so picturesque and the decor in the chateau was classy and playful. We stayed in room 101. We had an amazing view and the room was huge. Breakfast was delicious! My only regret is that we only stayed one night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee & tea facilities in the room. Coffee at the breakfast is not good.

    Very good view and good location but you should have the car. We like the concept about the breakfast that we can make the egg and squeeze the orange by yourself.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the side building, which was not as nice. The room was okay but very small. Very limited toiletries, especially for a hotel that calls itself a wellness destination. The room reeked of lemon, very unpleasant smell that stayed even after we left the window open for several hours.

    The main building is absolutely beautiful, staff is friendly and the lounge area is super nice. Great selection at the breakfast buffet. Perfect location in the middle of nature. Very clean. Overall we had a nice stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You hear everything that happens in the hallway. Cold shower in the morning, probably because many people were showering and the system could not handle that.

    Comfy bed, beautiful setting & good breakfast. Staff is very friendly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was next to the door at the end of the hallway, which meant that every time someone entered or exited the hallway and that door closed, it made the door of my room rattle. Hence it was impossible to sleep once others started moving through the hallway. There is plenty of parking but it is 100 meters from the hotel. On a dark, cold, rainy night that is a long walk. Also the driveway in is one-way so when you leave it is via a completely different route.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room cleaness (hairs in the bathroom, carpet ..) - The carpet with very long fibres was dirty (almost impossible to clean due to the very very long fibres). - Restaurant was closed (long way to next one). No information in advance. - simple breakfast - Check-in in the sitting room - unconvenient load and unload of the luggage, long way from the parking on the muddy road. - interior decoration (eg breakfast room dark brown painted over the nice wall stones)

    + big hotel park outside the hotel + architecture of the hotel (outside), illumination at night + free hotel parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner buffet was quite expensive; the quality was very good but including water or wine or coffee in the price would be a nice gesture. Coffee was not good. The pillows were not good. Our room (family room) was in the "little castle" and the interior was adequate but drab; it could have been the interior of any room at any hotel.

    Dinner buffet was very good. The grounds are fantastic and the exterior of the buildings is very nice. Similarly, the dining room was nice and a bit grand. Breakfast was good but not great. Beds were ok. We enjoyed the game rooms (billiard, table tennis).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was a pity that there was no coffee and tea facilities. Also we found unfortunate that we were not informed beforehand that it would be a buffet and we found the buffet meal was quite expensive.

    The room was confortable and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room door rattled when other doors opened in the corridor. Corridor noises came straight into the room. Reception staff lacked customer care and attention

    The surroundings

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior decor doesn’t really work at all - so many conflicting styles and odd furniture choices. The bar was poorly stocked (couldn’t make an old fashioned). Breakfast was a disorganized fiasco - a sort of rustic DIY affair that didn’t make sense. You had to squeeze your own juice - using equipment filled with pulp from the last person! No scrambled eggs?! The desk clerk at checkout made mistakes on the bill that had to be refunded in cash.... a beautiful house with a poorly operating hotel inside it!

    The bones of the Château are gorgeous and the grounds are beautiful. Bed was comfortable and ceiling height lovely. Bathroom fully functional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is good if you now how to cook. be prepared to squeeze your own orange juice. Know how many minutes you need to boil your own egg. Toast your bread and make your own omelet. If there's some bread left that is...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NICE CHATEAU (but a few hickups where..) We did not receive any information about the area, facilities in the hotel. Also not a map of the area which was a bummer (we came to hike). The room had not been vacuumed and there where still lots of random hairs in the shower and on the carpet. Would loved to have a minibar in the room since we pay a €50 deposit. Did not feel very safe to sleep in because of the open entrance gates.

    Delicious breakfast (you make your own juice/eggs which is nice), nice lounge and bar. Nice terrace with forest view. Beautiful castle! parking area is nearby. Trendy interior ! You get value for your money ! Option to rent a forest loft or wooden hut ! Again, very good breakfast !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is just understaffed, and it is very impersonal... reception welcome is less warm then a security officer welcome... the restaurant was not open on sunday.. (and u already have to find this in the small letters) The bar was horribly provisioned... only the cheapes liquors man has ever made, and the bartender was the receptionist... The breakfast was totally insufficient... no choice, press your own orange juice is totally weird but was mostlymessy and unhygienic.. No forks to pick up your cheese or ham and u have to make your own eggs but there was no butter to oil the pan... totally understaffed

    Amazing beautiful castle in a beautiful environment... the rooms are clean and very comfortable with incredible views... there is a pool table and lots of games for kids

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - very small room (but we had the lowest category) - only 1 employee for check in and bar which led to delays

    - great bulding in a picturesque park - value-for money - cosy lobby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room fine for overnighter, and well equipped, but a bit smelly. Medieval drains.

    Booked as an overnighter , this hotel really warranted at least a of nights to benefit from the glorious surrounding park land. Brilliant breakfasts, including squeeze it yourself orange juice and cook it yourself eggs. Shame about the coffee machine, which produced mediocre coffee and created queues. Restaurant evening openings very limited.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    extra charge (25€) for a baby (1 years old). I don't understand why. Entrance is not wheelchair/baby stroller friendly.

    good breakfast, excellent location, laid back and helpful staff. excellent place to relax. Dinant and other relevant touristic places are nearby. You can of course stay in this place whole day, because it is so relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden in the middle of nowere and not transport or taxi arround. I had to miss my appointment to the hospital that was less than 10 minutes drive. Taxi would charge 50 euros for a 7 minutes journey. And you have to wait hours for a taxi to come. Best if you are driving but if not think before booking.

    Well maintened

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only comment is that the decoration in the corridors of the Petite Chateau were very dark and reminded me somewhat of a nuclear fallout shelter. It could be much prettier and still retain the "hunting lodge" style of the main Chateau.

    My partner and I had travelled from Greece returning to the UK after 6 months away. This was the last leg of our journey and we have driven for 8 hours. I looked at booking.com and found the chateau. It was absolutely fantastic and what views. A wonderful way to end our first great adventure in retiremenet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The biggest problem was the fact that soundproofing was very poor and that the rooms and corridors were gloomily decorated in chocolate brown paint!

    Spectacular grounds and the chateau itself was charming. Our room in the stables annex was less impressive but still had great views and was very spacious. The breakfast was amazing, as was the setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We biked up to the castle from the river, taking Rue Vonds Delvaux. This is not a safe bike route. Going back down to the river, we took Rue de Mont. That was a bit longer but had bike infrastructure for most of the way and felt much safer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clear directions to hotel from parking especially at night time.

    Beautiful location, stunning hotel, super comfortable bed, lovely staff. Night receptionist was super nice and helpful despite language barrier. We didn't have breakfast, but selection looked really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big difference between the website , description , pictures and the reality . Dinner buffet is was really bad , very expensive for what you get . Breakfast was ok ! The air in room didn't smell ok when we came in.

    Very nice nature and park to walk or do some sport ! Quiet in the night .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very disappointing and overpriced.

    The stay felt luxurious. Large comfortable bed, and the room had a wonderful, inviting scent. The grounds are beautiful and the hotel has amazing views across the valley.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was adequate, but no replacements - when it was gone it was all gone. Not really enough on offer for the family - only three pain au chocolate for a family of four should have taken everything we needed on arrival at breakfast. Not really leisurely. Long way from car park to reception, with bags and children- loading and unloading area was available.

    Spacious bedroom. Facilities offered for family entertainment were good. Staff were excellent. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tree Chalet (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to cook my own eggs at breakfast. Having to pay separately for breakfast. We stayed in the treehouse where the power went off at night and staff had to come unlock the fuse box. This was at midnight and we were all ready for bed. Also, nearby music concert was loud and went until 2am!

    Beautiful place and a lot of things to do. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had an overpowering smell of cleaning products, as if something bad had happened there and needed to be covered up. The breakfast room also smelled quite musty.

    Incredible grounds with so many things to do - pity we were only there one night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed ( not because we arrived late).There was NO provision for any other food what so ever

    Loved the location the Chateau and grounds were outstanding

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in (16:00) check-out (11:00) times leave very little time to enjoy the surrounding if the environment if you are staying for one night. Although there is a possibility of a late check-out with a small 25 Euros extra which is an advantage. Also, there was a small misunderstanding; our guests who were visiting us during our stay there had trouble in paying for their drinks, as they are told that the hotel does not allow external people to come to hotel bar/lobby not to disturb the hotel customers. This could have been prevented by simply asking which guest/room number they come to visit.

    Very enjoyable stay in the Chateau de la Poste. The place really needs no advertisement. It is a great place for couples with/without children. The surrounding woods offer nice walks and scenery. You can also get a bike and ride further to enjoy the surrounding region. The dinner was also very good at the restaurant with a great scenery over the valley with nice matching wines.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really a great location with friendly staff. The castle has a lot of details, is well maintained and it makes the location a very romantic one. The room was clean and comfortable but ours was not really big. I would definitely recommend this location when there is a special offer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking some distance from reception, no drop off point? so had to carry cases some distance.

    The grounds of the hotel were stunning, but the paths & walkwayS were in need of some repair so unsuitable if you are not very sure on your feet..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is a bit far located.

    All together very nice accomodation. Not as usual than the others... You can go out.., sport possibilities, ball games, bikes, walk etc. Lounge, restaurant very nice huge. Park, garden, terrace beautiful. Location perfect & quiet. Breakfast was good and nice thinking about allergic people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no refrigerator in the room , no restaurant a la carte , no snacks in the evening, no pool and location where you can enjoy the sun on a Deckchair

    very nice location, nice room , great view, nice village CRUPET at 2 km , very quitte

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 401 is a disaster, the wiew is looking at the backyard of the maintenance-staffs area, very noisy early in the morning and throughout the day. They should advice about the conditions of this room at bookingtime.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very starchy and did not come over as friendly at all. I asked if we could bring our sports cars in front of the castle for a photo and this was refused, usually hotels are very pleased to do this. Also they insisted on our dinner bill going on one room, there were 9 of us in 5 rooms then when we checked out it was a nightmare, everyone had to pay separately for the meal and their room, it took ages and made a long queue. The corridors are all very dark and it is hard to find your way about to the rooms. The rooms are small and you can hear everything from the next room and the corridor. The cat park is quite a walk from the hotel although you are allowed 30 minutes to unload at the end of the path.

    We loved the view from the terrace and the walk to the pond. We enjoyed the games room and the firepit in the evening. The buffet meal was excellent as was breakfast but rather expensive.The young girl that served us at the bar was refreshingly friendly, cheerful and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We were happy with its character and quality. It's personality was a bit elusive however.

    We chose this hotel for its character as a one-night transit stopover and we're sorry not to have the time to explore the grounds and facilities before moving on the next morning. We paid €103 for 3pax room only. It is an old chateau building in very large green grounds deep in the countryside but with a semi-modern hotel interior - i.e. it has been completely gutted inside and re-done like a fairly basic mock-chateau which makes for better and more practical accommodation and facilities. The parking is indeed a bit up the road but still private and floodlit and within the extensive grounds and the roadway is not so bad as sportscar Steve makes out in his review below (though we did catch our older/lower car's exhaust on the speed ramp for the first time this holiday!) The place is quiet, relaxed and easygoing - as are check-in and check-out so allow time for this as they appear to run lowish staff levels. We visited mid-week in mid-July and the place certainly was not crowded or busy. We were greeted with a complimentary cold juice drink while waiting to check in which was nice. We didn't try the food or drink otherwise but it seemed expensive at €15 for breakfast and thirty something for buffet dinner by reservation (rather than by dropping in unannounced) but like I say we didn't see any of that to judge. Our booking advised that the restaurant was closed so I guess this buffet is the fall-back position. Our room was the family one in the top of the taller tower of the main chateau and accessed by a narrow steep private stairs - this is the room pictured with a white cross beam. It was very quiet private and comfortable with a nice bathroom and view to the rear gardens and lake and also to the front. We liked it. However be advised that if you are much over 5'6" you will be whacking off those beams every time you move or stand up like I was. They are literally everywhere in the room! Quirky is the word.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An awesome place. Spacious room with massive bathroom. Stunning buildings, interiour was beautiful. Very serviceminded staff. One if our nicest hotel stay ever!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast starts at 7.30 if they like ... otherwiseyou might wait until 7.45 or so while the staff is arguing in Russian. The restaurant for dinner is not always open and you only find out after your cancelation period is over. Rooms have no airco, are not really sound proof, Parking and reception are too far way to walk with luggage you have to carry due to the pathways. Not recommended for business or during the summer.

    The location was pretty much only thing I can recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have had more diversity.

    Fantastic place! The dinner buffet was great (high recommend) and the terrace is amazing for relaxing and drinks. Enough activities onsite so that you don't have to leave - mini golf, walking etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunate that the restaurant was closed on the night of a public holiday, lots of guests had to travel elsewhere for meals. Doesn't make much sense.

    Superior Room was big and airy. Bathroom small by comparison. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening staff isn't service oriented Room doors need to be more sound proof Charging 7€ for 2 glasses of milk for our children at night when you are located in the middle of "nowhere" is overpriced and exaggerated The hotel restaurant closing on Saturday night at 21h30!! A family room with wooden beams at a height of 1,70m isn't explicitly mentioned when booking

    Location is excellent in the middle of fields and next to forest and very quiet and relaxing surroundings The design is very pretty Beds and mattresses were comfortable There is a lot potential for this hotel to become an excellent hotel by simply taking care of it staff service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite simple but comfortable.

    Very beautiful location, the hotel's building and the territory. We really enjoyed the breakfast, it was delicious. And the hotel's bar has pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The nature around the hotel is absolutely amazing ! The park is huge. I loved being able to take an evening walk just before bed, and also a refreshing morning stroll before breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to stay in the chateau rather than one of the buildings on the side. If I had known to know to ask for that I would've as there was plenty of room in the chateau. I know it was because we were 3, but we met a family at breakfast and they were three and stayed within the chateau itself. It would have been nice to change our room when I inquired since the place was far from full.

    The chateau is gorgeous and renovated with style. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was really slow, had to wait for 15 minutes in the queue to get breakfast in the morning.

    Fantastic place, great atmosphere, very cozy . Everything is just like on the pictures. Great experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unwelcoming receptionist who told us we were early at midday and parked in the wrong place. No offer of refreshments etc after a six hour drive. We had to visit a neighbouring town and return at 4pm to check in. Further parking paranoia on our return about dropping the bags at the front door before having to move the car up a potholed road to the car park 100+ metres away.

    Location fantastic. Potholed Approach road not suitable for a sports car, more like four wheel drive territory.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a real hotel but a place for company seminars and small conventions. Could not have dinner because need to reserve well in advance. Needed to have breakfast at 7:00 but it was too early. Very tiny room. Parking is far from hotel. Furnishings of common areas was very poor.

    Good location and great park surrounding an impressive architectural structure

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the time we arrived to the time we left, everything was perfection!! The beautiful restaurant downstairs served some of the best food we had on our entire trip to Europe. We loved the secluded country location. It had everythingwe needed without the noise of the City. Thank you!! We hope to be back sometime. Ruth Kauffman

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor issues, such as not having sufficient storage in the bathroom and a minbar in the room. And that if you want eggs for breakfast you need to prepare them yourself.

    The location and the building are breathtaking. Very quiet since surrounded by nature. The decor in the common areas is very tasteful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have marked low as we had to cancel our stay. We choose this hotel as they advertise that there is a restaurant. We drive for 8 hours and our requirements are that we don't have to leave the hotel once we have arrived to eat. We were advised that there would not be a restaurant only 48 hours before we were to stay. They would not refund our money when we cancelled.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot is part bit far and confusing and we thought when booking that we would be in the castle not in the next building.

    The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstanding location for sport and nature. The location and the surrounding areas, the facilities offered by nature itself are the main attractions of this castle. It’s a God gift. I will return to spend at least one week on this chateau. From there you can explore Dinant, Namur and many other attractions that Wallonia may offer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car loading and unloading area very bad, and no signage as to where the reception was located. The annex is a walk away from the main chateau (luckily it wasn't raining), and the 'Petite Chateau has no character, the entrance to the bedrooms was dark and above the conference rooms. The decor is drab, the walls and doors are olive green, and one dark brown 'feature' wall, and there are no pictures or accessories. It was dark and the room was bland almost depressing. The hanging space was very poor, and there were no drawers. No English speaking channels on the TV. No Radio. No food on Sunday when we arrived. No tea/coffee making facilities. Not what we were led to expect judging from the website. Don't book unless a room in the main chateau, but even then some rooms are tucked away and small.

    The look of the main chateau, and the main chateau rooms shown on the website.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: